DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 8/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 13 and 19 have been cancelled. Claim 2 has been previously cancelled.
Claims 22-24 have been newly added.
Claims 1, 3-12, 14-18, 20, and 22-24 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 14-18, 20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yijie Mao et al. (“Rate-Splitting Multiple Access: Fundamentals, Survey, and Future Research Trends”, ARXIV.org, Cornell University Library, 201 Olin Library Ithaca, NY 17853, 30 September 2022, XP091330505, DOI: 10.1109/COMST.2022.3191937), hereafter “Mao”, in view of Zewail et al. (US20240178933A1), hereafter Zewail.
Regarding claims 1 and 7,
Mao discloses a method comprising determining, by a device/base station serving a quantity of user devices that is greater than a quantity of antennas of the base station (Section III. B. RSMA in multi-antenna networks; Fig. 7-11, 13, 15(b)), whether to utilize perfect channel state information at transmitter (CSIT) or imperfect CSIT (Section IV; Fig. 17; perfect vs imperfect CSIT).
Mao further shows calculating, by the device and based on determining to utilize the perfect CSIT, a first power allocation, a first rate allocation, and a first precoder allocation for a private stream of a user device, determining, by the device, first parameters or second parameters for the first power allocation, the first rate allocation, and the first precoder allocation (Section IV; Fig. 17-18; Table VII; pg. 20-21 describes power/rate/precoder calculations, allocations, and signal generation under perfect CSIT for 1-layer/multi-layer, linear/non-linear, and various KPIs); calculating, based on determining to utilize the imperfect CSIT, a second power allocation, a second rate allocation, and a second precoder allocation for the private stream of the user device; and determining third parameters or fourth parameters for the second power allocation, the second rate allocation, and the second precoder allocation (Section IV; Fig. 17-18; Table VII; pg. 20-24 describes power/rate/precoder calculations, allocations, and signal generation under imperfect CSIT for single-/multi-carrier, 1-layer/multi-layer, linear/non-linear, and various KPIs when perfect CSIT is not available), and generating, by the device, either a first or second transmit signal and a first or second data allocation based on the first or second power allocation, the first or second rate allocation, the first/second precoder allocation, and the first/second or third/fourth parameters and providing, by the device, the first transmit signal, with the first data allocation, to the user device via the private stream (Fig. 18; both common and private streams).
Mao discloses both common and private streams, as noted above, but does not expressly disclose calculating allocations for private streams while providing a common stream to the user device and another user device associated with the device.
Zewail discloses analogous art (Title: Rate Matching and CSI Configurations for Rate-Splitting MU-MIMO Communications) including calculating allocations for private streams while providing a common stream to the user device and another user device associated with the device (Fig. 4, 5, 8; paragraphs 35-45, 99-111, 130-137, 149-155; messages of individual users split into common and private parts with respective codewords; jointly decode common and private messages).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Mao by calculating allocations for private streams while providing a common stream to the user device and another user device associated with the device, as shown by Zewail, thereby enabling co-scheduled UEs to be configured with the same rate matching pattern and CSI configuration to decode both common and private streams.
Regarding claim 8,
Mao discloses a device comprising one or more memories and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (Fig. 14; RSMA-enabled central processor inherently executing instructions/software programs from memory) configured to determine whether to utilize perfect channel state information at transmitter (CSIT) or imperfect CSIT (Section IV; Fig. 17; perfect vs imperfect CSIT).
Mao further shows calculating, by the device and based on determining to utilize the perfect CSIT, a first power allocation, a first rate allocation, and a first precoder allocation for a private stream of a user device, determining, by the device, first parameters or second parameters for the first power allocation, the first rate allocation, and the first precoder allocation (Section IV; Fig. 17-18; Table VII; pg. 20-21 describes power/rate/precoder calculations, allocations, and signal generation under perfect CSIT for 1-layer/multi-layer, linear/non-linear, and various KPIs); calculating, based on determining to utilize the imperfect CSIT, a second power allocation, a second rate allocation, and a second precoder allocation for the private stream of the user device; and determining third parameters or fourth parameters for the second power allocation, the second rate allocation, and the second precoder allocation (Section IV; Fig. 17-18; Table VII; pg. 20-24 describes power/rate/precoder calculations, allocations, and signal generation under imperfect CSIT for single-/multi-carrier, 1-layer/multi-layer, linear/non-linear, and various KPIs when perfect CSIT is not available), and generating, by the device, either a first or second transmit signal and a first or second data allocation based on the first or second power allocation, the first or second rate allocation, the first/second precoder allocation, and the first/second or third/fourth parameters and providing, by the device, the first transmit signal, with the first data allocation, to the user device via the private stream (Fig. 18; both common and private streams), wherein the device is a base station serving a quantity of user devices that is greater than a quantity of antennas of the base station (Section III. B. RSMA in multi-antenna networks; Fig. 7-11, 13, 15(b)).
Mao discloses both common and private streams, as noted above, but does not expressly disclose calculating allocations for private streams while providing a common stream to the user device and another user device associated with the device.
Zewail discloses analogous art (Title: Rate Matching and CSI Configurations for Rate-Splitting MU-MIMO Communications) including calculating allocations for private streams while providing a common stream to the user device and another user device associated with the device (Fig. 4, 5, 8; paragraphs 35-45, 99-111, 130-137, 149-155; messages of individual users split into common and private parts with respective codewords; jointly decode common and private messages).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Mao by calculating allocations for private streams while providing a common stream to the user device and another user device associated with the device, as shown by Zewail, thereby enabling co-scheduled UEs to be configured with the same rate matching pattern and CSI configuration to decode both common and private streams.
Regarding claim 15,
Mao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device (Fig. 14; RSMA-enabled central processor inherently executing instructions/software programs) cause the device to determine whether to utilize perfect channel state information at transmitter (CSIT) or imperfect CSIT (Section IV; Fig. 17; perfect vs imperfect CSIT).
Mao further shows calculating, by the device and based on determining to utilize the perfect CSIT, a first power allocation, a first rate allocation, and a first precoder allocation for a private stream of a user device, determining, by the device, first parameters or second parameters for the first power allocation, the first rate allocation, and the first precoder allocation (Section IV; Fig. 17-18; Table VII; pg. 20-21 describes power/rate/precoder calculations, allocations, and signal generation under perfect CSIT for 1-layer/multi-layer, linear/non-linear, and various KPIs); calculating, based on determining to utilize the imperfect CSIT, a second power allocation, a second rate allocation, and a second precoder allocation for the private stream of the user device; and determining third parameters or fourth parameters for the second power allocation, the second rate allocation, and the second precoder allocation (Section IV; Fig. 17-18; Table VII; pg. 20-24 describes power/rate/precoder calculations, allocations, and signal generation under imperfect CSIT for single-/multi-carrier, 1-layer/multi-layer, linear/non-linear, and various KPIs when perfect CSIT is not available), and generating, by the device, either a first or second transmit signal and a first or second data allocation based on the first or second power allocation, the first or second rate allocation, the first/second precoder allocation, and the first/second or third/fourth parameters and providing, by the device, the first transmit signal, with the first data allocation, to the user device via the private stream (Fig. 18; both common and private streams).
Mao discloses both common and private streams, as noted above, but does not expressly disclose calculating allocations for private streams while providing a common stream to the user device and another user device associated with the device.
Zewail discloses analogous art (Title: Rate Matching and CSI Configurations for Rate-Splitting MU-MIMO Communications) including calculating allocations for private streams while providing a common stream to the user device and another user device associated with the device (Fig. 4, 5, 8; paragraphs 35-45, 99-111, 130-137, 149-155; messages of individual users split into common and private parts with respective codewords; jointly decode common and private messages).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Mao by calculating allocations for private streams while providing a common stream to the user device and another user device associated with the device, as shown by Zewail, thereby enabling co-scheduled UEs to be configured with the same rate matching pattern and CSI configuration to decode both common and private streams.
Regarding claim 3,
The combination of Mao and Zewail discloses generating either the first or second transmit signal and corresponding data allocation based on the corresponding power allocation, the corresponding rate allocation, the corresponding precoder allocation, and the first/second/third/fourth parameters; and providing either the first or second transmit signal, with the corresponding data allocation, to the user device via the private stream (Section IV; Fig. 17-18; Table VII; pg. 21-24 describes power/rate/precoder calculations, allocations, and signal generation under imperfect CSIT for single-/multi-carrier, 1-layer/multi-layer, linear/non-linear, and various KPIs when perfect CSIT is not available).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 16,
The combination of Mao and Zewail discloses providing the first transmit signal, with the first data allocation, and the second transmit signal, with the second data allocation, to the user device via the private stream and in accordance with a rate-splitting multiple access framework (Section I. A., II.-IV; Figs. 1(d), 4-6, 13, 14(a)-(b), 16-18; and throughout disclosure; RSMA framework).
Regarding claims 5, 14, and 23,
The combination of Mao and Zewail discloses calculating the second/first power allocation, the second/first rate allocation, and the second/first precoder allocation for the private stream of the user device comprises utilizing a maximum-minimum fairness optimization to calculate the second/first power allocation, the second/first rate allocation, and the second/first precoder allocation for the private stream of the user device and ensure a non-zero ergodic rate for each of the plurality of user devices (Section III. B., pg. 19: max-min fairness; Section IV, pg. 21; pg. 22, left-hand column; maximizing the minimum/non-zero ergodic rate of each user).
Regarding claims 6, 11, 18, and 24,
The combination of Mao and Zewail discloses to determine the first parameters or the second parameters or the third parameters or the fourth/further parameters for the first/second power allocation, the first/second rate allocation, and the first/second precoder allocation, are configured to determine the first/third parameters for the first power allocation, the first rate allocation, and the first precoder allocation based on first settings; or determine the second/fourth parameters for the first power allocation, the first rate allocation, and the first precoder allocation based on different settings corresponding to different operational scenarios of the device (Section IV, pg. 19-23; 1 vs. multi-layer, linear/non-linear, CSIT conditions, various KPIs, single/multi-antenna, single/multi-carrier all map to a broadest reasonable interpretation of “first/second settings” as claimed).
- Regarding claim 9,
The combination of Mao and Zewail discloses the device serves multiple user devices and provides a non-zero ergodic rate for each of the multiple user devices (Fig. 1(d), 4, 7-10, 13, 14(b), 15(b); Section IV, pg. 21; QoS constraint guarantees rate of each user no less than certain threshold pg. 22, left-hand column; maximizing the minimum/non-zero ergodic rate of each user).
Regarding claim 10 and 17,
The combination of Mao and Zewail discloses to determine whether to utilize perfect CSIT or imperfect CSIT based on one or more of channel estimation errors, finite-length CSI feedback, user device mobility, latency, or pilot contamination associated with the device (Table VII; communication-theoretic RSMA for multi-antenna includes KPI consideration of device mobility and latency, bounded/unbounded channel estimation error, etc.).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao and Zewail as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US20190342769A1), hereafter Li.
Regarding claim 22,
The combination of Mao and Zewail does not expressly disclose removing one or more of third/fourth parameters to limit a quantity of candidate allocations.
Li discloses analogous art including RSMA (Title: Communication Configuration Selection; paragraph 2, RSMA) and removing one or more of third/fourth parameters to limit a quantity of candidate allocations (paragraph 54-57; resource granularity candidates may be a limited set of options based on use cases/services/performance requirements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Mao and Zewail by removing one or more of third/fourth parameters to limit a quantity of candidate allocations, as shown by Li, thereby enabling optimized resource granularity based on use cases, services supported, and desirable performance requirement considerations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on newly-cited Zewail reference (previously identified as related disclosure in the NF rejection dated 5/23/2025) for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument regarding the combinational use of private and common streams, as now claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477