Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 05/29/2026, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-13, 17-18, and 20 are amended. No claims are new. No claims are presently cancelled.
The amended independent claims 1, 10, and 17 changed scopes by incorporating previously-unclaimed subject matter. Thus, the amended claims require new grounds of rejection.
Response to Arguments
The prior objections to the Drawings are maintained.
The applicant argues (pp. 8, 3rd para.) that Figs. 3, 4, and 8 illustrate the features of the LLC converter. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The required inductors of an LLC converters are separate from the drawn transformer windings. The capacitors drawn are simply DC output capacitors; not the resonant capacitors of an LLC converter. An additional objection is included herein for lack of labels for the capacitors of Figs. 3-5 and 8.
The other prior drawing objections are for certain claimed voltages and currents that are not presently drawn and/or labelled in the drawings. The illustration of these claimed features is necessary for understanding the claimed invention from the drawings without unnecessary reading of the specification.
The prior objections to claim 9 is maintained. The abbreviation “LLC” is still not defined in the claim language. This may be resolved by revising “an LLC converter” to “an [[LLC]] inductor-inductor-capacitor (LLC) converter”.
The prior rejections of claims 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn due to the amendments. The prior rejections of claims 17-20 are withdrawn due to the clarifying comments (pp. 9, 3rd-4th para., pp. 10, 1st para.) included in the applicant’s response.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 1-20 have been considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant argues (pp. 11, 5th para. – pp. 12, 1st para.) the “the combination of Jia and Shirazi fails to teach increasing or decreasing an amount of power supplied to secondary windings via a primary driver circuit and regulating nominal charging voltages supplied to battery packs via charger control circuits coupled between the secondary windings and the battery packs with respect to the amount of power supplied to the secondary windings, as generally recited in independent claim 1”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The rejection of claim 1, included infra, incorporates the additional reference Dai et al. (US 2020/0412237 A1) to provide evidence that Jia’s primary driver circuit’s switching operations result in the increase or decrease of the amount of power supplied to the primary winding.
Further, the rejection of claim 1, included infra, includes additional annotations of Jia’s figures and mapping of Jia’s circuit features to clearly identify the newly-claimed “first charger control circuit” and the “second charger control circuit”. The applicant’s arguments do not appear to specifically argue the claim item mapping of the present rejection.
Thus, the applicant’s arguments with respect to amended, independent claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-9 are not persuasive. The similar, amended, independent claims 10 and 17 and their dependent claims 11-16 and 18-20 are also rejected for similar reasons.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“LLC converter including at least two inductors and at least one capacitor” (claim 9) – The capacitor and inductors required to form an LLC converter per specification ¶ [38] are not drawn. Thus, the LLC converter is not drawn.
The circuit drawings should be annotated to label the following. Otherwise, it is not apparent where each of these voltages and currents are present in the circuit.
“first nominal charging voltage”
“second nominal charging voltage”
“first output voltage”
“second output voltage”
“first charging current”
“second charging current”
The drawings are further objected to because the capacitors drawn in Figs. 3-5 and 8 are lacking labels.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 needs to define the abbreviation “LLC”. This may be resolved by revising “an LLC converter” to “an [[LLC]] inductor-inductor-capacitor (LLC) converter”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2022/0045619 A1) in view of Shirazi et al. (US 2023/0116349 A1) and as evidenced by Dai et al. (US 2020/0412237 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jia discloses a charger (“charging and discharging device 100”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9) comprising the following features.
Jia further discloses a first battery pack interface (“second port 22”; ¶ [33]: “22 … may be electrically connected to a high-voltage battery”) configured to connect to a first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses a second battery pack interface (“third port 23”; ¶ [33]: “23 … may be electrically connected to a low-voltage battery”) configured to connect to a second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses a primary driver circuit (combo of “first conversion circuit 31”, “first controllable switch 40”, “first resonance circuit 51”, and “primary winding 11”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9) for receiving power from an external power supply (“first charging and discharging unit” connected to “first port 21” per ¶ [32]).
Jia further discloses the primary driver circuit (11, 31, 40, 51) including a primary winding (“primary winding 11” of “transformer 10”).
Jia further discloses a first secondary winding (“secondary winding 12” of “transformer 10”) connected to the first battery pack interface (“second port 22”; ¶ [33]: “22 … may be electrically connected to a high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses the first secondary winding (12) configured to receive power from the primary winding (11) and generate a first nominal charging voltage (“VHV”) for supply to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”) when the first battery pack is connected to the first battery pack interface (22).
Jia further discloses a second secondary winding (“secondary winding 13” of “transformer 10”) connected to the second battery pack interface (“third port 23”; ¶ [33]: “23 … may be electrically connected to a low-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses the second secondary winding (13) configured to receive power from the primary winding (11) and generate a second nominal charging voltage (“VLV”) for supply to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”) when the second battery pack is connected to the second battery pack interface (23).
Jia further discloses (as evidenced by Dai, per note 1-1, included infra) a controller (“controller 60”; Fig. 4A) configured to control (via control signals to switches of “31” and “40” shown in Fig. 4A) the primary driver circuit (11, 31, 40, 51) to increase or decrease an amount of power (as shown in Fig. 4A, “60” controls the switching states of “40” and all four switches within “31; when “40” is closed, the power supplied from “31” to “11” is increased; when “40” is opened, the power supplied from “31” to “11” is decreased because current flow is blocked; ¶ [32] describes conversion scenarios wherein “40” is turned on/off to control direction of power flow; ¶ [12] indicates the “first controllable switch 40” is controlled to reduce resonant current and improve efficiency; further the switches “S1-S4” within “31”also control the flow of power to “11” by switching on and off to change/regulate the voltage “VAB”; Fig. 4A) supplied to the primary winding (11).
NOTE 1-1: Though Jia’s controller controls the primary driver circuit to increase or decrease the amount of power supplied to the primary winding, the effects of the switching operations in the primary driver circuit with respect to power flow in the primary winding are not spelled out in a detailed manner by Jia’s specification.
The evidentiary reference Dai provides a more detailed description of the effects of switching operations in an equivalent primary driver circuit on the power supplied to the primary winding.
Dai’s Fig. 4 illustrates the switches “S7-S10” within the “three-level LLC resonant circuit 104”. Dai’s switches “S7-S10” are equivalent to Jia’s switches “S1-S4” within the primary driver circuit. Each of Jia and Dai teach the switching of these switches in the primary driver circuit while converting from a supply voltage to two different DC voltage outputs via a multi-secondary winding transformer forming an LLC converter.
Dai’s ¶ [119] describes, in a detailed manner, the changes of current through the primary side winding that results from switching the states of “S7-S10”. Thus, the switching of Dai’s “S7-S10” can result in either the increasing or decreasing of current flowing through (i.e., power supplied to) the primary winding.
It is concluded that the effects of switching Dai’s “S7-S10” on the current through Dai’s primary winding are also applicable to the effects of switching Jia’s “S1-S4” on the current through Jia’s primary winding “11”. Thus, Dai provides evidence that Jia’s controller, without any modification necessary, is configured to control the primary driver circuit to increase or decrease an amount of power supplied to the primary winding.
Jia further discloses a first charger control circuit (“second conversion circuit 32” with supporting control features from “driving”, “voltage detection, and “controller 60”; Figs. 2-3, 4A, 5-9) coupled between the first secondary winding (12) and the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”, connected at interface “22”).
Jia further discloses the first charger control circuit (“32”, with “driving”, “voltage detection”, and “60” supporting features) configured to regulate the first nominal charging voltage (“VHV” at interface “22”; ¶ [41]: “first conversion circuit 31, the second conversion circuit 32, and the third conversion circuit 33 for controlling the voltages at the second port 22 and the third port 23 through phase-shift control and frequency regulation”) supplied to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”, connected at interface “22”).
Jia further discloses a second charger control circuit (“third conversion circuit 33” with supporting control features from “driving”, “voltage detection, and “controller 60”; Figs. 2-3, 4A, 5-9) coupled between the second secondary winding (13) and the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”; connected at interface “23”).
Jia further discloses the second charger control circuit (33) configured to regulate the second nominal charging voltage (“VLV” at interface “23”; ¶ [41]: “first conversion circuit 31, the second conversion circuit 32, and the third conversion circuit 33 for controlling the voltages at the second port 22 and the third port 23 through phase-shift control and frequency regulation”) supplied to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”; connected at interface “23”).
Though Jia discloses each of the battery pack interfaces are configured to connect to the battery packs, Jia does not disclose each of the battery pack interfaces are configured to receive the battery packs.
Jia further does not disclose “the second battery pack interface being different than the first battery pack interface”, though it is implied because the two interfaces are intended for batteries of different voltages.
Though Jia discloses a controller configured to control the primary driver circuit, Jia further does not disclose this control is “to increase or decrease an amount of power supplied to the primary winding”. However, Jia does strongly imply this operation (when “40” is closed, the power supplied from “31” to “11” is increased; when “40” is opened, the power supplied from “31” to “11” is decreased because current flow is blocked; ¶ [32] describes conversion scenarios wherein “40” is turned on/off to control direction of power flow; ¶ [12] indicates the “first controllable switch 40” is controlled to reduce resonant current and improve efficiency; further the switches “S1-S4” within “31”also control the flow of power to “11” by switching on and off to change/regulate the voltage “VAB”; Fig. 4A).
Shirazi teaches (see annotated Fig. 1A, included infra) a charger (“power converter device 100”, embodied as “charger 100A”; Figs. 1A, 2) comprising the following features.
Shirazi further teaches a first battery pack interface (“first recess 110”; Fig. 1A) configured to receive a first battery pack (“first-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “110 on the housing 105 to receive a first-type of battery pack”).
Shirazi further teaches a second battery pack interface (“second recess 115”; Fig. 1A) configured to receive a second battery pack (“second-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “115 on the housing to receive a second-type of battery pack”).
Shirazi further teaches the second battery pack interface (115) being different (Fig. 1A shows visually different structures) than the first battery pack interface (110).
Shirazi further teaches the mechanical structure of the battery pack interfaces to enable them to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages (¶ [24]). Shirazi’s structure is particularly suitable as a mechanical embodiment for Jia’s charger, which is intended for batteries of different voltages (Jia ¶ [29, 33]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first and second battery pack interfaces disclosed by Jia to be embodied by the mechanical structures taught by Shirazi, to enable the charger to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 1.
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further comprising a sensor (Fig. 4A shows current sensors to detect “IS1”, “I_HV”, and “I_LV”; Fig. 4A also shows voltage sensors to detect “V_HV” and “V_LV”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 2.
Jia further discloses the controller (60) is configured to receive a signal (any of “IS1”, “I_HV”, “I_LV”, “V_HV”, or “V_LV”) from the sensor indicative of a characteristic (current or voltage) of at least one selected from a group consisting of the first secondary winding (“IS1”, “I_HV”, and “V_HV” are indicative of the first secondary winding “12”) and the second secondary winding (“I_LV” and “V_LV” are indicative of the second secondary winding “13”).
Jia further discloses the controller (60) is configured to control the primary driver circuit (via “S Control Signal”; Fig. 4A) based on the signal (each of “IS1”, “I_HV”, “I_LV”, “V_HV”, and “V_LV” is considered in the control scheme of “60”).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 1.
Jia further discloses the charger (100) is further configured to determine, via the first charger control circuit (“32”, with “driving”, “voltage detection”, and “60” supporting features), a first output voltage (“VCD”; Figs. 4A, 4B; determined via “voltage detection” sensing “VHV” and “60” controlling switches “S5-S8” within “32”; Fig. 4B shows “VCD” is either “+VHV” or “-VHV”, depending on the states of “S5-S8”; thus, “60” knows “VCD” based on the states of “S5-S8” and via feedback of “V_HV”) of the first secondary winding (12).
Jia further discloses the charger (100) is further configured to regulate (¶ [41]: “first conversion circuit 31, the second conversion circuit 32, and the third conversion circuit 33 for controlling the voltages at the second port 22 and the third port 23 through phase-shift control and frequency regulation”), via the first charger control circuit (“32”, “driving”, “voltage detection”, “60”) and in response (when supplying from “VBUS” to “VHV”, the voltage at “VHV” is in response to the voltage at “VCD”) to the first output voltage (“VCD”), the first nominal charging voltage (“VHV” at interface “22”).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 4.
Jia further discloses (see annotated Fig. 4A, included supra) the charger (100) is further configured to determine, via the second charger control circuit (“32”, with “driving”, “voltage detection”, and “60” supporting features), a second output voltage (“VEF”; Figs. 4A, 4B; determined via “voltage detection” sensing “VLV” and “60” controlling switches “S9-S12” within “33”; Fig. 4B shows “VEF” is either “+VLV” or “-VLV”, depending on the states of “S9-S12”; thus, “60” knows “VEF” based on the states of “S9-S12” and via feedback of “V_LV”) of the second secondary winding (13).
Jia further discloses the charger (100) is further configured to regulate (¶ [41]: “first conversion circuit 31, the second conversion circuit 32, and the third conversion circuit 33 for controlling the voltages at the second port 22 and the third port 23 through phase-shift control and frequency regulation”), via the second charger control circuit (“33”, “driving”, “voltage detection”, “60”) and in response (when supplying from “VBUS” to “VLV”, the voltage at “VLV” is in response to the voltage at “VEF”) to the second output voltage (“VEF”), the second nominal charging voltage (“VLV” at interface “23”).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 1.
Jia further discloses (see annotated Fig. 4A, included supra) the charger (100) further comprising a current sensor (Fig. 4A shows a first current sensor “current detection” connected to “12” through “32”) connected to the first secondary winding (12).
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further comprising a current sensor (Fig. 4A shows a second current sensor “current detection” connected to “13” through “33”) connected to the second secondary winding (13).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 1.
Jia further discloses the primary driver circuit (11, 31, 40, 51), the first secondary winding (12), and the second secondary winding (13) form an LLC converter including at least two inductors and at least one capacitor (the combinations of windings “11-13” and “51-53” each form sets of two inductors and one capacitor; Fig. 2).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2022/0045619 A1) in view of Shirazi et al. (US 2023/0116349 A1) and the Maxim Integrated data sheet (MAX9621, 02/2020, Maxim Integrated, 19-5024, Rev. 2) (hereinafter “Maxim”).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 6.
Jia further discloses (see annotated Fig. 4A, included supra) the first current sensor (see annotated Fig. 4A) is configured to sense a first charging current (“I_HV”; Fig. 4A) supplied to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses the second current sensor (see annotated Fig. 4A) is configured to sense a second charging current (“I_LV”; Fig. 4A) supplied to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”).
Jia does not disclose the two charging currents are sensed by a single current sensor. Instead, Jia discloses a first current sensor and a second current sensor.
Maxim teaches a first current sensor and a second current sensor can be combined into a single current sensor (page 1, General Description: “MAX9621 provides a single-chip solution to interface two 2-wire Hall-effect sensors to low-voltage microprocessors”).
Maxim further teaches the dual current sensor is advantageous for its small size (3mm x 5mm) in a single device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the two current sensors disclosed by the combination of Jia and Shirazi to be integrated into a single current sensor, as taught by Maxim, to optimize the charger design for a small size, which is more convenient for the user to handle.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Jia, Shirazi, and Maxim teaches the charger of claim 7.
Jia further discloses the first secondary winding (12) generates (via control of switches “S1-S4”, “S”, and “S5-S8” by controller “60”; Fig. 4B) the first nominal charging voltage (VHV) based on the first charging current (I_HV).
Jia further discloses the second secondary winding (13) generates (via control of switches “S1-S4”, “S”, and “S9-S12” by controller “60”; Fig. 4B) the second nominal charging voltage (“VLV”) based on the second charging current (“I_LV”).
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2022/0045619 A1) in view of Shirazi et al. (US 2023/0116349 A1) and as evidenced by Dai et al. (US 2020/0412237 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Jia discloses (see annotated Fig. 2, included supra in claim 1’s rejection) a method (operational method for “100”) of operating a charger (“charging and discharging device 100”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9), comprising the following.
Jia further discloses connecting, via a first battery pack interface (“second port 22”; ¶ [33]: “22 … may be electrically connected to a high-voltage battery”), a first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses connecting, via a second battery pack interface (“third port 23”; ¶ [33]: “23 … may be electrically connected to a low-voltage battery”), a second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses receiving, via a primary driver circuit (combo of “first conversion circuit 31”, “first controllable switch 40”, “first resonance circuit 51”, and “primary winding 11”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9), power from an external power supply (“first charging and discharging unit” connected to “first port 21” per ¶ [32]).
Jia further discloses the primary driver circuit (11, 31, 40, 51) including a primary winding (“primary winding 11” of “transformer 10”).
Jia further discloses, as evidenced by Dai (see note 1-1, included supra in the claim 1 rejection), controlling (via control signals to switches of “31” and “40” shown in Fig. 4A), via a controller (“controller 60”; Fig. 4A), (11, 31, 40, 51) to increase or decrease an amount of power (as shown in Fig. 4A, “60” controls the switching states of “40” and all four switches within “31; when “40” is closed, the power supplied from “31” to “11” is increased; when “40” is opened, the power supplied from “31” to “11” is decreased because current flow is blocked; ¶ [32] describes conversion scenarios wherein “40” is turned on/off to control direction of power flow; ¶ [12] indicates the “first controllable switch 40” is controlled to reduce resonant current and improve efficiency; further the switches “S1-S4” within “31”also control the flow of power to “11” by switching on and off to change/regulate the voltage “VAB”; Fig. 4A) supplied to the primary winding (11).
Jia further discloses connecting, via the first battery pack interface (“second port 22”; ¶ [33]: “22 … may be electrically connected to a high-voltage battery”), a first secondary winding (“secondary winding 12” of “transformer 10”) to the first battery pack interface (22).
Jia further discloses receiving, via the first secondary winding (12), power from the primary winding (11).
Jia further discloses generating, via the first secondary winding (12), a first nominal charging voltage (“VHV”) for supply to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”) when the first battery pack is connected to the first battery pack interface (22).
Jia further discloses connecting, via the second battery pack interface (23), a second secondary winding (13) to the second battery pack interface (23).
Jia further discloses receiving, via the second secondary winding (13), power from the primary winding (11).
Jia further discloses generating, via the second secondary winding (13), a second nominal charging voltage (“VLV”) for supply to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”) when the second battery pack is connected to the second battery pack interface (23).
Jia further discloses regulating, via a first charger control circuit (“second conversion circuit 32” with supporting control features from “driving”, “voltage detection, and “controller 60”; Figs. 2-3, 4A, 5-9) coupled between the first secondary winding (12) and the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”, connected at interface “22”), the first nominal charging voltage (“VHV” at interface “22”; ¶ [41]: “first conversion circuit 31, the second conversion circuit 32, and the third conversion circuit 33 for controlling the voltages at the second port 22 and the third port 23 through phase-shift control and frequency regulation”) supplied to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”, connected at interface “22”).
Jia further discloses regulating, via a second charger control circuit (“third conversion circuit 33” with supporting control features from “driving”, “voltage detection, and “controller 60”; Figs. 2-3, 4A, 5-9) coupled between the second secondary winding (13) and the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”; connected at interface “23”), the second nominal charging voltage (“VLV” at interface “23”; ¶ [41]: “first conversion circuit 31, the second conversion circuit 32, and the third conversion circuit 33 for controlling the voltages at the second port 22 and the third port 23 through phase-shift control and frequency regulation”) supplied to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”; connected at interface “23”).
Though Jia discloses connecting to each battery pack via the battery pack interfaces, Jia does not disclose receiving each battery pack via the battery pack interfaces.
Jia further does not disclose “the second battery pack interface being different than the first battery pack interface”, though it is implied because the two interfaces are intended for batteries of different voltages.
Shirazi teaches receiving, via a first battery pack interface (“first recess 110”; Fig. 1A), a first battery pack (“first-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “110 on the housing 105 to receive a first-type of battery pack”).
Shirazi further teaches receiving, via a second battery pack interface (“second recess 115”; Fig. 1A), a second battery pack (“second-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “115 on the housing to receive a second-type of battery pack”).
Shirazi further teaches the second battery pack interface (115) being different (Fig. 1A shows visually different structures) than the first battery pack interface (110).
Shirazi further teaches the mechanical structures of the battery pack interfaces to enable them to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages (¶ [24]). Shirazi’s structure is particularly suitable as a mechanical embodiment for Jia’s charger, which is intended for batteries of different voltages (Jia ¶ [29, 33]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method and associated battery pack interfaces disclosed by Jia to receive the battery packs using the mechanical structures taught by Shirazi, to enable the charger to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the method of claim 10.
Jia further discloses receiving, via the controller (60), signal (any of “IS1”, “I_HV”, “I_LV”, “V_HV”, or “V_LV”) from a sensor (Fig. 4A shows current sensors to detect “IS1”, “I_HV”, and “I_LV”; Fig. 4A also shows voltage sensors to detect “V_HV” and “V_LV”) indicative of a characteristic (current or voltage) of at least one selected from a group consisting of the first secondary winding (“IS1”, “I_HV”, and “V_HV” are indicative of the first secondary winding “12”) and the second secondary winding (“I_LV” and “V_LV” are indicative of the second secondary winding “13”).
Jia further discloses controlling, via the controller (60), the primary driver circuit (via “S Control Signal”; Fig. 4A) based on the signal (each of “IS1”, “I_HV”, “I_LV”, “V_HV”, and “V_LV” is considered in the control scheme of “60”).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the method of claim 10.
Jia further discloses (see annotated Fig. 4A, included supra) determining, via the first charger control circuit (“32”, with “driving”, “voltage detection”, and “60” supporting features), a first output voltage (“VCD”; Figs. 4A, 4B; determined via “voltage detection” sensing “VHV” and “60” controlling switches “S5-S8” within “32”; Fig. 4B shows “VCD” is either “+VHV” or “-VHV”, depending on the states of “S5-S8”; thus, “60” knows “VCD” based on the states of “S5-S8” and via feedback of “V_HV”) of the first secondary winding (12).
Jia further discloses regulating (¶ [41]: “first conversion circuit 31, the second conversion circuit 32, and the third conversion circuit 33 for controlling the voltages at the second port 22 and the third port 23 through phase-shift control and frequency regulation”), via the first charger control circuit (“32”, “driving”, “voltage detection”, “60”) and in response to the first output voltage (“VCD”), the first nominal charging voltage (“VHV” at interface “22”).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the method of claim 12.
Jia further discloses (see annotated Fig. 4A, included supra) determining, via the second charger control circuit (“32”, with “driving”, “voltage detection”, and “60” supporting features), a second output voltage (“VEF”; Figs. 4A, 4B; determined via “voltage detection” sensing “VLV” and “60” controlling switches “S9-S12” within “33”; Fig. 4B shows “VEF” is either “+VLV” or “-VLV”, depending on the states of “S9-S12”; thus, “60” knows “VEF” based on the states of “S9-S12” and via feedback of “V_LV”) of the second secondary winding (13).
Jia further discloses regulating (¶ [41]: “first conversion circuit 31, the second conversion circuit 32, and the third conversion circuit 33 for controlling the voltages at the second port 22 and the third port 23 through phase-shift control and frequency regulation”), via the second charger control circuit (“33”, “driving”, “voltage detection”, “60”) and in response (when supplying from “VBUS” to “VLV”, the voltage at “VLV” is in response to the voltage at “VEF”) to the second output voltage (“VEF”), the second nominal charging voltage (“VLV” at interface “23”).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the method of claim 10.
Jia further discloses (see annotated Fig. 4A, included supra in claim 4’s rejection) the charger (100) further includes a current sensor (Fig. 4A shows a first current sensor “current detection” connected to “12” through “32”) connected to the first secondary winding (12).
Jia further discloses the charger (100) further includes a current sensor (Fig. 4A shows a second current sensor “current detection” connected to “13” through “33”) connected to the second secondary winding (13).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2022/0045619 A1) in view of Shirazi et al. (US 2023/0116349 A1) and the Maxim Integrated data sheet (MAX9621, 02/2020, Maxim Integrated, 19-5024, Rev. 2) (hereinafter “Maxim”).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the method of claim 14.
Jia further discloses (see annotated Fig. 4A, included supra in claim 4’s rejection) sensing, via the first current sensor (see annotated Fig. 4A), a first charging current (“I_HV”; Fig. 4A) supplied to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses sensing, via the second current sensor (see annotated Fig. 4A), a second charging current (“I_LV”; Fig. 4A) supplied to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”).
Jia does not disclose the two charging currents are sensed by a single current sensor. Instead, Jia discloses a first current sensor and a second current sensor.
Maxim teaches a first current sensor and a second current sensor can be combined into a single current sensor (page 1, General Description: “MAX9621 provides a single-chip solution to interface two 2-wire Hall-effect sensors to low-voltage microprocessors”).
Maxim further teaches the dual current sensor is advantageous for its small size (3mm x 5mm) in a single device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the two current sensors disclosed by the combination of Jia and Shirazi to be integrated into a single current sensor, as taught by Maxim, to optimize the charger design for a small size, which is more convenient for the user to handle.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Jia, Shirazi, and Maxim teaches the method of claim 15.
Jia further discloses (see detailed claim item mapping in the rejection of similar claim 8, included supra) the first secondary winding generates the first nominal charging voltage based on the first charging current, and wherein the second secondary winding generates the second nominal charging voltage based on the second charging current.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2022/0045619 A1) in view of Shirazi et al. (US 2023/0116349 A1) and as evidenced by Dai et al. (US 2020/0412237 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Jia discloses (see annotated Fig. 2, included supra in claim 1’s rejection) a charger (“charging and discharging device 100”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9) comprising the following features.
Jia further discloses a battery pack interface (combo of “22” and “23”) configured to connect to a first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”) having a first battery pack interface (“second port 22”; ¶ [33]: “22 … may be electrically connected to a high-voltage battery”) and connect to a second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”) having a second battery pack interface (“third port 23”; ¶ [33]: “23 … may be electrically connected to a low-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses a primary driver circuit (combo of “first conversion circuit 31”, “first controllable switch 40”, “first resonance circuit 51”, and “primary winding 11”; generic embodiment of Fig. 2, with various specific embodiments drawn in Figs. 3, 4A, 5-9) for receiving power from an external power supply (“first charging and discharging unit” connected to “first port 21” per ¶ [32]).
Jia further discloses the primary driver circuit (11, 31, 40, 51) including a primary winding (“primary winding 11” of “transformer 10”).
Jia further discloses that in response to the battery pack interface (22, 23) connecting to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”), a first secondary winding (“secondary winding 12” of “transformer 10”) is connected to the first battery pack interface (22) for receiving power from the primary winding (11) and generating a first nominal charging voltage (“VHV”) for supply to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses that in response to the battery pack interface (22, 23) connecting to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”), a second secondary winding (“secondary winding 13” of “transformer 10”) is connected to the second battery pack interface (23) for receiving power from the primary winding (11) and generating a second nominal charging voltage (“VLV”) for supply to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”).
Jia further discloses, as evidenced by Dai (see note 1-1, included supra in the claim 1 rejection), a controller (“controller 60”; Fig. 4A) configured to control (via control signals to switches of “31” and “40” shown in Fig. 4A) the primary driver circuit (11, 31, 40, 51) to increase or decrease an amount of power (as shown in Fig. 4A, “60” controls the switching states of “40” and all four switches within “31; when “40” is closed, the power supplied from “31” to “11” is increased; when “40” is opened, the power supplied from “31” to “11” is decreased because current flow is blocked; ¶ [32] describes conversion scenarios wherein “40” is turned on/off to control direction of power flow; ¶ [12] indicates the “first controllable switch 40” is controlled to reduce resonant current and improve efficiency; further the switches “S1-S4” within “31”also control the flow of power to “11” by switching on and off to change/regulate the voltage “VAB”; Fig. 4A) supplied to the primary winding (11).
Jia further discloses a first charger control circuit (“second conversion circuit 32” with supporting control features from “driving”, “voltage detection, and “controller 60”; Figs. 2-3, 4A, 5-9) coupled between the first secondary winding (12) and the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”, connected at interface “22”).
Jia further discloses the first charger control circuit (“32”, with “driving”, “voltage detection”, and “60” supporting features) configured to regulate the first nominal charging voltage (“VHV” at interface “22”; ¶ [41]: “first conversion circuit 31, the second conversion circuit 32, and the third conversion circuit 33 for controlling the voltages at the second port 22 and the third port 23 through phase-shift control and frequency regulation”) supplied to the first battery pack (“high-voltage battery”, connected at interface “22”).
Jia further discloses a second charger control circuit (“third conversion circuit 33” with supporting control features from “driving”, “voltage detection, and “controller 60”; Figs. 2-3, 4A, 5-9) coupled between the second secondary winding (13) and the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”; connected at interface “23”).
Jia further discloses the second charger control circuit (33) configured to regulate the second nominal charging voltage (“VLV” at interface “23”; ¶ [41]: “first conversion circuit 31, the second conversion circuit 32, and the third conversion circuit 33 for controlling the voltages at the second port 22 and the third port 23 through phase-shift control and frequency regulation”) supplied to the second battery pack (“low-voltage battery”; connected at interface “23”).
Though Jia discloses the battery pack interface is configured to connect to the battery packs, Jia does not disclose the battery pack interface is configured to receive the battery packs.
Jia further does not disclose “the second battery pack interface being different than the first battery pack interface”, though it is implied because the two interfaces are intended for batteries of different voltages.
Shirazi teaches (see annotated Fig. 1A, included supra in claim 1’s rejection) a battery pack interface (combo of “110” and “115”; Fig. 1A) configured to receive a first battery pack (“first-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “110 on the housing 105 to receive a first-type of battery pack”) having a first battery pack interface (“first recess 110”; Fig. 1A) and receive a second battery pack (“second-type of battery pack”, not drawn; ¶ [61]: “115 on the housing to receive a second-type of battery pack”) having a second battery pack interface (“second recess 115”; Fig. 1A).
Shirazi further teaches the second battery pack interface (115) being different (Fig. 1A shows visually different structures) than the first battery pack interface (110).
Shirazi further teaches the mechanical structure of the battery pack interface to enable it to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages (¶ [24]). Shirazi’s structure is particularly suitable as a mechanical embodiment for Jia’s charger, which is intended for batteries of different voltages (Jia ¶ [29, 33]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery pack interface disclosed by Jia be embodied by the mechanical structure taught by Shirazi, to enable the charger to receive real-world power tool battery packs of different voltages.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 17.
Jia further discloses (see detailed claim item mapping in the rejection of similar claim 2, included supra) the charger further comprising a sensor.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 18.
Jia further discloses (see detailed claim item mapping in the rejection of similar claim 3, included supra) the controller is configured to: receive a signal from the sensor indicative of a characteristic of at least one selected from a group consisting of the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding, and control the primary driver circuit based on the signal.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Jia and Shirazi teaches the charger of claim 17.
Jia further discloses (see detailed claim item mapping in the rejection of similar claim 4, included supra) the charger further configured to: determine, via the first charger control circuit, a first output voltage of the first secondary winding; and regulate, via the first charger control circuit and in response to the first output voltage, the first nominal charging voltage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859