DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending. Claims 1, 5-8, 13, 16-18, 22, and 27- 30 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 1/13/2026 regarding rejection of claims has been fully considered but they are moot given the new grounds of rejection. Furthermore, based on the amendments, a 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection has been added, as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 22, 29, and 30, they recite “transmit, to at least one of a network node or a non-terrestrial network node, information associated with one or more uplink transmissions previously performed by the UE within an L-band, or to be performed by the UE within the L-band; and receive, after the information is transmitted, an adjusted frequency domain resource allocation that indicates an adjusted frequency range to be used by the UE for one or more other uplink transmissions”. Therefore, it is not clear to the Examiner how the information is obtained and transmitted without the uplink transmission having been performed and if the “to be performed” transmission is transmitted on the adjusted frequency range or if it relates to the one or more other uplink transmissions. The paragraphs Applicant states provide support does not mention “to be performed “ uplink transmissions so it is unknown when this transmission would be performed and at what frequency range. Figs. 6 and 8-11 all show that the information is “associated with one or more uplink transmissions performed”, which means the uplink transmission has already happened and then the information is transmitted. Furthermore, claims 4 and 26 state that the information includes an indication of the impact caused by the uplink transmission but the transmission hasn’t occurred so how can it cause impact and information associated with this impact having been transmitted before the uplink transmission. Given that the examiner can find nothing that would provide a clue as to when the “to be performed” transmission would occur, at what frequency range, and how it would be associated with the information that was already transmitted before the uplink transmission was performed, examiner is unsure how the “to be performed” uplink transmission relates to the rest of the claim limitations. Therefore, the claims will be interpreted with the “or to be performed” eliminated since examiner is unsure of how the information can be transmitted and associated with something that hasn’t happened.
Dependent claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behravan et al (US2016/0302209 A1) IDS submitted by Applicant in view of Ioffe et al (US 2022/0345205 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Behravan teaches an apparatus/method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Abstract), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to (Para. 0225):
transmit, to at least one of a network node or a non-terrestrial network node, information associated with one or more uplink transmissions previously performed by the UE (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; determining (102) that intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of at least two uplink, UL, component carriers, CCs, using a first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to an external wireless system, EWS; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS; i.e. the UE would determine the interference caused to the EWS and send this to the BS/network node so the BS can provide the change of frequency); and
receive, after the information is transmitted, an adjusted frequency domain resource allocation that indicates an adjusted frequency range to be used by the UE for one or more other uplink transmissions (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS).
However, while Behravan teaches IMD generated by the UE may impair the GNSS signal quality (Para. 0026), which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that GNSS uses the L-band, he does not specifically disclose one or more uplink transmissions within an L-band.
Ioffe teaches configuring a transmitter or receiver to conform to regulations or standards of a geographical region to communicate with non-terrestrial networks (e.g., satellite networks) (Abstract). He further teaches one or more uplink transmissions within an L-band (Paras. 0002-0006, 0039-0044, and 0058 ; the user equipment may establish communication with and transfer data using the non-terrestrial networks using the ‘L’ frequency band; receive, from the user equipment, a request for an available uplink frequency channel; the user equipment may configure a transmitter of the user equipment with one or more emission masks according to the regional regulation or standard. The user equipment may then transmit data to a non-terrestrial communication node using the transmitter configured with the one or more emission masks according to the regional regulation or standard; the user equipment 96 may send a request (e.g., via the processor 12) to the terrestrial communication node 97 seeking an available uplink frequency channel and/or an available downlink frequency channel to establish communications with the non-terrestrial communication node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Ioffe with the teachings as in Behravan. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase communication efficiency, and even enable operation of the user equipment) in the different geographical regions as the user equipment may be dynamically set to a more efficient or permissible configuration with respect to non-terrestrial transmission and reception (Ioffe at para. 0037).
Regarding claims 2 and 25, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Panther further teaches wherein the L-band is associated with a frequency range that ranges from 1626.5 megahertz to 1660.5 megahertz (Para. 0272; GNSS receivers must accommodate a crowded RF spectrum, and there are a number of high-level, potentially interfering signals that can saturate and desensitize GNSS receivers. These include, for example, the Industrial Scientific and Medical (ISM) band signals and mobile phone signals, particularly Long-Term Evolution (LTE) signals in the 700-MHz band, which are a hazard because of the potential for harmonic generation in the GNSS LNA. Other potential interfering signals include Globalstar (1610 MHz to 1618.25 MHz), Iridium (1616 MHz to 1626 MHz) and Inmarsat (1626 MHz to 1660.5 MHz)). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Panther with the teachings as in Behravan. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved gain for link margin in L-band signals (Panther at para. 0155).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the information, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the information based at least in part on an identified impact of the one or more uplink transmissions within the L-band on global navigation satellite system (GNSS) reception (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; determining (102) that intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of at least two uplink, UL, component carriers, CCs, using a first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to an external wireless system, EWS).
Regarding claims 4 and 26, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the information includes an indication of an impact on global navigation satellite system (GNSS) reception caused by the one or more uplink transmissions within the L-band (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; determining (102) that intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of at least two uplink, UL, component carriers, CCs, using a first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to an external wireless system, EWS; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS).
Regarding claims 5 and 27, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the adjusted frequency domain resource allocation indicates a reduced frequency range within the L-band to be used by the UE for the one or more other uplink transmissions, wherein the reduced frequency range within the L-band includes a subset of frequency resources that are included within the L-band (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; method may further include allocating reduced UL transmission resources to the UE in response to determining (304) that intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration may cause interference to the EWS).
Regarding claims 6 and 28, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Ioffe further teaches wherein the adjusted frequency domain resource allocation indicates one or more uplink frequency resources located on a high frequency edge of the L-band to be used by the UE for performing the one or more other uplink transmissions, wherein the high frequency edge of the L-band includes a subset of frequency resources that are included within the L-band that corresponds to highest frequency values within the L-band (Para. 0058; These channels may be within the L frequency band (e.g., a 1.6 gigahertz (GHz) frequency band) and/or the S frequency band (e.g., a 2 GHz frequency band) that may be used for communication with satellites such as the non-terrestrial communication node 98. For example, the 1610-1626.5 megahertz (MHz), the 1626.5-1660.5 MHz, and 1668-1675 MHz sub-bands of the L band; i.e. Ioffe shows that the frequency band can be at the upper edge of what Applicant states at para. 0022 of the published Application. Behravan at para. 0203 also teaches “the UE may be capable of receiving GPS in one or more of GPS bands L1 (1575.42 MHz), L2 (1227.60 MHz), L3 (1381.05 MHz), L4 (1379.913 MHz) and L5 (1176.45 MHz)” which shows there are multiple frequencies which are a part of the L-band which are outside of what Applicant states they may be. Another application by Applicant, US2024/0313818, also states “L-band is defined by IEEE as the frequency range from 1 to 2 GHz” so this application does not utilize or provide support for the IEEE defined frequency range).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the adjusted frequency domain resource allocation indicates another frequency band to be used by the UE for the one or more other uplink transmissions, wherein the other frequency band has a frequency range that is at least partially outside of the L-band (Paras. 0008-0016, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; the F1 and F2 cells may also operate on different bands, e.g., F1={800 MHz, 2 GHz} and F2={3.5 GHz}, etc.; i.e. the UE can use different frequency bands, some of which may be outside the L-band).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the adjusted frequency domain resource allocation indicates a frequency gap between a frequency to be used for the one or more other uplink transmissions and a frequency to be used to receive one or more global navigation satellite system receptions (Paras. 0008-0016, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; the F1 and F2 cells may also operate on different bands, e.g., F1={800 MHz, 2 GHz} and F2={3.5 GHz}, etc.; i.e. the UE can use different frequency bands, some of which may be outside the L-band and thus would have a gap).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: determine that the one or more other uplink transmissions do not interfere with global navigation satellite system reception by the UE; and transmit other information indicating that the one or more other uplink transmissions do not interfere with the global navigation satellite system reception by the UE (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; determining (102) that intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of at least two uplink, UL, component carriers, CCs, using a first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to an external wireless system, EWS; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS; i.e. the UE would determine if there is interference caused to the EWS and change of frequency if it does).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to determine whether interference occurs between global navigation satellite system (GNSS) reception and the one or more uplink transmissions (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; determining (102) that intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of at least two uplink, UL, component carriers, CCs, using a first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to an external wireless system, EWS; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS; An example of an EWS that may be affected by IMD generated due to Carrier Aggregation is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), such as the Global Positioning System (GPS)).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to determine a type of global navigation satellite system (GNSS) associated with interference between GNSS reception and the one or more uplink transmissions (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; determining (102) that intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of at least two uplink, UL, component carriers, CCs, using a first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to an external wireless system, EWS; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS; An example of an EWS that may be affected by IMD generated due to Carrier Aggregation is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), such as the Global Positioning System (GPS)).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: determine an amount of interference between global navigation satellite system (GNSS) reception and the one or more uplink transmissions; and calculate the amount of interference between the GNSS reception and the one or more uplink transmissions based at least in part on one or more of a configured uplink frequency resource, an uplink transmit power, or one or more UE characteristics (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, 0114, and 0124; determining (102) that intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of at least two uplink, UL, component carriers, CCs, using a first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to an external wireless system, EWS; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS; An example of an EWS that may be affected by IMD generated due to Carrier Aggregation is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), such as the Global Positioning System (GPS)).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit other information to assist a network node determination of a resource allocation strategy for the adjusted frequency domain resource allocation (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, 0114, and 0124; the network node may estimate, determine, calculate or otherwise obtain information about intermodulation products (IMD) generated or expected to be generated by the UE due to the transmission on at least the 2 UL CCs).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the other information indicates a request for a maximum number of frequency resources that are available within the L-band for the one or more other uplink transmissions (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, 0114, and 0150-0157; The UE needs to limit the maximum value of PHR to ensure network node does not assign larger RBs (e.g. maximum of up to 10 RBs) in one transmission time interval (TTI) and/or does not allocate more than certain amount of UL Tx power (e.g. not more than 0 dBm) that the UE has to transmit).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the other information indicates a portion of frequency resources within the L-band that are not to be allocated for the one or more other uplink transmissions (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, 0114, and 0124; the network node may estimate, determine, calculate or otherwise obtain information about intermodulation products (IMD) generated or expected to be generated by the UE due to the transmission on at least the 2 UL CCs).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive an indication to transmit the information, and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the information, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the information based at least in part on receipt of the indication to transmit the information (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to determine to use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) for UE positioning, and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the information, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the information based at least in part on a determination to use the GNSS for UE positioning (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; determining (102) that intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of at least two uplink, UL, component carriers, CCs, using a first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to an external wireless system, EWS; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS; An example of an EWS that may be affected by IMD generated due to Carrier Aggregation is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), such as the Global Positioning System (GPS)).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the adjusted frequency domain resource allocation, are configured to cause the UE to receive an indication of a resource to be used by the UE for the one or more other uplink transmissions within the adjusted frequency range (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: determine that the UE is not to use the adjusted frequency domain resource allocation for additional uplink transmissions; and transmit other information indicating that the UE is not to use the adjusted frequency domain resource allocation for the additional uplink transmissions (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; determining (102) that intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of at least two uplink, UL, component carriers, CCs, using a first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to an external wireless system, EWS; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS; i.e. the UE would determine if there is interference caused to the EWS and change of frequency if it does but not change the frequency if there is no interference).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to use a default frequency domain resource allocation within the L-band for the additional uplink transmissions (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0097, and 0114; may reduce the impact of intermodulation distortion on an EWS by causing the UE to apply a reduced UL transmission configuration within a current UL scheduling grant in a predefined manner to reduce the interference to the EWS receiver).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the information is for use by a network node to determine the adjusted frequency domain resource allocation (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, 0114, and 0124; the network node may estimate, determine, calculate or otherwise obtain information about intermodulation products (IMD) generated or expected to be generated by the UE due to the transmission on at least the 2 UL CCs).
Regarding claims 22 and 30, Behravan teaches an apparatus/method for wireless communication at a network node (Abstract), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to (Para. 0228):
receive, from a user equipment (UE), information associated with one or more uplink transmissions previously performed by the UE (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; determining (102) that intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of at least two uplink, UL, component carriers, CCs, using a first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to an external wireless system, EWS; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS; i.e. the UE would determine the interference caused to the EWS and send this to the BS so the BS can provide the change of frequency); and
transmit, after the information is received, an adjusted frequency domain resource allocation that indicates an adjusted frequency range to be used by the UE for one or more other uplink transmissions (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, and 0114; changing a frequency of operation of the EWS in response to determining (102) that the intermodulation products generated by the UE due to the transmission of the at least two UL CCs using the first UL transmission configuration is causing interference to the EWS).
However, while Behravan teaches IMD generated by the UE may impair the GNSS signal quality (Para. 0026), which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that GNSS uses the L-band, he does not specifically disclose one or more uplink transmissions within an L-band.
Ioffe teaches configuring a transmitter or receiver to conform to regulations or standards of a geographical region to communicate with non-terrestrial networks (e.g., satellite networks) (Abstract). He further teaches one or more uplink transmissions within an L-band (Paras. 0002-0006, 0039-0044, and 0058 ; the user equipment may establish communication with and transfer data using the non-terrestrial networks using the ‘L’ frequency band; receive, from the user equipment, a request for an available uplink frequency channel; the user equipment may configure a transmitter of the user equipment with one or more emission masks according to the regional regulation or standard. The user equipment may then transmit data to a non-terrestrial communication node using the transmitter configured with the one or more emission masks according to the regional regulation or standard; the user equipment 96 may send a request (e.g., via the processor 12) to the terrestrial communication node 97 seeking an available uplink frequency channel and/or an available downlink frequency channel to establish communications with the non-terrestrial communication node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Ioffe with the teachings as in Behravan. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase communication efficiency, and even enable operation of the user equipment) in the different geographical regions as the user equipment may be dynamically set to a more efficient or permissible configuration with respect to non-terrestrial transmission and reception (Ioffe at para. 0037).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Behravan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to determine the adjusted frequency domain resource allocation based at least in part on the information associated with the one or more uplink transmissions by the UE within the L-band (Paras. 0008-0012, 0026-0049, 0087-0091, 0114, and 0124; the network node may estimate, determine, calculate or otherwise obtain information about intermodulation products (IMD) generated or expected to be generated by the UE due to the transmission on at least the 2 UL CCs).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of references Behravan and Ioffe teach the limitations of the previous claims. Ioffe further teaches wherein the network node is a non-terrestrial network node (Para. 0002; the user equipment may establish communication with and transfer data using the non-terrestrial networks using the ‘L’ frequency band).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474