DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species B in the reply filed on 6/15/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2-3, 7, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 14-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plessner et al. (US 2014/0242896) in view of Meintschel (DE 102014006807, see machine translation)
Regarding claims 1, 18, and 20, Plessner discloses an aircraft 110,500 comprising a composite skin 120 having an opening [vent hole], and a ventilation conduit 130 having an end portion 132 that extends to the opening in the composite skin (abstract, Fig 1).
In an embodiment, the aircraft 500 comprises an enclosure 510 for a rechargeable battery aboard said aircraft ([0031], Fig 5). The ventilation system for the enclosure 510 includes a ventilation conduit 530 and vent valve 520 [thermal vent mechanism], wherein the ventilation conduit 530 extends from the vent valve 520 to composite skin ([0033]).
During normal operation, the vent valve 520 [vent mechanism] closes [covers] the vent hole ([0033], Fig 5), and during a battery failure, the vent valve 520 opens to exhaust ([0035]).
While Plessner teaches that a battery failure event generates a hot gas within the enclosure 510, and the vent valve 520 opens to exhaust the gas overboard ([0035]), Plessner does not explicitly disclose:
an electrical circuit comprising at least one conductor arranged across the plurality of energy storage devices;
a power source electrically coupled to and powering the electrical circuit; and
wherein, during normal operation, the electrical circuit is open and the thermal vent mechanism covers the at least one vent hole, and
wherein, during a thermal event, the thermal event causes the electrical circuit to close such that the power source activates the thermal vent mechanism to expose the at least one vent hole to vent fumes outside of the aircraft.
Meintschel discloses a battery system 1 having a plurality of battery cells 3 in a housing 2 and having a sensor device ([0001], [0010]). With the sensor, it is possible to infer the state of the cell vents 4 of the battery cells 3 ([0009]). The sensor device can include sensors (e.g., pressure, optical, analysis, electrolyte infrared, displacement) and can include a control wire 9 [conductor], wherein the control wire can determine that the cell vents are opened while the control wire extends over the cell vent device and the control wire being mechanically severed or damaged ([0013]-[0015], Figs 2-3). The control wire can carry an electrical voltage signal [connected to electrical circuit] ([0015]). As the control wire can carry an electrical voltage, a power source is electrically coupled to and powering the electrical circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the control wire [and necessary connections] extending over the cell vents of the batteries of Meintschel with batteries in the enclosure of Plessner for the purpose of detecting that the cell vents of the batteries are opened.
In addition, because Plessner teaches opening the valve in response ([0035]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control wire, which detects cell vent opening, to provide the signal to open the vent valve.
Regarding claim 12, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Plessner additionally discloses a ventilation conduit 530 [vent tube] arranged between the opening of the enclosure 510 and outside of the aircraft ([0034]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Plessner teaches that vent valve 520 opens during a battery failure event, and is exhausted overboard the aircraft ([0035]), and venting can occur during flight ([0041]). Therefore, the system is able to vent at pressure differences at altitude, and the system is insensitive to distance between a location of the thermal vent and the at least one vent hole.
Regarding claim 15, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Plessner discloses the enclosure contains a rechargeable battery [one or more batteries] ([0031]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple batteries for the purpose of increasing the energy or power.
Regarding claims 16-17, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Plessner discloses that the vent valve 520 may be actively sensed or passive ([0036]), and Meintschel teaches that the sensor/control wire is active/monitoring ([0013]) or passive/reactive ([0014]).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plessner et al. (US 2014/0242896) in view of Meintschel (DE 102014006807, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Mladjan et al. (US 5,600,139).
Regarding claim 4, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Plessner discloses a vent valve 520 ([0033], [0035]), modified Plessner does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermal vent mechanism comprises a hinged door actuated by an actuator.
Mladjan discloses a device 10 including a housing 130 defining a battery compartment, and carrying a door portion 166 closable over the battery compartment (abstract). The battery compartment door 166 includes a spring loaded latching device 170 which will maintain the door 166 sealingly closed under normal conditions (abstract). However, in the event the battery 124 should vent gasses, the door 166 will allow venting of gases in a certain direction (C9/L5-40). The battery door is hinged (C8/L15-20). The battery door is further latched by a latching device 170 (C8/L20-24, Fig 3a-b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the hinged battery door that is closed for normal, and open for venting as taught by Mladjan with the vent valve of Plessner for the purpose of directing the gases away.
Regarding claim 5, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Plessner teaches the vent valve can be actively controlled by an actuator [relay electrically coupled] to vent gases ([0036]), and Mladjan teaches that the hinged door is latched (C8/L15-24).
Regarding claim 6, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Mladjan teaches that the door includes a spring-loaded latching device (abstract), and Plessner teaches the vent valve can be actively controlled by an actuator [relay electrically coupled] to vent gases ([0036]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plessner et al. (US 2014/0242896) in view of Meintschel (DE 102014006807, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Takasaki et al. (JP 2008/251470, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 8, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, modified Plessner does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one conductor comprises a first conductive wire, a first insulator around the first conductive wire, and a sheathing around the first insulator, wherein, during the thermal event, the thermal event compromises the first insulator, thereby faulting the first conductive wire to ground and closing the electrical circuit.
Takasaki discloses a packed secondary battery (abstract, [0002]) wherein a long heat sensitive body 30 is sandwiched between batteries 1 ([0008]). The heat sensitive body 30 includes a pair of conductive wires 32 (32A,32B) [first conductive wire] wherein a heat-soluble insulating material 33 [first insulator] is between, and melts at temperature abnormal of the battery ([0011]-[0012], Fig 13). When the insulating material 33 melts, a short circuit between the pair of conductive wires is made ([0011]) and this allows for the abnormal temperature to be detected ([0015]). The long heat sensitive body 30 is contained by tape 31 [sheathing] ([0049], Fig 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the long heat sensitive body comprising multiple wires and insulating material contained within a tape as taught by Takasaki with the control wire of Plessner modified by Meintschel for the purpose of detecting abnormal temperatures of the batteries.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plessner et al. (US 2014/0242896) in view of Meintschel (DE 102014006807, see machine translation) and Takasaki et al. (JP 2008/251470, see machine translation), as applied to claim 8, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2023/0170539).
Regarding claim 9, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Takasaki discloses conductive wires 32A, 32B ([0011]-[0012]), modified Plessner does not explicitly disclose wherein the first conductive wire is faulted to ground via one or more insulated clamps.
Yang discloses a battery pack comprising a controller which performs a fail-safe action when a thermal runaway occurs in the battery pack (abstract). A first wire extends from the controller and passes immediately above the first battery module (abstract). The first wire is fused during a thermal runaway, and is connected with the ground side ([0031]-[0033]). The line has connectors C [insulated clamp] to hold and separate the length direction of the line/wire ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a wire connect with the ground during a thermal runaway event while supported by a connector as taught by Yang with one of the conductive wires of Plessner modified by Takasaki for the purpose of having a grounding connection.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plessner et al. (US 2014/0242896) in view of Meintschel (DE 102014006807, see machine translation) and Takasaki et al. (JP 2008/251470, see machine translation), as applied to claim 8, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2020/0350636).
Regarding claim 10, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Takasaki discloses a tape 31 [sheathing] around the first and second wires and an insulating material around one wire ([0049], Fig 13), modified Plessner does not explicitly disclose a second insulator around the second wire.
Zhu discloses a battery module and a battery pack having a thermal cable 13 with a thermal circuit to provide prompt signal indicating a bursting of a vent of any of the battery cells (abstract). The thermal cable includes a twisted-pair cable including two wires 131 where each wire has an insulating layer 132 surrounding the wire 131 ([0055], Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the insulating layer around both wires as taught by Zhu with the first and second wires of Plessner modified by Takasaki for the purpose of insulating the wires.
Regarding claim 11, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takasaki teaches that the insulating material is made of polyethylene or PET [polymer materials] ([0013]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plessner et al. (US 2014/0242896) in view of Meintschel (DE 102014006807, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Skroski et al. (US 11,489,229).
Regarding claim 13, modified Plessner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Plessner discloses a ventilation conduit and vent valve that causes the gas to be vented overboard the aircraft ([0035], Fig 5), modified Plessner does not explicitly disclose wherein the ventilation system further comprises one or more one-way vents in the enclosure to prevent the fumes from escaping into a cabin of the aircraft.
Skroski discloses a battery venting system having a battery module 104 wherein the battery venting system includes a vent outlet 116 disposed on the surface of an aircraft fuselage (abstract, Fig 1). A vent conduit 112 fluidly connects the vent port 108 of the battery module to the vent outlet (abstract). The vent port may include a check valve, which is a valve that permits flow of a fluid only in a certain direction [one-way] (C7/L25-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the check valve in the vent port of Skroski with the ventilation conduit, vent valve, and enclosure of Plessner for the purpose of permitting the fluid to flow in only one direction.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725