DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/16/25. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 15-16, and 23-25 objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, a period should be added at the end of the claim. Claims 3, 5-10, 15-16, and 23-25 include all the limitations of claim 1 and are objected to for the same reasons. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-22, 24-25, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With regard to claims 21, 24, and 27, it is unclear how the opening portion can be cut out of the upper surface and have a linear edge that forms the bottom end of the shield wall portion. For prior art analysis, any continuous shield wall that has an opening and a bottom portion of a shield wall will be considered to meet this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 15-16, and 19-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amemori et al. (2021/0175649) in view of Zhang et al. (2021/0005990) and Schultz (4,119,359).
With regard to claim 1, Amemori teaches, as shown in figures 1-13 and taught in paragraphs 6 and 35: “A connector 10 fitted to a mating connector 20, comprising: a plurality of contacts 12 and 15 respectively connected to a plurality of conductors of a board 3, wherein the plurality of contacts comprise: one or more first type contacts 12; and one or more second type contacts 15 configured to transmit high frequency signals having a higher frequency than signals transmitted by the first type contacts 12; an insulating housing 11 holding the plurality of contacts; and a shell 16… electrically connected to a ground conductor 3a of the board 3, wherein the shell 16 comprises: a side portion 55 and 57 that… surrounds an outer periphery of the housing 11; a ground connection portion (bottom portions of 55 and 57 in figure 13) that is integrally provided with the side portion and… to be connected to the board 4; and a shield wall portion 33 that extends in a first direction Y of the shell 16, and that partitions the housing 11 into a first type holding area (where contacts 12 are located in figure 1) that holds the first type contacts 12 and a second type holding area (where 15 are held in figure 2) that holds the second type contacts 15, wherein the first type holding area and the second type holding area are arranged in in a second direction X of the shell 16 that intersects the first direction Y, and wherein the shield wall portion 33 has a bottom end portion 33a contacting the board 3”.
Amemori does not teach the shell seamlessly surrounding the housing or the ground connection portion “extends outwards from the side portion”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Zhang teaches, as shown in figures 1-3 and taught in paragraph 34, the shell 03 seamlessly surrounding the housing 01 and the ground connection portion 031 “extends outwards from the side portion 032”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang with the invention of Amemori in order to provide a good anti-noise effect (Zhang, paragraph 34).
Neither Amemori nor Zhang teach the bottom end portion contacting the board “at a center point of the shell in the first direction” or the shell “formed by metal plate drawing”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the shield wall portion so the bottom end portion is located in a center point of the shell in the first direction since doing so would allow the shield wall portion to be grounded to different areas of the circuit board. Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use drawing to form the shell since drawing is a well-known method for forming metal shell portions (see Schultz (4,119,359), claim 10) and would enable easy forming of the shell.
With regard to claim 3, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches, as shown in figures 1-13: “wherein the shell 16 further comprises a coupling portion 17 and 58 that connects the side portion to the shield wall portion 33, wherein the coupling portion is integrated continuously with an upper end portion (top of 55 and 57 in figure 6), which is an end portion of the side portion in a direction away from the board 3, in a vertical direction Z which is a fitting direction of the connector 10 with the mating connector 20, and wherein the coupling portion extends from the upper end portion of the side portion to connect the side portion to the shield wall portion 33 integrally”.
With regard to claim 5, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 3”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches as shown in figures 1-13: “wherein the side portion has a substantially quadrilateral shape when seen in the vertical direction so as to surround the outer periphery of the housing 11, and wherein the coupling portion extends continuously from both of two mutually intersecting sides that form the side portion at four corners of the side portion”.
With regard to claim 6, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 3”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches, as shown in figures 1-13: “wherein the coupling portion 58 extends from the upper end portion of the side portion to cover a part of the second type holding area, and wherein the coupling portion comprises an opening for exposing the second type contacts 15”.
With regard to claim 7, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 6”, as shown above.
That embodiment of Amemori does not teach: “wherein a cutout portion is formed on the shield wall portion facing the opening”. However, in the embodiment shown in figure 22 teaches: “wherein a cutout portion 39 is formed on the shield wall portion 33 facing the opening”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of this embodiment of Amemori with the invention of Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz in order to provide electromagnetic shielding (Zhang, paragraph 103).
With regard to claim 8, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 6”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches as shown in figures 1-13: “wherein the shield wall portion 33 faces the opening directly without a cutout”.
With regard to claim 9, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches, as shown in figures 1-13: “wherein the shield wall portion 33 extends in a planar shape (figure 6 shows 33 in a planar shape)”.
With regard to claim 10, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Zhang teaches, as shown in figures 1-3 and taught in paragraph 34: “wherein the side portion and the ground connection portion of the shell 03 are formed integrally… wherein the ground connection portion 031 surrounds the side portion 032 and extends outwards from the side portion 032 integrally, wherein the shell 03 is sealed from the board to the side portion, and wherein the plurality of conductors 01 are surrounded by the ground conductor 03”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang with the invention of Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz in order to provide a good anti-noise effect (Zhang, paragraph 34).
Neither Amemori nor Zhang and Schultz teach the metal plate drawing “using a rectangular tube”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the drawing tool to be a rectangular tube in order to form the shell into a rectangular shape. Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to claim 15, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 3”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches, as shown in figures 1-13: “wherein the shield wall portion 33 comprises a first shield wall portion (top 33 in figure 5) and a second shield wall portion (bottom 33 in figure 5), wherein the housing 11 is partitioned into the first type holding area, a first second type holding area and a second second type holding area, and the first type holding area is sandwiched between the first second type holding area and the second second type holding area, wherein the first shield wall portion partitions the first second type holding area and the first type holding area in the housing 11, and wherein the second shield wall portion partitions the second second type holding area and the first type holding area in the housing 11”.
With regard to claim 16, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 15”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches, as shown in figures 1-18 and taught in paragraph 94: “wherein the coupling portion comprises a first coupling portion (upper-right 58 in figure 6) and a second coupling portion (lower-left 58 in figure 6) that extend parallel to the board 3, wherein the first shield wall portion 33 and the second shield wall portion 33 extend in the vertical direction Z, wherein a top end portion of the first shield wall portion 33 is integrated continuously with the first coupling portion, wherein a top end portion of the second shield wall portion 33 are integrated continuously with the second coupling portion, wherein the first shield wall portion 33 has the bottom end portion 33a, wherein the bottom end portion 33a of the first shield wall portion 33 and the bottom end portion 33a of the second shield wall portion 33 are connected to the ground conductor 3a”.
With regard to claim 19, Amemori teaches, as shown in figures 1-13 and taught in paragraphs 6 and 35: “A connector device comprising a plug connector 20 and a receptacle connector 10 fitted to the plug connector 20, wherein the receptacle connector 10 comprises: a plurality of contacts 12 and 15 respectively connected to a plurality of conductors of a board 3, wherein the plurality of contacts comprise: one or more first type contacts 12; and one or more second type contacts 15 configured to transmit high frequency signals having a higher frequency than signals transmitted by the first type contacts 12; an insulating housing 11 holding the plurality of contacts, and a shell 16… electrically connected to a ground conductor 3a of the board 3, wherein the shell 16 comprises: a side portion 55 that… surrounds an outer periphery of the housing 11; a ground connection portion (bottom portions of 55 and 57 in figure 13) that is integrally provided with the side portion 55 and… to be connected to the board 3; and a receptacle shield wall portion 33 that extends in a first direction Y of the shell 16, and that partitions the housing 11 into a first type holding area (where contacts 12 are located in figure 1) that holds the first type contacts 12 and a second type holding area (where 15 are held in figure 2) that holds the second type contacts 15, wherein the first type holding area and the second type holding area are arranged in in a second direction X of the shell 16 that intersects the first direction Y, and wherein the receptacle shield wall portion 33 has a bottom end portion 33a contacting the board 3… and wherein the plug connector 20 comprises a conductive plug shield wall portion 43 adjacent to the receptacle shield wall portion 33 in a state in which the plug connector 20 and the receptacle connector 10 are fitted to each other”.
Amemori does not teach the shell seamlessly surrounding the housing or the ground connection portion “extends outwards from the side portion”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Zhang teaches, as shown in figures 1-3 and taught in paragraph 34, the shell 03 seamlessly surrounding the housing 01 and the ground connection portion 031 “extends outwards from the side portion 032”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang with the invention of Amemori in order to provide a good anti-noise effect (Zhang, paragraph 34).
Neither Amemori nor Zhang teach the bottom end portion contacting the board “at a center point of the shell in the first direction” or the shell “formed by metal plate drawing”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the shield wall portion so the bottom end portion is located in a center point of the shell in the first direction since doing so would allow the shield wall portion to be grounded to different areas of the circuit board. Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use drawing to form the shell since drawing is a well-known method for forming metal shell portions (see Schultz (4,119,359), claim 10) and would enable easy forming of the shell.
With regard to claim 20, Amemori teaches, as shown in figures 1-13 and taught in paragraphs 6 and 35: “A method for manufacturing a connector 10, comprising: performing a… process on a metal plate to form a side portion 55, a ground connection portion bottom portions of 55 and 57 in figure 13) and an upper surface (top surface of 16 in figure 3)… wherein the ground connection portion extends integrally from a lower end portion of the side portion 55 outwards so as to face a board 3, and wherein the upper surface extends integrally from an upper end portion of the side portion 55 and extends parallel to the ground connection portion; preparing an insulating housing 11 and a plurality of contacts 12 and 15, wherein the plurality of contacts are assembled in the housing 11 and comprise one or more first type contacts 12 and one or more second type contacts 15, and wherein the one or more second type contacts 15 are configured to transmit high frequency signals having a higher frequency than signals transmitted by the first type contacts 12; cutting out the upper surface such that opening portions are formed at positions corresponding to the plurality of contacts when the upper surface is seen from a vertical direction Z, so as to form a shield wall member 33 and a coupling portion 17 and 58, wherein the coupling portion connects the side portion 55 to the shield wall member 33 integrally; bending the shield wall member 33 to extend in the vertical direction Z corresponding to a fitting direction Z of the connector 10 with a mating connector 20 so as to form a shield wall portion 33, wherein the shield wall portion 33 has a bottom end portion (bottom 33 in figure 5) opposite to the coupling portion, that extends in a horizontal direction Y… and wherein a shell 16 of the connector 10 comprises the side portion 55, the ground connection portion, the shield wall portion 33 and the coupling portion; and mounting the housing 11 in the shell 16 so as to partition the housing 11 into a first type holding area (where contacts 12 are located in figure 1) and a second type holding area (where 15 are held in figure 2) by the shield wall portion 33”.
Amemori does not teach the shell seamlessly surrounding the housing.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Zhang teaches, as shown in figures 1-3 and taught in paragraph 34, the shell 03 seamlessly surrounding the housing 01. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang with the invention of Amemori in order to provide a good anti-noise effect (Zhang, paragraph 34).
Neither Amemori nor Zhang teach the bottom end portion contacting the board “at a center point of the shell in the first direction” or the shell “formed by metal plate drawing”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the shield wall portion so the bottom end portion is located in a center point of the shell in the first direction since doing so would allow the shield wall portion to be grounded to different areas of the circuit board. Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use drawing to form the shell since drawing is a well-known method for forming metal shell portions (see Schultz (4,119,359), claim 10) and would enable easy forming of the shell.
With regard to claim 21, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The method according to claim 20”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches, as shown in figures 1-13: “wherein the side portion 55 includes a first wall portion and a second wall portion facing the first wall portion in a facing direction Y, wherein one of the opening portions cut out of the upper surface includes a linear edge 33a configured to form the bottom end portion of the shield wall portion 33, wherein the linear edge 33a has a first end located adjacent to the first wall portion and a second end located adjacent to the second wall portion”.
Neither Amemori nor Zhang nor Schultz teach: “and wherein the linear edge extends linearly from the first end to the second end, in the facing direction”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reshape the shield wall portion so the linear edge extends from one side wall to the other in order to provide more shielding between the first and second contact types. Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to claim 22, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The method according to claim 21”, as shown above.
Amemori as shown in figures 1-13 and as modified above also teaches: “wherein after bending the shield wall member 33, the bottom end portion 33a of the shield wall portion, is level with the lower end portion of the side portion 55, continuously from the first end to the second end”.
With regard to claim 23, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches, as shown in figures 1-18, taught in paragraph 94, and as modified above: “wherein the bottom end portion 33a contacts the ground conductor of the board, at the center point of the shell 16 in the first direction Y”.
With regard to claim 24, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches, as shown in figures 1-13: “wherein the side portion 55 includes a first wall portion and a second wall portion facing the first wall portion in a facing direction Y, wherein one of the opening portions cut out of the upper surface includes a linear edge 33a configured to form the bottom end portion of the shield wall portion 33, wherein the linear edge 33a has a first end located adjacent to the first wall portion and a second end located adjacent to the second wall portion”.
Neither Amemori nor Zhang nor Schultz teach: “and wherein the linear edge extends linearly from the first end to the second end, in the facing direction”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reshape the shield wall portion so the linear edge extends from one side wall to the other in order to provide more shielding between the first and second contact types. Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to claim 25, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 24”, as shown above.
Amemori as shown in figures 1-13 and as modified above also teaches: “wherein the bottom end portion 33a of the shield wall portion 33 extends linearly from the first end to the second end, in the first direction Y”.
With regard to claim 26, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 19”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches, as shown in figures 1-18, taught in paragraph 94, and as modified above: “wherein the bottom end portion 33a of the receptacle shield wall portion 33 contacts the ground conductor 3a of the board 3, at the center point of the shell 16 in the first direction Y”.
With regard to claim 27, Amemori as modified by Zhang and Schultz teaches: “The connector according to claim 19”, as shown above.
Amemori also teaches, as shown in figures 1-13: “wherein the side portion 55 includes a first wall portion and a second wall portion facing the first wall portion in a facing direction Y, wherein one of the opening portions cut out of the upper surface includes a linear edge 33a configured to form the bottom end portion of the shield wall portion 33, wherein the linear edge 33a has a first end located adjacent to the first wall portion and a second end located adjacent to the second wall portion”.
Neither Amemori nor Zhang nor Schultz teach: “and wherein the linear edge extends linearly from the first end to the second end, in the facing direction”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reshape the shield wall portion so the linear edge extends from one side wall to the other in order to provide more shielding between the first and second contact types. Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to claims 1, 19, and 20, the Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach “the center point of the bottom end portion is level with the lower end portion of the side portion. However, this is an obvious modification of the references and would be known to provide shielding between the contacts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831