DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding Nakayama have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claim citations have been amended in accordance with the amended claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “elastic element is a coil spring”;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18, 20, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama, US 20170282379.
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama discloses: A gripping apparatus (Fig. 1, robot gripping device 60) for gripping a sample container (Fig. 3A, workpiece W), the gripping apparatus comprising:
a gripper body (Fig. 2, front end part 61, air cylinder 62, output shaft 63, coupling 64) comprising a gripper actuator (Fig. 2, air cylinder 62);
at least two gripper fingers (Figs. 1A-20, best seen in 9A-9C, reinforcing member 20 includes a first reinforcing part 21, second reinforcing part 22, and third reinforcing part 23) each comprising a gripping surface (Figs. 1A-20, first anti-slip part 2), wherein at least one of the at least two gripper fingers is movably coupled to the gripper body, and wherein the gripping apparatus is configured to grip a sample container with the gripping surfaces of the at least two gripper fingers by movement of the at least one movable gripper finger (see Figs. 1A-20); and
wherein the gripping apparatus (Fig. 1, robot gripping device 60) comprises at least one elastically mounted contacting surface (Figs. 1A-20, second anti-slip part 3) configured to elastically contact a sample container to be gripped by the gripping apparatus; and
wherein the at least one elastically mounted contacting surface (Figs. 1A-20, second anti-slip part 3) is elastically mounted to the gripper body via an elastic element (Figs. 1A-20, finger part bodies 1) that is distinct from the at least two gripper fingers (Figs. 1A-20, best seen in 9A-9C, reinforcing member 20 includes a first reinforcing part 21, second reinforcing part 22, and third reinforcing part 23).
Regarding claim 2, Nakayama further discloses: the gripping apparatus is configured to grip a sample container having a sample container axis (best seen in Figs. 3A-5B, axis “a”), the at least two gripper fingers define a gripping axis, and the at least one elastically mounted contacting surface is configured to align the sample container axis of the sample container with the gripping axis before the sample container is gripped by the gripping apparatus (see Figs. 3A-5B).
Regarding claim 3, Nakayama further discloses: to each of the at least two gripper fingers at least one elastically mounted contacting surface is attached (Figs. 1A-20, second anti-slip part 3).
Regarding claim 4, Nakayama further discloses: at least one elastically mounted contacting surface (Figs. 1A-20, second anti-slip part 3) is coupled to one of the at least two gripper fingers (Figs. 1A-20, best seen in 9A-9C, finger part bodies 1 attached to reinforcing member 20 includes a first reinforcing part 21, second reinforcing part 22, and third reinforcing part 23).
Regarding claim 6, Nakayama further discloses: the gripping surfaces (Figs. 1A-20, first anti-slip part 2) of the at least two gripper fingers (Figs. 1A-20, best seen in 9A-9C, finger part bodies 1 attached to reinforcing member 20 includes a first reinforcing part 21, second reinforcing part 22, and third reinforcing part 23) are un-elastically coupled to the gripper body.
Regarding claim 7, Nakayama discloses: A gripper finger (Figs. 1A-20, best seen in 9A-9C, finger part bodies 1 attached to reinforcing member 20 includes a first reinforcing part 21, second reinforcing part 22, and third reinforcing part 23) for a gripping apparatus (Fig. 1, robot gripping device 60) for gripping a sample container (Fig. 3A, workpiece W), the gripper finger comprising a gripper finger body (Figs. 1A-20, best seen in 9A-9C, finger part bodies 1 attached to reinforcing member 20 includes a first reinforcing part 21, second reinforcing part 22, and third reinforcing part 23) comprising a gripping surface (Figs. 1A-20, first anti-slip part 2 or second anti-slip part 3) for gripping a sample container,
at least one contacting surface (Figs. 1A-20, first anti-slip part 2 or second anti-slip part 3) elastically mounted to the gripper finger body,
wherein the at least one contacting surface (Figs. 1A-20, second anti-slip part 3) is elastically mounted to the gripper finger body via an elastic element (Figs. 1A-20, finger part bodies 1), and wherein the at least one contacting surface and the elastic element are comprised in a monolithic element ([0089], “Alternatively, the inside surface of each finger part body 1 may have relief shapes or grooves directly formed on it, so the finger part body 1 and the second anti-slip part 3 may be integrally formed.”).
Regarding claim 8, Nakayama further discloses: the at least one contacting surface (Figs. 1A-20, second anti-slip part 3) is rigid ([0128] “Thus, in the present invention, a rigid separation limiting part 154 extending between each second anti-slip part 3 and the finger part body 1 is attached to the second anti-slip part 3.”).
Regarding claim 11, Nakayama further discloses: the gripper finger is configured such that the at least one contacting surface (Figs. 1A-20, first anti-slip part 2 or second anti-slip part 3) is closer to a sample container about to be gripped by the gripper finger than the gripping surface (Figs. 1A-20, first anti-slip part 2 or second anti-slip part 3).
Regarding claim 12, Nakayama further discloses: the gripper finger is configured such that the at least one contacting surface (Figs. 1A-20, first anti-slip part 2 or second anti-slip part 3) has a play that allows the at least one contacting surface to be pushed at least to a level of the gripping surface (see Figs. 1-9C).
Regarding claim 13, Nakayama further discloses: the at least one contacting surface (Figs. 1A-20, second anti-slip part 3) comprises at least a first section and a second section, wherein the first section is configured to apply a first force to a sample container to be gripped by the gripper finger, the second section is configured to apply a second force to a sample container to be gripped by the gripper finger, and the direction of the first force is different from the direction of the second force (see Figs. 5A-5B and 8A for the best example of this limitation).
Regarding claim 14, Nakayama further discloses: A laboratory instrument for handling a sample container comprising one gripping apparatus according to claim 1 (this limitation represents an intended use of the device. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this instance, the Nakayama device is a robot gripping device. There is no claimed limitation that would alter its form and function related to it working in a laboratory).
Regarding claim 15, Nakayama further discloses: the elastic element (Figs. 1A-20, finger part bodies 1) is a coil spring or a leaf spring ([0068] “Each finger part body 1 is preferably made from a spring steel plate”).
Regarding claim 16, Nakayama further discloses: the gripping apparatus includes no more than two elastic elements (Figs. 1A-20, finger part bodies 1), and each one of the no more than two elastic elements is affixed to a gripper finger body (Figs. 1A-20, best seen in 9A-9C, finger part bodies 1 attached to reinforcing member 20 includes a first reinforcing part 21, second reinforcing part 22, and third reinforcing part 23) of a corresponding one of the at least two gripper fingers.
Regarding claim 17, Nakayama further discloses: the gripping apparatus includes two elastic elements (Figs. 1A-20, finger part bodies 1) each affixed to a portion of a gripper finger body of a corresponding one of the at least two gripper fingers (Figs. 1A-20, best seen in 9A-9C, finger part bodies 1 attached to reinforcing member 20 includes a first reinforcing part 21, second reinforcing part 22, and third reinforcing part 23), and each elastic element is affixed to the portion of the gripper finger body such that the elastic element extends perpendicular to a lengthwise direction of the gripper finger body (all 3d objects “extend” to some extent, in all dimensions (x,y,z)).
Regarding claim 18, Nakayama further discloses: the at least two gripper fingers (Figs. 1A-20, best seen in 9A-9C, finger part bodies 1 attached to reinforcing member 20 includes a first reinforcing part 21, second reinforcing part 22, and third reinforcing part 23) define a gripping axis (Fig. 1a, axis “a”), and the portion of each gripper finger body extends parallel to the gripping axis (see Figs. 1A-20).
Regarding claim 20, Nakayama further discloses: the elastic element (Figs. 1A-20, finger part bodies 1) is a leaf spring ([0068] “Each finger part body 1 is preferably made from a spring steel plate”).
Regarding claim 22, Nakayama further discloses: the elastic element (Figs. 1A-20, finger part bodies 1) is affixed to a portion of the gripper finger body (Figs. 1A-20, best seen in 9A-9C, finger part bodies 1 attached to reinforcing member 20 includes a first reinforcing part 21, second reinforcing part 22, and third reinforcing part 23) such that the elastic element extends perpendicular to a lengthwise direction of the gripper finger body (all 3d objects “extend” to some extent, in all dimensions (x,y,z)).
Regarding claim 23, Nakayama further discloses: the portion of the gripper finger body (Figs. 1A-20, best seen in 9A-9C, finger part bodies 1 attached to reinforcing member 20 includes a first reinforcing part 21, second reinforcing part 22, and third reinforcing part 23) extends parallel to a gripping axis at least partially defined by the gripper finger (see Figs. 1A-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nakayama.
Regarding claims 19 and 21, Nakayama discloses the device of claims 1 and 7.
Nakayama does not explicitly disclose: the elastic element is a coil spring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize a coil spring in place of a leaf spring as a matter of design choice. The selection of a particular type of spring in order to perform a known function is within the skill of the art of the designer. Furthermore, the Examiner notes that no criticality is given for this feature in the specification, nor are any drawings provided for this feature.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731