Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Election /Restrictions The previous restriction has been withdrawn. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1-7 and 13 is (are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kodama et al. ( JP 2003231753 , machine translation provided ) in view of Connell et al. ( US 6350817, listed on IDS ). As to claims 1-7 and 13, Kodama (abs., examples, claims , Table 1-2 ) discloses a polyimide ( polyamic acid as the precursor) for producing films )1) , composite (91) , and adhesives (1) comprising a diamine (36 ,105 ) of that meets the diamine of claims 1 and a dianhydride of pyromeric acid dianhydride (PMDA, Ex.1, with 1, 3-bis(3-(3-aminophenoxy)phenoxy)benzene as diamine) or 3,3'',4,4''- t erphenyltetracarboxylic a cid a nhydride (73) that meets the first Ar species (the moiety of dianhydride) of claims 1, 5-6, and 13. The polyimide ends with monoamine and can be end capped with anhydrides to adjust molecular weight (75-81) . The polyimide melts to exhibit good adhesion (82). The polyamic acid is imidized up to 270 °C (113 -115 ). The polyamic acid shows a viscosity of 0.1-3 dl/g, indicating the result polyimide would show a repeating unit of ≥2, overlapping with the range s of claim 1 -3 . It has been found that where claimed ranges overlap ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists - see MPEP 2144.05. Kodama is silent on the claimed end capping anhydride moiety (Z) of claims 1 and 7. In the same area of endeavor of producing composites and adhesives comprising polyimides ( 2:15-16), Connell (abs., examples, claims) discloses adding 4-phenylethynylphthalic anhydride (PEPA, meets the anhydride moiety (Z) of claims 1 and 7 ) to polyimide molecule lowers the melt viscosity (3:10-20). Therefore, as to claims 1-7 and 13 , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the polyimide disclosed by Kodama and replaced the anhydride end capping agent with PEPA in view of Connell , because the resultant polyimide would yield the claimed polyimide structures and improved melt flow of the resultant polyimide, and one of ordinary skill in the art would obviously recognize better melt flow would improve wetting of the polyimide adhesives. Claim(s) 8-12 and 14 is (are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kodama et al. ( JP 2003231753 ) in view of Connell et al. (US 6350817, listed on IDS) and further in view of Hou et al. (Chemical Reagents, 2009, 31 (9), 673-676, listed on IDS). Disclosure of Kodama and Connell is adequately set forth in ¶1 and is incorporated herein by reference. Kodama and Connell are silent on the claimed dianhydride moiety (Ar) of claim s 8 and 11-13 . Kodama discloses the polyamic acid shows a viscosity of 0.1-3 dl/g, indicating the result polyimide would show a repeating unit of ≥2, overlapping with the range s of claim 9-10 . It has been found that where claimed ranges overlap ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists - see MPEP 2144.05. Kodama discloses t he polyamic acid is imidized up to 270 °C (113-115). Solving the same problem of imidizing polyamic acid to polyimide, Hou (abs.,pg.674) discloses using alkyne containing dianhydride of: that meets the claimed dianhydride moiety (Ar) of claim 8 would lower the imidization temperature and produces a crosslinkable polyimide. Therefore, as to claims 8-12 and 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the polyimide disclosed by Kodama and replaced the PMDA (Ex.1) with the aforementioned dianhydride in view of Hou , because the resultant crosslinkable polyimide would yield the claimed polyimide structures with reduced imidization temperature. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHANE FANG whose telephone number is (571)270- 7378 . The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Thurs. 8am-6pm . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Randy Gulakowski can be reached on 571.572.1302 . Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SHANE FANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766