DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments and remarks filed 02/13/2026, in which claims 2-3 and 20 have been amended, and claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 2 and 20 recite “excluding elastomer from the photocatalyst layer”, however no discussion of elastomers is found in the original disclosure. Thus this is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2009291689 A (hereinafter “Abe”) in view of US 2001/0034414 A1 (hereinafter “Effenberger”).
Regarding Claim 1 Abe discloses a method of producing a fluororesin membrane material by forming a photocatalyst layer containing a photocatalyst (TiO2) and fluororesins on at least one outermost surface of a fluororesin layer containing a polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) as a fluororesin, the method comprising:
applying a dispersion containing the photocatalyst and the fluororesins to at least one outermost surface of the fluororesin layer;
drying the dispersion ( room temperature and the 60°C);
calcining the fluororesin layer having applied thereto the dispersion at a temperature equal to or more than a melting point of any fluororesin of the fluororesins incorporated into the dispersion (heating to above the melting point of the fluororesin /FEP, pg. 2, top para.); and
cooling the calcined fluororesin layer having applied thereto the dispersion to room temperature; Abstract, Claims, pg. 2, top para., Embodiment 1);
wherein the photocatalyst and the fluororesins in the dispersion to be applied to the fluororesin layer satisfy a photocatalyst ratio, wherein “the weight ratio of the photocatalyst powder to the fluororesin powder is preferably about 5:95 to 30:70” (pg. 2, near bottom), i.e. a ratio of a weight of the photocatalyst to a total weight of the photocatalyst and the fluororesins is 5-30 wt%,
wherein “[e]xamples of the fluororesin contained in the dispersion in the present invention include polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), tetrafluoroethylene-ethylene copolymer (ETFE), tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene copolymer (FEP), a tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether copolymer (PFA) can be mentioned. Two or more kinds of fluororesins may be used.” (pg. 2) and thus the fluororesins in the dispersion to be applied to the fluororesin layer may be formed of the PTFE and a second specific fluororesin chosen from tetrafluoroethylene-ethylene copolymer (ETFE), tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene copolymer (FEP), a tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether copolymer (PFA), i.e. that is a fluorinated resin copolymer.
Abe does not disclose (1) wherein the specific fluororesin and the PTFE in the dispersion satisfy a specific fluororesin ratio, which is a ratio of a weight of the specific fluororesin to a total weight of the specific fluororesin and the PTFE, of between 10% and 50%, both inclusive, or (2) second specific fluororesin that is a fluorinated resin copolymer having a melting point of 240°C or more and a continuous use temperature of 200°C or more.
However, with regard to the specific fluororesin and the PTFE, Effenberger discloses a blended solid composition (“blend”) containing: (1) a fluoroplastic; and (2) a fluoroelastomer, the blend can be formed from a dispersion that is coated to provide a film. ([0017], [0018], [0022], [0061]). The fluoroplastic can be PTFE [0017], and the fluoroelastomer may be selected from the group consisting of polymers and copolymers of TFE, VF, HFP, fluorovinyl ethers including perfluorovinyl ethers, CTFE, ethylene, and propylene, and are preferably of high molecular weight. Where FEP is a copolymer of TFE and HFP and PFA is a copolymer of TFE and a perfluorovinyl ether [0052] and blending FEP with PTFE is directly taught [0063];
wherein, “PTFE is present at greater than 35% by weight based on total polymer solids of the composition” [0059] and separately up to 80% by weight [0060], and including specifically 50% (Table 2 and [0076]) i.e. the polymer other than PTFE, i.e. which may be FEP, is less than 65% by weight, or separately 20% or more, or 50%, of the total weight of the specific fluororesin (FEP) and the PTFE; and
wherein the blend has superior performance properties in regards to mechanical behavior—for instance, reduced wear rate and resistance to chemically induced stress-cracking and (A) that the exceptional properties of its blend derive from its use of PTFE as a filler; and (B) that PTFE is the preferred filler from the viewpoint of the development of resistance to chemically induced stress-cracking and has properties which exceed those of the fluoroelastomers; [0019], [0022], [0064].
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Abe such that the dispersion comprises a blend of PTFE and FEP, including using FEP in an amount less than 65% by weight, or separately 20% or more, or specifically 50%, of the total weight of the specific fluororesin (FEP) and the PTFE in the dispersion and resulting photocatalyst layer as taught by Effenberger in order to yield the predictable result/improvement of a photocatalyst layer made of PTFE and FEP, said layer having superior performance properties such as reduced wear rate and resistance to chemically induced stress-cracking, because this would improve the similar devices in the same way, and because Effenberger suggests that such FEP concentration values (i.e. specific fluororesin ratio) were suitable for its blend.
With regard to melting temperature melting point and continuous use temperature of the second specific fluororesin, the specific fluororesin of the instant combination is FEP (the same specific fluororesin used by Applicant, Spec. p. 7, first para.). It is well-established that when a product of the prior art possesses a structure or composition that is identical or substantially identical to that of the claims, any claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent and the burden of proving otherwise is shifted to the applicant. See MPEP 2112.01. Given that both the specific fluororesin of the instant combination and the claimed specific fluororesin are the same, the claimed melting point and continuous use temperature are presumed to be inherent to both specific fluororesins until such time as Applicant provides evidence proving otherwise.
Regarding Claim 2 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the produced photocatalyst layer is seen to be free of elastomers and thus is considered to comprise “excluding elastomer from the photocatalyst layer”.
Regarding Claim 3 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 2, which discloses the same method and composition as that recited in claim 3, i.e. having the claimed photocatalyst ratio and specific fluororesin ratio. Since the composition is the same as the composition recited, it is asserted, absent evidence to the contrary, that one would reasonably expect that the produced fluororesin membrane material disclosed by Abe in view of Effenberger inherently has the same properties recited. Specifically, it is asserted that due to the photocatalyst ratio and the specific fluororesin ratio, reducing occurrence of tortoise shell-like cracks in the photocatalyst layer during manufacture of the fluororesin membrane material, while still permitting thermal welding of the produced fluororesin membrane material. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 4 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, which discloses the same method and composition as that recited in claim 4, i.e. having the claimed cooling, photocatalyst ratio and specific fluororesin ratio. Since the composition is the same as the composition recited, it is asserted, absent evidence to the contrary, that one would reasonably expect that the photocatalyst layer disclosed by Abe in view of Effenberger inherently has the same properties recited. Specifically, it is asserted that after the cooling, a photocatalyst ratio of the photocatalyst layer is the same as the photocatalyst ratio of the dispersion, and a specific fluororesin ratio of the photocatalyst layer is the same as the specific fluororesin ratio of the dispersion. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 5 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the calcining is completed without applying a shear stress (none is disclosed or required by Abe), and which discloses the same method and composition as that recited in claim 5, i.e. having the claimed applying, drying, calcining, cooling, photocatalyst ratio and specific fluororesin ratio. Since the composition is the same as the composition recited, it is asserted, absent evidence to the contrary, that one would reasonably expect that the photocatalyst layer disclosed by Abe in view of Effenberger inherently has the same properties recited. Specifically, it is asserted that wherein due to the applying, the drying, the calcining, and the cooling, the photocatalyst layer is not fibrillated. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 6 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising melting both the PTFE and the specific fluororesin in the dispersion at the time of the calcining (it is disclosed that it is heated to above the melting point of the fluororesin, Abe pg. 2, top para., which in embodiment 1 is FEP, but would obviously include above the melting point any fluororesins in the dispersion).
Regarding Claim 11 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, which discloses the same method and composition as that recited in claim 11, i.e. having the claimed specific fluororesin ratio. Since the composition is the same as the composition recited, it is asserted, absent evidence to the contrary, that one would reasonably expect that the photocatalyst layer disclosed by Abe in view of Effenberger inherently has the same properties recited. Specifically, it is asserted that due to the specific fluororesin ratio, reducing cracks occurring in the photocatalyst layer while also permitting thermal welding of the fluororesin membrane material. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 12 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, wherein “the weight ratio of the photocatalyst powder to the fluororesin powder is preferably about 5:95 to 30:70” (Abe pg. 2, near bottom), i.e. the photocatalyst and the fluororesins in the dispersion to be applied to the fluororesin layer satisfy a photocatalyst ratio of 3-30%.
Since the range(s) disclosed overlaps the range(s) claimed, the range(s) recited in the claim is/are considered prima facie obvious. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the disclosed range(s) that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding Claim 13 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, wherein “the weight ratio of the photocatalyst powder to the fluororesin powder is preferably about 5:95 to 30:70” (Abe pg. 2, near bottom), i.e. the photocatalyst and the fluororesins in the dispersion to be applied to the fluororesin layer satisfy a photocatalyst ratio of 3-30%.
Since the range(s) disclosed overlaps the range(s) claimed, the range(s) recited in the claim is/are considered prima facie obvious. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the disclosed range(s) that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding Claim 14 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specific fluororesin ratio is less than 65% by weight, or separately 20% or more, or specifically 50%, supra.
Regarding Claim 15 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specific fluororesin is FEP, supra.
Regarding Claim 20 Abe discloses a method of producing a fluororesin membrane material by forming a photocatalyst layer containing a photocatalyst (TiO2) and fluororesins on at least one outermost surface of a fluororesin layer containing a polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) as a fluororesin, the method comprising:
applying a dispersion containing the photocatalyst and the fluororesins to at least one outermost surface of the fluororesin layer;
drying the dispersion ( room temperature and the 60°C);
calcining the fluororesin layer having applied thereto the dispersion at a temperature equal to or more than a melting point of any fluororesin of the fluororesins incorporated into the dispersion (heating to above the melting point of the fluororesin /FEP, pg. 2, top para.); and
cooling the calcined fluororesin layer having applied thereto the dispersion to room temperature;
thereby forming the fluororesin membrane material, which may be considered a final product, with a photocatalyst layer containing the photocatalyst and the fluororesins on the at least one outermost surface of the fluororesin layer; Abstract, Claims, pg. 2, top para., Embodiment 1);
wherein the photocatalyst and the fluororesins in the dispersion to be applied to the fluororesin layer satisfy a photocatalyst ratio, wherein “the weight ratio of the photocatalyst powder to the fluororesin powder is preferably about 5:95 to 30:70” (pg. 2, near bottom), i.e. a ratio of a weight of the photocatalyst to a total weight of the photocatalyst and the fluororesins is 5-30 wt%,
wherein “[e]xamples of the fluororesin contained in the dispersion in the present invention include polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), tetrafluoroethylene-ethylene copolymer (ETFE), tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene copolymer (FEP), a tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether copolymer (PFA) can be mentioned. Two or more kinds of fluororesins may be used.” (pg. 2) and thus the fluororesins in the dispersion to be applied to the fluororesin layer may be formed of the PTFE and a second specific fluororesin chosen from tetrafluoroethylene-ethylene copolymer (ETFE), tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene copolymer (FEP), a tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether copolymer (PFA), i.e. that is a fluorinated resin copolymer;
Abe does not disclose (1) wherein the specific fluororesin and the PTFE in the dispersion satisfy a specific fluororesin ratio, which is a ratio of a weight of the specific fluororesin to a total weight of the specific fluororesin and the PTFE, of between 10% and 50%, both inclusive, or (2) second specific fluororesin that is a fluorinated resin copolymer having a melting point of 240°C or more and a continuous use temperature of 200°C or more.
Wherein the produced photocatalyst layer is seen to be free of elastomers and thus is considered to comprise “excluding elastomer from the photocatalyst layer”.
However, with regard to the specific fluororesin and the PTFE, Effenberger discloses a blended solid composition (“blend”) containing: (1) a fluoroplastic; and (2) a fluoroelastomer, the blend can be formed from a dispersion that is coated to provide a film. ([0017], [0018], [0022], [0061]). The fluoroplastic can be PTFE [0017], and the fluoroelastomer may be selected from the group consisting of polymers and copolymers of TFE, VF, HFP, fluorovinyl ethers including perfluorovinyl ethers, CTFE, ethylene, and propylene, and are preferably of high molecular weight. Where FEP is a copolymer of TFE and HFP and PFA is a copolymer of TFE and a perfluorovinyl ether [0052] and blending FEP with PTFE is directly taught [0063];
wherein, “PTFE is present at greater than 35% by weight based on total polymer solids of the composition” [0059] and separately up to 80% by weight [0060], and including specifically 50% (Table 2 and [0076]) i.e. the polymer other than PTFE, i.e. which may be FEP, is less than 65% by weight, or separately 20% or more, or 50%, of the total weight of the specific fluororesin (FEP) and the PTFE; and
wherein the blend has superior performance properties in regards to mechanical behavior—for instance, reduced wear rate and resistance to chemically induced stress-cracking and (A) that the exceptional properties of its blend derive from its use of PTFE as a filler; and (B) that PTFE is the preferred filler from the viewpoint of the development of resistance to chemically induced stress-cracking and has properties which exceed those of the fluoroelastomers; [0019], [0022], [0064].
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Abe such that the dispersion comprises a blend of PTFE and FEP, including using FEP in an amount less than 65% by weight, or separately 20% or more, or specifically 50%, of the total weight of the specific fluororesin (FEP) and the PTFE in the dispersion and resulting photocatalyst layer as taught by Effenberger in order to yield the predictable result/improvement of a photocatalyst layer made of PTFE and FEP, said layer having superior performance properties such as reduced wear rate and resistance to chemically induced stress-cracking, because this would improve the similar devices in the same way, and because Effenberger suggests that such FEP concentration values (i.e. specific fluororesin ratio) were suitable for its blend.
With regard to melting temperature melting point and continuous use temperature of the second specific fluororesin, the specific fluororesin of the instant combination is FEP (the same specific fluororesin used by Applicant, Spec. p. 7, first para.). It is well-established that when a product of the prior art possesses a structure or composition that is identical or substantially identical to that of the claims, any claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent and the burden of proving otherwise is shifted to the applicant. See MPEP 2112.01. Given that both the specific fluororesin of the instant combination and the claimed specific fluororesin are the same, the claimed melting point and continuous use temperature are presumed to be inherent to both specific fluororesins until such time as Applicant provides evidence proving otherwise.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Effenberger further in view of US 7,641,940 B1 (hereinafter “Linkous”).
Regarding Claim 7 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sheet is mainly used as building materials (Abe pg. 1 para starting “Among sheet-like materials…”) but does not disclose specifically using the fluororesin membrane material in a roof of architecture.
However Linkous discloses similar sheets/membranes coated in photocatalyst layer by modifying a thermoplastic sheet with a photocatalyst so that the sheet has a desirable function in manmade structures, such as rooftops, i.e. as roofing membranes, and that roof barriers are formed by butting and welding adjacent sheets together (C4/L36-55, Example).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Abe in view of Effenberger by using the membrane in a roof (i.e. of architecture) as a roof barrier membrane as disclosed by Linkous because this a known use of a similar photocatalyst coated membranes and it would therefore have been obvious to use the similar membrane in the same way, for the same applications, and because Abe discloses the membrane is used as building materials.
Regarding Claim 8 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose cutting the fluororesin membrane material into a first part and a second part; and thermally welding the first part to the second part.
However Linkous discloses similar sheets/membranes coated in photocatalyst layer by modifying a thermoplastic sheet with a photocatalyst so that the sheet has a desirable function in manmade structures, such as rooftops, i.e. as roofing membranes, and that roof barriers are formed by butting and welding adjacent sheets together (C4/L36-55, Example).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Abe in view of Effenberger by using the membrane in a roof (i.e. of architecture) as a roof barrier membrane, including butting and welding adjacent sheets together as disclosed by Linkous because this a known use of a similar photocatalyst coated membranes and it would therefore have been obvious to use the similar membrane in the same way, for the same applications, and because Abe discloses the membrane is used as building materials.
While thermal welding is not specifically disclosed it would have been an obvious type of welding to select because thermal welding is old ad well-known means to accomplish welding of polymer membranes.
With regard specifically to cutting the fluororesin membrane material into a first part and a second part, this is not disclosed by the references, as Linkous only discloses starting with two sheets to be butted and welded together (C4/L36-55). However it would have been obvious to cut one sheet into multiple parts/sheets in order to fit to the dimensions of a roof and/or to cut individual sheets from a roll.
Regarding Claim 9 Abe in view of Effenberger and Linkous discloses the method of claim 8, wherein “the following dispersion liquid is applied to one surface of a sheet base material” (Abe pg. 3, “First Embodiment”), and therefore the fluororesin membrane material comprises a single-sided coated product in which the photocatalyst layer is applied to only one outermost surface of the fluororesin layer.
Regarding Claim 10 Abe in view of Effenberger and Linkous discloses the method of claim 8, wherein “the dispersion can also be applied to both surfaces of the sheet substrate” (Abe pg. 3, “First Embodiment”), an therefore the fluororesin membrane material may comprise a double-sided coated product in which the photocatalyst layer is applied to a first outermost surface of the fluororesin layer and to a second outermost surface of the fluororesin layer opposite to the first outermost surface, and,
wherein “the weight ratio of the photocatalyst powder to the fluororesin powder is preferably about 5:95 to 30:70” (pg. 2, near bottom), i.e. the photocatalyst and the fluororesins in the dispersion to be applied to the fluororesin layer satisfy a photocatalyst ratio of 3-30%.
Since the range(s) disclosed overlaps the range(s) claimed, the range(s) recited in the claim is/are considered prima facie obvious. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the disclosed range(s) that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Effenberger further in view of US 2005/0277543 A1 (hereinafter “Takahashi”).
Regarding Claims 16-17 Abe in view of Effenberger discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose including in the photocatalyst layer a carbonate, or (claim 17) wherein a weight of the carbonate in the photocatalyst layer is between 20 wt% and 5 wt%, both inclusive, with respect to the weight of the photocatalyst in the photocatalyst layer.
However Takahashi discloses a photocatalytic coating material (Title; Abstract), the photocatalytic coating material can comprise a fluorine resin and photocatalytic particles [0161]–[0162], additionally, the photocatalytic coating material can comprise an inorganic extender pigment [0056], [0062], the inorganic extender pigment can be carbonates such as calcium carbonate or barium carbonate [0166]. Wherein “[t]o obtain a crack-preventing effect, preferably the amount of these inorganic extender pigments added is more than 5% by weight of the total solid matter of the coating composition…. Further, the amount is preferably 50% by weight or less” and that said pigments “provide a coating film to be formed with excellent weatherability” [0166].
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Abe in view of Effenberger such that the photocatalyst layer includes calcium carbonate and/or barium carbonate in an amount of 5%-50% of the total solid matter of the coating composition (i.e. the photocatalyst dispersion and/or layer) as disclosed by Takahashi in order to obtaining a crack-preventing effect and provide weatherability.
As the photocatalyst may be included in the photocatalyst dispersion and/or layer in an amount of 5-30 wt% of the total solid matter of the photocatalyst dispersion and/or layer; this equates to 16.6%-1000% (5/30-50/5) with respect to the weight of the photocatalyst in the photocatalyst layer.
Regarding Claim 18 Abe in view of Effenberger and Takahashi discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the photocatalyst may be included in the photocatalyst dispersion and/or layer in an amount of 5-30 wt% of the total of the photocatalyst and fluororesins in the dispersion and/or layer, supra; and the carbonate is included in the photocatalyst dispersion/layer in an amount of 5%-50% of the total solid matter of the coating composition, supra (i.e. of the total of the photocatalyst, fluororesins and carbonates since that is all the solids in the layer). Thus as each range includes values as low as 5% the range disclosed includes a total weight of the photocatalyst and the carbonate in the photocatalyst layer is 40% or less with respect to a total weight of the photocatalyst, the carbonate, and the fluororesins in the photocatalyst layer.
Since the range(s) disclosed overlaps the range(s) claimed, the range(s) recited in the claim is/are considered prima facie obvious. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the disclosed range(s) that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding Claim 19 Abe in view of Effenberger and Takahashi discloses the method of claim 16, but does not disclose including in the photocatalyst layer an inorganic pigment for coloring the photocatalyst layer, wherein a total weight of the photocatalyst, the carbonate, and the inorganic pigment in the photocatalyst layer is 40% or less with respect to a total weight of the photocatalyst, the carbonate, the inorganic pigment, and the fluororesins in the photocatalyst layer.
However Takahashi further discloses that photocatalyst-containing coatings can include inorganic coloring pigments and that using an inorganic coloring pigment and inorganic extender pigment to a coating composition can provide improved durability of the resultant coating, [0168]-[0169], [0224].
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Abe in view of Effenberger and Takahashi to include one or more inorganic coloring pigments in the photocatalyst layer of the instant combination as disclosed by Takahashi in order to (1) yield the predictable result of coloring the photocatalyst layer; and (2) improving the durability of the photocatalyst layer.
With regard to the total weight of the photocatalyst, the carbonate, and the inorganic pigment in the photocatalyst layer, the photocatalyst may be included in the photocatalyst dispersion and/or layer in an amount of 5-30 wt% of the total of the photocatalyst and fluororesins in the dispersion and/or layer, supra; and the carbonate is included in the photocatalyst dispersion/layer in an amount of 5%-50% of the total solid matter of the coating composition, supra (i.e. of the total of the photocatalyst, fluororesins and carbonates since that is all the solids in the layer). Thus as each range includes values as low as 5% the range disclosed includes a total weight of the photocatalyst, the carbonate and the inorganic pigment in the photocatalyst layer is as low as 10% with respect to a total weight of the photocatalyst, the carbonate, the inorganic pigment and the fluororesins in the photocatalyst layer.
The amount of inorganic coloring pigments is not disclosed, however its amount will effect at least the color of the layer, and is thus a variable which achieves a recognized result, and it would therefore have been obvious for one of skill in the art to optimize this variable through routine experimentation, by using values including those within the scope of the present claims, so as to produce desired end results. See MPEP § 2144.05 (B). Notably, as coloring is optional, the range is seen to extend for a maximum amount down to minimum required to achieve coloring as low as zero.
It is therefore seen as obvious to have a total weight of the photocatalyst, the carbonate, and the inorganic pigment in the photocatalyst layer with respect to a total weight of the photocatalyst, the carbonate, the inorganic pigment, and the fluororesins in the photocatalyst layer, which overlaps the range claimed.
Since the range(s) disclosed overlaps the range(s) claimed, the range(s) recited in the claim is/are considered prima facie obvious. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the disclosed range(s) that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Note on Inventorship: It is noted that the invention names a sole inventor and the form paragraph at pg.3 of the previous Office Action was unnecessary and has been removed. The Examiner apologies for any confusion.
In response to Applicants’ argument that Effenberger teaches away from the proposed modification of Abe because Effenberger discloses/requires a fluororesin; the Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s argue that Effenberger requires a elastomer in addition to any PTFE and/or FEP, Applicant’s cite the Examples which use an additional elastomer. However, the prior art is not limited only to its examples or preferred embodiments (See MPEP 2123). Further, paragraph [0052] states “preferred elastomers may be Selected from the group consisting of polymers and copolymers of TFE, VF, HFP, fluorovinyl ethers including perfluorovinyl ethers, CTFE, ethylene, and propylene”, where inherently FEP is a copolymer of TFE and HFP, and PFA is a copolymer of TFE and perfluorovinyl ethers; thus Effenberger is seen to specifically define FEP and PFA to be elastomers, i.e. which PTFE may be used as a filler in. Applicants’ do note that Effenberger appears to define FEP and PFA as elastomers in [0052], but argue that interpreting FEP to be an elastomer would be inconsistent with Effenberger’s unambiguous teachings of fillers added to an elastomer, citing [0014]-[0015] and [0022]. However, it is not clear how the teachings of [0014]-[0115] or [0022] are in conflict with this definition. It is also not seen as convincing that other documents, such as those cited by Applicants, may not categorize FEP as an elastomer, at least because Effenberger defines them as such, but also because other documents consider FEP an elastomer as well (see US 2013/0270179 Al [0044] and US 3,520,803, C11/L19-24). Thus there does not appear to be a consensus in the art, but as Effenberger defines FEP as an elastomer [0052], it is interpreted that FEP is an elastomer as defined for purposes of the disclosure of Effenberger. Thus Effenberger is not seen to require a further elastomer as argued by Applicants, and is seen to make obvious mixtures of just PTFE and FEP. For the same reasons, the beneficial effects noted by Effenberger would be expected to apply to the mixture of PTFE and FEP without further elastomer. However, it is further noted that as Applicants do not consider FEP an elastomer, for the purposes of claim interpretation, FEP will not be considered an elastomer as instantly claim.
In response to Applicants’ argument that adding Effenberger’s high-viscosity elastomer to Abe’s photocatalyst layer would cause severe cracking due to melt viscosity mismatches, and thus the combination would render the membrane of Abe unsatisfactory for its intended purpose; the Examiner disagrees. As discussed supra, no elastomer aside from FEP is required, and thus no “high-viscosity elastomer” is seen to be added to Abe’s photocatalyst layer. Further, as no evidence of this has been provided, this amounts to nothing more than Attorney argument, which is not given weight; see MPEP 2145(I) “assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”
In response to Applicants’ argument that it is not proper to combine Effenberger with Abe because the solve different technical problems, MPEP 2141.01(a) states that “a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); OR (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention)”. Effenberger, Abe, and Applicants’ invention are all related as to the same field of endeavor, articles comprising mixtures of PTFE and other fluoropolymers including FEP, they need not be related further to more specific problems addressed by Applicants'.
In response to applicant's argument that the method of the instant disclosure provides an enhanced reduction in cracking due to the claimed photocatalyst ratio and specific fluororesin ratio, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to Applicants’ argument that “there is no teaching or suggestion in either Abe or Effenberger to apply this specific blend as a photocatalyst layer onto an underlying PTFE layer”; the Examiner disagrees. The base substrate of Abe may comprise PTFE, see Abe <<First Embodiment>>, pg. 3/7. Thus this argument is not persuasive.
Other References of Note
The following prior art document which is considered relevant to the instant claims was found in an updated search but is not currently cited in a rejection:
US 2010/0203310 A1 (Hayashi) discloses a fluororesin thin film membrane, which comprises mixture of fluororesins including PTFE mixed with at least one of tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether copolymer (PFA), tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene copolymer (FEP), tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene-perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether copolymer (EPA), and tetrafluoroethylene-ethylene copolymer (ETFE), wherein PTFE is preferably the primary component and is 50% by weight or more, and that using “when the above thermoplastic fluororesin is PFA, and the volume ratio (solid component) thereof is less than 20% with respect to the volume of the mixture of PTFE and PFA, it is preferable since the number of defects is significantly decreased, where defects including cracks; [0021]-[0022], [0025]-[0027].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J MCCULLOUGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773