DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed 4/12/2023. As directed by the amendment, claims 4-14, 16-18, 20-35, 37-38, 41-45, 47-50, and 54 have been amended and no claims have been cancelled or newly added. Thus, claims 1-54 are presenting pending in this application, with claims 39-54 presented on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 1/23/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 50 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 50, lines 3-4 recites, “a venous valve sinus and sinus a subsequent compression”, which is grammatically incorrect; it is suggested to amend the claim to delete the second “sinus”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39, 41-42, and 45-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Arkans et al (2016/0175184) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Arkans et al in view of Rousso et al (2007/0173886), with Ravikumar et al (2022/0387249) provided as evidence.
Regarding claim 39, Arkans discloses a device whose ordinary use discloses a method comprising the steps of: applying an inflatable bladder (108) (calf cuff) having a majority of an inflatable portion positionable between a user's knee and a midpoint of the user's gastrocnemius muscle, the inflatable bladder being inflatable to apply pressure to a portion of the user's gastrocnemius muscle (calf cuff (108) is configured to apply compression to a calf of a patient) (para [0038]); and in fig 4, discloses inflating the inflatable bladder (108) to deliver a peak inflation pressure of compressed air (p3) at a compression period (para [0066]) and a frequency of at least 3 cycles per minute (para [0022]), wherein inflating the inflatable bladder (108) includes the steps of: inflating the inflatable bladder (108) to a target ramp-up pressure (p2) during a ramp-up period (inflation pulse interval (between t1 and t2); inflating the inflatable bladder (108) to the peak inflation pressure (p3) during a pulse period (period between t3 and t4) subsequent to the ramp-up period (t1-t2); maintaining a pressure of the inflatable bladder (108) at a holding pressure range (pt) (target pressure) for a holding period (t4-t5) subsequent to the pulse period (t3-t4); and deflating the inflatable bladder (108) to the minimum pressure (p1) subsequent to the holding period (t5 and onward results in deflation back to p1), the minimum pressure (p1) being less than the target ramp-up pressure (p2) (para [0066]).
The method of Arkans is considered to induce reverse flow in a venous valve sinus, wherein the compression period and a frequency to induces circulatory flow in a venous valve sinus of the user, as Arkans discloses the claimed method steps, and therefore, it would be expected to perform the function of inducing reverse flow in a venous valve sinus.
In the alternative, although Arkans does not explicitly disclose the method is configured to induce reverse flow in a venous valve sinus area, Rousso teaches a teaches a compression therapy wrap configured to provide compression to a user for treating deep vein thrombosis, by providing compression to a user, wherein the method induce a venous suction effect by a rapid fall in pressure at the end of each pressure cycle (para [0092]), and Ravikumar teaches a method for treating a patient with DVT, wherein the patient has chronic vein insufficiency (CV) when one-way valves in the veins become damaged (para [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Arkans to treat patient with DVT by providing a venous suction effect by a rapid fall in pressure at the end of a pressure cycle as taught by Rousso in order to treat patients with DVT to facilitate tissue perfusion. The now-modified Arkans’s device is considered to induce reverse flow in a venous valve sinus area, as Rousso discloses that the compressions are configured to provide a venous suction effect (Rousso, para [0092]), and Ravikumar discloses that DVT treatment includes treatment on patients with CVI, wherein veins in the arms and legs are damaged, allowing blood to flow in a reverse direction (Ravikumar, para [0018]), and therefore providing compressions on a patient to induce a venous suction effect would be operable to induce a reverse flow in a venous valve sinus area on a patient with CVI with damaged veins allowing blood to flow in a reverse direction.
Regarding claim 41, Arkans discloses, wherein an inflation period of the inflatable bladder is one of: i) 50 ms or less; ii) 150 ms to 250 ms; or iii) 300 ms to 400 ms (pulsed inflation can be accomplished in under 400 ms, or under 250 ms) (para [0015]).
Regarding claim 42, Arkans discloses wherein the peak inflation pressure is one of: ii) 70 mmHg to 130 mmHg; or iii) 100 mmHg to 200 mmHg (pressure greater than 120 mmHg) (para [0015]).
Regarding claim 45, Modified Arkans discloses the inflation period includes a compression hold period (DT1=t5-t4) in which the deflation valve is opened (Arkans, para [0062]).
Modified Arkans does not disclose the compression hold period is 400 ms or less.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of modified Arkans so that the compression hold period is 400 ms or less, as it has been held that optimization of ranges is within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, modifying the compression hold period by routine experimentation would have been an obvious modification to reduce the pressure until the target pressure has been reached (Arkans, para [0062]).
Regarding claim 46, Arkans in fig 4 discloses a pressure within the inflatable bladder dissipates over substantially all of the compression hold period (as shown in fig 4, pressure dissipates from p3 to pt over the compression hold period (t4 to t5) (fig 4, para [0066]).
Regarding claim 47, Arkans in fig 4 discloses the inflation period comprises a peak inflation period defined by a duration to the peak inflation pressure (inflation period includes an interval t1 to t5 in which pressure is increased from a baseline pressure p1 to a peak inflation pressure p3) (fig 4, para [0066]).
Regarding claim 48, modified Arkans disclose inflating the inflatable bladder includes cyclically inflating the bladder to alternate between the peak inflation pressure and a subsequent peak inflation pressure.
Modified Arkans does not disclose cyclically inflating the bladder to alternate between the peak inflation pressure and a subsequent peak inflation pressure for at least 6 cycles per minute.
However, Rousso teaches a compression therapy wrap configured to provide compression to a leg of a user, wherein the device is can be configured to provide a venous suction effect (para [0092]), and the frequency of cycles can be between 5 and 75 seconds (0.8-12 cycles per minute).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Arkans so that frequency is at least 6 cycles per minute per leg of the user as taught by Rousso in order provide suitable parameters for providing a venous suction effect (Rousso, para [0092]), and in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 49, modified Arkans discloses providing a venous suction effect (Rousso, para [0092]) to a patient with DVT, wherein a patient with DVT may also suffer from CVI with damaged valves in the vein to allow flow in a reverse direction, and therefore the method of modified Arkans would be operable to induce a reverse venous valve sinus area, including a venous valve sinus area at a junction of the user's saphenous vein and the user's femoral vein. Furthermore, because modified Arkans discloses the claimed method steps, it would be expected to perform the function of inducing reverse flow in a venous valve sinus at a junction of the user's saphenous vein and the user's femoral vein.
Regarding claim 50, modified Arkans in figs 5-6 of Arkans discloses providing successive inflations of the bladder to provide compressions to a patient including at least a first and second compression which are shown to have an identical pressure waveform (para [0065]), and therefore would be capable of providing a first compression that induces a first reverse flow peak velocity index at a venous valve sinus (if the device is used to treat DVT on a patient with CVI (Ravikumar, para [0018]), a compression would increase pressure in a vein compressed by the cuff and would cause a reverse venous flow) and a subsequent compression inducing a subsequent reverse flow peak velocity index at the venous valve sinus, wherein a magnitude of the first reverse flow peak velocity index is 50% to 150% of a magnitude of the subsequent reverse flow peak velocity index (as shown in fig 5 of Arkans, pressure waveform applied in each compression is identical, and therefore a magnitude of the first and second reverse peak flow velocity would be expected to be the same (i.e. 100%) as one another).
Regarding claim 51, modified Arkans discloses providing compressions, wherein the first compression induces a first forward flow occurring substantially simultaneously with the first reverse flow (if the device is used to treat DVT on a patient with CVI (Ravikumar, para [0018]), a compression would increase pressure in a vein compressed by the cuff and would cause a forward flow and a reverse venous flow) and all subsequent compressions induces a subsequent forward flow occurring substantially simultaneously with the reverse flow (as shown in fig 5 of Arkans, pressure waveform applied in each compression is identical, and therefore, it would be expected that a subsequent compression would a subsequent forward flow occurring substantially simultaneously with the reverse flow).
Claim(s) 40 and 43-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Arkans et al, Rousso et al, and Ravikumar et al as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Lowe et al (2012/0172774).
Regarding claim 40, modified Arkans discloses a bladder sized and shaped to apply pressure to a user’s calf.
Modified Arkans does not disclose the inflatable bladder applies pressure to the user's gastrocnemius over an area of one of: i) less than 60 sq. in.; ii) about 55 sq. in.; iii) less than 30 sq. in; iv) about 25 sq. in; v) less than 15 sq. in.; or vi) about 12.5 sq. in.
However, Lowe teaches a compression therapy wrap that can be applied to a leg of a user (para [0006]), and wherein the wrap is sized and shaped to apply pressure over an area of about i) less than 60 sq. in.; ii) about 55 sq. in.; iii) less than 30 sq. in; iv) about 25 sq. in (treatment area of the wrap will range from about 0.15 sq.-feet to about 6 sq.-feet, which equals 21.9 sq in to 864 sq in) (para [0164]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Arkans so that inflatable bladder is the inflatable bladder applies pressure to the user's gastrocnemius over an area of one of i) less than 60 sq. in.; ii) about 55 sq. in.; iii) less than 30 sq. in; iv) about 25 sq. in as taught by Lowe, as Lowe teaches that the claimed area is within a range of a known area to apply therapy to a user, Arkans teaches that the pressure is applied on a gastrocnemius (calf) of a user, and in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 43, modified Arkans discloses inflating the inflatable bladder includes: ii) applying pressure for an inflation period of 150 ms to 250 ms (inflation time can be less than 250 ms) (Arkans, para [0013]) and a peak inflation pressure being 70 mmHg to 130 mmHg (110 to 130 mmHg) (Arkans, para [0062]).
Modified Arkans does not disclose applying pressure to the user's gastrocnemius over an area of one of less than 30 sq. in or about 25 sq. in.
However, Lowe teaches a compression therapy wrap that can be applied to a leg of a user (para [0006]), and wherein the wrap is sized and shaped to apply pressure over an area of about less than 30 sq. in; or about 25 sq. in (treatment area of the wrap will range from about 0.15 sq.-feet to about 6 sq.-feet, which equals 21.9 sq in to 864 sq in) (para [0164]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Arkans so that inflatable bladder is the inflatable bladder applies pressure to the user's gastrocnemius over an area of one less than 30 sq. in or about 25 sq. in as taught by Lowe, as Lowe teaches that the claimed area is within a range of a known area to apply therapy to a user, Arkans teaches that the pressure is applied on a gastrocnemius (calf) of a user, and in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 44, modified Arkans discloses inflating the inflatable bladder includes: i) applying pressure for an inflation period of 50 ms or less (inflation period can be in the tens of milliseconds (Arkans, para [0015]), and with a total inflation time of the sum of 1 30 ms pulse, and therefore the duration would be about 30 ms (Arkans, para [0067]).
Modified Arkans does not disclose applying pressure to the user's gastrocnemius over an area of one of less than 60 sq. in or about 55 sq. in.
However, Lowe teaches a compression therapy wrap that can be applied to a leg of a user (para [0006]), and wherein the wrap is sized and shaped to apply pressure over an area of about less than 60 sq. in. or about 55 sq. in. (treatment area of the wrap will range from about 0.15 sq.-feet to about 6 sq.-feet, which equals 21.9 sq in to 864 sq in) (para [0164]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Arkans so that inflatable bladder is the inflatable bladder applies pressure to the user's gastrocnemius over an area of less than 60 sq. in. or about 55 sq. in. as taught by Lowe, as Lowe teaches that the claimed area is within a range of a known area to apply therapy to a user, Arkans teaches that the pressure is applied on a gastrocnemius (calf) of a user, and in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
The now-modified Arkans’s device does not disclose a peak inflation pressure of about 35 mmHg to about 70 mmHg.
However, Rousso teaches a compression therapy wrap configured to provide compression to a user, wherein a peak inflation pressure of 30-120 mmHg is provided to provide a venous suction effect (para [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Arkans so that a peak inflation pressure of about 35 mmHg to about 70 mmHg as taught by Rousso in order to allow the device to provide a venous suction effect, and Rousso teaches that a peak inflation pressure of 60-100 mmHg is a known duration of pressure for compressive therapy to induce a venous suction, and in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 52-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkans et al in view of Ravikumar et al.
Regarding claim 52, Arkans discloses a device whose ordinary use discloses a method comprising the steps of: applying an inflatable bladder (108) (calf cuff) having a majority of an inflatable portion positionable between a user's knee and a midpoint of the user's gastrocnemius muscle, the inflatable bladder being inflatable to apply pressure to a portion of the user's gastrocnemius muscle (calf cuff (108) is configured to apply compression to a calf of a patient) (para [00038]); and in fig 4, discloses inflating the inflatable bladder (108) to deliver a peak inflation pressure of compressed air (p3) at a compression period (para [0066]) and a frequency of at least 3 cycles per minute (para [0022]), wherein inflating the inflatable bladder includes the steps of: rapidly inflating the inflatable bladder (108) to the peak inflation pressure (p3) during a pulse period (period between t3 and t4) subsequent to the ramp-up period (t1-t2); maintaining a pressure of the inflatable bladder (108) at a holding pressure range (pt) (target pressure) for a holding period (t4-t5) subsequent to the pulse period (t3-t4) (fig 4, para [0065]).
Arkans does not disclose selecting a subject from a population having a damaged venous valve.
However, Ramikumar teaches a teaches a method for treating a patient with DVT, wherein the patient has chronic vein insufficiency (CVI) when one-way valves in the veins become damaged (para [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Arkans by selecting a subject from a population having a damaged venous valve as taught by Ramikumar in order to treat a patient having DVT having by a damaged venous valve resulting in chronic vein deficiency (Ravikumar, para [0018]).
The method of modified Arkans is considered induce circulatory flow in a venous valve sinus of the user, as Arkans discloses the claimed method steps, and therefore, it would be expected to perform the function of inducing circulatory flow in a venous valve sinus. Furthermore, modified Arkans discloses that the method is performed on a patient with damaged valves, and therefore a compression would be operable to provide a circulatory flow in a venous valve sinus, as a compression would cause blood to move in both a forward and backward direction in a patient with a damaged venous valve.
Regarding claim 53, Arkans discloses inflating the inflatable bladder further includes the steps of: inflating the inflatable bladder (108) to a target ramp-up pressure (p2) during a ramp-up period (inflation pulse interval (between t1 and t2); and deflating the inflatable bladder (108) to the minimum pressure (p1) subsequent to the holding period (t4-t5), the minimum pressure (p1) being less than the target ramp-up pressure (p2) (para [0066]).
Claim(s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkans et al and Ravikumar et al as applied to claim 52 above, and further in view of NPL “Shear stimulation of FOXC1 and FOXC2 differentially regulates cytoskeletal activity during lymphatic valve maturation” to Norden, hereinafter “Norden” and NPL “Intermittent pneumatic compression in fracture and soft-tissue injuries healing” to Khanna, hereinafter “Khanna”.
Regarding claim 54, modified Arkans disclose the device configured to provide compression cycles with a frequency, peak inflation pressure, and a duration of the compression period.
Modified Arkans does not disclose the frequency, the peak inflation pressure, and a duration of the compression period are selected to stimulate endothelial FOXC2 expression in an endothelium of the valve sinus.
However, Norden teaches a shear stress in a valve induces FOXC2 expression (page 21, “Discussion”, first paragraph) and Khanna teaches that IPC treatment increases shear stress in endothelial cells (Khanna, page 148, “Improvement in vascularity”, first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Arkans so that the frequency, the peak inflation pressure, and a duration of the compression period are selected to induce shear stress in an epithelial cell, which would stimulate endothelial FOXC2 expression in an endothelium of the valve sinus as taught by Norden and Khanna in order to stimulate endothelial FOXC2 expression in an endothelium of the valve sinus. Furthermore, the method of modified Arkans has the same claimed method steps therefore, would be expected to perform the same function of stimulating endothelial FOXC2 expression in an endothelium of the valve sinus as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kamm et al (2003/0009119) discloses a compression device configured to provide compression to stimulate blood vessel wall shear stress to promote healing.
/DOUGLAS Y SUL/Examiner, Art Unit 3785