DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant's amendment filed on 7/14/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 17, and 23 have been amended.
Claims 2, 4, 6-7, 9, 11-16, 18-22, and 24 are as previously presented.
Claims 1-24 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 10, and 17 being independent.
This amendment overcomes the 2/6/2026 objections to claims 3, 5, 8, 10, and 23.
This amendment overcomes the 2/6/2026 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claim 23.
This amendment overcomes the 2/6/2026 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-24. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive [“…applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 17 to render the rejection moot… Applicant has amended independent claim 10 to render this rejection moot.].
However, new nonstatutory double patenting rejections and new 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been presented below, additionally in view of Wixson (US 20230097915 A1), having at least two shared inventors, published 3/30/23, patented as US 12324540 B2, which teaches the envelope filter limitations now recited in the independent claims. See MPEP 2153.01(a) [“…If, however, the application names fewer joint inventors than a publication (e.g., the application names as joint inventors A and B, and the publication names as authors A, B and C), it would not be readily apparent from the publication that it is an inventor-originated disclosure and the publication would be treated as prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) unless there is evidence of record that an exception under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1) applies.] and MPEP 804(V.) [“…An examiner should make both a prior art rejection under either 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) or 103 and a double patenting rejection over the same reference when the facts support both rejections…”].
Applicant’s arguments regarding the combination of prior art in the previously presented 103 rejections are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s arguments that Bivens `344 teaches away from the proposed modifications, it is noted that the applicant is using “teaching away” in a much broader sense that it is legally accepted. For a reference to be considered to teach away from a proposed modification such reference must criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the proposed combination. In re Fulton, 73 USPQ2d 1141 (Fed. Cir. 2004). The applicant is further advised that disclosed examples and/or preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments, even if such nonpreferred embodiments are described as somewhat inferior. See In re Susi, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971), and In re Gurley, 31 USPQ2d 1130 (Fed. Cir. 1994). In this case, Examiner maintains the prior art discloses a fryer and the known modifications thereof, so as to arrive at the invention described by the instant claims. Regarding applicant’s arguments regarding Chung [“It is physically impossible and would not have been predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of applicant's invention.”], the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, a PHOSITA would have been motivated to try combining the teachings of Chung’s oil filtration system for the reasons presented previously/below.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2, 11, and 18:
The term “substantially” in “wherein the filter assembly is configured to be substantially vertically oriented in the fry pot” is used by the claims to mean that the filter assembly has a central axis "A" which is offset at an angle "a" with a vertical a plane "P", wherein the angle "a" is within a range of between +/- 20° from vertical [fig. 3C; para. 0046].
Claim 13:
The term “majority” in “wherein a majority of the filter is positioned within the cold zone” is used by the claim to mean 50% or more [para. 0059].
Claim Interpretation
The following claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Claims 4 and 19:
the limitation “telescopic section” that provides for vertical movement of the filter assembly relative to the fry pot, is being interpreted as a slide member 148 slidably received within a stationary member 150, and equivalents thereof [figs. 1-4; para. 0052].
Claims 7 and 22:
the limitation “human machine interface” wherein a low suction pressure notification is generated, is being interpreted as a visual indicator (e.g., lights), an audible indicator, and equivalents thereof [fig. 7: 172; para. 0065].
Claims 9 and 24:
the limitation “batch filter unit” for batch filtration of a volume of oil in a fry pot (i.e., the filtration of the entire contents of the fry pot while the fryer is not being used to cook food), is being interpreted as removable batch filter assembly 44 of a batch oil filtration system/loop 46, a holding tank 48, drain 74, pump 92, valves (e.g., 104 and 76), lines (e.g., 80, 96, 100, 108), ports (e.g., 78, 94, 98, 102, 106), and equivalents thereof [fig. 7; para. 0033].
Double Patenting
Independent claims 1, 10, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12324540 B2 (also published as US 20230097915 A1, 3/30/2023, hereinafter ‘Wixson’) [claim 1: “A method of filtering edible cooking oil at a filtration temperature of up to 425° Fahrenheit, the method comprising: providing an envelope-shaped filter comprising at least one non-woven panel of randomly oriented fibers of polyphenylene sulfide material; inserting a separator screen into a pocket of the envelope-shaped filter, the separator screen having a threaded port configured to couple with a cooking oil suction line of a filter machine; and exposing the filter to the cooking oil at a temperature of up to 425° Fahrenheit while applying a pressure or vacuum to move the cooking oil through the filter for filtering particulate from the cooking oil to filter particles 0.5 microns and larger for up to four hours without cleaning or changing the filter.”] in view of Bivens `344, Savage `497, Chung, and Bivens `927.
Wixson discloses the envelope filter now recited in the instant claims, wherein a PHOSITA would find it obvious [e.g., selection of prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose, substituting art-recognized equivalent structures (different filters/filter types)], and be motivated by the desirable features of Wixson’s filter [i.e., high temperature and low particulate size], by predictably combining the filter with a conventional fryer that is disclosed and modified, as suggested, by the presented prior art, so as to arrive at the invention recited in the instant claims [i.e., known structures/features of fryers, e.g., fry pot, crumb basket, filter assembly, pump, heating element, etc.]. The prior art further discloses the limitations recited in the instant dependent claims [see below].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bivens `344 (US 20090107344 A1) in view of Savage (US 20070137497 A1), Wixson (US 20230097915 A1), and Chung (KR 20050081986 A).
Regarding claim 1,
Bivens `344 discloses:
A fryer for cooking comestibles [para. 0035: “In the illustrated embodiment, container 12 is a deep fat fryer tank with cooking oil 14 for frying foods therein.”], the fryer comprising:
a fry pot having a chamber configured to hold a volume of cooking oil for cooking comestibles [fig. 3: container 12, cooking oil 14];
an oil filtration system for filtering the cooking oil [figs. 1-5: liquid filtering system 10], comprising:
a filter assembly including a filter [fig. 6: filter assembly 18] connected to a suction line [fig. 3: suction tube 56], the filter assembly being movable [i.e., removable] between
a lowered position [fig. 3: 18]
wherein the filter is immersed within the cooking oil inside the fry pot [i.e., during filtering while food is being cooked; para. 0065: “Liquid filtering system 10 may be operated in a continuous manner for filtering the cooking oil 14 while the oil is kept at cooking temperature, and while food is being cooked in container 12.”] and
a raised position wherein the filter is removed from the cooking oil [i.e., to be cleaned, serviced, or replaced; para. 0052],
a pump having an inlet port and an outlet port [fig. 1: pump 58],
the inlet port being fluidly connected with the suction line of the filter assembly by an inlet line to receive filtered cooking oil from the filter assembly [i.e., see fig. 1, showing the bottom port of pump 58 arranged to receive filtered cooking oil by suction lines (i.e., tubes 56 and 59)] and
the outlet port being fluidly connected to the fry pot with a return line to direct filtered cooking to the chamber of the fry pot [i.e., see fig. 1, showing the upper port of pump 58 arranged to direct the filtered cooking oil with return lines (i.e., tubes 62)], the pump being configured to apply a vacuum to the filter assembly to draw unfiltered cooking oil from the fry pot and through the filter assembly for filtering and to pump the filtered cooking oil back to the chamber of the fry pot [i.e., pump 58 creates negative pressure to draw cooking oil; para. 0062]
However, although the filter assembly 18 is movable, the tubes are not movable, and thus Bivens `344 does not disclose a configuration that would be capable of applying the vacuum to the filter assembly while the filter assembly is moved. Specifically, Bivens `344 does not explicitly disclose:
a crumb basket permeable to liquid inside the fry pot, the crumb basket being removable from the fry pot
the filter assembly is disposed at least partially within the crumb basket;
wherein the filter is an envelope filter made of one or more panels of non-woven polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) fabric that defines a pocket configured to receive a separator screen, the pocket of the filter being in fluid communication with the suction line and the non-woven polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) fabric being capable of filtering particulate down to 0.5 micron from cooking oil having a filtration temperature of up to 425 degrees Fahrenheit;
wherein the pump is configured to apply the vacuum to the filter assembly while the filter assembly is moved between the lowered position and the raised position.
Savage, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a crumb basket permeable to liquids inside the fry pot, the crumb basket being removable from the fry pot [see figs. 3A and 3B, showing removable screen 14 in overflow portion 12 of fryer 10; paras. 0025-0032] the filter assembly is disposed at least partially within the crumb basket [see figs. 3A and 3B, showing removable screen 13 disposed at least partially within screen 14].
Wixson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an improved/alternative filter, wherein the filter is an envelope filter made of one or more panels of non-woven polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) fabric that defines a pocket configured to receive a separator screen, the pocket of the filter being in fluid communication with the suction line and the non-woven polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) fabric being capable of filtering particulate down to 0.5 micron from cooking oil having a filtration temperature of up to 425 degrees Fahrenheit [see claim 1].
Chung, in the same field of endeavor [i.e., a configuration of an oil filtration system; p. 1: “The present invention relates to a edible oil filtration device used for the purpose of refining edible oil mainly used for frying in catering establishments, frying establishments, chicken establishments, etc.”], teaches a movable filter assembly [see fig. 3, showing metal filter disk 20 in a lowered position and in a raised position], wherein the configuration of the pump [i.e., the configuration described in figs. 1 and 3, and p. 3; including at least movable lines 30, 31, 35, 37, 50, 51] is a conventional structure that is easy to use [p. 2], and predictably allows for moving the filter assembly [p. 3: “By this, the user can lift the metal filter disc 20 from the reservoir 20 using the handle 35a as shown in FIG. 3, and also use the handle 53a to remove the metal filter disc 20. You can change the location”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the fryer of Bivens `344 by:
combining the screen 14 of Savage with the fryer of Bivens `344, by at least partially disposing the filter assembly of Bivens `344 within a crumb basket, since Savage teaches this prevents food particles from the cooking zone from causing the pump to clog [para. 0022: “This screen, which may be cleaned periodically, such as once or twice per day, helps to insure that food particles do not reach pump 16, and do not cause the pump to clog.”];
substituting and incorporating the filter of Wixson, so as to take advantage of the higher filtration temperature and filtering properties thereof [col. 4: “The interstitial openings between the fibers of the filter remain open and unaffected from exposure to cooking oil such that the filter is capable of removing 0.5 micron and larger sized particulate from oil at a filtration temperature of up to 425° F.”]; and
because both Bivens `344 and Chung teach a configuration of an oil filtration system for moving a filter assembly - substituting one configuration for another [e.g., at least the various fittings/connections used in, and/or the arrangement thereof] to achieve the predictable result of moving the filter between the lowered position and the raised position. Furthermore, in view of Chung teaching the obvious motivation of maximizing the amount of edible oil recovered by repeating the filtration process (pp. 3-4), and since Chung’s configuration includes a pump configuration that is capable of applying the vacuum to the filter assembly while it is being moved, Bivens `344 in view of Chung suggests wherein the pump is configured to apply the vacuum to the filter assembly while the filter assembly is moved, e.g., in order to recover any edible oil remaining in the filter assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Bivens `344 in view of Savage, Wixson, and Chung discloses the fryer of claim 1.
Bivens `344 further discloses:
wherein the filter assembly is configured to be substantially vertically oriented in the fry pot [see fig. 5].
Regarding claim 3, Bivens `344 in view of Savage, Wixson, and Chung discloses the fryer of claim 1.
Bivens `344 further discloses:
wherein the chamber of the fry pot has a cooking zone located at a first end of the chamber of the fry pot [see figs. 1 and 4, showing a cooking zone directly above heating element 16] and a cold zone located at an opposite second end of the chamber of the fry pot [see figs. 1 and 4, showing a cold zone occupied by the filter assemblies, furthermore, in view of Bivens `344 disclosing that the number of filter assemblies is variable in order to adjust filtering capacity (para. 0068), and that the cooking zone and cold zone can be further defined by a heat shield 42 (figs. 12-13; paras. 0054-0060), Bivens `344 suggests the chamber arranged such that a singular cold zone is located at an end that is opposite to the cooking zone], the cold zone and the cooking zone defining a volume of the chamber of the fry pot configured to hold cooking oil for cooking comestibles [fig. 3: cooking oil 14].
Regarding claim 6, Bivens `344 in view of Savage, Wixson, and Chung discloses the fryer of claim 1.
Bivens `344 as modified by Savage, Wixson, and Chung further discloses:
wherein the oil filtration system further comprises a suction pressure sensor configured to measure a suction pressure in the inlet line.
Savage teaches a suction pressure sensor [fig. 1: pressure sensor 17 near the inlet and outlet of pump 16; para. 0035] configured to detect abnormal pressure which may indicate that a filter has been clogged [para. 0036: “A properly functioning pump will have a relatively dependable difference in pressure caused by the pump. In a situation in which either or both of the screens becomes clogged, the pump will have little pressure on the outlet, and thus may have a reading different from that pressure difference sensed during normal operation.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include a suction pressure sensor configured to measure a suction pressure in the inlet line since Savage teaches this allows an alarm to be signaled, or the pump to be shut down, thereby extending the life of the fryer [para. 0036].
Regarding claim 7, Bivens `344 in view of Savage, Wixson, and Chung discloses the fryer of claim 6.
Bivens `344 as modified by Savage, Wixson, and Chung, specifically Savage further discloses:
further comprising a controller [i.e., controller 15a] operatively coupled to the oil filtration system and a human machine interface [i.e., the alarm] operatively coupled to the controller [i.e., controller 15a; para. 0036], the controller being configured to operate the oil filtration system as follows:
monitor the suction pressure in the inlet line [i.e., the sensors operably linked to the controller; para. 0036]; and
if the suction pressure drops below a first suction pressure value [i.e., a reading different from one sensed during normal operation; para. 0036], generate a low suction pressure notification at the human machine interface [i.e., the sound of the alarm].
Regarding claim 8, Bivens `344 in view of Savage, Wixson, and Chung discloses the fryer of claim 7.
Bivens `344 as modified by Savage, discloses:
further comprising a linear actuator configured to move the filter assembly between the lowered position and the raised position, wherein the controller is configured to operate the oil filtration system with the additional following steps:
if the suction pressure drops below the first suction pressure value, operate the linear actuator to move the filter assembly from the lowered position to the raised position.
Specifically, Savage further teaches an actuator configured to move a basket lift hanger 86 between lowered and raised positions [i.e., actuators 85; para. 0057-58: “In addition to the techniques described above, a fryer may also include an automatic basket lift for lifting a fry basket from the hot oil after a cooking cycle… The raising and lowering of each basket lift hanger is preferably separately controlled by the fryer controller. The basket lift hangers are raised and lowered by basket lift actuators 85.”], wherein the basket also acts as a filter [para. 0049: “The oil is filtered by the mesh and any filtering aids in the bottom portion of basket 50.”].
Therefore, because both Bivens `344 and Savage teach a configuration for moving a filter between lowered and raised positions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to substitute one configuration for another [e.g., lifting mechanisms and corresponding structures] such that a linear actuator is configured to achieve the predictable result of moving the filter assembly between the lowered position and the raised position. Furthermore, since both Bivens `344 and Savage teach cleaning a filter, in view of Bivens `344 raising the filter assembly for cleaning, and Savage teaching checking for an abnormal pressure value so as to detect a clog due to a filter needing cleaning (para. 0036), Bivens `344 in view of Savage suggests operating the linear actuator to move the filter assembly from the lowered position to the raised position if the suction pressure drops below the first suction pressure value.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bivens `344 (US 20090107344 A1) in view of Savage (US 20070137497 A1), Wixson (US 20230097915 A1), and Chung (KR 20050081986 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lorenz (EP 0143885 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Bivens `344 in view of Savage, Wixson, and Chung discloses the fryer of claim 1.
However, Bivens `344 as modified by Savage, Wixson, and Chung does not disclose:
wherein the inlet line of the oil filtration system includes a telescopic section that provides for vertical movement of the filter assembly relative to the fry pot.
Lorenz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a telescopic section [fig, 1: hangar 35] comprising a tube 26 with a fastening end 28 that is slidably received by a portion 27 of pipe 25 [fig. 2; p. 4: “Adjoining the chamber-like space 18 of the oil conveyor 14 is a riser pipe 25 with a circular cross section, the front bent portion of which --> 27 for releasably accommodating the fastening end 28 of an extension tube 26 is formed. If necessary, the fastening end 28 can also be held in the region 27 by a press fit.”] that provides for vertical movement [e.g., an adjustment of the height of filter 30 to accommodate different container 11 heights; see figs. 1 and 2; p. 4].
Therefore, because both Chung and Lorenz teach a configuration of an inlet line that provides for vertical movement of a filter assembly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to substitute one configuration for another [e.g., at least the various fittings/connections used in, and/or the arrangement thereof] such that the inlet line of the oil filtration system includes a telescopic section, to achieve the predictable result of vertical movement of the filter assembly relative to the fry pot.
Regarding claim 5, Bivens `344 in view of Savage, Wixson, Chung, and Lorenz discloses the fryer of claim 4.
Bivens `344 as modified by Savage, Wixson, Chung, and Lorenz further discloses:
a linear actuator configured to move the filter assembly between the lowered position and the raised position.
Bivens `344 discloses the manual activity of moving the filter assembly between the lowered position and the raised position.
Savage teaches an actuator configured to move a basket lift hanger 86 between lowered and raised positions [i.e., actuators 85; para. 0057-58: “In addition to the techniques described above, a fryer may also include an automatic basket lift for lifting a fry basket from the hot oil after a cooking cycle… The raising and lowering of each basket lift hanger is preferably separately controlled by the fryer controller. The basket lift hangers are raised and lowered by basket lift actuators 85.”], wherein the basket also acts as a filter [para. 0049: “The oil is filtered by the mesh and any filtering aids in the bottom portion of basket 50.”].
Therefore, because both Bivens `344 and Savage teach a configuration for moving a filter between lowered and raised positions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to substitute one configuration for another [e.g., lifting mechanisms and corresponding structures] such that a linear actuator is configured to achieve the predictable result of moving the filter assembly between the lowered position and the raised position.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bivens `344 (US 20090107344 A1) in view of Savage (US 20070137497 A1), Wixson (US 20230097915 A1), and Chung (KR 20050081986 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bivens `927 (US 20070289927 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Bivens `344 in view of Savage, Wixson, and Chung discloses the fryer of claim 1.
Bivens `344 further teaches:
wherein the inlet line includes [Bivens `344 discloses the conventional practice of emptying the fryer by draining an entire batch of cooking oil, filtering and then pumping the filtered oil to the fryer (i.e., batch filtering, which interrupts cooking); para. 0009],
However, Bivens `344 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the inlet line includes a 2-way diverter valve fluidly connected to the batch filter unit by the batch filter line, wherein operation of the 2-way diverter valve places the batch filter unit in fluid communication with the inlet port of the pump.
Bivens `927, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a 2-way diverter valve [fig. 8: directional valve 166] fluidly connected to a batch filter unit by a batch filter line [see fig. 8, showing valve 166 connected to container 56, pump 58, filter 60, and lines 62/64/68/70].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include a 2-way diverter valve fluidly connected to a batch filter unit by a batch filter line since Bivens `927 teaches this facilitates a batch filtering of the entire contents of the fryer to be done [para. 0038]. Furthermore, in view of Bivens `344 disclosing it is known to batch filter the cooking oil [para. 0009] and that the flow of oil to be pumped is directed by valves 60 [fig. 1; para. 0052], and in view of Bivens `927 teaching that the diverter valve may be used so as to selectively enable either repeated filtering cycles [para. 0040] or refilling of the fryer [e.g., at the conclusion of the batch filtering process; para. 0043], Bivens `344 in view of Bivens `927 suggests wherein operation of the 2-way diverter valve places the batch filter unit in fluid communication with the inlet port of the pump [specifically, the pump 58 of Bivens `344].
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bivens `344 (US 20090107344 A1) in view of Wixson (US 20230097915 A1) and Savage (US 20070137497 A1).
Regarding claim 10,
Bivens `344 discloses:
A fryer for cooking comestibles [para. 0035: “In the illustrated embodiment, container 12 is a deep fat fryer tank with cooking oil 14 for frying foods therein.”], the fryer comprising:
a fry pot including a chamber [fig. 3: container 12, cooking oil 14] having
a cooking zone located at a first end of the chamber of the fry pot [see figs. 1 and 4, showing a cooking zone directly above heating element 16] and
a cold zone located at an opposite second end of the chamber of the fry pot below the cooking zone [see: figs. 1 and 4, showing a cold zone occupied by the filter assemblies, furthermore, in view of Bivens `344 disclosing that the number of filter assemblies is variable in order to adjust filtering capacity (para. 0068), and that the cooking zone and cold zone can be further defined by a heat shield 42 (figs. 12-13; paras. 0054-0060), Bivens `344 suggests the chamber arranged such that a singular cold zone is located at an end that is opposite to the cooking zone; and figs. 3A and 3B, wherein a drain in the cold zone extends downwardly so as to connect to pump 16, forming the deepest point of the fryer (thereby facilitating draining of cooking oil)]],
the cold zone and the cooking zone defining a volume of the chamber of the fry pot configured to hold cooking oil for cooking comestibles [fig. 3: cooking oil 14];
the cooking oil in the cold zone being at a temperature lower than the temperature of the cooking oil in the cooking zone [i.e., the oil in the cold zone being further away from the heating element],
at least one heating element located in the cooking zone of the chamber of the fry pot [i.e., heating element 16];
a filter assembly [fig. 6: filter assembly 18] suspended within the fry pot [i.e., held in a position] by a suction line [fig. 3: suction tube 56] such that a filter of the filter assembly [fig. 3: 18] is partially positioned within the cold zone for filtering cooking oil [i.e., during filtering while food is being cooked, at least a portion of the filter assembly 18 is positioned in the cold zone, so as to filter the cooking oil; para. 0065: “Liquid filtering system 10 may be operated in a continuous manner for filtering the cooking oil 14 while the oil is kept at cooking temperature, and while food is being cooked in container 12.”].
However, although Bivens `344 discloses
the conventional practice of emptying the fryer by draining an entire batch of cooking oil, filtering and then pumping the filtered oil to the fryer [i.e., batch filtering, which interrupts cooking; para. 0009],
a pump fluidly connected with the suction line [see fig. 1, pump 58 connected to tube 56], and
food particles from a cooking zone degrading the cooking oil [para. 0007];
Bivens `344 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the filter assembly includes a filter made of non-woven polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) fabric being capable of filtering particulate down to 0.5 micron from cooking oil having a filtration temperature of up to 425 degrees Fahrenheit
a crumb basket configured to be located in the cold zone of the chamber of the fry pot
Wixson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an improved/alternative filter, wherein the filter is made of non-woven polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) fabric being capable of filtering particulate down to 0.5 micron from cooking oil having a filtration temperature of up to 425 degrees Fahrenheit [see claim 1].
Savage, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a crumb basket located in a cold zone [see figs. 3A and 3B, showing screen 14 in overflow portion 12, downstream from a cooking zone defined by vat 11 and heating element combustion system 18, and upstream from a pump 16].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the fryer of Bivens `344 by:
substituting and incorporating the filter of Wixson, so as to take advantage of the higher filtration temperature and filtering properties thereof [col. 4: “The interstitial openings between the fibers of the filter remain open and unaffected from exposure to cooking oil such that the filter is capable of removing 0.5 micron and larger sized particulate from oil at a filtration temperature of up to 425° F.”]; and
combining the screen 14 of Savage with the fryer of Bivens `344, by locating it in the cold zone (upstream of any pumps in the flow path of cooking oil, and downstream of the cooking zone), such that the fryer comprises a crumb basket configured to be located in the cold zone of the chamber of the fry pot, since Savage teaches this prevents food particles from the cooking zone from causing the pump to clog [para. 0022: “This screen, which may be cleaned periodically, such as once or twice per day, helps to insure that food particles do not reach pump 16, and do not cause the pump to clog.”].
Regarding claim 11, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson and Savage discloses the fryer of claim 10.
Bivens `344 discloses:
wherein the filter assembly is configured to be substantially vertically oriented in the fry pot [see fig. 5].
Regarding claim 12, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson and Savage discloses the fryer of claim 10.
Bivens `344 as modified by Wixson and Savage discloses:
wherein the filter is positioned at least partially within the crumb basket.
In this case, since both Bivens `344 and Savage `497 both teach their respective filters/screens/strainers in the cold zone (i.e., to prevent charring of food particles, and, respectively, to prevent food particles from clogging a pump connected to a drain in the cold zone), it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to try positioning the filter at least partially within the crumb basket (e.g., to maximize space), and since Savage `497 teaches that additional screens/strainers may be placed in-line upstream of the pump (e.g., strainer 16a or screen 13, wherein screen 13 is positioned at least partially within screen 14; see fig. 3A), a PHOSITA would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson and Savage discloses the fryer of claim 10.
Bivens `344 discloses:
wherein a majority of the filter is positioned within the cold zone [see fig. 4].
Regarding claim 14, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson and Savage discloses the fryer of claim 10.
Bivens `344 as modified by Savage, specifically Savage discloses:
wherein the cold zone extends downwardly from the cooking zone to form a deepest point of the fry pot [see figs. 3A and 3B, wherein a drain in the cold zone extends downwardly so as to connect to pump 16, forming the deepest point of the fryer (thereby facilitating draining of cooking oil)].
Regarding claim 15, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson and Savage discloses the fryer of claim 10.
Bivens `344 as modified by Savage, specifically Savage discloses:
wherein the fry pot further includes a drain that extends from a base wall portion of the fry pot that defines the cold zone [see figs. 3A and 3B, wherein a drain in the cold zone extends downwardly from a base wall portion of the fry pot so as to connect to pump 16].
Regarding claim 16, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson and Savage discloses the fryer of claim 10.
Bivens `344 as modified by Wixson discloses:
wherein the filter is an envelope filter [para. 0016: “Each filter assembly includes a screen defining a filter pocket, a filter insert in the filter pocket, a drain bracket attached to the filter screen, and a drain fitting.”] that defines a pocket configured to receive a separator screen [fig. 9; para. 0040: “A filter insert 26 is inserted and contained within a pocket 23 of filter screen 22 when filter assembly 18 is assembled], the pocket of the filter being in fluid communication with the suction line [i.e., the pocket 23 being connected to tube 56 through drain bracket 38 and drain fitting 40; paras. 0045, 48-49; see also Wixson claim 1].
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bivens `344 (US 20090107344 A1) in view of Wixson (US 20230097915 A1) and Chung (KR 20050081986 A).
Regarding claim 17,
Bivens `344 discloses:
A fryer for cooking comestibles [para. 0035: “In the illustrated embodiment, container 12 is a deep fat fryer tank with cooking oil 14 for frying foods therein.”], the fryer comprising:
a fry pot having a chamber configured to hold a volume of cooking oil for cooking comestibles [fig. 3: container 12, cooking oil 14]
said chamber having a cooking zone located at a first end of the chamber of the fry pot [see figs. 1 and 4, showing a cooking zone directly above heating element 16] and a cold zone located at an opposite second end of the chamber of the fry pot below the cooking zone [see: figs. 1 and 4, showing a cold zone occupied by the filter assemblies, furthermore, in view of Bivens `344 disclosing that the number of filter assemblies is variable in order to adjust filtering capacity (para. 0068), and that the cooking zone and cold zone can be further defined by a heat shield 42 (figs. 12-13; paras. 0054-0060), Bivens `344 suggests the chamber arranged such that a singular cold zone is located at an end that is opposite to the cooking zone; and figs. 3A and 3B, wherein a drain in the cold zone extends downwardly so as to connect to pump 16, forming the deepest point of the fryer (thereby facilitating draining of cooking oil)]],
the cold zone and the cooking zone defining a volume of the chamber of the fry pot configured to hold cooking oil for cooking comestibles [fig. 3: cooking oil 14],
the cooking oil in the cold zone being at a temperature lower than the temperature of the cooking oil in the cooking zone [i.e., the oil in the cold zone being further away from the heating element]; and
an oil filtration system for filtering the cooking oil [figs. 1-5: liquid filtering system 10], comprising:
a filter assembly [fig. 6: filter assembly 18]
the filter assembly being movable between a lowered position wherein the filter is immersed within the cooking oil in the cold zone of the chamber of the fry pot [fig. 3: 18] and a raised position in which the filter is removed from the cooking oil [i.e., to be cleaned, serviced, or replaced; para. 0052],
disposed within the fry pot such that a filter of the filter assembly is immersed within the cooking oil [i.e., filter assembly 18 is immersed within the cooking oil 14 during filtering while food is being cooked; para. 0065: “Liquid filtering system 10 may be operated in a continuous manner for filtering the cooking oil 14 while the oil is kept at cooking temperature, and while food is being cooked in container 12.”],
the filter assembly including a suction line [fig. 3: suction tube 56] having a first end connected to the filter [i.e., tube 56 connected to the filter via manifold block 46; fig. 6; para. 0050] and a second end positioned outside the fry pot [see fig. 3]; and
a pump having an inlet port and an outlet port [fig. 1: pump 58], the inlet port being fluidly connected to the second end of the suction line of the filter assembly by an inlet line to receive filtered cooking oil from the filter assembly [i.e., see fig. 1, showing the bottom port of pump 58 arranged to receive filtered cooking oil by suction lines (i.e., tubes 56 and 59)] and the outlet port being fluidly connected to the fry pot with an outlet line to return filtered cooking to the chamber of the fry pot [i.e., see fig. 1, showing the upper port of pump 58 arranged to direct the filtered cooking oil with return lines (i.e., tubes 62)];
the pump being configured to circulate the cooking oil through the oil filtration system [i.e., the continuous operation of system 10; para. 0065] by applying a vacuum to the filter assembly to draw unfiltered cooking oil held in the chamber of the fry pot through the filter assembly for filtering and pumping filtered cooking oil back to the chamber of the fry pot [i.e., pump 58 creates negative pressure to draw cooking oil; para. 0062].
However, although Bivens `344 discloses the filter assembly 18 includes suction tube 56 having a first end connected to the filter and a second end positioned outside the container 12, and is movable between a lowered position and a raised position [i.e., for cleaning, service, or replacement; paras. 0052, 0065], the flow of circulated oil is downward, thus Bivens `344 does not disclose a configuration wherein the flow of oil is upward through the top opening of the container 12. Specifically, Bivens `344 does not explicitly disclose:
comprising an envelope-type filter made of one or more panels of non-woven polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) fabric that defines a pocket configured to receive a separator screen therein, the fabric being capable of filtering particulate down to 0.5 micron from cooking oil having a filtration temperature of up to 425 degrees Fahrenheit
the suction line extends from the first end upwardly through a top opening of the fry pot to the second end.
Wixson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an improved/alternative filter, wherein the filter is an envelope filter made of one or more panels of non-woven polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) fabric that defines a pocket configured to receive a separator screen, the pocket of the filter being in fluid communication with the suction line and the non-woven polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) fabric being capable of filtering particulate down to 0.5 micron from cooking oil having a filtration temperature of up to 425 degrees Fahrenheit [see claim 1].
Chung, in the same field of endeavor [i.e., a configuration of an oil filtration system; p. 1: “The present invention relates to a edible oil filtration device used for the purpose of refining edible oil mainly used for frying in catering establishments, frying establishments, chicken establishments, etc.”], teaches a movable filter assembly [see fig. 3, showing metal filter disk 20 in a lowered position and in a raised position], wherein the configuration of the pump [i.e., the configuration described in figs. 1 and 3, and p. 3; including at least movable lines 30, 31, 35, 37, 50, 51] is a conventional structure that is easy to use [p. 2], and predictably allows for moving the filter assembly [p. 3: “By this, the user can lift the metal filter disc 20 from the reservoir 20 using the handle 35a as shown in FIG. 3, and also use the handle 53a to remove the metal filter disc 20. You can change the location”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the fryer of Bivens `344 by:
substituting and incorporating the filter of Wixson, so as to take advantage of the higher filtration temperature and filtering properties thereof [col. 4: “The interstitial openings between the fibers of the filter remain open and unaffected from exposure to cooking oil such that the filter is capable of removing 0.5 micron and larger sized particulate from oil at a filtration temperature of up to 425° F.”]; and
because both Bivens `344 and Chung teach a configuration of an oil filtration system for moving a filter assembly - substituting one configuration for another [e.g., at least the various fittings/connections used in, and/or the arrangement thereof] to achieve the predictable result of moving the filter between the lowered position and the raised position, wherein the suction line extends from the first end upwardly through a top opening of the fry pot to the second end [see fig. 1 showing that a suction line may extend upwardly through a top opening of a fry pot while predictably allowing oil to flow therethrough in the filtration process).
Regarding claim 18, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson and Chung discloses the fryer of claim 17.
Bivens `344 discloses:
wherein the filter assembly is configured to be substantially vertically oriented in the fry pot [see fig. 5].
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bivens `344 (US 20090107344 A1) in view of Wixson (US 20230097915 A1), and Chung (KR 20050081986 A) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Lorenz (EP 0143885 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson and Chung discloses the fryer of claim 17.
However, Bivens `344 as modified by Wixson and Chung does not disclose:
wherein the inlet line of the oil filtration system includes a telescopic section that provides for vertical movement of the filter assembly relative to the fry pot.
Lorenz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a telescopic section [fig, 1: hangar 35] comprising a tube 26 with a fastening end 28 that is slidably received by a portion 27 of pipe 25 [fig. 2; p. 4: “Adjoining the chamber-like space 18 of the oil conveyor 14 is a riser pipe 25 with a circular cross section, the front bent portion of which --> 27 for releasably accommodating the fastening end 28 of an extension tube 26 is formed. If necessary, the fastening end 28 can also be held in the region 27 by a press fit.”] that provides for vertical movement [e.g., an adjustment of the height of filter 30 to accommodate different container 11 heights; see figs. 1 and 2; p. 4].
Therefore, because both Chung and Lorenz teach a configuration of an inlet line that provides for vertical movement of a filter assembly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to substitute one configuration for another [e.g., at least the various fittings/connections used in, and/or the arrangement thereof] such that the inlet line of the oil filtration system includes a telescopic section, to achieve the predictable result of vertical movement of the filter assembly relative to the fry pot.
Regarding claim 20, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson, Chung, and Lorenz discloses the fryer of claim 19.
Bivens `344 discloses:
wherein the filter assembly is movable [i.e., removable] between a lowered position wherein the filter is immersed within the cooking oil [i.e., during filtering while food is being cooked; para. 0065: “Liquid filtering system 10 may be operated in a continuous manner for filtering the cooking oil 14 while the oil is kept at cooking temperature, and while food is being cooked in container 12.”] and a raised position wherein the filter is removed from the cooking oil [i.e., to be cleaned, serviced, or replaced; para. 0052].
Claim 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bivens `344 (US 20090107344 A1) in view of Wixson (US 20230097915 A1), Chung (KR 20050081986 A), and Lorenz (EP 0143885 A1) as applied to 20 above, and further in view of Savage (US 20070137497 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson, Chung, and Lorenz discloses the fryer of claim 20.
Bivens `344 discloses the manual activity of moving the filter assembly between the lowered position (wherein the filter is immersed within the cooking oil) [i.e., during filtering while food is being cooked; para. 0065: “Liquid filtering system 10 may be operated in a continuous manner for filtering the cooking oil 14 while the oil is kept at cooking temperature, and while food is being cooked in container 12.”] and the raised position (wherein the filter is removed from the cooking oil) [i.e., to be cleaned, serviced, or replaced; para. 0052].
However, although it has been held by the courts that it requires only ordinary skill in the art to provide an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity (see MPEP 2144.04, III.), Bivens `344 may not explicitly disclose:
a linear actuator configured to move the filter assembly between the lowered position and the raised position,
wherein a controller is configured to operate the oil filtration system as follows:
monitor a suction pressure in the inlet line; and
if the suction pressure drops below the first suction pressure value, operate the linear actuator to move the filter assembly from the lowered position to the raised position.
Savage, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an actuator configured to move a basket lift hanger 86 between lowered and raised positions [i.e., actuators 85; para. 0057-58: “In addition to the techniques described above, a fryer may also include an automatic basket lift for lifting a fry basket from the hot oil after a cooking cycle… The raising and lowering of each basket lift hanger is preferably separately controlled by the fryer controller. The basket lift hangers are raised and lowered by basket lift actuators 85.”], wherein the basket also acts as a filter [para. 0049: “The oil is filtered by the mesh and any filtering aids in the bottom portion of basket 50.”].
Therefore, because both Bivens `344 and Savage teach a configuration for moving a filter between lowered and raised positions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to substitute one configuration for another [e.g., lifting mechanisms and corresponding structures] such that a linear actuator is configured to achieve the predictable result of moving the filter assembly between the lowered position and the raised position. Furthermore, since both Bivens `344 and Savage teach cleaning a filter, in view of Bivens `344 raising the filter assembly for cleaning, and Savage teaching checking for an abnormal pressure value so as to detect a clog due to a filter needing cleaning (para. 0036), Bivens `344 in view of Savage suggests wherein the controller is configured to operate the oil filtration system as follows: monitor the suction pressure in the inlet line; and if the suction pressure drops below the first suction pressure value, operate the linear actuator to move the filter assembly from the lowered position to the raised position.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bivens `344 (US 20090107344 A1) in view of Wixson (US 20230097915 A1), Chung (KR 20050081986 A) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Savage `497 (US 20070137497 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson and Chung discloses the fryer of claim 17.
However, Bivens `344 does not disclose:
wherein the oil filtration system further comprises a suction pressure sensor configured to measure a suction pressure in the inlet line.
Savage, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a suction pressure sensor [fig. 1: pressure sensor 17 near the inlet and outlet of pump 16; para. 0035] configured to detect abnormal pressure which may indicate that a filter has been clogged [para. 0036: “A properly functioning pump will have a relatively dependable difference in pressure caused by the pump. In a situation in which either or both of the screens becomes clogged, the pump will have little pressure on the outlet, and thus may have a reading different from that pressure difference sensed during normal operation.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include a suction pressure sensor configured to measure a suction pressure in the inlet line since Savage teaches this allows an alarm to be signaled, or the pump to be shut down, thereby extending the life of the fryer [para. 0036].
Regarding claim 22, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson, Chung, and Savage discloses the fryer of claim 21.
Bivens `344 as modified by Savage, specifically Savage further discloses:
further comprising a controller [i.e., controller 15a] operatively coupled to the oil filtration system and a human machine interface [i.e., the alarm] operatively coupled to the controller [para. 0036], the controller being configured to operate the oil filtration system as follows:
monitor the suction pressure in the inlet line [i.e., the sensors operably linked to the controller; para. 0036]; and
if the suction pressure drops below a first suction pressure value [i.e., a reading different from one sensed during normal operation; para. 0036], generate a low suction pressure notification at the human machine interface [i.e., the sound of the alarm].
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bivens `344 (US 20090107344 A1) in view of Wixson (US 20230097915 A1) and Chung (KR 20050081986 A) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Bivens `927 (US 20070289927 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Bivens `344 in view of Wixson and Chung discloses the fryer of claim 17.
Bivens `344 further teaches:
wherein the inlet line includes [Bivens `344 discloses the conventional practice of emptying the fryer by draining an entire batch of cooking oil, filtering and then pumping the filtered oil to the fryer (i.e., batch filtering, which interrupts cooking); para. 0009],
However, Bivens `344 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the inlet line includes a 2-way diverter valve fluidly connected to the batch filter unit by the batch filter line, wherein operation of the 2-way diverter valve places the batch filter unit in fluid communication with the inlet port of the pump.
Bivens `927, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a 2-way diverter valve [fig. 8: directional valve 166] fluidly connected to a batch filter unit by a batch filter line [see fig. 8, showing valve 166 connected to container 56, pump 58, filter 60, and lines 62/64/68/70].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include a 2-way diverter valve fluidly connected to a batch filter unit by a batch filter line since Bivens `927 teaches this facilitates a batch filtering of the entire contents of the fryer to be done [para. 0038]. Furthermore, in view of Bivens `344 disclosing it is known to batch filter the cooking oil [para. 0009] and that the flow of oil to be pumped is directed by valves 60 [fig. 1; para. 0052], and in view of Bivens `927 teaching that the diverter valve may be used so as to selectively enable either repeated filtering cycles [para. 0040] or refilling of the fryer [e.g., at the conclusion of the batch filtering process; para. 0043], Bivens `344 in view of Bivens `927 suggests wherein operation of the 2-way diverter valve places the batch filter unit in fluid communication with the inlet port of the pump [specifically, the pump 58 of Bivens `344].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761