DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment and request for continued examination filed 01/28/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons (U.S. 2015/0048927 A1).
Claim 1, Simmons teaches:
A computer-implemented method for vehicle control (Simmons, Figs. 1 and 2, Paragraph [0021]), comprising:
performing a first control operation corresponding to a first parameter threshold on a target vehicle when it is detected that a first parameter between an electronic device and the target vehicle meets a triggering condition for the first parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The first control operation is the unlocking of the vehicle, the first parameter threshold is the RSSI hex value (see Simmons, Paragraph [0025]) and/or distance set for unlocking of the vehicle via slider 214 (see Simmons, Fig. 2: 214), and the triggering condition is when the RSSI and/or distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle reach the set distance, e.g. “35” in Fig. 2. The values set by sliders 212 and 214 correspond to an RSSI value range at a specific distance range, thus the first parameter includes RSSI and/or distance. The Examiner notes that the terms “first” and “second” may be used interchangeably without modifying the scope of the prior art, e.g. the second control operation may be interpreted as the locking of the vehicle.);
in response to performing the first control operation, automatically adjusting (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], When the user is in the proximity of the access point and cross the distance thresholds on multiple occurrences, it may be undesirable or inconvenient for the access point to continuously lock and unlock. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the user to be motivated to adjust the sliding bar 212, corresponding to a locking of the vehicle, in response to the vehicle unlocking, i.e. the vehicle performing the first control operation. As per the limitation of “automatically”, the vehicle would “automatically” set the hex value corresponding to the locking function according to the user selection of sliding bar 212.) a second parameter threshold corresponding to the first parameter from an initial threshold to a target threshold to increase a difference between the first parameter threshold and the second parameter threshold if the first parameter is signal strength (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], The user can adjust the locking threshold via slider 212. In Fig. 2, the locking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”. Thus, when a user slides the slider 212 to increase the locking threshold, e.g. to “65”, the user effectively increases the difference between the locking threshold and the unlocking threshold. The examiner notes that is also within the scope of Simmons for the difference between the locking threshold and the unlocking threshold to decrease depending on the direction in which the user moves sliders 212 and 214. Furthermore, the user can adjust the unlocking threshold via slider 214, wherein adjusting the unlocking threshold would set a target threshold for the unlocking threshold. It is further noted that the values set by sliders 212 and 214 correspond to an RSSI value range at a specific distance range, thus the first parameter includes RSSI and/or distance.);
performing a second control operation corresponding to the second parameter threshold on the target vehicle when it is detected that the first parameter meets a triggering condition for the target threshold (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], When the user held device 130 reaches the locking threshold distance, i.e. meets a triggering condition for the target threshold, the vehicle is programmed to lock, i.e. a second control operation, wherein the locking threshold distance is a second parameter threshold. It is noted that in the example of increasing the locking threshold, e.g. to “65”, when the distance of the user moves the slider 212 effectively sets the target threshold for the locking of the vehicle. The Examiner notes that the terms “first” and “second” may be used interchangeably without modifying the scope of the prior art, e.g. the second control operation may be interpreted as the locking of the vehicle.); and
after performing the second control operation, automatically adjusting the second parameter threshold from the target threshold back to the initial threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the user to be motivated to adjust the sliding bar 212 to a previous value, e.g. “60”, corresponding to a locking of the vehicle, after the user has crossed the “new” value, e.g. “65”. As per the limitation of “automatically”, the vehicle would “automatically” set the hex value corresponding to the locking function according to the user selection of sliding bar 212.).
Simmons does not explicitly teach:
To increase a difference between the first parameter threshold and the second parameter threshold if the first parameter is distance.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the RSSI value range, as indicated by the graphical user interface of Simmons for lock 212 and unlock 214, to also represent threshold distances. The RSSI value ranges are represented in hex on the graphical user interface, however, the values are based on RSSI values at different distances and are customized for each particular vehicle and use pattern (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]). Therefore, the changing of each value for lock 212 and unlock 214 also effectively changes the value of each corresponding distance, e.g. within 2 meters or so of the car to trigger the lock/unlock mechanism. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the increasing of the difference between the lock 212 value and the unlock 214 value occurs in concordance to the respective distances represented by each RSSI hex value.
Claim 2, Simmons further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein:
the first control operation is an unlocking operation, wherein the first parameter threshold is an unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 214, Paragraph [0021]), wherein the second control operation is a locking operation, wherein the second parameter threshold is a locking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021]), and wherein the locking threshold is less than the unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2, According to the Applicant’s specification as Applicant’s admitted prior art, the larger the distance from the target vehicle, the weaker the signal strength (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0043]). Therefore, the values); and
the adjusting a second parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle from an initial threshold to a target threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], The user can adjust the locking threshold via slider 212. In Fig. 2, the locking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”. Thus, when a user slides the slider 212 to increase/decrease the locking threshold, e.g. to “65” or “55”, respectively, an initial threshold of “60” is modified to a target threshold.), comprises:
decreasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is strength of a communication signal between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).); and
increasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is a distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).).
Claim 3, Simmons further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein:
the first control operation is a locking operation, wherein the first parameter threshold is a locking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021]), wherein the second control operation is an unlocking operation, wherein the second parameter threshold is an unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 214, Paragraph [0021]), and wherein the locking threshold is less than the unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2, In the example of user interface in Fig. 2, the locking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”, which is consistent with the Applicant’s specification (see Applicant’s Figs. 2 and 3), wherein the unlocking threshold surrounds area A and is smaller, i.e. closer to the vehicle, than Area B, which is surrounded by the locking threshold.); and
the adjusting a second parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle from an initial threshold to a target threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 214, Paragraph [0021], The user can adjust the unlocking threshold via slider 214. In Fig. 2, the unlocking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”. Thus, when a user slides the slider 214 to increase/decrease the unlocking threshold, e.g. to “40” or “30”, respectively, an initial threshold of “35” is modified to a target threshold.), comprises:
increasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is strength of a communication signal between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).); and
decreasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is a distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).).
Claim 4, Simmons further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the first parameter comprises signal strength of short-range wireless communication between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraphs [0031-0032], The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle via Bluetooth, which is equivalent to Applicant’s definition of a short wavelength signal (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0004].).
Claim 5, Simmons further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein, before performing a first control operation corresponding to a first parameter threshold on a target vehicle when it is detected that a first parameter between an electronic device and the target vehicle meets a triggering condition for the first parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The first control operation is the unlocking of the vehicle, the first parameter threshold is the RSSI hex value (see Simmons, Paragraph [0025]) and/or distance set for unlocking of the vehicle via slider 214 (see Simmons, Fig. 2: 214), and the triggering condition is when the RSSI and/or distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle reach the set distance, e.g. “35” in Fig. 2. The values set by sliders 212 and 214 correspond to an RSSI value range at a specific distance range, thus the first parameter includes RSSI and/or distance. The Examiner notes that the terms “first” and “second” may be used interchangeably without modifying the scope of the prior art, e.g. the second control operation may be interpreted as the locking of the vehicle.), comprising:
determining signal strength in a case of a first predetermined distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle as first signal strength threshold, wherein the first parameter threshold comprises the first signal strength threshold (Simmons, Paragraphs [0025] and [0032], The first threshold is based on an RSSI hex value that is related to a distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle. Thus, the value assigned to the locking or unlocking via sliders 212 and 214 are based on the RSSI hex value and the distance.); and
determining signal strength in a case of a second predetermined distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle as a second signal strength threshold, wherein the second parameter threshold comprises the second signal strength threshold (Simmons, Paragraphs [0025] and [0032], The first threshold is based on an RSSI hex value that is related to a distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle. Thus, the value assigned to the locking or unlocking via sliders 212 and 214 are based on the RSSI hex value and the distance.).
Claim 6, Simmons further teaches:
The computer-implemented method according claim 5, comprising:
establishing a short-range wireless connection between the electronic device and the target vehicle when it is detected that the signal strength meets a triggering condition for the unlocking threshold (Simmons, Paragraph [0049], The system determines that the smart phone 130 remains in proximity to the module at a particular RSSI/distance and unlocks the access point.); and
disconnecting the short-range wireless connection between the electronic device and the target vehicle when it is detected that the target vehicle meets a triggering condition for the locking threshold (Simmons, Paragraph [0043], In the FAR_AWAY state, the smart phone and the module are no longer connected. When the user has reached FAR_AWAY status, the user has already met the triggering condition for the locking threshold (see Simmons, Paragraph [0021]).).
Claim 7, Simmons further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein, after performing a second control operation corresponding to the second parameter threshold on the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021]), comprising:
adjusting the second parameter threshold from the target threshold to the initial threshold (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], It is within the scope of Simmons for the user to modify the thresholds, either slider 212 or 214, after the vehicle has locked or unlocked, respectively, back to an original value or to a new value. For example, the user is capable of making selections via the user interface 210 while the user is detected to be within detection of the access point, i.e. the vehicle.).
Claim 8, Simmons teaches:
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions executable by a computer system to perform operations (Simmons, Paragraph [0015], The module 110 is operated with a microcontroller 114. It is further noted that user held device 130 may be a smartphone (see Simmons, Paragraph [0017], which includes its own non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions executable by a computer system.), comprising:
performing a first control operation corresponding to a first parameter threshold on a target vehicle when it is detected that a first parameter between an electronic device and the target vehicle meets a triggering condition for the first parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The first control operation is the unlocking of the vehicle, the first parameter threshold is the RSSI hex value (see Simmons, Paragraph [0025]) and/or distance set for unlocking of the vehicle via slider 214 (see Simmons, Fig. 2: 214), and the triggering condition is when the RSSI and/or distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle reach the set distance, e.g. “35” in Fig. 2. The values set by sliders 212 and 214 correspond to an RSSI value range at a specific distance range, thus the first parameter includes RSSI and/or distance. The Examiner notes that the terms “first” and “second” may be used interchangeably without modifying the scope of the prior art, e.g. the second control operation may be interpreted as the locking of the vehicle.);
in response to performing the first control operation, automatically adjusting (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], When the user is in the proximity of the access point and cross the distance thresholds on multiple occurrences, it may be undesirable or inconvenient for the access point to continuously lock and unlock. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the user to be motivated to adjust the sliding bar 212, corresponding to a locking of the vehicle, in response to the vehicle unlocking, i.e. the vehicle performing the first control operation. As per the limitation of “automatically”, the vehicle would “automatically” set the hex value corresponding to the locking function according to the user selection of sliding bar 212.) a second parameter threshold corresponding to the first parameter from an initial threshold to a target threshold to increase a difference between the first parameter threshold and the second parameter threshold if the first parameter is signal strength (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], The user can adjust the locking threshold via slider 212. In Fig. 2, the locking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”. Thus, when a user slides the slider 212 to increase the locking threshold, e.g. to “65”, the user effectively increases the difference between the locking threshold and the unlocking threshold. The examiner notes that is also within the scope of Simmons for the difference between the locking threshold and the unlocking threshold to decrease depending on the direction in which the user moves sliders 212 and 214. Furthermore, the user can adjust the unlocking threshold via slider 214, wherein adjusting the unlocking threshold would set a target threshold for the unlocking threshold. It is further noted that the values set by sliders 212 and 214 correspond to an RSSI value range at a specific distance range, thus the first parameter includes RSSI and/or distance.); and
performing a second control operation corresponding to the second parameter threshold on the target vehicle when it is detected that the first parameter meets a triggering condition for the target threshold (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], When the user held device 130 reaches the locking threshold distance, i.e. meets a triggering condition for the target threshold, the vehicle is programmed to lock, i.e. a second control operation, wherein the locking threshold distance is a second parameter threshold. It is noted that in the example of increasing the locking threshold, e.g. to “65”, when the distance of the user moves the slider 212 effectively sets the target threshold for the locking of the vehicle. Furthermore, the user can adjust the unlocking threshold via slider 214, wherein adjusting the unlocking threshold would set a target threshold for the unlocking threshold.); and
after performing the second control operation, automatically adjusting the second parameter threshold from the target threshold back to the initial threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the user to be motivated to adjust the sliding bar 212 to a previous value, e.g. “60”, corresponding to a locking of the vehicle, after the user has crossed the “new” value, e.g. “65”. As per the limitation of “automatically”, the vehicle would “automatically” set the hex value corresponding to the locking function according to the user selection of sliding bar 212.).
Simmons does not explicitly teach:
To increase a difference between the first parameter threshold and the second parameter threshold if the first parameter is distance.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the RSSI value range, as indicated by the graphical user interface of Simmons for lock 212 and unlock 214, to also represent threshold distances. The RSSI value ranges are represented in hex on the graphical user interface, however, the values are based on RSSI values at different distances and are customized for each particular vehicle and use pattern (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]). Therefore, the changing of each value for lock 212 and unlock 214 also effectively changes the value of each corresponding distance, e.g. within 2 meters or so of the car to trigger the lock/unlock mechanism. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the increasing of the difference between the lock 212 value and the unlock 214 value occurs in concordance to the respective distances represented by each RSSI hex value.
Claim 9, Simmons further teaches:
The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein:
the first control operation is an unlocking operation, wherein the first parameter threshold is an unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 214, Paragraph [0021]), wherein the second control operation is a locking operation, wherein the second parameter threshold is a locking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021]), and wherein the locking threshold is less than the unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2, In the example of user interface in Fig. 2, the locking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”, which is consistent with the Applicant’s specification (see Applicant’s Figs. 2 and 3), wherein the unlocking threshold surrounds area A and is smaller, i.e. closer to the vehicle, than Area B, which is surrounded by the locking threshold.); and
the adjusting a second parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle from an initial threshold to a target threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], The user can adjust the locking threshold via slider 212. In Fig. 2, the locking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”. Thus, when a user slides the slider 212 to increase/decrease the locking threshold, e.g. to “65” or “55”, respectively, an initial threshold of “60” is modified to a target threshold.), comprises:
decreasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is strength of a communication signal between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).); and
increasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is a distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).).
Claim 10, Simmons further teaches:
The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein:
the first control operation is a locking operation, wherein the first parameter threshold is a locking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021]), wherein the second control operation is an unlocking operation, wherein the second parameter threshold is an unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 214, Paragraph [0021]), and wherein the locking threshold is less than the unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2, In the example of user interface in Fig. 2, the locking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”, which is consistent with the Applicant’s specification (see Applicant’s Figs. 2 and 3), wherein the unlocking threshold surrounds area A and is smaller, i.e. closer to the vehicle, than Area B, which is surrounded by the locking threshold.); and
the adjusting a second parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle from an initial threshold to a target threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 214, Paragraph [0021], The user can adjust the unlocking threshold via slider 214. In Fig. 2, the unlocking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”. Thus, when a user slides the slider 214 to increase/decrease the unlocking threshold, e.g. to “40” or “30”, respectively, an initial threshold of “35” is modified to a target threshold.), comprises:
increasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is strength of a communication signal between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).); and
decreasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is a distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).).
Claim 11, Simmons further teaches:
The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the first parameter comprises signal strength of short-range wireless communication between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraphs [0031-0032], The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle via Bluetooth, which is equivalent to Applicant’s definition of a short wavelength signal (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0004].).
Claim 12, Simmons further teaches:
The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein, before performing a first control operation corresponding to a first parameter threshold on a target vehicle when it is detected that a first parameter between an electronic device and the target vehicle meets a triggering condition for the first parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The first control operation is the unlocking of the vehicle, the first parameter threshold is the RSSI hex value (see Simmons, Paragraph [0025]) and/or distance set for unlocking of the vehicle via slider 214 (see Simmons, Fig. 2: 214), and the triggering condition is when the RSSI and/or distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle reach the set distance, e.g. “35” in Fig. 2. The values set by sliders 212 and 214 correspond to an RSSI value range at a specific distance range, thus the first parameter includes RSSI and/or distance. The Examiner notes that the terms “first” and “second” may be used interchangeably without modifying the scope of the prior art, e.g. the second control operation may be interpreted as the locking of the vehicle.), comprising:
determining signal strength in a case of a first predetermined distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle as first signal strength threshold, wherein the first parameter threshold comprises the first signal strength threshold (Simmons, Paragraphs [0025] and [0032], The first threshold is based on an RSSI hex value that is related to a distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle. Thus, the value assigned to the locking or unlocking via sliders 212 and 214 are based on the RSSI hex value and the distance.); and
determining signal strength in a case of a second predetermined distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle as a second signal strength threshold, wherein the second parameter threshold comprises the second signal strength threshold (Simmons, Paragraphs [0025] and [0032], The first threshold is based on an RSSI hex value that is related to a distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle. Thus, the value assigned to the locking or unlocking via sliders 212 and 214 are based on the RSSI hex value and the distance.).
Claim 13, Simmons further teaches:
The non-transitory, computer-readable medium according claim 12, comprising:
establishing a short-range wireless connection between the electronic device and the target vehicle when it is detected that the signal strength meets a triggering condition for the unlocking threshold (Simmons, Paragraph [0049], The system determines that the smart phone 130 remains in proximity to the module at a particular RSSI/distance and unlocks the access point.); and
disconnecting the short-range wireless connection between the electronic device and the target vehicle when it is detected that the target vehicle meets a triggering condition for the locking threshold (Simmons, Paragraph [0043], In the FAR_AWAY state, the smart phone and the module are no longer connected. When the user has reached FAR_AWAY status, the user has already met the triggering condition for the locking threshold (see Simmons, Paragraph [0021]).).
Claim 14, Simmons further teaches:
The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein, after performing a second control operation corresponding to the second parameter threshold on the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021]), comprising:
adjusting the second parameter threshold from the target threshold to the initial threshold (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], It is within the scope of Simmons for the user to modify the thresholds, either slider 212 or 214, after the vehicle has locked or unlocked, respectively, back to an original value or to a new value. For example, the user is capable of making selections via the user interface 210 while the user is detected to be within detection of the access point, i.e. the vehicle.).
Claim 15, Simmons further teaches:
A computer-implemented system (Simmons, Figs. 1 and 2), comprising:
one or more computers (Simmons, Fig. 1: 110, 130, The module 110 includes a microcontroller 114 combined in a single integrated circuit board (see Simmons, Paragraph [0015]), and is functionally equivalent to a computer. The user held device 130 may be implemented as a smartphone (see Simmons, Paragraph [0017]), and is also functionally equivalent to a computer.); and
one or more computer memory devices interoperably coupled with the one or more computers and having tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable media storing one or more instructions that, when executed by the one or more computers, perform one or more operations (Simmons, Paragraph [0015], The module 110 is operated with a microcontroller 114. It is further noted that user held device 130 may be a smartphone (see Simmons, Paragraph [0017], which includes its own non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions executable by a computer system.), comprising:
performing a first control operation corresponding to a first parameter threshold on a target vehicle when it is detected that a first parameter between an electronic device and the target vehicle meets a triggering condition for the first parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The first control operation is the unlocking of the vehicle, the first parameter threshold is the RSSI hex value (see Simmons, Paragraph [0025]) and/or distance set for unlocking of the vehicle via slider 214 (see Simmons, Fig. 2: 214), and the triggering condition is when the RSSI and/or distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle reach the set distance, e.g. “35” in Fig. 2. The values set by sliders 212 and 214 correspond to an RSSI value range at a specific distance range, thus the first parameter includes RSSI and/or distance. The Examiner notes that the terms “first” and “second” may be used interchangeably without modifying the scope of the prior art, e.g. the second control operation may be interpreted as the locking of the vehicle.);
in response to performing the first control operation, automatically adjusting (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], When the user is in the proximity of the access point and cross the distance thresholds on multiple occurrences, it may be undesirable or inconvenient for the access point to continuously lock and unlock. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the user to be motivated to adjust the sliding bar 212, corresponding to a locking of the vehicle, in response to the vehicle unlocking, i.e. the vehicle performing the first control operation. As per the limitation of “automatically”, the vehicle would “automatically” set the hex value corresponding to the locking function according to the user selection of sliding bar 212.) a second parameter threshold corresponding to the first parameter from an initial threshold to a target threshold to increase a difference between the first parameter threshold and the second parameter threshold if the first parameter is signal strength (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], The user can adjust the locking threshold via slider 212. In Fig. 2, the locking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”. Thus, when a user slides the slider 212 to increase the locking threshold, e.g. to “65”, the user effectively increases the difference between the locking threshold and the unlocking threshold. The examiner notes that is also within the scope of Simmons for the difference between the locking threshold and the unlocking threshold to decrease depending on the direction in which the user moves sliders 212 and 214. Furthermore, the user can adjust the unlocking threshold via slider 214, wherein adjusting the unlocking threshold would set a target threshold for the unlocking threshold. It is further noted that the values set by sliders 212 and 214 correspond to an RSSI value range at a specific distance range, thus the first parameter includes RSSI and/or distance.); and
performing a second control operation corresponding to the second parameter threshold on the target vehicle when it is detected that the first parameter meets a triggering condition for the target threshold (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], When the user held device 130 reaches the locking threshold distance, i.e. meets a triggering condition for the target threshold, the vehicle is programmed to lock, i.e. a second control operation, wherein the locking threshold distance is a second parameter threshold. It is noted that in the example of increasing the locking threshold, e.g. to “65”, when the distance of the user moves the slider 212 effectively sets the target threshold for the locking of the vehicle. Furthermore, the user can adjust the unlocking threshold via slider 214, wherein adjusting the unlocking threshold would set a target threshold for the unlocking threshold.); and
after performing the second control operation, automatically adjusting the second parameter threshold from the target threshold back to the initial threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the user to be motivated to adjust the sliding bar 212 to a previous value, e.g. “60”, corresponding to a locking of the vehicle, after the user has crossed the “new” value, e.g. “65”. As per the limitation of “automatically”, the vehicle would “automatically” set the hex value corresponding to the locking function according to the user selection of sliding bar 212.).
Simmons does not explicitly teach:
To increase a difference between the first parameter threshold and the second parameter threshold if the first parameter is distance.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the RSSI value range, as indicated by the graphical user interface of Simmons for lock 212 and unlock 214, to also represent threshold distances. The RSSI value ranges are represented in hex on the graphical user interface, however, the values are based on RSSI values at different distances and are customized for each particular vehicle and use pattern (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]). Therefore, the changing of each value for lock 212 and unlock 214 also effectively changes the value of each corresponding distance, e.g. within 2 meters or so of the car to trigger the lock/unlock mechanism. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the increasing of the difference between the lock 212 value and the unlock 214 value occurs in concordance to the respective distances represented by each RSSI hex value.
Claim 16, Simmons further teaches:
The computer-implemented system of claim 15, wherein:
the first control operation is an unlocking operation, wherein the first parameter threshold is an unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 214, Paragraph [0021]), wherein the second control operation is a locking operation, wherein the second parameter threshold is a locking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021]), and wherein the locking threshold is less than the unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2, In the example of user interface in Fig. 2, the locking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”, which is consistent with the Applicant’s specification (see Applicant’s Figs. 2 and 3), wherein the unlocking threshold surrounds area A and is smaller, i.e. closer to the vehicle, than Area B, which is surrounded by the locking threshold.); and
the adjusting a second parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle from an initial threshold to a target threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021], The user can adjust the locking threshold via slider 212. In Fig. 2, the locking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”. Thus, when a user slides the slider 212 to increase/decrease the locking threshold, e.g. to “65” or “55”, respectively, an initial threshold of “60” is modified to a target threshold.), comprises:
decreasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is strength of a communication signal between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).); and
increasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is a distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).).
Claim 17, Simmons further teaches:
The computer-implemented system of claim 15, wherein:
the first control operation is a locking operation, wherein the first parameter threshold is a locking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0021]), wherein the second control operation is an unlocking operation, wherein the second parameter threshold is an unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 214, Paragraph [0021]), and wherein the locking threshold is less than the unlocking threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2, In the example of user interface in Fig. 2, the locking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”, which is consistent with the Applicant’s specification (see Applicant’s Figs. 2 and 3), wherein the unlocking threshold surrounds area A and is smaller, i.e. closer to the vehicle, than Area B, which is surrounded by the locking threshold.); and
the adjusting a second parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle from an initial threshold to a target threshold (Simmons, Fig. 2: 214, Paragraph [0021], The user can adjust the unlocking threshold via slider 214. In Fig. 2, the unlocking threshold is set to “60” and the unlocking threshold is set to “35”. Thus, when a user slides the slider 214 to increase/decrease the unlocking threshold, e.g. to “40” or “30”, respectively, an initial threshold of “35” is modified to a target threshold.), comprises:
increasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is strength of a communication signal between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).); and
decreasing the second parameter threshold from the initial threshold to the target threshold if the first parameter is a distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The slider 212 for adjusting the locking threshold may be increased or decreased depending on the user. The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0032]).).
Claim 18, Simmons further teaches:
The computer-implemented system of claim 16, wherein the first parameter comprises signal strength of short-range wireless communication between the electronic device and the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraphs [0031-0032], The first parameter is based on an RSSI value and/or distance related to the communication between the user held device 130 and the vehicle via Bluetooth, which is equivalent to Applicant’s definition of a short wavelength signal (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0004].).
Claim 19, Simmons further teaches:
The computer-implemented system of claim 18, wherein, before performing a first control operation corresponding to a first parameter threshold on a target vehicle when it is detected that a first parameter between an electronic device and the target vehicle meets a triggering condition for the first parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle (Simmons, Paragraph [0021], The first control operation is the unlocking of the vehicle, the first parameter threshold is the RSSI hex value (see Simmons, Paragraph [0025]) and/or distance set for unlocking of the vehicle via slider 214 (see Simmons, Fig. 2: 214), and the triggering condition is when the RSSI and/or distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle reach the set distance, e.g. “35” in Fig. 2. The values set by sliders 212 and 214 correspond to an RSSI value range at a specific distance range, thus the first parameter includes RSSI and/or distance. The Examiner notes that the terms “first” and “second” may be used interchangeably without modifying the scope of the prior art, e.g. the second control operation may be interpreted as the locking of the vehicle.), comprising:
determining signal strength in a case of a first predetermined distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle as first signal strength threshold, wherein the first parameter threshold comprises the first signal strength threshold (Simmons, Paragraphs [0025] and [0032], The first threshold is based on an RSSI hex value that is related to a distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle. Thus, the value assigned to the locking or unlocking via sliders 212 and 214 are based on the RSSI hex value and the distance.); and
determining signal strength in a case of a second predetermined distance between the electronic device and the target vehicle as a second signal strength threshold, wherein the second parameter threshold comprises the second signal strength threshold (Simmons, Paragraphs [0025] and [0032], The first threshold is based on an RSSI hex value that is related to a distance between the user held device 130 and the vehicle. Thus, the value assigned to the locking or unlocking via sliders 212 and 214 are based on the RSSI hex value and the distance.).
Claim 20, Simmons further teaches:
The computer-implemented system according claim 19, comprising:
establishing a short-range wireless connection between the electronic device and the target vehicle when it is detected that the signal strength meets a triggering condition for the unlocking threshold (Simmons, Paragraph [0049], The system determines that the smart phone 130 remains in proximity to the module at a particular RSSI/distance and unlocks the access point.); and
disconnecting the short-range wireless connection between the electronic device and the target vehicle when it is detected that the target vehicle meets a triggering condition for the locking threshold (Simmons, Paragraph [0043], In the FAR_AWAY state, the smart phone and the module are no longer connected. When the user has reached FAR_AWAY status, the user has already met the triggering condition for the locking threshold (see Simmons, Paragraph [0021]).).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, the Applicant’s specification do not explicitly define the steps of “automatically adjusting” or “automatically adjusting the second parameter threshold from the target threshold back to the initial threshold”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Secondly, as per the limitation of “in response to performing the first control operation, automatically adjusting a second parameter”, it appears that the Applicant intends for the claims to define that the vehicle is capable of determining or sensing the first control operation, and to be programmed to adjust the second parameter threshold in response to the determining or sensing that the first control operation has been performed. The claims, in light of the Applicant’s specification, do not inherently or explicitly define this aspect of the Applicant’s invention. For example, Paragraph [0077] of the Applicant’s specification, in view of Fig. 9, discloses a first execution module 91 configured too perform a first control operation and a first adjustment module 92 that adjusts a second parameter threshold corresponding to the target vehicle from an initial threshold to a target threshold to increase a difference between the first parameter threshold and the second parameter threshold. The first adjustment module 92 performs this step after the first execution module 91 performs the step of performing a first control operation. The specification, however, does not define a nexus between step of the first execution module 91 and the first adjustment module 92, e.g. the first control operation “automatically” triggering the adjusting of the initial threshold to the target threshold. Thus, as disclosed in the rejection above, with respect to the Simmons reference, when a user causes a vehicle to lock by crossing the proximity set by bar 214, it may be undesirable to the user for the vehicle to continuously lock and unlock the vehicle (see Simmons, Paragraph [0021]). It is within the scope oof Simmons for the user to adjust the bar 212 in response to the locking and unlocking of the vehicle, effectively increasing the difference between the first parameter threshold and the second parameter threshold. The adjustment of the bar 212 would thus be performed in response to the continuous locking and unlocking of the vehicle. As per the limitation of “automatically”, because the Applicant’s specification lacks the nexus between the first control operation and the adjusting of a second parameter threshold, the step of “automatically” adjusting is interpretable as the vehicle automatically setting the hex value corresponding to the locking function according to the user selection of sliding bar 212. The Examiner suggests potentially defining what the vehicle is capable of sensing or determining with respect to the first control operation in order to cause the adjusting of the second parameter threshold, while maintaining consistency with the Applicant’s specification.
As per the limitation of “after performing the second control operation, automatically adjusting”, the claims, in light of the Applicant’s specification, do not define a nexus between the step of performing the second control operation and the adjusting the second parameter threshold, similar to the first control operation above.
Conclusion
/JAMES J YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686