1. This communication is responsive to the application filed 4/13/2023.
2. Claims 1-18 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 16-18 are independent claims. This action is made Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakauchi et al (“Sakauchi” JP 2016173731) in view of Masatoshi (JP 2021165900).
Regarding claim 1, Sakauchi discloses an image forming apparatus that performs a print processing to produce a printed matter in accordance with an instruction received from an information processing apparatus operated by a user, and that transmits a delivery instruction, in which a delivery destination of the printed matter is set, to a printed matter delivery apparatus (see paragraphs [0087] and [0098]; e.g., an image forming device 100 that generates a printed matter by performing print processing according to an instruction received from an information processing apparatus operated by a user, and a management device 500 that transmits a delivery instruction in which a delivery destination of the printed matter is set to a delivery device 300. In addition, "one or more of the functions of the management device 500 may be provided in, for example, the image forming device 100 or the delivery device 300 (paragraph 0098).” When the configuration in which the "function of the management device 500" in the above-mentioned paragraph 0098 is provided in the "image forming device 100" is adopted, the delivery instruction in which the delivery destination of the printed matter is set is transmitted from the "image forming device 100" to the "delivery device 300").
Sakauchi does not expressly disclose a controller configured or programmed to execute a presence confirmation processing for confirming a presence status of the user; and in a case that the presence of the user has been confirmed, transmit a delivery instruction, in which the user is set as the delivery destination, to the printed matter delivery apparatus, and in a case that the presence of the user has not been confirmed, transmit a delivery instruction, in which a deputy for the user is set as the delivery destination, to the printed matter delivery apparatus.
However, Masatoshi discloses a controller configured or programmed to execute a presence confirmation processing for confirming a presence status of the user (see fig 12 and paragraphs [0076]-[0085]; e.g., “Recognize that you are present. The CPU 12 recognizes the presence / absence of the chief US2, the section chief US4, and the department manager US6 in the same manner as the presence / absence of the staff member US1.”), and
in a case that the presence of the user has been confirmed, transmit a delivery instruction, in which the user is set as the delivery destination, to the printed matter delivery apparatus, and in a case that the presence of the user has not been confirmed, transmit a delivery instruction, in which a deputy for the user is set as the delivery destination, to the printed matter delivery apparatus (see fig 12 and paragraphs [0076]-[0085]; e.g., image forming device GK receives an execution instruction of a print delivery process for generating a printed matter and delivering the printed matter, the server SV executes a presence confirmation process for confirming the presence status of the user who has issued the execution instruction of the print delivery process, sets US2 or US4 as the user who receives the printed matter instead of the staff member US1; sets the user as the delivery destination of the printed matter when the presence of the user is confirmed, and sets the other user as the delivery destination when the presence of the user is not confirmed.). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Masatoshi’s teachings in Sakauchi’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that safeguards sensitive or confidential data.
Regarding claim 2, Masatoshi discloses wherein the deputy for the user is a receiving deputy designated by the user (see fig 12 and paragraphs [0076]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 3, Masatoshi discloses wherein, in the case that the presence of the user has not been confirmed, the controller is configured or programmed to execute a presence confirmation processing for the receiving deputy (see fig 12 and paragraphs [0076]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 4, Masatoshi discloses wherein, in a case that the presence of the user has been confirmed before the printed matter is delivered to the receiving deputy after the receiving deputy is set as the delivery destination, the controller is configured or programmed to transmit a delivery instruction, in which the delivery destination is changed to the user, to the printed matter delivery apparatus (see fig 12 and paragraphs [0076]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 5, Masatoshi discloses wherein a plurality of receiving deputies are designated as the deputy for the user (see fig 12 and paragraphs [0076]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 6, Masatoshi discloses wherein, in a case that the plurality of receiving deputies are designated as the deputy for the user, the controller is configured or programmed to execute a presence confirmation processing in order from the receiving deputy with the highest priority designated by the user (see fig 12 and paragraphs [0076]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 7, Masatoshi discloses wherein, in a case that the plurality of receiving deputies are designated as the deputy for the user, the controller is configured or programmed to execute a presence confirmation processing in order from the receiving deputy whose seat is closest to the user (see fig 12 and paragraphs [0076]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 9, Masatoshi discloses wherein, in a case that a delivery destination other than the user is set as the delivery destination, the controller is configured or programmed to notify the user of information that indicates the delivery destination (see fig 12 and paragraphs [0076]-[0085]).
Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
5. Claim(s) 8, 10, 12-13 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakauchi and Masatoshi in view of Shoji et al (“Shoji” JP 2016175775).
Regarding claim 8, Sakauchi and Masatoshi do not expressly disclose wherein, in a case that neither the user nor the receiving deputy is confirmed to be present, the controller is configured or programmed to transmit an instruction that discards the printed matter to the printed matter delivery apparatus.
However, Shoji discloses wherein, in a case that neither the user nor the receiving deputy is confirmed to be present, the controller is configured or programmed to transmit an instruction that discards the printed matter to the printed matter delivery apparatus (see paragraph [0108]; e.g., in a printed matter delivery system, when a printed matter collection box or the like is not installed in an office, a delivery cancel printed matter may be delivered to a shredder, a seat of a person in charge of disposal, or the like.). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Shoji’s teachings in Sakauchi’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that safeguards sensitive or confidential data.
Regarding claim 10, Sakauchi and Masatoshi do not expressly disclose wherein, in a case that neither the user nor the receiving deputy is confirmed to be present, a storage apparatus, which comprises a storage unit having a locking function, is set as the delivery destination.
However, Shoji discloses wherein, in a case that neither the user nor the receiving deputy is confirmed to be present, a storage apparatus, which comprises a storage unit having a locking function, is set as the delivery destination (see paragraph [0061]; e.g., “The authentication unit 326 is an example of an authentication unit, and collates user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 with user information included in the delivery information when the delivery device 300 arrives at the delivery destination. When the user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 matches the user information included in the delivery information, the authentication unit 326 unlocks the opening / closing cover 351, opens the opening / closing cover 351, and opens the storage tray 350. Allows removal of printed matter from The authentication unit 326 locks the opening / closing cover 351 during delivery, for example, and prevents the printed matter from being taken out by different users.”). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Shoji’s teachings in Sakauchi’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that safeguards sensitive or confidential data.
Regarding claim 11, Sakauchi and Masatoshi do not expressly disclose wherein the controller is configured or programmed to retain history information indicating that delivery of the printed matter has not been completed even though the printed matter delivery apparatus has delivered the printed matter to a seat of the user, and in a case that the delivery of the printed matter has not been completed even though the printed matter delivery apparatus has delivered the printed matter to the seat of the user, transmit a delivery instruction, in which a storage apparatus comprising a storage unit having a locking function is set as the delivery destination, to the printed matter delivery apparatus.
However, Shoji discloses wherein the controller is configured or programmed to retain history information indicating that delivery of the printed matter has not been completed even though the printed matter delivery apparatus has delivered the printed matter to a seat of the user, and in a case that the delivery of the printed matter has not been completed even though the printed matter delivery apparatus has delivered the printed matter to the seat of the user, transmit a delivery instruction, in which a storage apparatus comprising a storage unit having a locking function is set as the delivery destination, to the printed matter delivery apparatus (see paragraph [0061]; e.g., “The authentication unit 326 is an example of an authentication unit, and collates user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 with user information included in the delivery information when the delivery device 300 arrives at the delivery destination. When the user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 matches the user information included in the delivery information, the authentication unit 326 unlocks the opening / closing cover 351, opens the opening / closing cover 351, and opens the storage tray 350. Allows removal of printed matter from The authentication unit 326 locks the opening / closing cover 351 during delivery, for example, and prevents the printed matter from being taken out by different users.”). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Shoji’s teachings in Sakauchi’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that safeguards sensitive or confidential data.
Regarding claim 12, Sakauchi and Masatoshi do not expressly disclose wherein the deputy for the user is a storage apparatus, which comprises a storage unit having a locking function.
However, Shoji discloses wherein the deputy for the user is a storage apparatus, which comprises a storage unit having a locking function (see paragraph [0061]; e.g., “The authentication unit 326 is an example of an authentication unit, and collates user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 with user information included in the delivery information when the delivery device 300 arrives at the delivery destination. When the user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 matches the user information included in the delivery information, the authentication unit 326 unlocks the opening / closing cover 351, opens the opening / closing cover 351, and opens the storage tray 350. Allows removal of printed matter from The authentication unit 326 locks the opening / closing cover 351 during delivery, for example, and prevents the printed matter from being taken out by different users.”). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Shoji’s teachings in Sakauchi’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that safeguards sensitive or confidential data.
Regarding claim 13, Shoji discloses wherein, in a case that a delivery destination other than the user is set as the delivery destination, the controller is configured or programmed to transmit code information used when receiving the printed matter to the delivery destination, and the storage apparatus uses the code information to unlock the storage unit (see paragraph [0061]; e.g., “The authentication unit 326 is an example of an authentication unit, and collates user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 with user information included in the delivery information when the delivery device 300 arrives at the delivery destination. When the user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 matches the user information included in the delivery information, the authentication unit 326 unlocks the opening / closing cover 351, opens the opening / closing cover 351, and opens the storage tray 350. Allows removal of printed matter from The authentication unit 326 locks the opening / closing cover 351 during delivery, for example, and prevents the printed matter from being taken out by different users.”).
Regarding claim 14, Shoji discloses wherein, in a case that a delivery destination other than the user is set as the delivery destination, the controller is configured or programmed to transmit code information used when receiving the printed matter to the delivery destination, and the storage apparatus uses the code information to unlock the storage unit (see paragraph [0061]; e.g., “The authentication unit 326 is an example of an authentication unit, and collates user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 with user information included in the delivery information when the delivery device 300 arrives at the delivery destination. When the user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 matches the user information included in the delivery information, the authentication unit 326 unlocks the opening / closing cover 351, opens the opening / closing cover 351, and opens the storage tray 350. Allows removal of printed matter from The authentication unit 326 locks the opening / closing cover 351 during delivery, for example, and prevents the printed matter from being taken out by different users.”).
Regarding claim 15, Shoji discloses wherein, in a case that a delivery destination other than the user is set as the delivery destination, the controller is configured or programmed to transmit code information used when receiving the printed matter to the delivery destination, and the storage apparatus uses the code information to unlock the storage unit (see paragraph [0061]; e.g., “The authentication unit 326 is an example of an authentication unit, and collates user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 with user information included in the delivery information when the delivery device 300 arrives at the delivery destination. When the user authentication information input to the operation unit 330 matches the user information included in the delivery information, the authentication unit 326 unlocks the opening / closing cover 351, opens the opening / closing cover 351, and opens the storage tray 350. Allows removal of printed matter from The authentication unit 326 locks the opening / closing cover 351 during delivery, for example, and prevents the printed matter from being taken out by different users.”).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Honda et al (US 8,629,998).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174