DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 10/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/29/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Draelos et al U.S 2019/0015167.
Claim 1: Draelos et al disclose an apparatus for performing a procedure on a portion of a body of a patient, the apparatus comprising: an imaging device configured to image the portion of the patient's body (see claim 7-Draelos “the image dataset comprises one of an optical coherenece tomography (OCT) image dataset, a magnetic resonance image (MRI) dataset, computed tomography (CT) image dataset, or an ultrasound image dataset”; a display configured to display the image of the portion of the patient's body to an operator (see figures 4-10,claim 1-Draelos “generate a virtual environment of the actual environment based on the image dataset”); a robotic unit configured to hold a tool at a given orientation with respect to the portion of the patient's body (see claim 1-Draelos “a robotic tool interface configured to control a robotic tool”
and at least one computer processor configured to: drive the display to display a virtual tool (see abstract, virtual tool 406, see claim 1-Draelos “control display of the virtual environment including a virtual tool controllable by a user for use to control the robotic tool within the actual environment”); overlaid upon the image of the portion of the patient's body such that at least a portion of the virtual tool coincides with a corresponding portion of the tool (see figures 6a-d, virtual tool 406, actual tool, for-example, forceps 400), and wherein at least one characteristic of the virtual tool differs from that of the tool, the at least one characteristic selected from the group consisting of: a shape of the virtual tool 406, a size of the virtual tool (the actual tool 400), and an orientation of the virtual tool (see abstract, it is noted that the control can maintain an orientation of display of the virtual tool with respect to the user); receive an input from an operator indicating that the portion of the virtual tool should be moved in a given manner (see claim 1-Draelos “receive user input for controlling the virtual tool to control the robotic tool”), and in response thereto, to drive the tool to move such that the corresponding portion of the tool moves with respect to the portion of the patient's body in a corresponding manner to the movement of the portion of the virtual tool (see claim 1-Draelos “receive user input for controlling the virtual tool to control the robotic tool”).
Claim 2: Draelos et al disclose wherein the portion of the virtual tool comprises a tip of the virtual tool, wherein the computer processor drives the display to display the virtual tool overlaid upon the image of the portion of the patient's body, such that at least the tip of the virtual tool coincides with a tip of the tool (it is noted that as the user can snap the tip of the virtual tool 406 to the desired position on the actual tool 400, see paragraphs 54,55).
Claim 3: Draelos et al disclose further comprising a control component, further comprising a control component, wherein the control component is configured to be moved by the operator, and wherein the computer processor is configured to receive movement of the control component as the input indicating that the portion of the virtual tool should be moved in the given manner (see Draelos discloses the use of a master input device, see paragraphs 42, 43).
Claim 4: Draelos et al disclose, wherein the computer processor is configured to: receive an input indicating that the computer processor should control movement of the tool in a real-tool mode, and in response thereto, drive the tool to move in a manner that directly correspond to inputs from the operator via the control component (it is noted that Draelos discloses that the hand and the tool motions are decoupled through the use of the virtual tool, see paragraphs 159, lines 2, lines 8-10).
Claim 5: Draelos et al disclose, wherein a second portion of the tool is controlled by the robotic unit such as to define a remote center of motion as the corresponding portion of the tool is moved (Draelos discloses the use of a remote center of motion, see paragraph 147, lines 10-12).
Claim 6: Draelos et al
disclose, wherein the portion of the virtual tool 406 comprises a tip of the virtual tool, wherein the computer processor drives the display to display the virtual tool overlaid upon the image of the portion of the patient's body, such that at least the tip of the virtual tool coincides with a tip of the tool, and wherein a second portion of the tool that is proximal to the tip of the tool is controlled by the robotic unit such as to define a remote center of motion as the tip of the tool is moved (it is noted that as the user can snap the tip of the virtual tool 406 to the desired position on the actual tool 400, see paragraphs 54,55).
Claim 7: Draelos et al disclose wherein the portion of the subject's body includes an eye of the subject's body, and wherein the second portion of the tool that is proximal to the tip of the tool is controlled by the robotic unit is kept within an incision region within a cornea of the subject as the tip of the tool is moved (Draelos discloses a robotic system for eye surgery, see fig. 4, paragraph 126).
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771