DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,085,669 in view of US 9,266,627 (ANDERSON) and US 7,114,682 (KISTLER) and US 2013/0140402 A1 (TILLOTSON). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,085,669 substantially discloses the same invention except for limitations taught by US 9,266,627 (ANDERSON) or US 7,114,682 (KISTLER) or US 2013/0140402 A1 (TILLOTSON) or combinations thereof. For example, ANDERSON teaches at Col. 4, Lns. 45-60: “Additionally, many known technologies and techniques from mining on Earth can be applied to asteroid mining. An example of a tool can comprise a constellation of spacecraft that are modified to carry mining, extraction, and processing apparatus. Additional tools can include the use of concentrated solar thermal energy directed towards the asteroid from, for instance, a large space deployed solar collector array consisting of inflatable mirrored surfaces precisely angled to focus solar energy in specific directions upon command to process asteroid material through heating. Containment method can be used to manage material, an example of which may comprise a large inflatable or expandable storage unit made of material strong enough to contain raw asteroid materials. Common centrifuges modified for the space environment can be used to separate materials as necessary.” KISTLER teaches a system for transportation and storage of cargo in space includes one or more platforms. The platforms are operable to hold multiple removable propellant tanks and rendezvous with one or more other platforms in space. The platforms also include one or more thruster systems and positioners. Each positioner has an effector operable to grip a band disposed around each propellant tank. Each positioner is operable to facilitate the transfer of the multiple removable propellant tanks between platforms during the rendezvous (see the Abstract). And TILLOTSON teaches wherein an orbital transport vehicle comprises: a solar thermal rocket (STR) propulsion module; wherein the orbital transport vehicle incorporates anidolic optical features and solar thermal rocket (STR) propulsion such that the optical features capture and direct solar rays toward a heat exchanger to heat propellant and induce propellant expulsion; wherein the anidolic optical features comprise at least one of the following: parabolic reflectors, plane reflectors, Winston cones, and light tubes; wherein the orbital transport vehicle is configured to use at least one volatile compound as the propellant for propelling the orbital transport vehicle by providing a reservoir shaped for storage of the compound, a heat exchanger configured to accept solar energy and convey that energy to the compound, an access passage for the compound to flow from the reservoir to the heat exchanger, and a nozzle configured to generate thrust and direct the vehicle.
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,643,930 in view of US 9,266,627 (ANDERSON) and US 7,114,682 (KISTLER) and US 2013/0140402 A1 (TILLOTSON). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,085,669 substantially discloses the same invention except for limitations taught by US 9,266,627 (ANDERSON) or US 7,114,682 (KISTLER) or US 2013/0140402 A1 (TILLOTSON) or combinations thereof. For example, ANDERSON teaches at Col. 4, Lns. 45-60: “Additionally, many known technologies and techniques from mining on Earth can be applied to asteroid mining. An example of a tool can comprise a constellation of spacecraft that are modified to carry mining, extraction, and processing apparatus. Additional tools can include the use of concentrated solar thermal energy directed towards the asteroid from, for instance, a large space deployed solar collector array consisting of inflatable mirrored surfaces precisely angled to focus solar energy in specific directions upon command to process asteroid material through heating. Containment method can be used to manage material, an example of which may comprise a large inflatable or expandable storage unit made of material strong enough to contain raw asteroid materials. Common centrifuges modified for the space environment can be used to separate materials as necessary.” KISTLER, as discussed below, teaches a system for transportation and storage of cargo in space includes one or more platforms. The platforms are operable to hold multiple removable propellant tanks and rendezvous with one or more other platforms in space. The platforms also include one or more thruster systems and positioners. Each positioner has an effector operable to grip a band disposed around each propellant tank. Each positioner is operable to facilitate the transfer of the multiple removable propellant tanks between platforms during the rendezvous (see the Abstract). And TILLOTSON, as discussed below, teaches wherein an orbital transport vehicle comprises: a solar thermal rocket (STR) propulsion module; wherein the orbital transport vehicle incorporates anidolic optical features and solar thermal rocket (STR) propulsion such that the optical features capture and direct solar rays toward a heat exchanger to heat propellant and induce propellant expulsion; wherein the anidolic optical features comprise at least one of the following: parabolic reflectors, plane reflectors, Winston cones, and light tubes; wherein the orbital transport vehicle is configured to use at least one volatile compound as the propellant for propelling the orbital transport vehicle by providing a reservoir shaped for storage of the compound, a heat exchanger configured to accept solar energy and convey that energy to the compound, an access passage for the compound to flow from the reservoir to the heat exchanger, and a nozzle configured to generate thrust and direct the vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 16-17 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 7,114,682 B1 (hereinafter “KISTLER”).
Regarding Claim 8, KISTLER discloses an orbital transportation network system, comprising: an orbital transport vehicle (200); and at least one propellant storage depot (10, 100, 500) configured to orbit (see 602, 608) around a celestial body (see Earth or Moon in Figs. 9A-9C) and store propellant (see 110, 120) in space for use by multiple orbital transport vehicles by locating the propellant depot in at least one of the following: low-earth orbit (LEO) (see 602) to facilitate payload delivery by launch vehicles (see Col. 7, Lns. 49-53: “In certain embodiments of Phase One, lunar landing platform 250 may also be launched from earth and rendezvous with one or more storage platforms 100 in low earth orbit 602 to receive the cargo and propellant necessary to fly to the moon and enter a lunar orbit 608.”), geostationary Earth orbit (GEO) to facilitate coordination with satellites (see Col. 7, Ln. 67 through Col. 8, Ln. 8: “In Phase Two, a transportation platform 200 is placed in a low earth orbit 602 and then proceeds past geostationary orbit 604 to lunar trajectory 606 toward the moon and enter lunar orbit 608. Transportation platform 200 then enters lunar orbit 608, where it rendezvous with a waiting storage platform 100 for the transfer of propellant and/or cargo. Storage platform has previously supplied a lunar landing platform 250 with propellant and/or cargo.”), or lunar distant retrograde orbit (LDRO) or another stable orbit, minimizing use of propellant to maintain orbit.
Regarding Claims 16 and 17, KISTLER discloses a method for transporting a payload from one orbit (see 602 or 604) to another (608), comprising: specifying or identifying a current orbital location of the payload (110, 120); specifying or identifying a destination orbital location for the payload (e.g., orbital location of transportation node 500); providing an orbital transport vehicle (OTV) (200) configured to: attach and separate from payload vehicles (see 10, 100, 500), adjust to different payload masses and centers of mass (i.e., filled or empty propellant tanks), and accept fuel at a space-located propellant depot, the OTV comprising a propulsion system configured to deliver large velocity changes (see Col. 5, Lns. 14-21: “Transport platform is propelled through space by motor 210, which may be a gimbaled rocket motor. Motor 210 may use the propellant contained in tanks 110, 120, such as liquid oxygen and/or liquid hydrogen, as the fuel to power motor 210. In certain embodiments, motor 210 may provide thrust that is greater than approximately twice the total weight of the filled propellant tanks 110, 120 coupled to transportation platform 200.”); locating the OTV at any of low-earth orbit (LEO) (602), geostationary earth orbit (GEO) (604), near-Earth objects (NEOs) in native orbits, lunar distant retrograde orbit (LDRO), or heliocentric orbit; moving the orbital transport vehicle (200) to the current orbital location of the payload; and transporting the payload to the destination orbit (see at least the Abstract); further comprising: moving the OTV (200) to a propellant storage depot (100, 150, 500); and replenishing the OTV with propellant from the propellant storage depot (see again Col. 5, Lns. 14-21: “Transport platform is propelled through space by motor 210, which may be a gimbaled rocket motor. Motor 210 may use the propellant contained in tanks 110, 120, such as liquid oxygen and/or liquid hydrogen, as the fuel to power motor 210. In certain embodiments, motor 210 may provide thrust that is greater than approximately twice the total weight of the filled propellant tanks 110, 120 coupled to transportation platform 200.”).
Regarding Claims 24 and 25, KISTLER discloses the claimed limitations as is evident from the discussion of KISTLER above. In the interest of brevity, the same or equivalent claim limitations already discussed above will not be repeated here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 12, 14, 18, 19, 21, 26, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KISTLER in view of US 2013/0140402 A1 (hereinafter “TILLOTSON”).
Regarding Claims 9, 10, 12 and 14, KISTLER discloses an aero-maneuvering tanker module (see Col. 5, Lns. 5-8: “For example, transportation platform may be used to transport cargo from one storage platform 10, 100 to another storage platform 10, 100 or to another space vehicle, such as a space station or a space shuttle.” The space shuttle comprises an aero-maneuvering tanker module).
KISTLER does not disclose wherein the orbital transport vehicle comprises: a solar thermal rocket (STR) propulsion module; wherein the orbital transport vehicle incorporates anidolic optical features and solar thermal rocket (STR) propulsion such that the optical features capture and direct solar rays toward a heat exchanger to heat propellant and induce propellant expulsion; wherein the anidolic optical features comprise at least one of the following: parabolic reflectors, plane reflectors, Winston cones, and light tubes; wherein the orbital transport vehicle is configured to use at least one volatile compound as the propellant for propelling the orbital transport vehicle by providing a reservoir shaped for storage of the compound, a heat exchanger configured to accept solar energy and convey that energy to the compound, an access passage for the compound to flow from the reservoir to the heat exchanger, and a nozzle configured to generate thrust and direct the vehicle.
TILLOTSON teaches wherein an orbital transport vehicle comprises: a solar thermal rocket (STR) propulsion module (10); wherein the orbital transport vehicle incorporates anidolic optical features (see 28) and solar thermal rocket (STR) propulsion such that the optical features capture and direct solar rays toward a heat exchanger (22) to heat propellant and induce propellant expulsion (see at least para. [0015]: “Within the heat exchanger 22, energy from sunlight 18 boils the liquid to generate a lithium vapor which is further heated by the heat exchanger 22. The hot lithium vapor exits through the nozzle 26, producing thrust.”); wherein the anidolic optical features comprise at least one of the following: parabolic reflectors, plane reflectors, Winston cones, and light tubes (see at least para. [0015]: “In one embodiment, a reflector 28 directs or concentrates the sunlight 18 (or laser) towards the heat collector 22.” Parabolic reflectors are concentrating reflectors; moreover, parabolic reflectors are old and well known in the art.); wherein the orbital transport vehicle is configured to use at least one volatile compound (12) as the propellant for propelling the orbital transport vehicle by providing a reservoir (14) shaped for storage of the compound, a heat exchanger (22) configured to accept solar energy and convey that energy to the compound (see at least para. [0015], quoted above), an access passage (20) for the compound to flow from the reservoir to the heat exchanger (see the last sentence of para. [0014]: “Once the propellant is liquified, the rocket 10 can utilize pump 24 to pump liquid lithium 12 into the heat collector/exchanger 22 via the heat conduit 20.”), and a nozzle (26) configured to generate thrust and direct the vehicle (see again para. [0015]: “The hot lithium vapor exits through the nozzle 26, producing thrust.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify KISTLER wherein the orbital transport vehicle comprises: a solar thermal rocket (STR) propulsion module; wherein the orbital transport vehicle incorporates anidolic optical features and solar thermal rocket (STR) propulsion such that the optical features capture and direct solar rays toward a heat exchanger to heat propellant and induce propellant expulsion; wherein the anidolic optical features comprise at least one of the following: parabolic reflectors, plane reflectors, Winston cones, and light tubes; wherein the orbital transport vehicle is configured to use at least one volatile compound as the propellant for propelling the orbital transport vehicle by providing a reservoir shaped for storage of the compound, a heat exchanger configured to accept solar energy and convey that energy to the compound, an access passage for the compound to flow from the reservoir to the heat exchanger, and a nozzle configured to generate thrust and direct the vehicle as taught and/or suggested by TILLOTSON, since both references teach a rocket propulsion module, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one rocket propulsion module for the other to achieve the predictable result of generating thrust and directing the vehicle.
Regarding Claims 18, 19, 21, 26, 27 and 29, KISTLER in view of TILLOTSON discloses the claimed limitations as is evident from the discussion of the references above. In the interest of brevity, the same or equivalent claim limitations and the obviousness rationale for combining the references, as already discussed above, will not be repeated here.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 would be allowable if a terminal disclaimer were to be filed to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action.
Claims 11, 13, 15, 20, 22, 23, 28 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and, if a terminal disclaimer were to be filed to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references are either in the same field of endeavor or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Please see form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) attached to, or included with, this Office Action.
/JORGE A PEREIRO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799