Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 01/13/2025 and 04/13/2023. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
When available, the examiner considered the US equivalents of the foreign publications cited on the IDS.
IDS citation
US equivalent
Pub. Date
Inventor
EP 3952092 A1
US 2022/0045619 A1
02/10/2022
Jia et al.
WO 2021050912 A1
US 2023/0116349 A1
04/13/2023
Shirazi
EP 3609065 A1
US 2020/0052498 A1
02/13/2020
Liu et al.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“LLC converter” (claim 9) – The capacitors and inductors required to form an LLC converter per specification ¶ [38] are not drawn. Thus, the LLC converter is not drawn.
The circuit drawings should be annotated to label the following. Otherwise, it is not apparent where each of these voltages and currents are present in the circuit.
“first nominal charging voltage”
“second nominal charging voltage”
“first output voltage”
“second output voltage”
“first charging current”
“second charging current”
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 needs to define the abbreviation “LLC”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 11-13 recite “the first secondary winding configured to receive power from the primary winding and generate a second nominal charging voltage for supply to the second battery pack”. This language is indefinite because the circuit realization is unclear and not aligned with the disclosure. Thus, for examination purposes, it is interpreted that the language is intended to be recited as “the [[first]] second secondary winding configured to receive power from the primary winding and generate a second nominal charging voltage for supply to the second battery pack”.
Claim 17, lines 2-3 are indefinite as to whether “having a first battery interface” is intended to modify the “battery pack interface” or the “first battery pack”. In accordance with the disclosure, it is interpreted that “having a first battery interface” is intended to modify the “battery pack interface”.
Claim 17, lines 2-3 are indefinite as to whether “having a second battery interface” is intended to modify the “battery pack interface” or the “second battery pack”. In accordance with the disclosure, it is interpreted that “having a second battery interface” is intended to modify the “battery pack interface”.
Claims 2-9 and 18-20 are further rejected for their dependency on other rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2022/0045619 A1) in view of Shirazi et al. (US 2023/0116349 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jia discloses a charger (“charging and discharging device 100”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9) comprising the following features.
Jia further discloses a first battery pack interface (“second port 22”; ¶ [33]: “22 … may be electrically connected to a high-voltage battery”) configured to connect to a first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses a second battery pack interface (“third port 23”; ¶ [33]: “23 … may be electrically connected to a low-voltage battery”) configured to connect to a second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses a primary driver circuit (combo of “first conversion circuit 31”, “first controllable switch 40”, “first resonance circuit 51”, and “primary winding 11”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9) for receiving power from an external power supply (“first charging and discharging unit” connected to “first port 21” per ¶ [32]).
Jia further discloses the primary driver circuit (11, 31, 40, 51) including a primary winding (“primary winding 11” of “transformer 10”).
Jia further discloses a first secondary winding (“secondary winding 12” of “transformer 10”) connected to the first battery pack interface (“second port 22”; ¶ [33]: “22 … may be electrically connected to a high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses the first secondary winding (12) configured to receive power from the primary winding (11) and generate a first nominal charging voltage (“VHV”) for supply to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”) when the first battery pack is connected to the first battery pack interface (22).
Jia further discloses a second secondary winding (“secondary winding 13” of “transformer 10”) connected to the second battery pack interface (“third port 23”; ¶ [33]: “23 … may be electrically connected to a low-voltage battery”).
Jia further teaches the second secondary winding (13) configured to receive power from the primary winding (11) and generate a second nominal charging voltage (“VLV”) for supply to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”) when the second battery pack is connected to the second battery pack interface (23).
Though Jia discloses each of the battery pack interfaces are configured to connect to the battery packs, Jia does not disclose each of the battery pack interfaces are configured to receive the battery packs.
Jia further does not disclose “the second battery pack interface being different than the first battery pack interface”, though it is implied because the two interfaces are intended for batteries of different voltages.
Shirazi teaches (see annotated Fig. 1A, included infra) a charger (“power converter device 100”, embodied as “charger 100A”; Figs. 1A, 2) comprising the following features.
Shirazi further teaches a first battery pack interface (“first recess 110”; Fig. 1A) configured to receive a first battery pack (“first-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “110 on the housing 105 to receive a first-type of battery pack”).
Shirazi further teaches a second battery pack interface (“second recess 115”; Fig. 1A) configured to receive a second battery pack (“second-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “115 on the housing to receive a second-type of battery pack”).
Shirazi further teaches the second battery pack interface (115) being different (Fig. 1A shows visually different structures) than the first battery pack interface (110).
Shirazi further teaches the mechanical structure of the battery pack interfaces to enable them to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages (¶ [24]). Shirazi’s structure is particularly suitable as a mechanical embodiment for Jia’s charger, which is intended for batteries of different voltages (Jia ¶ [29, 33]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first and second battery pack interfaces disclosed by Jia to be embodied by the mechanical structures taught by Shirazi, to enable the charger to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 1.
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further comprising a controller (“controller 60”; Fig. 4A) and a sensor (Fig. 4A shows current sensors to detect “IS1”, “I_HV”, and “I_LV”; Fig. 4A also shows voltage sensors to detect “V_HV” and “V_LV”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 2.
Jia further discloses the controller (60) is configured to receive a signal (any of “IS1”, “I_HV”, “I_LV”, “V_HV”, or “V_LV”) from the sensor indicative of a characteristic (current or voltage) of at least one selected from a group consisting of the first secondary winding (“IS1”, “I_HV”, and “V_HV” are indicative of the first secondary winding “12”) and the second secondary winding (“I_LV” and “V_LV” are indicative of the second secondary winding “13”).
Jia further discloses the controller (60) is configured to control the primary driver circuit (via “S Control Signal”; Fig. 4A) based on the signal (each of “IS1”, “I_HV”, “I_LV”, “V_HV”, and “V_LV” is considered in the control scheme of “60”).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 1.
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further comprising a first charger control circuit (“second conversion circuit 32” with supporting control features from “driving” and “60”; see annotated Fig. 4A, included infra) configured to determine a first output voltage (“VCD”; Figs. 4A, 4B; determined via sensing and controlling “VHV” via control of switches “S5-S8”; Fig. 4B shows “VCD” is either “+VHV” or “-VHV”, depending on the states of “S5-S8”) of the first secondary winding (12).
Jia further discloses the first charger control circuit (“32”, “driving”, “60”) is further configured to regulate, in response to the first output voltage (VCD), the first nominal charging voltage (VHV).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 4.
NOTE: See the annotated Jia Fig. 4A, included supra in claim 4’s rejection.
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further comprising a second charger control circuit (“third conversion circuit 33” with supporting control features from “driving” and “60”; Fig. 4A) configured to determine a second output voltage (“VEF”; Figs. 4A, 4B; determined via sensing and controlling “VLV” via control of switches “S9-S12”; Fig. 4B shows “VEF” is either “+VLV” or “-VLV”, depending on the states of “S9-S12”) of the second secondary winding (13).
Jia further discloses the second charger control circuit (“33”, “driving”, “60”) is further configured to regulate, in response to the second output voltage (VEF), the second nominal charging voltage (VLV).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 1.
NOTE: See the annotated Jia Fig. 4A, included supra in claim 4’s rejection.
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further comprising a current sensor (Fig. 4A shows a first current sensor “current detection” connected to “12” through “32”) connected to the first secondary winding (12).
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further comprising a current sensor (Fig. 4A shows a second current sensor “current detection” connected to “13” through “33”) connected to the second secondary winding (13).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 1.
Jia further discloses the primary driver circuit (11, 31, 40, 51), the first secondary winding (12), and the second secondary winding (13) form an LLC converter (the combinations of windings “11-13” and “51-53” each form sets of two inductors and one capacitor; Fig. 2).
NOTE: The instant application’s disclosure (¶ [38]) defines an LLC converter as “the converter includes two inductors and one capacitor”.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2022/0045619 A1) in view of Shirazi et al. (US 2023/0116349 A1) and the Maxim Integrated data sheet (MAX9621, 02/2020, Maxim Integrated, 19-5024, Rev. 2) (hereinafter “Maxim”).
NOTE: The Maxim reference is currently available at the following link:
https://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-documentation/data-sheets/max9621.pdf
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 6.
NOTE: See the annotated Jia Fig. 4A, included supra in claim 4’s rejection.
Jia further discloses the first current sensor (see annotated Fig. 4A) is configured to sense a first charging current (“I_HV”; Fig. 4A) supplied to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses the second current sensor (see annotated Fig. 4A) is configured to sense a second charging current (“I_LV”; Fig. 4A) supplied to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”).
Jia does not disclose the two charging currents are sensed by a single current sensor. Instead, Jia discloses a first current sensor and a second current sensor.
Maxim teaches a first current sensor and a second current sensor can be combined into a single current sensor (page 1, General Description: “MAX9621 provides a single-chip solution to interface two 2-wire Hall-effect sensors to low-voltage microprocessors”).
Maxim further teaches the dual current sensor is advantageous for its small size (3mm x 5mm) in a single device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the two current sensors disclosed by the combination of Jia and Shirazi to be integrated into a single current sensor, as taught by Maxim, to optimize the charger design for a small size, which is more convenient for the user to handle.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Jia, Shirazi, and Maxim teaches the charger of claim 7.
Jia further discloses the first secondary winding (12) generates (via control of switches “S1-S4”, “S”, and “S5-S8” by controller “60”; Fig. 4B) the first nominal charging voltage (VHV) based on the first charging current (I_HV).
Jia further discloses the second secondary winding (13) generates (via control of switches “S1-S4”, “S”, and “S9-S12” by controller “60”; Fig. 4B) the second nominal charging voltage (“VLV”) based on the second charging current (“I_LV”).
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2022/0045619 A1) in view of Shirazi et al. (US 2023/0116349 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Jia discloses (see annotated Fig. 2, included supra in claim 1’s rejection) a method (operational method for “100”) of operating a charger (“charging and discharging device 100”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9), comprising the following.
Jia further discloses connecting, via a first battery pack interface (“second port 22”; ¶ [33]: “22 … may be electrically connected to a high-voltage battery”), a first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses connecting, via a second battery pack interface (“third port 23”; ¶ [33]: “23 … may be electrically connected to a low-voltage battery”), a second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses receiving, via a primary driver circuit (combo of “first conversion circuit 31”, “first controllable switch 40”, “first resonance circuit 51”, and “primary winding 11”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9), power from an external power supply (“first charging and discharging unit” connected to “first port 21” per ¶ [32]).
Jia further discloses the primary driver circuit (11, 31, 40, 51) including a primary winding (“primary winding 11” of “transformer 10”).
Jia further discloses connecting, via the first battery pack interface (“second port 22”; ¶ [33]: “22 … may be electrically connected to a high-voltage battery”), a first secondary winding (“secondary winding 12” of “transformer 10”) to the first battery pack interface (22).
Jia further discloses receiving, via the first secondary winding (12), power from the primary winding (11).
Jia further discloses generating, via the first secondary winding (12), a first nominal charging voltage (“VHV”) for supply to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”) when the first battery pack is connected to the first battery pack interface (22).
Jia further discloses connecting, via the second battery pack interface (23), a second secondary winding (13) to the second battery pack interface (23).
Jia further discloses receiving, via the second secondary winding (13), power from the primary winding (11).
Jia further discloses generating, via the second secondary winding (13), a second nominal charging voltage (“VLV”) for supply to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”) when the second battery pack is connected to the second battery pack interface (23).
Though Jia discloses connecting to each battery pack via the battery pack interfaces, Jia does not disclose receiving each battery pack via the battery pack interfaces.
Jia further does not disclose “the second battery pack interface being different than the first battery pack interface”, though it is implied because the two interfaces are intended for batteries of different voltages.
Shirazi teaches receiving, via a first battery pack interface (“first recess 110”; Fig. 1A), a first battery pack (“first-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “110 on the housing 105 to receive a first-type of battery pack”).
Shirazi further teaches receiving, via a second battery pack interface (“second recess 115”; Fig. 1A), a second battery pack (“second-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “115 on the housing to receive a second-type of battery pack”).
Shirazi further teaches the second battery pack interface (115) being different (Fig. 1A shows visually different structures) than the first battery pack interface (110).
Shirazi further teaches the mechanical structures of the battery pack interfaces to enable them to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages (¶ [24]). Shirazi’s structure is particularly suitable as a mechanical embodiment for Jia’s charger, which is intended for batteries of different voltages (Jia ¶ [29, 33]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method and associated battery pack interfaces disclosed by Jia to receive the battery packs using the mechanical structures taught by Shirazi, to enable the charger to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the method of claim 10.
Jia further discloses receiving, via a controller, a signal (any of “IS1”, “I_HV”, “I_LV”, “V_HV”, or “V_LV”) from a sensor (Fig. 4A shows current sensors to detect “IS1”, “I_HV”, and “I_LV”; Fig. 4A also shows voltage sensors to detect “V_HV” and “V_LV”) indicative of a characteristic (current or voltage) of at least one selected from a group consisting of the first secondary winding (“IS1”, “I_HV”, and “V_HV” are indicative of the first secondary winding “12”) and the second secondary winding (“I_LV” and “V_LV” are indicative of the second secondary winding “13”).
Jia further discloses controlling, via the controller (60), the primary driver circuit (via “S Control Signal”; Fig. 4A) based on the signal (each of “IS1”, “I_HV”, “I_LV”, “V_HV”, and “V_LV” is considered in the control scheme of “60”).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the method of claim 10.
NOTE: See the annotated Jia Fig. 4A, included supra in claim 4’s rejection.
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further comprising a first charger control circuit (“second conversion circuit 32” with supporting control features from “driving” and “60”; Fig. 4A), the method further comprising the following.
Jia further discloses determining, via the first charger control circuit (“32”, “driving”, “60”), a first output voltage (“VCD”; Figs. 4A, 4B; determined via sensing and controlling “VHV” via control of switches “S5-S8”; Fig. 4B shows “VCD” is either “+VHV” or “-VHV”, depending on the states of “S5-S8”) of the first secondary winding (12).
Jia further discloses regulating, via the first charger control circuit (“32”, “driving”, “60”) and in response to the first output voltage (VCD), the first nominal charging voltage (VHV).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the method of claim 12.
NOTE: See the annotated Jia Fig. 4A, included supra in claim 4’s rejection.
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further includes a second charger control circuit (“third conversion circuit 33” with supporting control features from “driving” and “60”; Fig. 4A), the method further comprising the following.
Jia further discloses determining, via the second charger control circuit (“33”, “driving”, “60”), a second output voltage (“VEF”; Figs. 4A, 4B; determined via sensing and controlling “VLV” via control of switches “S9-S12”; Fig. 4B shows “VEF” is either “+VLV” or “-VLV”, depending on the states of “S9-S12”) of the second secondary winding (13).
Jia further discloses regulating, via the second charger control circuit (“33”, “driving”, “60”) and in response to the second output voltage (VEF), the second nominal charging voltage (VLV).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the method of claim 10.
NOTE: See the annotated Jia Fig. 4A, included supra in claim 4’s rejection.
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further includes a current sensor (Fig. 4A shows a first current sensor “current detection” connected to “12” through “32”) connected to the first secondary winding (12).
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further includes a current sensor (Fig. 4A shows a second current sensor “current detection” connected to “13” through “33”) connected to the second secondary winding (13).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2022/0045619 A1) in view of Shirazi et al. (US 2023/0116349 A1) and the Maxim Integrated data sheet (MAX9621, 02/2020, Maxim Integrated, 19-5024, Rev. 2) (hereinafter “Maxim”).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the method of claim 14.
NOTE: See the annotated Jia Fig. 4A, included supra in claim 4’s rejection.
Jia further discloses sensing, via the first current sensor (see annotated Fig. 4A), a first charging current (“I_HV”; Fig. 4A) supplied to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses sensing, via the second current sensor (see annotated Fig. 4A), a second charging current (“I_LV”; Fig. 4A) supplied to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”).
Jia does not disclose the two charging currents are sensed by a single current sensor. Instead, Jia discloses a first current sensor and a second current sensor.
Maxim teaches a first current sensor and a second current sensor can be combined into a single current sensor (page 1, General Description: “MAX9621 provides a single-chip solution to interface two 2-wire Hall-effect sensors to low-voltage microprocessors”).
Maxim further teaches the dual current sensor is advantageous for its small size (3mm x 5mm) in a single device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the two current sensors disclosed by the combination of Jia and Shirazi to be integrated into a single current sensor, as taught by Maxim, to optimize the charger design for a small size, which is more convenient for the user to handle.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Jia, Shirazi, and Maxim teaches the method of claim 15.
Jia further discloses (see detailed claim item mapping in the rejection of similar claim 8, included supra) the first secondary winding generates the first nominal charging voltage based on the first charging current, and wherein the second secondary winding generates the second nominal charging voltage based on the second charging current.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2022/0045619 A1) in view of Shirazi et al. (US 2023/0116349 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Jia discloses (see annotated Fig. 2, included supra in claim 1’s rejection) a charger (“charging and discharging device 100”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9) comprising the following features.
Jia further discloses a battery pack interface (combo of “22” and “23”) configured to connect to a first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”) having a first battery pack interface (“second port 22”; ¶ [33]: “22 … may be electrically connected to a high-voltage battery”) and connect to a second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”) having a second battery pack interface (“third port 23”; ¶ [33]: “23 … may be electrically connected to a low-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses a primary driver circuit (combo of “first conversion circuit 31”, “first controllable switch 40”, “first resonance circuit 51”, and “primary winding 11”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9) for receiving power from an external power supply (“first charging and discharging unit” connected to “first port 21” per ¶ [32]).
Jia further discloses the primary driver circuit (11, 31, 40, 51) including a primary winding (“primary winding 11” of “transformer 10”).
Jia further discloses that in response to the battery pack interface (22, 23) connecting to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”), a first secondary winding (“secondary winding 12” of “transformer 10”) is connected to the first battery pack interface (22) for receiving power from the primary winding (11) and generating a first nominal charging voltage (“VHV”) for supply to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses that in response to the battery pack interface (22, 23) connecting to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”), a second secondary winding (“secondary winding 13” of “transformer 10”) is connected to the second battery pack interface (23) for receiving power from the primary winding (11) and generating a second nominal charging voltage (“VLV”) for supply to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”).
Though Jia discloses the battery pack interface is configured to connect to the battery packs, Jia does not disclose the battery pack interface is configured to receive the battery packs.
Jia further does not disclose “the second battery pack interface being different than the first battery pack interface”, though it is implied because the two interfaces are intended for batteries of different voltages.
Shirazi teaches (see annotated Fig. 1A, included supra in claim 1’s rejection) a battery pack interface (combo of “110” and “115”; Fig. 1A) configured to receive a first battery pack (“first-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “110 on the housing 105 to receive a first-type of battery pack”) having a first battery pack interface (“first recess 110”; Fig. 1A) and receive a second battery pack (“second-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “115 on the housing to receive a second-type of battery pack”) having a second battery pack interface (“second recess 115”; Fig. 1A).
Shirazi further teaches the second battery pack interface (115) being different (Fig. 1A shows visually different structures) than the first battery pack interface (110).
Shirazi further teaches the mechanical structure of the battery pack interface to enable it to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages (¶ [24]). Shirazi’s structure is particularly suitable as a mechanical embodiment for Jia’s charger, which is intended for batteries of different voltages (Jia ¶ [29, 33]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery pack interface disclosed by Jia be embodied by the mechanical structure taught by Shirazi, to enable the charger to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 17.
Jia further discloses (see detailed claim item mapping in the rejection of similar claim 2, included supra) the charger further comprising a controller and a sensor.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 18.
Jia further discloses (see detailed claim item mapping in the rejection of similar claim 3, included supra) the controller is configured to: receive a signal from the sensor indicative of a characteristic of at least one selected from a group consisting of the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding, and control the primary driver circuit based on the signal.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 17.
Jia further discloses (see detailed claim item mapping in the rejection of similar claim 4, included supra) the charger further comprising a first charger control circuit configured to: determine a first output voltage of the first secondary winding; and regulate, in response to the first output voltage, the first nominal charging voltage.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859