DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 15-16, 19-23, 26, 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oosaka (2021/0359460) in view of Ebisawa et al. (2023/0291153).
With regard to claim 1, Oosaka teaches, as shown in figures 9A-13A and taught in paragraph 129: “A connector 200 fitted to a mating connector 100, comprising: a plurality of contacts 72 and 71 respectively connected to a plurality of conductors of a board (taught in paragraph 129), wherein the plurality of contacts comprise: one or more first type contacts 72; and one or more second type contacts 71 configured to transmit high frequency signals having a higher frequency than signals transmitted by the first type contacts 72; an insulating housing 90 holding the plurality of contacts; and a shell 80… wherein the shell 80 comprises: a side portion 152 that… surrounds an outer periphery of the housing 111, the side portion 81 and 82 including a first wall portion (lower-left 81 in figure 11) and a second wall portion (upper-right 81 in figure 1) facing the first wall portion in a first direction (lower-left to upper-right in figure 11)… and a shield wall portion 70 formed of a rigid plate that extends in the first direction Y of the shell 80, and that partitions the housing 90 into a first type holding area that holds the first type contacts 72 and a second type holding area that holds the second type contacts 71, wherein the first type holding area and the second type holding area are arranged in a second direction (right-to-left direction in figure 13A) of the shell 80 that intersects the first direction, wherein the shield wall portion 70 has a bottom end portion 77 having a first end located adjacent to the first wall portion of the side portion and a second end located adjacent to the second wall portion of the side portion, wherein the bottom end portion 77 of the shield wall portion 70 extends linearly from the first end to the second end of the bottom end portion 77, and wherein the bottom end portion 77 contacts the board (as taught in paragraph 129 and shown in figures 9A-13A) continuously from the first end to the second end to shield electromagnetic interference between the first type holding area and the second type holding area”.
Oosaka does not teach the shell “formed by metal plate drawing… and electrically connected to a ground conductor of the board”, the side portion seamlessly surrounding the outer periphery of the housing, or “a ground connection portion that is integrally provided with the side portion and extends outwards from the side portion to be connected to the board”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Ebisawa teaches, as shown in figures 6-11 and taught in paragraphs 94 and 118, the shell 150 “formed by metal plate drawing (taught in paragraph 94)… and electrically connected to a ground conductor of the board (taught in paragraph 118)”, the side portion 152 seamlessly surrounding the outer periphery of the housing 111, and “a ground connection portion 154 that is integrally provided with the side portion 152 and extends outwards from the side portion 152 to be connected to the board”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 3, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1 and 6-11: “wherein the shell 150 further comprises a coupling portion 151a and 153 that connects the side portion 152 to the shield wall portion 151, wherein the coupling portion is integrated continuously with an upper end portion (150a, 150b, and 150c), which is an end portion of the side portion 152 in a direction away from the board, in a vertical direction Z which is a fitting direction of the connector 101 with the mating connector 1, and wherein the coupling portion extends from the upper end portion of the side portion 152 to connect the side portion 152 to the shield wall portion 151 integrally”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 5, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 3”, as shown above.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1 and 6-11: “wherein the side portion 152 has a substantially quadrilateral shape when seen in the vertical direction Z so as to surround the outer periphery of the housing 111, and wherein the coupling portion extends continuously from both of two mutually intersecting sides that form the side portion 152 at four corners of the side portion 152”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 6, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 3”, as shown above.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1 and 6-11: “wherein the coupling portion extends from the upper end portion of the side portion 152 to cover a part of the second type holding area (where 153a is located in figure 7), and wherein the coupling portion comprises an opening 153a for exposing the second type contacts 172”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 7, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 6”, as shown above.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1 and 6-11: “wherein a cutout portion (where the opening 153 extends into 151 in figure 7) is formed on the shield wall portion 151 facing the opening 153a”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 8, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 6”, as shown above.
Neither Oosaka nor Ebisawa teach: “wherein the shield wall portion faces the opening directly without a cutout”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the shield wall portion of Ebisawa so that there is no cutout in the shield wall portion in order to increase the surface area of the shield wall portion. Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to claim 9, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1 and 6-11: “wherein the shield wall portion 151 extends in a planar shape”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 10, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 6-11 and taught in paragraphs 94: “wherein the side portion 152 and the ground connection portion 154 of the shell 150 are formed integrally by metal plate drawing using a rectangular tube, wherein the ground connection portion 154 surrounds the side portion 152 and extends outwards from the side portion 152 integrally, wherein the shell 150 is sealed from the board to the side portion 152, and wherein the plurality of conductors 162 and 172 are surrounded by the ground conductor 150”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 15, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 3”, as shown above.
Oosaka also teaches, as shown in figures 9A-13A and taught in paragraphs 129: “wherein the shield wall portion 70 comprises a first shield wall portion (left 70 in figure 13A) and a second shield wall portion (right 70 in figure 13A), wherein the housing 90 is partitioned into the first type holding area, a first second type holding area and a second second type holding area, and the first type holding area is sandwiched between the first second type holding area and the second second type holding area, wherein the first shield wall portion partitions the first second type holding area and the first type holding area in the housing 90, and wherein the second shield wall portion partitions the second second type holding area and the first type holding area in the housing 90”.
With regard to claim 16, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 15”, as shown above.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 6-11 and taught in paragraph 95: “wherein the coupling portion comprises a first coupling portion (upper-right coupling portion in figure 6) and a second coupling portion (lower-left coupling portion in figure 6)that extend parallel to the board, wherein the first shield wall portion (upper-right 151 in figure 6) and the second shield wall portion (lower-left 151 in figure 6) extend in the vertical direction Z, wherein a top end portion of the first shield wall portion is integrated continuously with the first coupling portion, wherein a top end portion of the second shield wall portion is integrated continuously with the second coupling portion, wherein the first shield wall portion has the bottom end portion 151b, and wherein the bottom end portion 151b of the first shield wall portion and a bottom end portion 151b of the second shield wall portion are connected to the ground conductor (taught in paragraph 95)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 19, Oosaka teaches, as shown in figures 9A-13A and taught in paragraphs 129: “A connector device comprising a plug connector 100 and a receptacle connector 200 fitted to the plug connector 100, wherein the receptacle connector 200 comprises: a plurality of contacts 72 and 71 respectively connected to a plurality of conductors of a board (taught in paragraph 129), wherein the plurality of contacts comprise: one or more first type contacts 72; and one or more second type contacts 71 configured to transmit high frequency signals having a higher frequency than signals transmitted by the first type contacts 72; an insulating housing 90 holding the plurality of contacts, and a shell 80… wherein the shell 80 comprises: a side portion 152 that… surrounds an outer periphery of the housing 90, the side portion including a first wall portion (lower-left 81 in figure 11) and a second wall portion (upper-right 81 in figure 1) facing the first wall portion in a first direction (lower-left to upper-right in figure 11)… and a receptacle shield wall portion 70 formed of a rigid plate that extends in the first direction of the shell, and that partitions the housing 90 into a first type holding area that holds the first type contacts 72 and a second type holding area that holds the second type contacts 72, wherein the first type holding area and the second type holding area are arranged in a second direction (left-right direction in figure 13A) of the shell 80 that intersects the first direction, wherein the receptacle shield wall portion 70 has a bottom end portion 77 having a first end located adjacent to the first wall portion of the side portion and a second end located adjacent to the second wall portion of the side portion, wherein the bottom end portion 77 of the receptacle shield wall portion 70 extends linearly from the first end to the second end of the bottom end portion 77, and wherein the bottom end portion 77 contacts the board continuously (as taught in paragraph 129 and shown in figures 9A-13A) from the first end to the second end to shield electromagnetic interference between the first type holding area and the second type holding area, and wherein the plug connector 100 comprises a conductive plug shield wall portion 44 adjacent to the receptacle shield wall portion 70 in a state in which the plug connector 100 and the receptacle connector 200 are fitted to each other”.
Oosaka does not teach the shell “formed by metal plate drawing and electrically connected to a ground conductor of the board, the side portion seamlessly surrounding the outer periphery of the housing, or “a ground connection portion that is integrally provided with the side portion and extends outwards from the side portion to be connected to the board”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Ebisawa teaches, as shown in figures 6-11 and taught in paragraphs 94 and 118, the shell 150 “formed by metal plate drawing (taught in paragraph 94)… and electrically connected to a ground conductor of the board (taught in paragraph 118)”, the side portion 152 seamlessly surrounding the outer periphery of the housing 111, and “a ground connection portion 154 that is integrally provided with the side portion 152 and extends outwards from the side portion 152 to be connected to the board”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 20, Oosaka teaches, as shown in figures 9A-13A and taught in paragraphs 129: “A method for manufacturing a connector 200, comprising… form a side portion 81 and 82… and wherein the side portion includes a first wall portion (lower-left 81 in figure 11) and a second wall portion (upper-right 81 in figure 1) facing the first wall portion in a first direction (lower-left to upper-right in figure 11); preparing an insulating housing 90 and a plurality of contacts 72 and 71, wherein the plurality of contacts are assembled in the housing 90 and comprise one or more first type contacts 72 and one or more second type contacts 71, and wherein the one or more second type contacts 72 are configured to transmit high frequency signals having a higher frequency than signals transmitted by the first type contacts 72… a shield wall member 70… wherein the shield wall portion 70 has a bottom end portion 77… the bottom end portion 77 having a first end located adjacent to the first wall portion of the side portion and a second end located adjacent to the second wall portion of the side portion, the bottom end portion 77 further extending linearly in a horizontal direction from the first end to the second end, wherein of the bottom end portion 77, is level with the lower end portion of the side portion in the vertical direction… and mounting the housing 90 in the shell 80, wherein the shield wall portion 70 partitions the housing into a first type holding area and a second type holding area and contacts the board continuously from the first end to the second end of the bottom end portion (as taught in paragraph 129 and shown in figures 9A-13A) so as to shield electromagnetic interference between the first type holding area and the second type holding area”.
Oosaka does not teach: “performing a drawing process on a metal plate” to form the side portion, “a ground connection portion and an upper surface seamlessly, wherein the ground connection portion extends integrally from a lower end portion of the side portion outwards so as to face a board, wherein the upper surface extends integrally from an upper end portion of the side portion and extends parallel to the ground connection portion… cutting out the upper surface such that opening portions are formed at positions corresponding to the plurality of contacts when the upper surface is seen from a vertical direction, so as to form” the shield wall member integrally “and a coupling portion, wherein the coupling portion connects the side portion to the shield wall member integrally; bending the shield wall member that is a rigid plate, to extend in the vertical direction corresponding to a fitting direction of the connector with a mating connector so as to form a shield wall portion”, the bottom end portion “opposite to the coupling portion… and wherein a shell of the connector comprises the side portion, the ground connection portion, the shield wall portion and the coupling portion”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Ebisawa teaches, as shown in figures 6-11 and taught in paragraphs 94 and 118: “performing a drawing process on a metal plate (taught in paragraph 94)” to form the side portion 152, “a ground connection portion 154 and an upper surface 153 seamlessly, wherein the ground connection portion 154 extends integrally from a lower end portion of the side portion 152 outwards so as to face a board (taught in paragraph 118), wherein the upper surface 153 extends integrally from an upper end portion of the side portion 152 and extends parallel to the ground connection portion 154… cutting out the upper surface 153 such that opening portions (153a and portions between portions 151 in figure 7) are formed at positions corresponding to the plurality of contacts 162 and 172 when the upper surface 153 is seen from a vertical direction Z, so as to form” the shield wall member 151 integrally “and a coupling portion 151a and 153, wherein the coupling portion connects the side portion 152 to the shield wall member 151 integrally; bending the shield wall member 151 that is a rigid plate, to extend in the vertical direction Z corresponding to a fitting direction of the connector 101 with a mating connector 1 so as to form a shield wall portion 151”, the bottom end portion 151b “opposite to the coupling portion… and wherein a shell 150 of the connector 101 comprises the side portion 152, the ground connection portion 154, the shield wall portion 151 and the coupling portion”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 21, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The method according to claim 20”, as shown above.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1 and 6-11: “wherein the side portion 152 includes a first wall portion (upper-left 150a in figure 7) and a second wall portion (lower-right 150a in figure 7) facing the first wall portion in a facing direction Y, wherein a linear edge of the upper surface 153 forming one of the opening portions cut out of the upper surface 153 is configured to form the bottom end portion of the shield wall portion 151 after bending the shield wall member 151, wherein the linear edge has a first end located adjacent to the first wall portion and a second end located adjacent to the second wall portion, and wherein the linear edge extends linearly from the first end to the second end, in the facing direction Y”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 22, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The method according to claim 21”, as shown above.
Oosaka also teaches, as shown in figures 9A-13A, the bottom end portion 77 extends “continuously from the first end to the second end”.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1 and 6-11: “wherein after bending the shield wall member 151, the bottom end portion 151b of the shield wall portion, is level with the lower end portion of the side portion 152”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 23, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Oosaka also teaches, as shown in figure 9A-13A and taught in paragraph 129: “wherein the bottom end portion 77 contacts the ground conductor of the board (taught in paragraph 129), at a center point of the shell 80 in the first direction”.
With regard to claim 26, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector device according to claim 19”, as shown above.
Oosaka also teaches, as shown in figure 9A-13A and taught in paragraph 129: “wherein the bottom end portion 77 of the receptacle shield wall portion 70 contacts the ground conductor of the board (taught in paragraph 129) at a center point of the shell 80 in the first direction”.
With regard to claim 29, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1 and 6-11: “wherein the shield wall portion 151 has a substantially rectangular shape to minimize a leakage of noise between the first type holding area and the second type holding area”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 30, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Oosaka also teaches, as shown in figure 9A-13A: “the bottom end portion 77 that extends linearly from the first end to the second end of the bottom end portion 77”.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1 and 6-11: “wherein the shield wall portion 151 extends vertically to the bottom end portion 151b”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 31, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The connector device according to claim 19”, as shown above.
Oosaka also teaches, as shown in figure 9A-13A: “and wherein the receptacle shield wall portion 70 extends vertically to the bottom end portion 77 that extends from the first end to the second end of the bottom end portion 77”.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1 and 6-11: “wherein the receptacle shield wall portion 151 has a substantially rectangular shape to minimize a leakage of noise between the first type holding area and the second type holding area”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
With regard to claim 32, Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa teaches: “The method according to claim 20”, as shown above.
Oosaka also teaches, as shown in figure 9A-13A: “the bottom end portion 77 that extends linearly from the first end to the second end of the bottom end portion 77”.
Ebisawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1 and 6-11: “wherein after bending the shield wall member 151, the shield wall portion 151 extends vertically to the bottom end portion 151b… and has a substantially rectangular shape to minimize leakage of noise between the first type holding area and the second type holding area”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ebisawa with the invention of Oosaka as modified by Ebisawa in order to provide effective shielding (Ebisawa, paragraph 125).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831