DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knoop et al. (U.S. 2017/0167556).
Regarding claim 5, Knoop discloses A brake assembly for a disc brake (abstract at least), the brake assembly comprising:
a caliper housing (120); a piston assembly (including 14) moveably disposed within the caliper housing (as shown) and configured to actuate a first brake pad assembly (18) in an axial direction of a rotor (16) from a first retracted position to a first extended position during a braking operation; and
a sensor arrangement (see pgh. 0083-99, load sensor 142 at least) configured to detect a position of a component of the piston assembly (e.g. step 172) to indicate displacement of the component of the piston assembly in the axial direction during the braking operation (see pgh. 0088); and
a controller (pgh. 0088, “ECU” at least) configured to receive sensor signals (see pgh. 0088), wherein the sensor signals indicate at least input force or pressure applied (sensor 142 is a “load” sensor, which at least “indicates” input force or pressure applied), from the sensor arrangement and to process, in response to the sensor signals, a derived operational parameter indicative of at least running clearance (pgh. 0099 at least, the sensor data is used to determine wear, which is a “derived operational parameter” based on the load, and this parameter is “indicative of at least running clearance”, because the more the brake is worn, the more running clearance there is).
Regarding claim 6, Knoop discloses the sensor arrangement is fixed relative to the caliper housing such that there is relative movement between the sensor arrangement and the component of the piston assembly during the braking operation (see fig. 3 at least, 150 mounted in 120).
Regarding claim 12, Knoop discloses the sensor arrangement (at 142 at least) is fixed relative to the component of the piston assembly (via spring 140) such that the sensor arrangement is displaced together with the component of the piston assembly in the axial direction during the braking operation (142 is spring biased toward 172 and moves together with 172).
Regarding claim 13, Knoop discloses the sensor arrangement comprises a single sensor (load sensor 142) configured to detect: a position of an adjuster mechanism to determine total wear (pgh. 0099, signal indicative of wear); and the displacement of the component of the piston assembly in the axial direction (pgh. 0095-0099 at least, displacement of 142 is indicative of displacement of piston assembly component via rotation of 148/132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knoop et al. (U.S. 2017/0167556) in view of Philpott (U.S. 2016/0160949).
Regarding claim 7, Knoop discloses an adjuster mechanism (22) that is operatively connected to the piston assembly and is configured to adjust the first extended position to ensure an acceptable total running clearance between the first brake pad assembly and the rotor and a second brake pad assembly and the rotor (see pgh. 0076-0078 at least).
Knoop does not appear to disclose the first and second sensors as claimed. In the same field of endeavor of brake adjuster mechanisms, Philpott teaches an adjuster mechanism (120), and a sensor arrangement comprising a first sensor (152) and a second sensor (156), wherein the first sensor is configured to detect a position of the adjuster mechanism to determine total wear (pgh. 0051 at least) and the second sensor is configured to detect displacement of the component of the piston assembly in the axial direction (fig. 4A and pgh. 0055-0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the first and second sensors of Philpott to the adjuster mechanism of Knoop to provide redundancy to the system by having multiple sensors of different types for determining the amount of adjustment needed.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philpott (U.S. 2016/0160949) in view of Knoop et al. (U.S. 2017/0167556).
Regarding claim 8, Philpott discloses (figs. 1-2A) A brake assembly for a disc brake (as
shown), the brake assembly comprising:
a caliper housing (20/22);
a piston assembly (60) moveably disposed within the caliper housing and configured to actuate a first brake pad assembly (24) in an axial direction of a rotor (28) from a first retracted position to a first extended position during a braking operation (engaged and disengaged positions); and
a sensor arrangement (150) configured to detect a position of a component (e.g. 82) of the piston assembly to indicate displacement of the component of the piston assembly in the axial direction during the braking operation (see pgh. 0051 at least),
a controller (see pgh. 0053) configured to receive sensor signals (see pgh. 0052 and 0054), and to process, in response to the sensor signals, a derived operational parameter indicative of at least running clearance (see pgh. 0057 at least, position of indicator 160 sensed by sensor 156 indicative of wear, which is indicative of running clearance, as the amount of wear affects the amount of running clearance);
the sensor arrangement further comprises:
a wear sensor arm (142) in communication with the adjuster mechanism, the wear sensor arm being configured to displace relative to the caliper housing in an axial direction as the adjuster mechanism adjusts the first extended position of the piston assembly (pgh. 0046-0047 at least),
wherein the first sensor is in communication with the wear sensor arm to detect the displacement of the wear sensor arm in the axial direction (pgh. 0051 at least) and the second sensor is in communication with the component of the piston assembly to detect the displacement of the component of the piston assembly in the axial direction (as previously mapped).
Philpott does not appear to disclose the sensor signals indicate at least input force or pressure applied, from the sensor arrangement. Knoop teaches the sensor signals indicate at least input force or pressure applied (sensor 142 is a “load” sensor, which at least “indicates” input force or pressure applied). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the load sensors of Knoop to the adjuster mechanism of Philpott to provide redundancy to the system by having multiple sensors of different types for determining the amount of adjustment needed.
Regarding claim 18, Philpott further discloses in the component of the piston assembly comprises a projection 1 (e.g. inward projection 166) configured to be detected by the sensor arrangement to indicate axial movement of the component of the piston assembly, to indicate displacement of the component of the piston assembly during a braking operation. (see mapping above for Philpott mapped to claim 5).
Philpott does not appear to disclose the sensor signals indicate at least input force or pressure applied, from the sensor arrangement (from claim 5). Knoop teaches the sensor signals indicate at least input force or pressure applied (sensor 142 is a “load” sensor, which at least “indicates” input force or pressure applied). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the load sensors of Knoop to the adjuster mechanism of Philpott to provide redundancy to the system by having multiple sensors of different types for determining the amount of adjustment needed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 14-17 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if rewritten to overcome any 112(b) rejections, as appropriate.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant contends on page 7 of the remarks filed 1/23/2026 that Philpott does not disclose the limitations newly recited in claim 5. This argument is found persuasive. However, a new grounds of rejection is made, as appears above.
Applicant contends on page 7 of the remarks that Knoop does not disclose the limitations newly recited in claim 5. This argument is not found persuasive, as Knoop discloses these limitations, as described above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616