DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Arguments and Remarks, filed 6/11/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 6 under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous ground of rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 13 have been considered and are persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited “beam mapping pattern” associating different SRS resources but does not indicate that the beams are associated with different TRPs, examiner disagrees (page 8).
That is, the looking to Ling, ling recites:
[0043] As shown in FIG. 1, there are multiple links between the UE 105 and the TRPs 103a and 103b. The multiple links can be used for the UE 105 to transmit one or more configured grant PUSCH repetitions of a configured grant PUSCH transmission. Therefore, the power of a different link of a configured grant PUSCH repetition should be separately controlled and the power control of the configured grant PUSCH repetitions with multiple beams/TRPs should be enhanced.
From this recitation it can be seen that the different repetitions have different associated power control parameters and are also associated with different beams/TRPs/spatial relations. The different beams/TRPs and spatial relations are then reflected in the beam mapping pattern by assigning the different SRS in the beam mapping to the different power control parameters and associated beams/TRMs/spatial relations. To illustrate this, it can be seen from paragraph 0113 that a set of uplink repetitions may use different beams and panels [i.e. spatial relations] but only a single beam/spatial relation and panel is used at once for a single repetition. Paragraph 0114 then goes on to indicate that the per SRI configuration indicates “For configured grant Type 1 PUSCH repetition….two schemes may be adopted to indicate multiple beams associated with multiple SRS resources for codebook based transmission”. Therefore, by logical induction if multiple beams are associated with uplink repetitions, and only 1 beam is used at a time, then there must be at least two uplink repetitions associated with different beams/SRI. These two beams/SRI/SRS resources and the associated power control information form the first and second power control and spatial relation sets and are on a one-to-one basis as only a single beam is used for any uplink repetition. Finally, the beam mapping pattern indicates the SRS/SRI/beam pattern and further associated power control parameters [i.e. a pathloss reference RS Id, a p0-PUSCH-Alpha Id (power offset (p0-PUSCH) and compensation factor (alpha))] for each retrasmission in the pattern [paragraphs 0120-0121]. Therefore, Applicant’s Arguments have been considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that Liang does not teach the claimed one to one correspondence and states that, for example, paragraphs 0128-129 disclose four transmissions and the different transmission share the same power control parameters and therefore the power control parameters and SRS/beam/spatial relations are not one to one (Id at 9-10). This ignores the claim language and process of Liang. That is the claims require that “the at least two sets of first information comprise at least two spatial relations and at least two sets of power control parameters, and the at least two sets of power control parameters are in one-to-one correspondence with the at least two spatial relations”. Therefore, it is not required that all the individual transmissions use different first information and spatial relations, but rather that the two sets of power control parameters and the two spatial relations have a one-to-one correspondence. This is exactly what is taught by Liang. Looking to paragraph 0126-0129 and fig. 3 it can be seen that there are two sets of SRS resources/SRS resource indicator/beams/spatial relations and they are each associated on a one-to-one basis with different power control parameters. The description of four portions of the beam mapping pattern is simply indicting a repetition on the same beam, for example, in fig. 3 two repetitions on the first beam are followed by two repetitions on the second beam. This is not inconsistent with the claims, which only require one-to-one correspondence between SRS resources/SRS resource indicator/beams/spatial relations and power control parameters, and the first and second repetition of fig. 3 use the first one-to-one correspondence and the third and fourth repetitions of fig. 3 use the second one-to one correspondence. Therefore, Applicant’s argument have been considered and are not persuasive.
Finally, Applicant argues that Liang only discloses providing spatial relation settings via Spatial Relations Info and does not disclose the claimed two spatial settings. Examiner disagrees and notes that assigning a beam inherently assigns a spatial relations as the beam must be transmitted with a particular spatial orientation to be a beam. Therefore, the different beams are different spatial relations. Paragraph 0069 is cited as it makes clear that the beam directionality in use makes use directly of a 5G style “Spatial Relation” to avoid unnecessary arguments about the interchangeability of the term “beam” and “spatial relation”. Therefore, Applicant’s Arguments and remarks have been considered and are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 12, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ling discloses a method for repetition with configured grant, performed by a terminal, wherein the method for repetition with configured grant comprises:
obtaining a first configured grant configured by a network side, wherein the first configured grant is configured with at least two sets of first information; and (The system of Ling discloses a single configured grant is associated with multiple repetitions of either type 1 or type 2 [paragraphs 0043-0047; 0131-0136 – type 1; 0141-0142 – type 2]. The original and repetitions of the configured grant may be configured with different settings via RRC [i.e. two sets of first information] [paragraph 0046] among the settings are one or more mapping patterns [paragraphs 0120, 0129, 0131] that indicate beams associated with different TRPs [paragraphs 0037, 0043 0117] and different power control information configured by RRC [paragraphs 0113, 0116, 0117, 0121, 0122, 0125].)
performing repetition of a transport block based on the at least two sets of first information (The UE performs repetition based on the different antennas and associated parameters [paragraph 0043 – see (a), supra.].)
wherein the at least two sets of first information comprise at least two spatial relations and at least two sets of power control parameters, and the at least two sets of power control parameters are in one-to-one correspondence with the at least two spatial relations. (The UE is configured with a first single beam/spatial relation and set of first power control parameters to transmit the original transmission to a first TRP via a first information and a second single beam/spatial relation and set of second power control parameter to transmit a repetition to a second TRP, making a one-to-one correspondence [to-one correspondence with the at least two spatial relations (paragraphs 0156, 0125, 0128, 0137, 0149 - the path loss parameters are associated with a path loss reference index [i.e. set of power control parameters] and a single SRS resource SRI/spatial relation as it links only to a single beam/spatial relation. To illustrate this, it can be seen from paragraph 0113 that a set of uplink repetitions may use different beams and panels [i.e. spatial relations] but only a single beam/spatial relation and panel is used at once for a single repetition. Paragraph 0114 then goes on to indicate that the per SRI configuration indicates “For configured grant Type 1 PUSCH repetition….two schemes may be adopted to indicate multiple beams associated with multiple SRS resources for codebook based transmission”. Therefore, by logical induction if multiple beams are associated with uplink repetitions, and only 1 beam is used at a time, then there must be at least two uplink repetitions associated with different beams/SRI. These two beams/SRI/SRS resources and the associated power control information form the first and second power control and spatial relation sets and are on a one-to-one basis as only a single beam is used for any uplink repetition.)
Regarding claim 2, Ling discloses the at least two sets of first information comprised at least two redundancy version (RV) sequences. (The UE is provided with multiple sets of power control information including redundancy versions/RV [paragraph 0049 – UE is configured with parameter sets for power control] and the configured information includes power control parameters including repetitions/repK-RV [paragraph 0069].)
Regarding claim 3, Ling discloses the first configured grant is a type 1 configured grant, and the at least two spatial relations of the first configured grant are configured via radio resource control (RRC) by a network side. (BeamMappingPattern, which links the beams with various spatial relations associated with the beams, is configured via RRC [paragraphs 0129-0134]. Note also claim 1 (type 1 configured grant with multiple sets of information) and claim 2 (discussing linking of sets of information to multiple spatial relations/beam mapping patterns configured for different beams with respect to paragraph 0126].)
Regarding claim 7, Ling discloses the first configured grant is a type 1 configured grant, and the power control parameter comprises a pathloss reference signal index. (Ling discloses a CG for a type 1 configured grant is associated with multiple SRS resources indication which also include separate pathloss reference signal IDs [paragraphs 0114-0117].)
Regarding claim 8, Ling discloses the first configured grant is a type 2 configured grant, and the power control parameter comprises one or more of the following an open-loop power control parameter or a closed-loop power control parameter wherein an SRI field in DCI used to activate the first configured grant at least indicates two sets of pathloss reference signal parameters. (Ling discloses type 2 CG configuration [paragraphs 0141] where the configured power parameters are for closed loop power control [paragraphs 0148] and where the SRI field may indicate two sets of pathloss reference signal parameters [paragraphs 0144 – SRI field contains multiple SRI power control parameters or a single SRI associated with multiple power control parameters; paragraph 0150 - the power control parameters include a pathloss reference ID).
Regarding claim 12, Ling discloses the at least two sets of power control parameters are in one-to-one correspondence with the at least two spatial relations (paragraphs 0156, 0125, 0128, 0137, 0149 – the path loss parameters are associated with a path loss reference index that links to only a single SRS resource/SRI and spatial relation/beam via sequential mapping of the beam mapping pattern).
Regarding claim 13, Ling discloses a mapping between the at least two sets of power control parameters and time of repetition with the first configured grant is the same as a mapping between the at least two spatial relations and the time of repetition with the first configured grant (paragraphs 0156, 0125, 0128, 0137, 0149 – the sets power control parameters and two spatial relations are both mapped for transmission at the same time in the repetition of the transmission in the configured grant as the power control parameters are intended to apply to the respective spatial relations as they define power control for the various beams/panels/spatial relations in transmission to the TRP.)
Regarding claim 19, Ling discloses a processor, a memory, and a program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program is executed by the processor to perform the steps of the method (paragraph 0174).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Iyer, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0217760), Lin, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0262692; note parallel citations to 63/062,355 [“355”]) and Xu, et al. (WIPO Publication No. 2020/063767 – all citations to attached translation)
Regarding claim 4, Ling discloses the first configured grant is a type 2 configured grant (see claim 1, supra).
Ling fails to disclose a hybrid automatic repeat request process number (HPN) used to activate the first configured grant and channel sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) in the DCI indicates the at least two spatial relations. In the same field of endeavor, Iyer discloses a hybrid automatic repeat request process number (HPN) used to activate the first configured grant and channel sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) in the DCI indicates the at least two spatial relations. (Iyer discloses that UEs are configured with a repetition set for PUSCH repetition in different spatial directions [i.e with different spatial relations] to different TRPs which may be triggered by a type-2 CG and which may be associated with a given HARQ process and the SRI in the DCI may be used to indicate the spatial relations [paragraphs 0305-0306].)
Therefore, since Iyer discloses associating a single HPN with multiple SRI/spatial relations included in the DCI, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the DCI based SRI of Iyer with the system of Ling by including in the DCI indications of SRI associated with a single HPN. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead by using only a single HPN associated with different SRI/spatial relations for signaling.
Ling as modified by Iyer fails to disclose a channel sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in the DCI indicates the at least two spatial relations. (i.e. Ling is not specific about the SRI signaling and only indicates the DCI for a type 2 CG may indicate multiple SRI but not how the indication is performed). In the same field of endeavor Lin discloses a channel sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in the DCI indicates the at least two spatial relations. (Lin discloses that instead of using multiple SRI to signal the beams/spatial relations/SRIs, a single SRI in the SRI field may be associated with multiple beams/spatial relations/SRIs and a first bit may be associated with a first SRI/spatial relation and a second bit may be associated with a second SRI/spatial relation [paragraph 0145 [page 18 of 355] – two sets of SRI information indicated in one extended SRI field; paragraph 0148 [page 19 of 355] – the field may be encoded as two bits, one for each TRP/Panel in the case that Nsrs is 1].)
Therefore, since Lin discloses single field encoding, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the single field encoding of Lin with the system of Ling as modified by Iyer such that the SRI information is sent in a single SRI field with two bits, each one for a different SRI/spatial relation or with an single indicator indicating a two sets of SRI information. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead by using a single field.
Ling as modified by Iyer and Lin fails to disclose a hybrid automatic repeat request process number (HPN) in downlink control information (DCI) used to activate the first configured grant corresponds to an index of the first configured grant. In the same filed of endeavor Xu discloses hybrid automatic repeat request process number (HPN) in downlink control information (DCI) used to activate the first configured grant corresponds to an index of the first configured grant. (Xu discloses using the last bits of a DCI HPN to indicate a configured grant (CG) index to activate [page 19, second full paragraph].)
Therefore, since Xu discloses CG index based HPN, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the indexing of Xu with the system of Ling as modified by Iyer and Lyn by including an index of an activated CG in the HPN of the DCI. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead by not requiring a separate field to indicate the CG.
Regarding claim 5, Ling as modified by Iyer, Lyn and Xu disclose a first value of the SRI field in the DCI indicates a first set, the first set comprising the at least two spatial relations; or the SRI field in the DCI comprises a first indication bit and a second indication bit, wherein the first indication bit indicates a first spatial relation in the at least two spatial relations, and the second indication bit indicates a second spatial relation in the at least two spatial relations (see the combination with Lyn in the rejection of claim 4, supra).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of MolavianJazi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2020/0229104)
Regarding claim 6, Ling fails to disclose the first configured grant is activated at least twice by multiple DCIs, and SRI fields in the multiple DCIs separately indicate one spatial relation (note the 112, rejection, supra, in which claim 6 is reverted to depend from claim 2 because it’s requirements are inconsistent with those of claim 4). In the same field of endeavor, MolavianJazi discloses the first configured grant is activated at least twice by multiple DCIs, and SRI fields in the multiple DCIs separately indicate one spatial relation. (MolavianJazi discloses scheduling multiple TRP repetition transmission using multiple PDCCHs associated with different TRPs [paragraph 0063] and which may indicate different SRI [paragraphs 0050] and which follow an existing DCI format in which there is a single SRI per DCI [paragraphs 0047, 0049 – discloses single SRI field]).
Therefore, since MolavianJazi discloses single SRI multiple DCI based scheduling of repetition, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the multiple DCI indications of MolavianJazi with the system of Ling by indicating the different SRIs/spatial relations to be used by the repetitions using separate DCI trasmissions, each indicating a single SRI. The motive to combine is to allow for backward compatibility with existing DCI formats.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of MolavianJazi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2020/0229104) and Lin, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0262692; note parallel citations to 63/062,355 [“355”]).
Regarding claim 9, Ling fails to disclose a first and a second set of pathloss parameters. In the same field of endeavor MolavianJazi discloses a first and a second set of pathloss parameters (MolavianJazi discloses that each TRP can be associated with multiple sets of pathloss reference signal parameters associated with different spatial paths to the respective TRP via different panels [0057-0059]. Therefore, an indication of the TRP indicates a group/set of pathloss reference signal parameters associated with each path to the TRP with a first TRP associated with the first set and a second TRP associated with the second set.)
Therefore, since MolavianJazi discloses sets of pathloss reference signal parameters, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the sets of pathloss reference signal parameters of MolavianJazi with the system of Ling by implementing per TRP sets of pathloss reference signal parameters. The motive to combine is to allow appropriate power parameters with multiple paths to each TRP for improved performance.
Ling as modified by MolavianJazi fails to disclose a second value of the SRI field in the DCI indicates a second set. In the same field of endeavor Lin discloses a second value of the SRI field in the DCI indicates a second set. (Lin discloses that the DCI may indicate SRI which includes N fields, where N is the number of TRP [paragraphs 0141, 0144] and each field may indicate NSRS bits of information where NSRS is the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set associated with the TRP [paragraphs 0148]. The SRS resources of the SRS resource set are used to derive the power related information [paragraphs 0068].)
Therefore, since Lin discloses per TRP indication of SRS information, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the per TRP indications of Lin with the system of MolavianJazi by implementing a first and second field of the SRI, each associated with a different TRP (per MolavianJazi) and each indicating the set of SRIs (per MolavianJazi) and by extension pathloss reference signal parameters (per Ling) associated with each and then further specifying, within the set of SRIs/pathloss reference signal parameters a particular SRI/pathloss reference signal parameter to be used. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead and simplify signaling by splitting the singling into two groups each associated with a different TRP.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of MolavianJazi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2020/0229104) and Jeon, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2019/0215781 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ling discloses the first configured grant is a type 2 configured grant scheduled by the DCI in a single PDCCH message scheduling multiple uplink transmissions (see claim 1, supra).
Ling fails to disclose a transmit power control field in DCI used to activate the first configured grant indicates at least two transmit power control commands and the transmit power control field comprises fifth indication bits and sixth indication bits, wherein the fifth indication bits indicates a transmit power control command corresponding to a first power control adjustment state, and the sixth indication bits indicates a transmit power control command corresponding to a second power control adjustment state. In the same field of endeavor MolavianJazi discloses a transmit power control field in DCI used to activate the first configured grant indicates at least two transmit power control commands and the transmit power control field comprises fifth indication bits and sixth indication bits, wherein the fifth indication bits indicates a transmit power control command corresponding to a first power control adjustment state, and the sixth indication bits indicates a transmit power control command corresponding to a second power control adjustment state (MolavianJazi discloses a single DCI containing multiple power control command fields that are applied to the different scheduled transmissions in the DCI of the single PDCCH [paragraph 0084 – a single DCI may contain multiple power control commands; paragraph 0086 - The TPC commands may applied sequentially to the different transmit occasions scheduled]; the commands are contained in TPC command fields/power control fields [0054]. The fields are two bits and form a set of fifth and sixth indication bits [paragraph 0088]. The different scheduled transmissions relate to different panels or TRPs and have different power control adjustment states [paragraph 0050].)
Therefore, since MolavianJazi discloses multiple power control commands, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the multiple TPC of MolavianJazi with the system of Ling by signaling two TPC commands using a 2 bit set of fifth and sixth indication bits which each apply to a different TRP/panel/power control adjustment state. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead by allowing a single DCI/PDCCH transmission to change two power control states.
Ling as modified by MolavianJazi fails to disclose the power control commands are a single bit to form the fifth and sixth indication bits. In the same field of endeavor Jeon discloses the power control commands are a single bit to form the fifth and sixth indication bits (paragraph 0296 – disclosing a single bit TPC command)
Therefore, since Jeon dislcoses single bit TPC, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the single bit TPC of Jeon with the sytem of Ling as modified by MolavianJazi by performing the two TPC of Ling as modified by MolavianJazi using a single bit to form a fifth and sixth indication bits. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead by using a single bit TPC.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of MolavianJazi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2020/0229104).
Regarding claim 11, Ling fails to disclose each set of power control parameters corresponds to at least two power control adjustment states. In the same field of endeavor MolavianJazi discloses each set of power control parameters corresponds to at least two power control adjustment states (MolavianJazi discloses that each TRP can be associated with multiple sets of pathloss reference signal parameters each having different power control adjustment state and associated with different spatial paths to the respective TRP via different panels [paragraphs 0057-0059, 0050].)
Therefore, since MolavianJazi discloses sets of power control adjustment states, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the sets of power control adjustment states of MolavianJazi with the system of Ling by implementing per TRP sets of power control adjustment states/path loss parameters. The motive to combine is to allow appropriate power ajustment parameters with multiple paths to each TRP for improved performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
R1-2005975 (Author Unknown, Text proposals for enhancements on Multi-TRP and panel Transmission, Doc No. R2-2005975, pages 1-7, 28 August 2020) – disclosing using a single DCI for M-TRP uplink transmission scheduling
Cirik, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0045806) – disclosing multi-TRP transmission using a same SRI field
Chen, et al (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0171769) – disclosing repetition with multi-TRP operation
Hurd, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0125953) – disclosing repetition with multi-TRP operation
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Arguments and Remarks, filed 6/11/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 6 under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous ground of rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
That is, the system of
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 12, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1) in view of Khoshnevisan, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0226680).
Regarding claim 1, Ling discloses a method for repetition with configured grant, performed by a terminal, wherein the method for repetition with configured grant comprises:
obtaining a first configured grant configured by a network side, wherein the first configured grant is configured with at least two sets of first information; and (The system of Ling discloses a single configured grant is associated with multiple repetitions [via different TRPs with different associated power control/beams/spatial diversity – paragraph 0003] of either type 1 or type 2 [paragraphs 0043-0047; 0131-0136 – type 1; 0141-0142 – type 2]. The original and repetitions of the configured grant may be configured with different settings via RRC [i.e. two sets of first information] [paragraph 0046] among the settings are one or more mapping patterns [paragraphs 0120, 0129, 0131] that indicate beams associated with different TRPs [paragraphs 0037, 0043 0117] and different power control parameters configured by RRC [paragraphs 0113, 0116, 0117, 0121, 0122, 0125].)
performing repetition of a transport block based on the at least two sets of first information (The UE performs repetition based on the different antennas and associated parameters [paragraph 0043 – see (a), supra.].)
wherein the at least two sets of first information comprise at least two sets of power control parameters, the at least two sets of power control parameters are one-to-one correspondence with the at least two spatial relations (
Among the two sets of information associated, respectively, with an original and repetition of the transport block are the pathloss reference signal IDs/power control parameters, linked with a respective SRS resource [paragraph 0121, 0125- indicating power control parameters].).
Ling fails to explicitly disclose at least two spatial relations, the at least two sets of power control parameters are one-to-one correspondence with the at least two spatial relations. (i.e. Ling discloses beams to different TRPs associated with different spatial settings [paragraph 0003] and using spatial settings for the PUCCH repetitions [paraphs 0069] but is not explicit on one-to-one correspondence.) In the same field of endeavor, Khoshnevisan discloses at least two spatial relations, the at least two sets of power control parameters are one-to-one correspondence with the at least two spatial relations. (Khoshnevisan discloses that each SRS resource for multi-TRP repetition [which would include the SRS resources of Ling which are used for transmission of the original and retransmission with the two sets of power control parameters to different TRPs] may be configured additionally with spatialRelationInfo used to determine the spatial settings for uplink transmission in association with the resource [paragraphs 0060-0061 – RRC includes SRI indicating multiple SRS resources for uplink repetition each associated with different SpatialRelationInfo [association is 1 to 1 with an uplink transmission [and by extension also power control for that transmission] as only one spatial relation can be used/associated per transmission and associated power control parameter]; 0053-0055 – configured grant type 1 or 2, repetition to different base station/TRP).
Therefore, since Khoshnevisan discloses further including two sets of spatial relations for the uplink transmissions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the spatial relations of Khoshnevisan with the system of Ling by associating a spatial relation with the SRS of the first and second sets of power control parameters used for the original transmission and the retransmission, respectively. The motive to combine is to allow the use of appropriate spatial parameters for transmission the first TRP that is the target of the first transmission and the second TRP that is the target of the retransmission for improved performance.
Regarding claim 2, Ling discloses the at least two sets of first information comprised at least two redundancy version (RV) sequences. (The UE is provided with multiple sets of power control information including redundancy versions/RV [paragraph 0049 – UE is configured with parameter sets for power control] and the configured information includes power control parameters including repetitions/repK-RV [paragraph 0069].)
Regarding claim 3, Ling discloses the first configured grant is a type 1 configured grant, and the at least two spatial relations of the first configured grant are configured via radio resource control (RRC) by a network side. (BeamMappingPattern, which links the beams with various spatial relations associated with the beams, is configured via RRC [paragraphs 0129-0134]. Note also claim 1 (type 1 configured grant with multiple sets of information) and claim 2 (discussing linking of sets of information to multiple spatial relations/beam mapping patterns configured for different beams with respect to paragraph 0126].)
Regarding claim 7, Ling discloses the first configured grant is a type 1 configured grant, and the power control parameter comprises a pathloss reference signal index. (Ling discloses a CG for a type 1 configured grant is associated with multiple SRS resources indication which also include separate pathloss reference signal IDs [paragraphs 0114-0117].)
Regarding claim 8, Ling discloses the first configured grant is a type 2 configured grant, and the power control parameter comprises one or more of the following an open-loop power control parameter or a closed-loop power control parameter wherein an SRI field in DCI used to activate the first configured grant at least indicates two sets of pathloss reference signal parameters. (Ling discloses type 2 CG configuration [paragraphs 0141] where the configured power parameters are for closed loop power control [paragraphs 0148] and where the SRI field may indicate two sets of pathloss reference signal parameters [paragraphs 0144 – SRI field contains multiple SRI power control parameters or a single SRI associated with multiple power control parameters; paragraph 0150 - the power control parameters include a pathloss reference ID).
Regarding claim 12, Ling discloses the at least two sets of power control parameters are in one-to-one correspondence with the at least two spatial relations (paragraphs 0156, 0125, 0128, 0137, 0149 – the path loss parameters are associated with a path loss reference index that links to only a single SRS resource/SRI and spatial relation/beam via sequential mapping of the beam mapping pattern).
Regarding claim 13, Ling discloses a mapping between the at least two sets of power control parameters and time of repetition with the first configured grant is the same as a mapping between the at least two spatial relations and the time of repetition with the first configured grant (paragraphs 0156, 0125, 0128, 0137, 0149 – the sets power control parameters and two spatial relations are both mapped for transmission at the same time in the repetition of the transmission in the configured grant as the power control parameters are intended to apply to the respective spatial relations as they define power control for the various beams/panels/spatial relations in transmission to the TRP.)
Regarding claim 19, Ling discloses a processor, a memory, and a program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program is executed by the processor to perform the steps of the method (paragraph 0174).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1) and Khoshnevisan, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0226680) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Iyer, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0217760), Lin, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0262692; note parallel citations to 63/062,355 [“355”]) and Xu, et al. (WIPO Publication No. 2020/063767 – all citations to attached translation)
Regarding claim 4, Ling discloses the first configured grant is a type 2 configured grant (see claim 1, supra).
Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan fails to disclose a hybrid automatic repeat request process number (HPN) used to activate the first configured grant and channel sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) in the DCI indicates the at least two spatial relations. In the same field of endeavor, Iyer discloses a hybrid automatic repeat request process number (HPN) used to activate the first configured grant and channel sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) in the DCI indicates the at least two spatial relations. (Iyer discloses that UEs are configured with a repetition set for PUSCH repetition in different spatial directions [i.e with different spatial relations] to different TRPs which may be triggered by a type-2 CG and which may be associated with a given HARQ process and the SRI in the DCI may be used to indicate the spatial relations [paragraphs 0305-0306].)
Therefore, since Iyer discloses associating a single HPN with multiple SRI/spatial relations included in the DCI, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the DCI based SRI of Iyer with the system of Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan by including in the DCI indications of SRI associated with a single HPN. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead by using only a single HPN associated with different SRI/spatial relations for signaling.
Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan and Iyer fails to disclose a channel sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in the DCI indicates the at least two spatial relations. (i.e. Ling is not specific about the SRI signaling and only indicates the DCI for a type 2 CG may indicate multiple SRI but not how the indication is performed). In the same field of endeavor Lin discloses a channel sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in the DCI indicates the at least two spatial relations. (Lin discloses that instead of using multiple SRI to signal the beams/spatial relations/SRIs, a single SRI in the SRI field may be associated with multiple beams/spatial relations/SRIs and a first bit may be associated with a first SRI/spatial relation and a second bit may be associated with a second SRI/spatial relation [paragraph 0145 [page 18 of 355] – two sets of SRI information indicated in one extended SRI field; paragraph 0148 [page 19 of 355] – the field may be encoded as two bits, one for each TRP/Panel in the case that Nsrs is 1].)
Therefore, since Lin discloses single field encoding, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the single field encoding of Lin with the system of Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan and Iyer such that the SRI information is sent in a single SRI field with two bits, each one for a different SRI/spatial relation or with an single indicator indicating a two sets of SRI information. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead by using a single field.
Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan, Iyer and Lin fails to disclose a hybrid automatic repeat request process number (HPN) in downlink control information (DCI) used to activate the first configured grant corresponds to an index of the first configured grant. In the same filed of endeavor Xu discloses hybrid automatic repeat request process number (HPN) in downlink control information (DCI) used to activate the first configured grant corresponds to an index of the first configured grant. (Xu discloses using the last bits of a DCI HPN to indicate a configured grant (CG) index to activate [page 19, second full paragraph].)
Therefore, since Xu discloses CG index based HPN, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the indexing of Xu with the system of Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan, Iyer and Lyn by including an index of an activated CG in the HPN of the DCI. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead by not requiring a separate field to indicate the CG.
Regarding claim 5, Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan, Iyer, Lyn and Xu disclose a first value of the SRI field in the DCI indicates a first set, the first set comprising the at least two spatial relations; or the SRI field in the DCI comprises a first indication bit and a second indication bit, wherein the first indication bit indicates a first spatial relation in the at least two spatial relations, and the second indication bit indicates a second spatial relation in the at least two spatial relations (see the combination with Lyn in the rejection of claim 4, supra).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1) and Khoshnevisan, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0226680) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of MolavianJazi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2020/0229104)
Regarding claim 6, Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan fails to disclose the first configured grant is activated at least twice by multiple DCIs, and SRI fields in the multiple DCIs separately indicate one spatial relation (note the 112, rejection, supra, in which claim 6 is reverted to depend from claim 2 because it’s requirements are inconsistent with those of claim 4). In the same field of endeavor, MolavianJazi discloses the first configured grant is activated at least twice by multiple DCIs, and SRI fields in the multiple DCIs separately indicate one spatial relation. (MolavianJazi discloses scheduling multiple TRP repetition transmission using multiple PDCCHs associated with different TRPs [paragraph 0063] and which may indicate different SRI [paragraphs 0050] and which follow an existing DCI format in which there is a single SRI per DCI [paragraphs 0047, 0049 – discloses single SRI field]).
Therefore, since MolavianJazi discloses single SRI multiple DCI based scheduling of repetition, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the multiple DCI indications of MolavianJazi with the system of Ling as modifed by Khoshnevisan by indicating the different SRIs/spatial relations to be used by the repetitions using separate DCI trasmissions, each indicating a single SRI. The motive to combine is to allow for backward compatibility with existing DCI formats.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1) and Khoshnevisan, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0226680) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of MolavianJazi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2020/0229104) and Lin, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0262692; note parallel citations to 63/062,355 [“355”]).
Regarding claim 9, Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan fails to disclose a first and a second set of pathloss parameters. In the same field of endeavor MolavianJazi discloses a first and a second set of pathloss parameters (MolavianJazi discloses that each TRP can be associated with multiple sets of pathloss reference signal parameters associated with different spatial paths to the respective TRP via different panels [0057-0059]. Therefore, an indication of the TRP indicates a group/set of pathloss reference signal parameters associated with each path to the TRP with a first TRP associated with the first set and a second TRP associated with the second set.)
Therefore, since MolavianJazi discloses sets of pathloss reference signal parameters, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the sets of pathloss reference signal parameters of MolavianJazi with the system of Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan by implementing per TRP sets of pathloss reference signal parameters. The motive to combine is to allow appropriate power parameters with multiple paths to each TRP for improved performance.
Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan and MolavianJazi fails to disclose a second value of the SRI field in the DCI indicates a second set. In the same field of endeavor Lin discloses a second value of the SRI field in the DCI indicates a second set. (Lin discloses that the DCI may indicate SRI which includes N fields, where N is the number of TRP [paragraphs 0141, 0144] and each field may indicate NSRS bits of information where NSRS is the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set associated with the TRP [paragraphs 0148]. The SRS resources of the SRS resource set are used to derive the power related information [paragraphs 0068].)
Therefore, since Lin discloses per TRP indication of SRS information, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the per TRP indications of Lin as modified by Khoshnevisan with the system of MolavianJazi by implementing a first and second field of the SRI, each associated with a different TRP (per MolavianJazi) and each indicating the set of SRIs (per MolavianJazi) and by extension pathloss reference signal parameters (per Ling) associated with each and then further specifying, within the set of SRIs/pathloss reference signal parameters a particular SRI/pathloss reference signal parameter to be used. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead and simplify signaling by splitting the singling into two groups each associated with a different TRP.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1) and Khoshnevisan, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0226680) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of MolavianJazi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2020/0229104) and Jeon, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2019/0215781 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ling discloses the first configured grant is a type 2 configured grant scheduled by the DCI in a single PDCCH message scheduling multiple uplink transmissions (see claim 1, supra).
Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan fails to disclose a transmit power control field in DCI used to activate the first configured grant indicates at least two transmit power control commands and the transmit power control field comprises fifth indication bits and sixth indication bits, wherein the fifth indication bits indicates a transmit power control command corresponding to a first power control adjustment state, and the sixth indication bits indicates a transmit power control command corresponding to a second power control adjustment state. In the same field of endeavor MolavianJazi discloses a transmit power control field in DCI used to activate the first configured grant indicates at least two transmit power control commands and the transmit power control field comprises fifth indication bits and sixth indication bits, wherein the fifth indication bits indicates a transmit power control command corresponding to a first power control adjustment state, and the sixth indication bits indicates a transmit power control command corresponding to a second power control adjustment state (MolavianJazi discloses a single DCI containing multiple power control command fields that are applied to the different scheduled transmissions in the DCI of the single PDCCH [paragraph 0084 – a single DCI may contain multiple power control commands; paragraph 0086 - The TPC commands may applied sequentially to the different transmit occasions scheduled]; the commands are contained in TPC command fields/power control fields [0054]. The fields are two bits and form a set of fifth and sixth indication bits [paragraph 0088]. The different scheduled transmissions relate to different panels or TRPs and have different power control adjustment states [paragraph 0050].)
Therefore, since MolavianJazi discloses multiple power control commands, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the multiple TPC of MolavianJazi with the system of Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan by signaling two TPC commands using a 2 bit set of fifth and sixth indication bits which each apply to a different TRP/panel/power control adjustment state. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead by allowing a single DCI/PDCCH transmission to change two power control states.
Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan and MolavianJazi fails to disclose the power control commands are a single bit to form the fifth and sixth indication bits. In the same field of endeavor Jeon discloses the power control commands are a single bit to form the fifth and sixth indication bits (paragraph 0296 – disclosing a single bit TPC command)
Therefore, since Jeon discloses single bit TPC, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the single bit TPC of Jeon with the sytem of Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan and MolavianJazi by performing the two TPC of Ling as modified by MolavianJazi using a single bit to form a fifth and sixth indication bits. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead by using a single bit TPC.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0309022 A1) and Khoshnevisan, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0226680) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of MolavianJazi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2020/0229104).
Regarding claim 11, Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan fails to disclose each set of power control parameters corresponds to at least two power control adjustment states. In the same field of endeavor MolavianJazi discloses each set of power control parameters corresponds to at least two power control adjustment states (MolavianJazi discloses that each TRP can be associated with multiple sets of pathloss reference signal parameters each having different power control adjustment state and associated with different spatial paths to the respective TRP via different panels [paragraphs 0057-0059, 0050].)
Therefore, since MolavianJazi discloses sets of power control adjustment states, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the sets of power control adjustment states of MolavianJazi with the system of Ling as modified by Khoshnevisan by implementing per TRP sets of power control adjustment states/path loss parameters. The motive to combine is to allow appropriate power ajustment parameters with multiple paths to each TRP for improved performance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466