DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the following formulas:
Ar radical has only 3 links, while general polyimide formula of claim 1 requires 4 links:
Appropriate correction is required.
Note that for examination purposes it is assumed that Aryls have 4 links in all formulas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katano et al (US 20150275089), cited in IDS, in view of Asanuma et al (Synthesis of Thermotropic Liquid Crystal Polyimide and Its Properties, Journal of Polymer Science: Part A Polymer Chemistry, Vol. 32, pages 2111-2118 (1994)).
Katano teaches a liquid crystal alignment film used for a liquid crystal display device formed from polyimide obtained by a reaction of tetracarboxylic dianhydride and diamine (see 0087), where dianhydride can be represented by the following formula (22) (see 0096, meeting the corresponding limitations of claims 1, 4-6 and 9-10):
note that regarding the corresponding limitations of claims 1, 4-5 and 9-10, R and Z are equal to H;
and diamine can be represented by the following formula (see 0163):
The diamine above comprises the same elements as the claimed diamine W (see claim 1). However, claimed diamine has 2 C(CH3)2 groups and 5 Aryls, while Katano’s formula teaches only 1 C(CH3)2 group and 4 Aryls.
The claimed diamine is disclosed by Asanuma.
Asanuma teaches a thermotropic liquid crystal polyimide of the following formula (see Table 11. Properties of Polyimides of BACB at page 2113):
where R is represented by Pyromellitic dianhydride (PMDA), 3,3’,4, 4’Biphenyl tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BPDA), ,3,3 ‘,4,4 Benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA) and 3,3’,4,4’-oxydiphthalic anhydride(ODA), (see Table II at page 2113).
Asanuma further teaches that a synthesis of the polymer above takes place at the presence of 0.1 mol of phthalic anhydride (see page 2112, left column). Such approach for molecular weight regulation by terminating a growing polymer chain with phthalic anhydride is well known. In fact, Katano uses the same approach, using monofunctional compounds as molecular weight regulators (see 0197-0198).
Asanuma teaches that use of such monomer as 1,3-bis [ 4- (4‘-aminophenoxy) cumyl) ]benzene (BACB) decreases melt viscosity of the polyimide (see Abstract). It is clear that addition of such terminating agent as phthalic anhydride decreases molecular weight and effectively serves the same purpose.
It is well known that comparatively low melt viscosity improves processability of the plastic and decreases energy cost.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to use such terminal agent as phthalic anhydride and replace DI-7-7 diamine to BACB in order to improve processability of Katano’s polyimide simultaneously decreasing energy cost of the entire process.
Regarding limitations of claims 1-3 and 7-8, which recited a number of repeating units, Katano teaches weight average polyimide molecular weight (Mw) within the range of 10000 to 50000 (see 0207). According to Carothers formula, theoretical molecular weight distribution (MWD) of the polymer obtained by a polycondensation method is equal 2.0. Consequently, theoretical number average molecular weight (Mn) of modified Katano’s polyimide is within the range of 5000-25000. Considering that molecular weight of PAN-2- BACB unit has Mn of about 870 (i.e., 520+350), the calculated number of repeating units in the modified Katano’s macromolecule is within the range of around 6 to around 29 (i.e., 5000/870 to 25000/870).
Conclusion
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765