DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed December 8, 2025 has been received, Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “one of the two plush structures comprises a plurality of first pile yarns, each of the plurality of first pile yarns sequentially forms one of the plurality of cut-loop piles, at least continuous two of the arcuate yarn segments, and another one of the plurality of cut-loop piles, wherein the other one of the two plush structures comprises a plurality of second pile yarns, each of the plurality of second pile yarns sequentially forms one of the cut-loop piles, one of the arcuate yarn segments, and another one of the plurality of cut-loop pile” in Claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
2. The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 1 recites “wherein one of the two plush structures comprises a plurality of first pile yarns, each of the plurality of first pile yarns sequentially forms one of the plurality of cut-loop piles, at least continuous two of the arcuate yarn segments, and another one of the plurality of cut-loop piles, wherein the other one of the two plush structures comprises a plurality of second pile yarns, each of the plurality of second pile yarns sequentially forms one of the cut-loop piles, one of the arcuate yarn segments, and another one of the plurality of cut-loop pile”. After a full review of Applicant’s disclosure, there does not appear to be any support for the two plush structures each comprising a plurality of pile yarns, and each of the pile yarns forming a cut loop pile. It appears Applicant is meaning to claim the plush structures each comprise a plurality of cut loop piles, each cut loop pile being formed by a yarn segment that forms either a “first cut loop portion, two continuous arcuate portions, and a second cut loop portion” or “a first cut loop portion, an arcuate portion, and a second cut loop portion” (or something to that effect). See Page 4 of Applicant’s Specification, which details that “the cut-loop piles 221, 231 are produced by loop-cutting when knitting with the circular knitting machine”; i.e. a loop is made by the pile yarn and then cut. Therefore, Applicant’s specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites “wherein one of the two plush structures comprises a plurality of first pile yarns, each of the plurality of first pile yarns sequentially forms one of the plurality of cut-loop piles, at least continuous two of the arcuate yarn segments, and another one of the plurality of cut-loop piles, wherein the other one of the two plush structures comprises a plurality of second pile yarns, each of the plurality of second pile yarns sequentially forms one of the cut-loop piles, one of the arcuate yarn segments, and another one of the plurality of cut-loop pile”. After a full review of Applicant’s disclosure, there does not appear to be any support for the two plush structures each comprising a plurality of pile yarns, and each of the pile yarns forming a cut loop pile. It appears Applicant is meaning to claim the plush structures each comprise a plurality of cut loop piles, each cut loop pile being formed by a yarn segment that forms either a “first cut loop portion, two continuous arcuate portions, and a second cut loop portion” or “a first cut loop portion, an arcuate portion, and a second cut loop portion” (or something to that effect). See Page 4 of Applicant’s Specification, which details that “the cut-loop piles 221, 231 are produced by loop-cutting when knitting with the circular knitting machine”; i.e. a loop is made by the pile yarn and then cut. Therefore, the limitation is regarded as new matter.
4. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein one of the two plush structures comprises a plurality of first pile yarns, each of the plurality of first pile yarns sequentially forms one of the plurality of cut-loop piles, at least continuous two of the arcuate yarn segments, and another one of the plurality of cut-loop piles, wherein the other one of the two plush structures comprises a plurality of second pile yarns, each of the plurality of second pile yarns sequentially forms one of the cut-loop piles, one of the arcuate yarn segments, and another one of the plurality of cut-loop pile”. The claimed limitations are indefinite as it is unclear how each of the plush structures comprise a plurality of pile yarns. It appears Applicant is meaning to claim the plush structures each comprise a plurality of cut loop piles, each cut loop pile being formed by a cut yarn segment that forms either a “first cut loop pile portion, two continuous arcuate portions, and a second cut loop pile portion” or “a first cut loop portion, an arcuate portion, and a second cut loop portion” (or something to that effect). See Page 4 of Applicant’s Specification, which details that “the cut-loop piles 221, 231 are produced by loop-cutting when knitting with the circular knitting machine”; i.e. a loop is made by the pile yarn and then cut. Claim 1 is rejected as best understood by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryong (KR 20020073056 A) in view of Torri (US 2014/0237747), and in further view of Ernst (GB 1285054 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Ryong discloses a double-sided plush fabric (Fig.7), formed by knitting with a knitting machine (Pg.1, line 11), the double-sided plush fabric comprising: a basic structure (f1,f2,f3); and two plush structures (right CP & left CP) respectively positioned on two opposite sides of the basic structure (as seen in Fig.7), each of the two plush structures comprising a plurality of cut-loop piles (para.27) and a plurality of arcuate yarn segments knitted with the basic structure (see annotated Figure below), and a length of the plurality of cut-loop piles of the two plush structures (as seen in Fig.7), wherein one of the two plush structures comprises a plurality of first pile yarns (i.e. left LP yarn: forming each left CP portion), each of the plurality of first pile yarns sequentially forms one of the plurality of cut-loop piles (i.e. one segment of CP), at least continuous two of the arcuate yarn segments (i.e. they are continuously knit as LP prior to being cut), and another one of the plurality of cut-loop piles (i.e. second segment of CP), wherein the other one of the two plush structures comprises a plurality of second pile yarns (i.e. right LP yarn: forming each right CP portion), each of the plurality of second pile yarns sequentially forms one of the cut-loop piles, one of the arcuate yarn segments, and another one of the plurality of cut-loop pile (see annotated Figure below & Fig.5; para.22-24 & 27-28).
Ryong does not disclose the double-sided plush fabric is formed by knitting with a circular knitting machine. However, Torri teaches a plush fabric formed by a raschel knitting machine or a circular knitting machine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the raschel knitting machine of Ryong with the circular knitting machine of Torri, as a simple substitution of one well known type of warp knitting machine for another in order to yield the predictable result of providing a warp knit pile material.
Ryong and Torri disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Ryong does not disclose a length of the plurality of cut-loop piles of the two plush structures being in a range from 3.5 mm to 15 mm. However, Ernst teaches a pile material with a length of the plurality of cut-loop piles of the two plush structures being in a range from 3.5 mm to 15 mm (Pg.6, lines 10-12; 1/2in=12.7mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pile length of Ryong to be in a range from 3.5 mm to 15 mm, as taught by Ernst, in order to provide the desired feel to the material. Further, the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range, and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 2, Ryong discloses a double-sided plush fabric as claimed in claim 1, wherein the basic structure (f1,f2,f3) comprises a plurality of yarn loops (i.e. knitting is formed by looping yarn, creating a plurality of yarn loops), each of the yarn loops is knitted with one of the two plush structures, and in a same course of the plurality of yarn loops, the plurality of cut-loop piles of the two plush structures are arranged alternately (as seen in Fig.7).
Regarding Claim 3, Ryong discloses a double-sided plush fabric as claimed in claim 1, wherein the basic structure is a single-layer structure (as seen in Fig.7).
2. Claim(s) 4-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryong (KR 20020073056 A), Torri (US 2014/0237747), and Ernst (GB 1285054 A), in view of Ikeda (US 7,021,085).
Regarding Claims 4 and 8, Ryong, Torri, and Ernst disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Ryong does not disclose wherein a length of the cut-loop piles of one of the two plush structures is different from a length of the cut-loop piles of the other one of the two plush structures. However, Ikeda teaches a knit plush material with two different lengths of cut piles (4E & 4G)(as seen in Fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cut pile lengths of the two plush structures Ryong such that there are two different lengths, as taught by Ikeda, in order to provide the desired feel to the material. When in combination, Ryong and Ikeda teach a length of the cut-loop piles of one of the two plush structures is different from a length of the cut-loop piles of the other one of the two plush structures.
Regarding Claims 5 and 9, Ryong, Torri, and Ernst disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Ryong does not disclose wherein the two plush structures have different colors. However, Ikeda teaches a knit pile material where the pile fibers can have different colors (Col.4, line 61-Col.5, line 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plush structures of Ryong to have different colors, as taught by Ikeda, in order to provide the desired aesthetic appearance to the material. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the piles of Ryong to have different colors, since applicant has not disclosed that such solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose other than aesthetics. Furthermore, it is noted that matters relating to ornamentation which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Regarding Claims 6 and 10, Ryong, Torri, and Ernst disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Ryong does not disclose wherein the cut-loop piles of at least one of the two plush structures have different colors. However, Ikeda teaches a knit pile material where cut-loop piles of one plush structures have different colors. (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cut-loop piles of at least one of the two plush structures Ryong to have different colors, as taught by Ikeda, in order to provide the desired aesthetic appearance to the material. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the piles of Ryong to have different colors, since applicant has not disclosed that such solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose other than aesthetics. Furthermore, it is noted that matters relating to ornamentation which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
3. Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryong (KR 20020073056 A), Torri (US 2014/0237747), and Ernst (GB 1285054 A), in view of Lawrence (US 2018/0347084).
Regarding Claims 7 and 11, Ryong, Torri, and Ernst disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Ryong does not disclose wherein at least one of the two plush structures comprises at least one burn-out area. However, Lawrence teaches a knit pile material with at least one burn-out area (para.55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified at least one of the two plush structures of Ryong to have a burn-out area, as taught by Lawrence, in order to provide a knit pile material with the optimum level of ventilation for enhanced evaporation rate and increased cooling ability to the user.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and newly modified grounds of rejection and new ground(s) of rejection have been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but, as they are drawn solely to the newly amended limitations, are moot in view of the newly modified ground(s) of rejection and new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732