DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 4 February 2026.
Claims 1-18 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-4, 7-11 and 13-17 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 26 May 2026, with respect to the Objection to the Specification, specifically the Title have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objection to the Specification, specifically the Title has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 26 May 2026, with respect to the Objection to Claims 3-4, 9-10 and 15-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objection to Claims 3-4, 9-10 and 15-16 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 4 February 2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 112 Rejection of Claims 5, 11 and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 112 Rejection of Claims 5, 11 and 17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 4 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Regarding Claims 1, 7 and 13, the Applicant argues:
(1) Claim 1 recites a method for beam failure recovery. In Claim 1, a terminal device detects a beam failure and determines a new beam from candidate beams. The terminal device then determines a parameter of a spatial transmission filter based on the new beam and sends a beam failure recovery request to an access network device based on the parameter of the spatial transmission filter. After receiving a beam failure recovery request response from the access network device, the terminal device sets the new beam as a new common beam.
In Claim 1, the terminal device determines a new beam after detecting a beam failure, after “conferring” with the access network device, the terminal device sets the new beam as the new common beam.
The anticipatory reference, Guo, does not disclose the communication method of claim 1. The office cited Fig. 2 of Guo and related description for disclosing the claimed method. See Office Action, page 6 – page 8. Fig. 2 of Guo is reproduced below to illustrate the differences between Guo and the claimed method.
In contrast, claim 1 requires that the terminal device determined the new beam as the new common beam after the terminal device receives a beam failure recovery request response from the access network device.
In one embodiment, when receiving the beam failure recovery request response from the access network device through the first spatial transmission filter, the terminal device may learn that the access network device has acknowledged that the currently activated first TCI becomes invalid, and the access network device allows activation of the TCI associated with q_new. See Specification, ¶[00182].
In another embodiment, the received beam failure recovery request responded from the access network device may include a second TCL to be used as the common TCL. See Specification, ¶[00190].
In other words, the terminal device in claim 1 “confers” with the access network device before selecting or determining the common new beam for downlink or uplink transmission. See Claims 3, 4, and 5.
In short, Guo does not anticipate claim 1 because Guo does not disclose each and every claim limitation as recited in claim 1 and as arranged in claim 1 [Remarks, pages 8-11].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument.
Guo discloses a communication method performed by a terminal device or a chip of a terminal device, comprising:
detecting (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 6, lines 33-36; detecting/detecting (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)), a beam failure (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; a beam failure/beam failure (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)), and determining a new beam from candidate beams (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; and determining a new beam from candidate beams/selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 20-29 and page 6, lines 1-2));
determining a parameter of a spatial transmission filter based on the new beam (see Figure 2 and page 4, lines 43-51; determining a parameter of a spatial transmission filter/(the antenna port QCL parameters) based on the new beam/selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15));
sending a beam failure recovery request to an access network device based on the parameter of the spatial transmission filter (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; sending/sends a beam failure recovery request/(beam failure recovery request message) to an access network device/(network device) based on the parameter of the spatial transmission filter/antenna port QCL parameters (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)); and
after receiving a beam failure recovery request response from the access network device (see Figure 2 and page 4, lines 19-33; after receiving/(gNB transmits) a beam failure recovery request response/(beam failure recovery response) from the access network device/gNB (provisional 63/078,548 page 3, lines 22-25)), determining (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; determining/In act 220, after the beam failure recovery request message is received by the network device and before the terminal device receives indication of a TCI state for common beam operation from the network device, the terminal device performs PDCCH reception and PDSCH reception on the cell by using same antenna port QCL parameters as the ones associated with the selected candidate beam. (provisional 63/078,548 page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 26-29-page 6, lines 1-2)), the new beam as a new common beam (see page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 42-44 and page 10, lines 43-46; the new beam as a new common beam/the network device performs PDCCH transmission and PDSCH transmission on the cell by using the selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)).
In other words, page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36 of Guo discloses in step 220 of Figure, after the beam failure recovery request message is received by the network device and before the terminal device receives indication of a TCI state for common beam operation from the network device, the terminal device performs PDCCH reception and PDSCH reception on the cell by using same antenna port QCL parameters as the ones associated with the selected candidate beam.
Applicant argues “In Claim 1, the terminal device determines a new beam after detecting a beam failure, after “conferring” with the access network device, the terminal device sets the new beam as the new common beam”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the terminal device determines a new beam after detecting a beam failure, after “conferring” with the access network device) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al (WO 2022/057445 A1), hereinafter Guo.
Regarding Claim 1, Guo discloses a communication method performed by a terminal device or a chip of a terminal device, comprising:
detecting (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 6, lines 33-36; detecting/detecting (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)), a beam failure (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; a beam failure/beam failure (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)), and determining a new beam from candidate beams (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; and determining a new beam from candidate beams/selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 20-29 and page 6, lines 1-2));
determining a parameter of a spatial transmission filter based on the new beam (see Figure 2 and page 4, lines 43-51; determining a parameter of a spatial transmission filter/(the antenna port QCL parameters) based on the new beam/selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15));
sending a beam failure recovery request to an access network device based on the parameter of the spatial transmission filter (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; sending/sends a beam failure recovery request/(beam failure recovery request message) to an access network device/(network device) based on the parameter of the spatial transmission filter/antenna port QCL parameters (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)); and
after receiving a beam failure recovery request response from the access network device (see Figure 2 and page 4, lines 19-33; after receiving/(gNB transmits) a beam failure recovery request response/(beam failure recovery response) from the access network device/gNB (provisional 63/078,548 page 3, lines 22-25)), determining (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; determining/In act 220, after the beam failure recovery request message is received by the network device and before the terminal device receives indication of a TCI state for common beam operation from the network device, the terminal device performs PDCCH reception and PDSCH reception on the cell by using same antenna port QCL parameters as the ones associated with the selected candidate beam. (provisional 63/078,548 page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 26-29-page 6, lines 1-2)), the new beam as a new common beam (see page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 42-44 and page 10, lines 43-46; the new beam as a new common beam/the network device performs PDCCH transmission and PDSCH transmission on the cell by using the selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)).
Regarding Claim 2, Guo discloses the method, further comprising determining an original common beam for transmission (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; determining an original common beam/(common beam) for transmission/transmission (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7)), wherein the determination of the original common beam for transmission (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; wherein the determination of the original common beam/(common beam) for transmission/transmission (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7)) comprises:
receiving (see page 6, lines 27-37; receiving/signaled (see provisional 63/078,548, page 6, lines 18-29-page 6, lines 1-2)), a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) from the access network device (see page 4, lines 34-40 and line 46 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; a transmission configuration indicator (TCI)/TCI from the access network device/network device (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29)), wherein the transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indicates the original common beam (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; wherein the transmission configuration indicator (TCI)/TCI indicates the original common beam/common beam ((see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29));
performing transmission of one or more uplink signals/channels using the original common beam (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 38-38; performing transmission/transmission of one or more uplink signals/channels/(PUSCH or PUCCH transmission) using the original common beam/common beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29)).
Regarding Claim 3, Guo discloses the method, wherein the new common beam is used for transmitting one or more uplink signals/channels (see page 5, lines 35-39; wherein that the new common beam/(common beam) is used for transmitting/transmission one or more uplink signals/channels/the uplink transmission includes at least one of: PUSCH transmission, PUCCH transmission (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)).
Regarding Claim 4, Guo discloses the method, wherein:
the original common beam is used for receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and a downlink reference signal (CSI-RS) (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; the original common beam/(common beam) is used for receiving/receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)/PDCCH, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)/PDSCH, and a downlink reference signal (CSI-RS)/CSI-RS (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)), and for sending a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and a sounding reference signal (SRS) (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; and for sending a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)/PUCCH, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/PUSCH, and a sounding reference signal (SRS)/SRS transmission (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)); and
the new common beam is used for sending the PUCCH, the PUSCH, and the sounding reference signal (SRS) (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; the new common beam/(common beam) is used for sending/(transmitting or transmission) the PUCCH/(PUCCH transmission), the PUSCH/PUSCH, and the sounding reference signal (SRS)/SRS transmission (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)); or
the new common beam is used for receiving the PDCCH, the PDSCH, and the downlink reference signal (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; the new common beam is used for receiving the PDCCH/PDCCH, the PDSCH/PDSCH, and the downlink reference signal/CSI-RS reception (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)).
Regarding Claim 5, Guo discloses the method, wherein the parameter of the spatial transmission filter (see Figure 2 and page 4, lines 43-51; wherein the parameter of a spatial transmission filter/(the antenna port QCL parameters (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)) comprises:
a quasi co-location (QCL) parameter of a same antenna port used by the terminal device for receiving a downlink channel and receiving the new beam (see page 5, line 48-page 6, line 18; a quasi co-location (QCL) parameter/(quasi co-location (QCL)) of a same antenna port/(DM-RS or CSI-RS ports) used by the terminal device/UE for receiving a downlink channel/PDSCH and receiving the new beam/common beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 20-28 and page 5, lines 1-10)), and a QCL parameter of a same antenna port used by the terminal device for sending an uplink channel and sending the new beam (see page 5, line 48-page 6, line 18; and a QCL parameter/(QCL-TypeD) of a same antenna port/CSI-RS used by the terminal device/UE for sending/transmission an uplink channel/(PUSCH or PUCCH) and sending the new beam/One reference signal providing both ‘QCL-ТypeD’ of PDSCH, PDCCH or CSI-RS resource and a spatial filter and a path loss reference signal for PUSCH, PUCCH or the SRS resource (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 20-28 and page 5, lines 1-10)).
Regarding Claim 6, Guo discloses the method, wherein the beam failure recovery request is carried in a physical random access channel (PRACH) (see page 4, lines 19-33; wherein the beam failure recovery request/(beam failure recovery request) is carried in/(in a given) a physical random access channel (PRACH)/RACH (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)).
Regarding Claim 7, Guo discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor communicably coupled to one or more memories storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations (see Figure 6 and page 14, lines 1-22; at least one processor/(processor 630) communicably coupled to one or more memories/(memory 610) storing/store programming instructions/instructions for execution/executable by the at least one processor/(processor 630) to perform/perform operations/functions or operations (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29)) comprising:
detecting (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; detecting/detecting (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)), a beam failure (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; a beam failure/beam failure (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)), and determining a new beam from candidate beams (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; and determining a new beam from candidate beams/selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 20-29 and page 6, lines 1-2));
determining a parameter of a spatial transmission filter based on the new beam (see Figure 2 and page 4, lines 43-51; determining a parameter of a spatial transmission filter/(the antenna port QCL parameters) based on the new beam/selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15));
sending a beam failure recovery request to an access network device based on the parameter of the spatial transmission filter (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; sending/sends a beam failure recovery request/(beam failure recovery request message) to an access network device/(network device) based on the parameter of the spatial transmission filter/antenna port QCL parameters (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)); and
after receiving a beam failure recovery request response from the access network device (see Figure 2 and page 4, lines 19-33; after receiving/(gNB transmits) a beam failure recovery request response/beam failure recovery response from the access network device/gNB (provisional 63/078,548 page 3, lines 22-25)), determining (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; determining/In act 220, after the beam failure recovery request message is received by the network device and before the terminal device receives indication of a TCI state for common beam operation from the network device, the terminal device performs PDCCH reception and PDSCH reception on the cell by using same antenna port QCL parameters as the ones associated with the selected candidate beam (provisional 63/078,548 page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 26-29-page 6, lines 1-2)), the new beam as a new common beam (see page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 42-44 and page 10, lines 43-46; the new beam as a new common beam/the network device performs PDCCH transmission and PDSCH transmission on the cell by using the selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)).
Regarding Claim 8, Guo discloses the communication apparatus, wherein the operations further comprise comprising:
receiving (see page 6, lines 27-37; receiving/signaled (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7)), a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) from the access network device (see page 4, lines 34-40 and line 46 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; a transmission configuration indicator (TCI)/TCI from the access network device/network device (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7)), wherein the transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indicates an original common beam (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; wherein the transmission configuration indicator (TCI)/TCI indicates an original common beam/common beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29));
performing transmission of one or more uplink signals/channels using the original common beam (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 38-38; performing transmission/transmission of one or more uplink signals/channels/(PUSCH or PUCCH transmission) using the original common beam/common beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29)).
Regarding Claim 9, Guo discloses the communication apparatus, wherein the new common beam is used for transmitting one or more uplink or downlink signals/channels (see page 5, lines 35-39; wherein that the new common beam/(common beam) is used for transmitting/transmission one or more uplink signals/channels/the uplink transmission includes at least one of: PUSCH transmission, PUCCH transmission (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)).
Regarding Claim 10, Guo discloses the communication apparatus, wherein:
the original common beam is used for receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and a downlink reference signal (CSI-RS) (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; the original common beam/(common beam) is used for receiving/receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)/PDCCH, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)/PDSCH, and a downlink reference signal (CSI-RS)/CSI-RS (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)), and sending a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and a sounding reference signal (SRS) (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; and for sending a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)/PUCCH, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/PUSCH, and a sounding reference signal (SRS)/SRS transmission (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)); and
the new common beam is used for sending the PUCCH, the PUSCH, and the sounding reference signal (SRS) (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; the new common beam/(common beam) is used for sending/(transmitting or transmission) the PUCCH/(PUCCH transmission), the PUSCH/PUSCH, and the sounding reference signal (SRS)/SRS transmission (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)); or
the new common beam is used for receiving the PDCCH, the PDSCH, and the downlink reference signal (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; the new common beam is used for receiving the PDCCH/PDCCH, the PDSCH/PDSCH, and the downlink reference signal/CSI-RS reception (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)).
Regarding Claim 11, Guo discloses the communication apparatus, wherein the parameter of the spatial transmission filter comprises:
a QCL parameter of a same antenna port used by the communication apparatus for receiving a downlink channel and receiving the new beam (see page 5, line 48-page 6, line 18; a QCL parameter/(quasi co-location (QCL)) of a same antenna port/(DM-RS or CSI-RS ports) used by the communication apparatus/UE for receiving a downlink channel/PDSCH and receiving the new beam/common beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 20-28 and page 5, lines 1-10)), and
a QCL parameter of a same antenna port used by the communication apparatus for sending an uplink channel and sending the new beam (see page 5, line 48-page 6, line 18; and a QCL parameter/(QCL-TypeD) of a same antenna port/CSI-RS used by the communication apparatus/UE for sending/transmission an uplink channel/(PUSCH or PUCCH) and sending the new beam/One reference signal providing both ‘QCL-ТypeD’ of PDSCH, PDCCH or CSI-RS resource and a spatial filter and a path loss reference signal for PUSCH, PUCCH or the SRS resource (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 20-28 and page 5, lines 1-10)).
Regarding Claim 12, Guo discloses the communication apparatus, wherein the beam failure recovery request is carried in a physical random access channel (PRACH) (see page 4, lines 19-33; wherein the beam failure recovery request/(beam failure recovery request) is carried in/(in a given) a physical random access channel (PRACH)/RACH (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)).
Regarding Claim 13, Guo discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Figure 6 and page 14, lines 25-31; a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium/storage medium (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)), storing a computer-executable program (see Figure 6 and page 14, lines 1-17; storing/store a computer-executable/execute program/instructions (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)), which when executed by a processor (see Figure 6 and page 14, lines 25-31; which when executed/executable by a processor/processor 630), causes the processor (see Figure 6 and page 14, lines 25-31; causes the processor/processor 630 (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)) to implement operations including:
detecting (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; detecting/detecting (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)), a beam failure (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; a beam failure/beam failure (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)), and determining a new beam from candidate beams (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; and determining a new beam from candidate beams/selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 20-29 and page 6, lines 1-2));
determining a parameter of a spatial transmission filter based on the new beam (see Figure 2 and page 4, lines 43-51; determining a parameter of a spatial transmission filter/(the antenna port QCL parameters) based on the new beam/selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15));
sending a beam failure recovery request to an access network device based on the parameter of the spatial transmission filter (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; sending/sends a beam failure recovery request/(beam failure recovery request message) to an access network device/(network device) based on the parameter of the spatial transmission filter/antenna port QCL parameters (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)); and
after receiving a beam failure recovery request response (see Figure 2 and page 4, lines 19-33; after receiving/(gNB transmits) a beam failure recovery request response/beam failure recovery response (provisional 63/078,548 page 3, lines 22-25)), determining (see Figure 2, step 210 and page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 33-36; determining/In act 220, after the beam failure recovery request message is received by the network device and before the terminal device receives indication of a TCI state for common beam operation from the network device, the terminal device performs PDCCH reception and PDSCH reception on the cell by using same antenna port QCL parameters as the ones associated with the selected candidate beam. (provisional 63/078,548 page 4, lines 10-15 and page 5, lines 26-29-page 6, lines 1-2)), by the terminal device (see Figure 2 and page 4, lines 30-33 and 43-51 and page 6, lines 42-44 and page 7, lines 3-5 and page 7, lines 11-13 and page 10, lines 43-46; by the terminal device/terminal device (see provisional 63/078,548, page 5, lines 27-29 and page 6, lines 1-2)), the new beam as a new common beam (see page 4, lines 43-51 and page 6, lines 42-44 and page 10, lines 43-46; the new beam as a new common beam/the network device performs PDCCH transmission and PDSCH transmission on the cell by using the selected candidate beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)).
Regarding Claim 14, Guo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein operations further comprising:
receiving (see page 6, lines 27-37; receiving/signaled (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29)), a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) from the access network device (see page 4, lines 34-40 and line 46 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; a transmission configuration indicator (TCI)/TCI from the access network device/network device (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29)), wherein the transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indicates the original common beam (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; wherein the transmission configuration indicator (TCI)/TCI indicates the original common beam/common beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29));
performing transmission of one or more uplink and/or downlink signals/channels using the original common beam (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 38-38; performing transmission/transmission of one or more uplink signals/channels/(PUSCH or PUCCH transmission) using the original common beam/common beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29)).
Regarding Claim 15, Guo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the new common beam is used for transmitting one or more uplink or downlink signals/channels (see page 5, lines 35-39; wherein the new common beam/(common beam) is used for transmitting/transmission one or more uplink signals/channels/the uplink transmission includes at least one of: PUSCH transmission, PUCCH transmission (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)).
Regarding Claim 16, Guo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein:
an original common beam is used for receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and a downlink reference signal (CSI-RS) (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; an original common beam/(common beam) is used for receiving/receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)/PDCCH, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)/PDSCH, and a downlink reference signal (CSI-RS)/CSI-RS (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)), and for sending a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and a sounding reference signal (SRS) (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; and for sending a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)/PUCCH, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/PUSCH, and a sounding reference signal (SRS)/SRS transmission (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)); and
the new common beam is used for sending the PUCCH, the PUSCH, and the sounding reference signal (SRS) (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; the new common beam/(common beam) is used for sending/(transmitting or transmission) the PUCCH/(PUCCH transmission), the PUSCH/PUSCH, and the sounding reference signal (SRS)/SRS transmission (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)); or
the new common beam is used for receiving the PDCCH, the PDSCH, and the downlink reference signal (see page 4, lines 34-40 and page 5, lines 35-39 and page 6, lines 27-37 and page 10, lines 28-38; the new common beam is used for receiving the PDCCH/PDCCH, the PDSCH/PDSCH, and the downlink reference signal/CSI-RS reception (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 18-29-page 6, line 2)).
Regarding Claim 17, Guo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the parameter of the spatial transmission filter (see Figure 2 and page 4, lines 43-51; wherein the parameter of a spatial transmission filter/(the antenna port QCL parameters (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)) comprises:
a quasi co-location (QCL) parameter of a same antenna port used by a terminal device for receiving a downlink channel and receiving the new beam (see page 5, line 48-page 6, line 18; a quasi co-location (QCL) parameter/(quasi co-location (QCL)) of a same antenna port/(DM-RS or CSI-RS ports) used by a terminal device/UE for receiving a downlink channel/PDSCH and receiving the new beam/common beam (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 20-28 and page 5, lines 1-10)), and
a QCL parameter of a same antenna port used by the terminal device for sending an uplink channel and sending the new beam (see page 5, line 48-page 6, line 18; and a QCL parameter/(QCL-TypeD) of a same antenna port/CSI-RS used by the terminal device/UE for sending/transmission an uplink channel/(PUSCH or PUCCH) and sending the new beam/One reference signal providing both ‘QCL-ТypeD’ of PDSCH, PDCCH or CSI-RS resource and a spatial filter and a path loss reference signal for PUSCH, PUCCH or the SRS resource (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 20-28 and page 5, lines 1-10)).
Regarding Claim 18, Guo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the beam failure recovery request is carried in a physical random access channel (PRACH) (see page 4, lines 19-33; wherein the beam failure recovery request/(beam failure recovery request) is carried in/(in a given) a physical random access channel (PRACH)/RACH (see provisional 63/078,548, page 4, lines 10-15)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jia et al (US 2020/0322813 A1) discloses Configuration and Indication Methods and Apparatuses for Beam Failure Recovery and Communication System. Specifically, see paragraphs 51-93.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469