DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, the claims do not appear to recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites various steps which are considered an abstract idea within the mental processes grouping, such as “extracting a vehicle communication session parameter”, “validate the vehicle charging communication session parameter”, “a relaxed charging parameter… is used”, and “a deviation parameter is generated”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited “electric vehicle” does not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea, as it amounts to a “field of use” recitation which does not practically apply, e.g., the “relaxed charging parameter” or “deviation parameter”. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element of “an electric vehicle” is recited at a high level of generality and is well-understood, routine, conventional activity.
Claims 2-9 are dependent from claim 1, and do not appear to be eligible for reasons similar to those noted above and are therefore also rejected under 35 USC 101. In addition, the recitations in claims 2-3 of transmitting data and the recitation in claim 5 of charging are considered insignificant extra-solution activity; and the recitation of claim 9 only stores information in a memory, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional computer function.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites various steps which are considered an abstract idea within the mental processes grouping, such as “extracting…a vehicle charging communication session parameter”, “validating…the vehicle charging communication session parameter”, “relaxing…the vehicle charging communication session parameter”, and “generating…a deviation parameter”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recitations “commencing…a communication session”, “starting…charging”, and “initiating a restarted charging session” are considered insignificant extra solution activity which do not practically apply, e.g., the relaxed “vehicle charging communication session parameter” or “deviation parameter”. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of “commencing…a communication session”, “starting…charging”, and initiating a restarted charging session” are recited at a high level of generality and are well-understood, routine, conventional activity.
Claims 11-19 are dependent from claim 10, and do not appear to be eligible for reasons similar to those noted above and are therefore also rejected under 35 USC 101. In addition, the recitations in claims 12-13 of transmitting data are considered insignificant extra solution activity; and the recitation of claim 18 only stores information in a memory, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional computer function.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites various steps which are considered an abstract idea within the mental processes grouping, such as “extracting…a vehicle charging communication session parameter”, “validating…the vehicle charging communication session parameter”, “relaxing…the vehicle charging communication session parameter”, “generating…a deviation parameter”, “monitoring a variability of the adaptation”, and “monitoring the variability of the vehicle charging communication session parameter”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recitations “commencing…a communication session”, “starting…charging”, “initiating a restarted charging session”, “transmitting the deviation parameter”, “transmitting a vehicle environmental parameter”, and “registering the deviation parameter” are considered insignificant extra-solution activity which do not practically apply, e.g., the relaxed “vehicle charging communication session parameter” or “deviation parameter”. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of “commencing…a communication session”, “starting…charging”, “initiating a restarted charging session”, “transmitting the deviation parameter”, “transmitting a vehicle environmental parameter”, and “registering the deviation parameter” are recited at a high level of generality and are well-understood, routine, conventional activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BODE (US Pub. No. 2021/0008998).
Regarding claim 1, BODE discloses a system (comprising at least vehicle 12 and charging station 10 in Fig. 1) for adaptation of electric vehicle charging communication parameters (this statement of intended use in the preamble does not further limit the claim, see MPEP 2111.02) comprising:
an electric vehicle (EV) (12, Fig. 1) comprising a communication module (30, Fig. 1; ¶ 0081: motor vehicle 12 also includes a communication adapter 30, that is coupled to the vehicle control unit 42 using communication technology and is connected to the two connection contacts 38, 40, for establishing the communication connection to the charging station 10 via the two electrical lines 24, 26 of the charging connection cable 18) configured to commence a communication session between the EV and an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) charging station (10, Fig. 1) at an initiation of an EV charging session (¶ 0079: vehicle control unit 42 is configured to establish a communication connection to the charging station 10 and to transmit energy storage data to the charging station 10 via the communication connection in order to set the supply or possibly a removal of electrical energy on the basis of the energy storage data);
the communication module further configured to extract a vehicle charging communication session parameter from the EVSE charging station during the communication session (¶ 0096: In order to be able to achieve a high degree of safety with respect to the communication connection, a monitoring time may be provided that is less than approximately 20 ms, for example approximately 16 ms or approximately 8 ms or less; ¶ 0097: After expiry of the monitoring time, a safety error may be detected and safety-critical settings, for example the supply of energy from the charging station 10 to the motor vehicle 12, may be disconnected; ¶ 0100: a communication failure may be detected on account of the monitoring time being exceeded; the communication module “extracts” whether communications occur within a monitoring time);
the EV configured to validate the vehicle charging communication session parameter with a default charging parameter (¶ 0072: communication adapter 28 is configured to use modulation adapted to line properties of the charging connection cable 18, for which purpose the communication adapter includes an accordingly configured modulator that is not illustrated and may be used to output accordingly modulated communication signals onto the two electrical lines 24, 26. Corresponding communication parameters are used for this purpose and may be used to set the electrical properties of the communication signals, a frequency and an amplitude in the present case. Moreover, alternatively, or additionally, other communication parameters may also be used. Some of the communication parameters may also be permanently predefined; ¶ 0082: communication adapter 30 is configured in substantially the same manner as the communication adapter 28 of the charging station 10…communication adapters 28, 30 may use predefined modulation; communications are validated based on predefined parameters, which are interpreted as “default charging parameters”);
wherein if a failure of the communication session during the EV charging session occurs a relaxed charging parameter based on an adaptation of the vehicle charging communication session parameter is used for a restarted EV charging session (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required, see MPEP 2111.04 II); and
wherein if a communication session of the restarted EV charging session is successful a deviation parameter is generated (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required).
Regarding claim 5, BODE discloses the EVSE charging station is configured to charge using a direct current or an alternating current based on a digital communication parameter received by the EVSE charging station during the communication session (¶ 0053, 0068, 0070, 0084, 0086).
Regarding claim 6, BODE discloses the relaxed charging parameter comprises a predefined maximum possible deviation (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required).
Regarding claim 8, BODE discloses the vehicle charging communication session parameter comprises one or more of a communication timeout, a retry count, a startup/initialization delay, a charge threshold, an optional charge parameter, or a payment option (¶ 0096-0097, 0100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BODE as applied to claims 1, 5-6, and 8 above, and further in view of KIM (US Pub. No. 2024/0092210).
Regarding claim 2, BODE discloses the system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose a server, wherein if the failure of the communication session occurs the communication module is further configured to transmit the deviation parameter to the server.
KIM discloses a server (¶ 0025, 0061, 0105, 0108), wherein if the failure of the communication session occurs the communication module is further configured to transmit the deviation parameter to the server (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the server in order to update charging communication compatibility status information between a vehicle and a charging station in real-time by using vehicle data, and to provide the information to a driver (KIM, ¶ 0007).
Regarding claim 3, BODE discloses if the failure of the EV charging session occurs the communication module is further configured to transmit, to the server, a vehicle environmental parameter (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required).
Regarding claim 4, BODE discloses the vehicle environmental parameter comprises one or more of a global positioning system coordinate, a diagnostic trouble code, a vehicle plugin status, and a battery parameter (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required).
Regarding claim 9, BODE discloses the system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose a database configured to store the deviation parameter and a vehicle environmental parameter.
KIM discloses a database configured to store the deviation parameter (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required) and a vehicle environmental parameter (¶ 0025, 0061, 0105, 0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the database in order to update charging communication compatibility status information between a vehicle and a charging station in real-time by using vehicle data, and to provide the information to a driver (KIM, ¶ 0007).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BODE as applied to claims 1, 5-6, and 8 above, and further in view of DEDONA (US Pub. No. 2015/0097526).
Regarding claim 7, BODE discloses the system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the EV is further configured to monitor a variability of the vehicle charging communication session parameter.
DEDONA discloses the EV is further configured to monitor a variability of the vehicle charging communication session parameter (¶ 0027, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the EV is configured to monitor a variability of the vehicle charging communication session parameter in order to ensure a safe charging operation with the charging station.
Claim(s) 10-12, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BODE (US Pub. No. 2021/0008998) in view of HOFER (US Pub. No. 2015/0251549).
Regarding claim 10, BODE discloses a method for adaptation of electric vehicle charging communication parameters (this statement of intended use in the preamble does not further limit the claim) comprising:
commencing, by an electric vehicle (EV) (12, Fig. 1), a communication session between the EV and an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) charging station (10, Fig. 1) at an initiation of an EV charging session (¶ 0079: vehicle control unit 42 is configured to establish a communication connection to the charging station 10 and to transmit energy storage data to the charging station 10 via the communication connection in order to set the supply or possibly a removal of electrical energy on the basis of the energy storage data);
extracting, during the communication session, a vehicle charging communication session parameter from the EVSE charging station (¶ 0096: In order to be able to achieve a high degree of safety with respect to the communication connection, a monitoring time may be provided that is less than approximately 20 ms, for example approximately 16 ms or approximately 8 ms or less; ¶ 0097: After expiry of the monitoring time, a safety error may be detected and safety-critical settings, for example the supply of energy from the charging station 10 to the motor vehicle 12, may be disconnected; ¶ 0100: a communication failure may be detected on account of the monitoring time being exceeded; the communication module “extracts” whether communications occur within a monitoring time);
validating, by the EV, the vehicle charging communication session parameter with a default charging parameter (¶ 0072: communication adapter 28 is configured to use modulation adapted to line properties of the charging connection cable 18, for which purpose the communication adapter includes an accordingly configured modulator that is not illustrated and may be used to output accordingly modulated communication signals onto the two electrical lines 24, 26. Corresponding communication parameters are used for this purpose and may be used to set the electrical properties of the communication signals, a frequency and an amplitude in the present case. Moreover, alternatively, or additionally, other communication parameters may also be used. Some of the communication parameters may also be permanently predefined; ¶ 0082: communication adapter 30 is configured in substantially the same manner as the communication adapter 28 of the charging station 10…communication adapters 28, 30 may use predefined modulation; communications are validated based on predefined parameters, which are interpreted as “default charging parameters”);
starting a direct current or an alternating current, charging of the EV based on a digital communication parameter received by the EVSE charging station during the communication session (¶ 0053: communication signal includes at least one data message and the value is determined on the basis of the at least one data message. A data message is, for example, a communication element including data elements that are transmitted in a manner combined to form a unit to be transmitted. The data message may be based on digital data; ¶ 0068: charging unit 14 also includes an energy converter 22 that is used to convert the electrical energy received from the energy source 20. For this purpose, the energy converter 22 is configured with a rectifier function and a DC/DC converter in the present case; ¶ 0070: charging station 10 also includes an electrical charging connection cable 18 as a charging cable, a first end of which charging connection cable is electrically coupled to the charging unit 14 and which charging connection cable includes, in the present case, precisely two electrical lines 24, 26 for providing an electrical charging voltage that is a DC voltage; ¶ 0084: A wide variety of modulation methods may be provided as modulation, for example amplitude modulation, frequency modulation, combinations thereof, digital modulation and/or the like; ¶ 0086: communication adapters 28, 30 may be configured to use digital communication);
relaxing, if a failure of the communication session occurs, the vehicle charging communication session parameter based on an adaptation of the vehicle charging communication session parameter (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required, see MPEP 2111.04 II); and
generating, if a communication session of the restarted EV charging session is successful, a deviation parameter (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required).
BODE fails to disclose initiating a restarted EV charging session.
HOFER discloses initiating a restarted EV charging session (¶ 0016: According to the method, following the failure of the power supply, and subsequent restoration of the power supply, a charging current is used to charge the electrical energy storage device, which is automatically reduced--for example by 10% or more--compared to the charging current prior to the failure of the power supply; ¶ 0017: If the charging procedure is re-started following the restoration of the power supply, the vehicle charges with a reduced charging current; ¶ 0018: Using the method according to the invention, it is possible for a charging process to be continued following the triggering and subsequent reset of the overcurrent protection device in the domestic installation, without the overcurrent protection device being triggered repeatedly. The charging process in this case can be automatically continued at the vehicle end following restoration of the power supply, without the user needing to act; ¶ 0022: the mechanism for reducing the charging current is implemented in the vehicle--that is, the reduction of the charging current is performed on the vehicle end; ¶ 0025: vehicle can recognize the failure of the power supply, by way of example, for the purpose of triggering the reduction of the charging current limit, and can reduce the charging current limit once it has recognized the failure. The failure of the power socket can be determined, by way of example, by the presence of two conditions. First, there is a corresponding signal in a proximity circuit which includes the proximity contact, which indicates an existing connection of the vehicle coupling of the charging cable fitting to the vehicle (by way of example, a certain current is flowing over the proximity resistor on the proximity contact). Second, the vehicle no longer detects a pilot signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include initiating a restarted EV charging session in order to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 11, BODE discloses the default charging parameter is for a particular EVSE charging station (¶ 0072, 0082).
Regarding claim 12, BODE discloses transmitting the deviation parameter to a server (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required).
Regarding claim 15, BODE discloses the relaxing the vehicle charging communication session parameter comprises use of a predefined maximum possible deviation (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required).
Regarding claim 17, BODE discloses the vehicle charging communication session parameter comprises one or more of a communication timeout, a retry count, a startup/initialization delay, or a charge threshold (¶ 0096-0097, 0100).
Regarding claim 18, BODE discloses registering the deviation parameter in a database (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required).
Regarding claim 19, BODE discloses monitoring a variability of the vehicle charging communication session parameter after the relaxing of the vehicle charging communication session parameter (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required).
Claim(s) 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BODE in view of HOFER as applied to claims 10-12, 15, and 17-19 above, and further in view of KIM (US Pub. No. 2024/0092210).
Regarding claim 13, BODE as modified by HOFER teaches the method as applied to claim 10, but BODE fails to disclose transmitting a vehicle environmental parameter to a server.
KIM discloses transmitting a vehicle environmental parameter to a server (¶ 0025, 0061, 0105, 0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include transmitting a vehicle environmental parameter to a server in order to update charging communication compatibility status information between a vehicle and a charging station in real-time by using vehicle data, and to provide the information to a driver (KIM, ¶ 0007).
Regarding claim 14, BODE as modified by HOFER and KIM teaches the vehicle environmental parameter comprises one or more of a global positioning system coordinate, a diagnostic trouble code, a vehicle plugin status, and a battery parameter (KIM, ¶ 0025, 0061, 0105, 0108).
Regarding claim 20, BODE discloses a method for adaptation of electric vehicle charging communication (this statement of intended use in the preamble does not further limit the claim) comprising:
commencing, by an electric vehicle (EV) (12, Fig. 1), a communication session between the EV and an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) charging station (10, Fig. 1) at an initiation of an EV charging session (¶ 0079: vehicle control unit 42 is configured to establish a communication connection to the charging station 10 and to transmit energy storage data to the charging station 10 via the communication connection in order to set the supply or possibly a removal of electrical energy on the basis of the energy storage data);
extracting, during the communication session, a vehicle charging communication session parameter from the EVSE charging station (¶ 0096: In order to be able to achieve a high degree of safety with respect to the communication connection, a monitoring time may be provided that is less than approximately 20 ms, for example approximately 16 ms or approximately 8 ms or less; ¶ 0097: After expiry of the monitoring time, a safety error may be detected and safety-critical settings, for example the supply of energy from the charging station 10 to the motor vehicle 12, may be disconnected; ¶ 0100: a communication failure may be detected on account of the monitoring time being exceeded; the communication module “extracts” whether communications occur within a monitoring time);
validating, by the EV, the vehicle charging communication session parameter with a default charging parameter (¶ 0072: communication adapter 28 is configured to use modulation adapted to line properties of the charging connection cable 18, for which purpose the communication adapter includes an accordingly configured modulator that is not illustrated and may be used to output accordingly modulated communication signals onto the two electrical lines 24, 26. Corresponding communication parameters are used for this purpose and may be used to set the electrical properties of the communication signals, a frequency and an amplitude in the present case. Moreover, alternatively, or additionally, other communication parameters may also be used. Some of the communication parameters may also be permanently predefined; ¶ 0082: communication adapter 30 is configured in substantially the same manner as the communication adapter 28 of the charging station 10…communication adapters 28, 30 may use predefined modulation; communications are validated based on predefined parameters, which are interpreted as “default charging parameters”);
starting a direct current or an alternating current, charging of the EV based on a digital communication parameter received by the EVSE charging station during the communication session (¶ 0053: communication signal includes at least one data message and the value is determined on the basis of the at least one data message. A data message is, for example, a communication element including data elements that are transmitted in a manner combined to form a unit to be transmitted. The data message may be based on digital data; ¶ 0068: charging unit 14 also includes an energy converter 22 that is used to convert the electrical energy received from the energy source 20. For this purpose, the energy converter 22 is configured with a rectifier function and a DC/DC converter in the present case; ¶ 0070: charging station 10 also includes an electrical charging connection cable 18 as a charging cable, a first end of which charging connection cable is electrically coupled to the charging unit 14 and which charging connection cable includes, in the present case, precisely two electrical lines 24, 26 for providing an electrical charging voltage that is a DC voltage; ¶ 0084: A wide variety of modulation methods may be provided as modulation, for example amplitude modulation, frequency modulation, combinations thereof, digital modulation and/or the like; ¶ 0086: communication adapters 28, 30 may be configured to use digital communication);
relaxing, if a failure of the communication session occurs, the vehicle charging communication session parameter based on an adaptation of the vehicle charging communication session parameter (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required, see MPEP 2111.04 II);
generating, if a communication session of the restarted EV charging session is successful, a deviation parameter (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required);
transmitting the deviation parameter to a server (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required);
monitoring a variability of the adaptation of the vehicle charging communication session parameter (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required);
registering the deviation parameter in a database (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required); and
monitoring the variability of the vehicle charging communication session parameter after the relaxing of the vehicle charging communication session parameter (this is a contingent limitation, and as such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is that this limitation is not required).
BODE fails to disclose initiating a restarted EV charging session.
HOFER discloses initiating a restarted EV charging session (¶ 0016: According to the method, following the failure of the power supply, and subsequent restoration of the power supply, a charging current is used to charge the electrical energy storage device, which is automatically reduced--for example by 10% or more--compared to the charging current prior to the failure of the power supply; ¶ 0017: If the charging procedure is re-started following the restoration of the power supply, the vehicle charges with a reduced charging current; ¶ 0018: Using the method according to the invention, it is possible for a charging process to be continued following the triggering and subsequent reset of the overcurrent protection device in the domestic installation, without the overcurrent protection device being triggered repeatedly. The charging process in this case can be automatically continued at the vehicle end following restoration of the power supply, without the user needing to act; ¶ 0022: the mechanism for reducing the charging current is implemented in the vehicle--that is, the reduction of the charging current is performed on the vehicle end; ¶ 0025: vehicle can recognize the failure of the power supply, by way of example, for the purpose of triggering the reduction of the charging current limit, and can reduce the charging current limit once it has recognized the failure. The failure of the power socket can be determined, by way of example, by the presence of two conditions. First, there is a corresponding signal in a proximity circuit which includes the proximity contact, which indicates an existing connection of the vehicle coupling of the charging cable fitting to the vehicle (by way of example, a certain current is flowing over the proximity resistor on the proximity contact). Second, the vehicle no longer detects a pilot signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include initiating a restarted EV charging session in order to provide increased user convenience.
BODE fails to disclose transmitting a vehicle environmental parameter to the server, wherein the environmental parameter comprises at least one of a temperature, an age of a battery, a type of a battery pack or power electronics, or a time of day
KIM discloses transmitting a vehicle environmental parameter to the server, wherein the environmental parameter comprises at least one of a temperature, an age of a battery, a type of a battery pack or power electronics, or a time of day (¶ 0012: the error history information may include information on a cumulative number of communication compatibility conflicts or communication errors between the first charger and other vehicles that occurred within a certain period of time based on a current time; ¶ 0025: a system according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes: a vehicle collecting receiving a notification of a communication compatibility conflict from a connected charger or determining whether an error has occurred while communicating with the connected charger, and transmitting error information on the connected charger to a server based on the connected charger when receiving a notification of a communication compatibility conflict from the connected charger or a communication error occurs, and the server, wherein the server receives the error information on the connected charger from the vehicle, updates error history information for the connected charger stored in memory or database based on the error information received from the vehicle; ¶ 0049: the error history information may include information on the number of communication compatibility conflicts or communication errors with respect to a specific charger in the past month; ¶ 0061: the communication unit 151 receives the notification of the communication compatibility conflict from the charger 130, or in the case of the error occurring in the communication with the charger, the error information on the charger 130 is transmitted to the server 110 based on the information on the charger 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include transmitting a vehicle environmental parameter to the server in order to update charging communication compatibility status information between a vehicle and a charging station in real-time by using vehicle data, and to provide the information to a driver (KIM, ¶ 0007).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BODE in view of HOFER as applied to claims 10-12, 15, and 17-19 above, and further in view of DEDONA (US Pub. No. 2015/0097526).
Regarding claim 16, BODE as modified by HOFER teaches the method as applied to claim 10, but BODE fails to disclose monitoring a variability of the vehicle charging communication session parameter.
DEDONA discloses monitoring a variability of the vehicle charging communication session parameter (¶ 0027, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include monitoring a variability of the vehicle charging communication session parameter in order to ensure a safe charging operation with the charging station.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 4/29/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859