Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are currently pending in this case and have been examined and addressed below.
Claims 1, 5, and 20 are currently amended.
Claim 4 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: 1-3 and 5-19 are drawn to a machine. Claim 20 is drawn to a process. As such, claims 1-3 and 5-20 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claim(s) is/are analyzed to evaluate whether it/they recite(s) a judicial exception.
Independent Claim 1: A medical information processing apparatus comprising a processing circuitry configured to:
obtain, on a channel opened in a chat application and used for discussing a target care, a record of messages that have been entered by a plurality of members of the channel;
obtain role information indicating a role of a target member among the members;
obtain progress information indicating a current progress of the target care;
narrow down a message type that the target member is allowed to input based on the role information;
identify one or more candidates for a message to be entered by the target member based on the message type that is narrowed down, the record of messages, and the progress information;
display the one or more candidates on an input screen of the target member for the channel;
and if one candidate is selected from the one or more candidates, display a message corresponding to the one candidate in a message display field of the input screen.
Independent Claim 20: A medical information processing method comprising:
acquiring, on a channel opened in a chat application and used for discussing a target care, a record of messages that have been entered by a plurality of members of the channel;
acquiring role information indicating a role of a target member among the members; acquiring progress information indicating a current progress of the target care;
narrowing down a message type that the target member is allowed to input based on the role information;
identifying one or more candidates for a message to be entered by the target member based on the message type that is narrowed down, the record of messages, and the progress information;
displaying the one or more candidates on an input screen of the target member for the channel;
and if one candidate is selected from the one or more candidates, display a message corresponding to the one candidate in a message display field of the input screen.
(Examiner notes: The above claim terms underlined are additional elements that fall under Step 2A - Prong Two analysis section detailed below)
These steps amount to methods of organizing human activity which includes functions relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities, such as managing relationships or transactions between people, social activities, and human behavior; satisfying or avoiding a legal obligation; advertising, marketing, and sales activities or behaviors; and managing human mental activity (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) citing the abstract idea grouping for methods of organizing human activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people). Therefore, obtaining a record of messages, obtaining role information, obtaining progress information, narrowing down a message type to input based on the role information, identifying one or more candidates for a message based on the message type that is narrowed down, the record of messages, and the progress information, displaying the one or more candidates for a message, and displaying a message corresponding to the one candidate if one candidate is selected from the one or more candidates are directed to managing personal interactions or personal behavior.
The dependent claim 2 is directed to the first candidate for a message that has a function as a character string representing a conversational sentence, a second candidate for a message that has a function to issue a medical procedures order, or a third candidate for a message that has a function to send a query for information.
The dependent claim 3 is directed to display the one or more candidates with a visual effect corresponding to the function of candidates.
The dependent claim 5 is directed to the first candidate for a message that has a function as a character string representing a conversational sentence, a second candidate for a message that has a function to issue a medical procedures order, or a third candidate for a message that has a function to send a query for information.
The dependent claim 6 is directed to display an input character string indicating an image diagnosing result if the role information indicates a radiologist and the progress information indicates completion of image analysis.
The dependent claim 7 is directed to display the order of a medical procedure to deal with the symptom if the role information indicates a physician specialized in a symptom suspected in the target care.
The dependent claim 8 is directed to places an order.
The dependent claim 9 is directed to display a query on the onset time if the role information indicates a physician specialized in a symptom suspected in the target care and the record of messages does not include a message relating to an onset time of the symptom.
The dependent claim 10 is directed to display a query for treatment content information relating to the details of the target care if the target member is newly invited onto the channel.
The dependent claim 11 is directed to display details of the task if an alert condition is satisfied on the channel while a task assigned is incomplete.
The dependent claim 12 is directed to display a message.
The dependent claim 13 is directed to obtain medical service information relating to the target care and identify the one or more candidates based on the medical service information.
The dependent claim 14 is directed to obtains the medical service information when a trigger occurs.
The dependent claim 15 is directed to receive the medical service information through a push notification upon generation of the medical service information.
The dependent claim 16 is directed to polls obtainment of the medical service information.
The dependent claim 17 is directed to displays medical service information obtainment status from which the medical service information has been obtained, currently being obtained or has not yet been obtained.
The dependent claim 18 is directed to medical service information includes basic information, medical history, medication history, or examination results relating to the target care.
Each of these steps of the preceding dependent claims 2-3 and 5-18 only serve to further limit or specify the features of independent claims 1 and 20 accordingly, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as the independent claim and utilize the additional elements analyzed below in the expected manner.
As such, the Examiner concludes that the preceding claims recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Claim 1 recites the use of a medical information processing apparatus, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1 and 3-17 recite the use of a processing circuitry, in this case to obtain a record of messages that have been entered by a plurality of members of the channel, obtain role information indicating a role of a target member among the members, obtain progress information indicating a current progress of the target care, identify one or more candidates for a message to be entered by the target member based on the record of messages, the role information, and/or the progress information, display the one or more candidates, display a message corresponding to the one candidate, places an order, obtain medical service information relating to the target care, identify the one or more candidates based further on the medical service information, receives the medical service information through a push notification upon generation of the medical service information, polls in order to obtain the medical service information, displays medical service information obtainment status, only recites the processing circuitry as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1 and 20 recite the use of a channel opened in a chat application. The claim further recites the use of a message display field of the input screen. The channel opened in a chat application and the message display field of the input screen are only recited as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1, 10-11, and 20 recite the use of a channel, only recites the channel as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1, 12, 17, and 20 recite the use of an input screen, only recites the input screen as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 6-12 recite the use of a button, in this case to input a character string indicating an image diagnosing result, ordering a medical procedure to deal with the symptom, sending a query on the onset time, sending a query for treatment content information relating to details of the target care, asking details of the task, only recites the button as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 8 recites the use of an order recipient system, only recites as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 13-16 and 18 recite the use of a hospital information system, only recites as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 15 recites the use of a caches the received medical service information in a storage device, only recites as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 17 recites the use of a system of the hospital information system, only recites as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 19 recites the use of an electronic medical recording system, an examination reservation system, a PACS, an image processing system, a reporting system, a vitals monitoring system, an electrocardiographic system, and/or a medication information system, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements, such as he medical information processing apparatus, processing circuitry, channel, a channel opened in a chat application, input screen, message display field of the input screen, button, order recipient system, hospital information system, caches the received medical service information in a storage device, a system of the hospital information system, electronic medical recording system, examination reservation system, PACS, image processing system, reporting system, vitals monitoring system, electrocardiographic system, and a medication information system in independent claims 1 and 20 and dependent claims 2-3 and 5-19 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer. Each of these elements is only recited as a tool for performing steps of the abstract idea, such as the use of the computer and data processing devices to apply the algorithm. These additional elements therefore only amount to mere instructions to perform the abstract idea using a computer and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2016.05(f) see for additional guidance on the “mere instructions to apply an exception”). Each additional element under Step 2A, Prong 2 is analyzed in light of the specification’s explanation of the additional element’s structure. The claimed invention’s additional elements are directed to generic computer component and functions being used to perform the abstract idea.
Applicant’s own disclosure in paragraphs [0020], [0023], and [0025] acknowledges that the “medical information processing apparatus includes a processing circuitry…and… medical information processing apparatus 2 is a computer that executes an application (hereinafter referred to as a "medical care sharing application")…medical information processing apparatus 2 provides the portable device 3 with the input screen data of the medical care sharing application…and… the medical information processing apparatus 2 includes a processing circuitry 21, a storage device 22, and a communication device 23”. Paragraphs [0022] and [0107] acknowledges “hospital information system 1 is a computer network system…The hospital information system 1 is constituted by various systems including a hospital information system (HIS), a picture archiving and communication system (PACS), an electronic medical recording system (EMR), and a radiology information system (RIS)…and…In particular, the hospital information system 1 may include an electronic medical recording system, an examination reservation system, a PACS, an image processing system, a reporting system, a vitals monitoring system, an electrocardiographic system, and/or a medication information system…Each of these systems may be constituted by a single computer, or a computer network system having two or more mutually communicable computers”. Paragraph [0026] discloses that the “processing circuitry 21 includes a processor such as a central processing unit (CPU)…A plurality of independent processors may be combined into a processing circuitry”. Paragraph [0026] further acknowledges that “each of the functions 211 to 217 may be a program designed into a module that constitutes the medical information processing program. These applications and/or programs are stored in the storage device 22. The medical care sharing application and chat application are contained in the medical information processing program”. Additionally, paragraph [0027] discloses that a “channel is a field of the chat application in which messages can be exchanged. On the chat application, multiple channels are set up for multiple issues. Multiple members are registered to each channel so that the registered members can exchange messages over this channel”. Paragraphs [0024] and [0035] disclose “the portable device 3 transmits commands to the medical information processing apparatus 2, and displays an input screen provided from the medical information processing apparatus 2 in response to these command…and… With the display control function 217, the processing circuitry 21 displays various types of information on the portable device 3. The processing circuitry 21 may display an input screen of the medical care sharing application or chat application on the portable device 3. In particular, the processing circuitry 21 displays a candidate message identified with the candidate identification function 215 on the input screen of the chat application”. Furthermore, the disclosure acknowledges in paragraph [0056] that the “candidate messages are displayed as graphical user interface (GUI) buttons B11, B12, B13, B14, and B15, each representing a character string that indicates a candidate message". Paragraphs [0068-0069] disclose that the “processing circuitry 21 automatically issues, with the ordering function 216, the t-PA administration order to the hospital information system 1, which is the order recipient". Additionally, paragraph [0036] acknowledges that the “storage device 22 may include a read-only memory (ROM), a random-access memory (RAM), a hard disk drive (HDD), a solid state drive (SSD), an integrated circuit memory device, and the like, which can store various types of information. In addition to these memory devices, the storage device 22 may be a portable storage medium such as a compact disc (CD), a digital versatile disc (DVD), and a flash memory, or a drive device for reading and writing various types of information from and to a semiconductor memory device or the like. Alternatively, the storage device 22 may be provided in a separate computer connected via a network”.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-3 and 5-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jhaveri (US-20210287783-A1)[hereinafter Jhaveri], in view of Lee et al. (US-10986144-B1)[hereinafter Lee], in view of Khandelwal (US-20160019402-A1)[hereinafter Khandelwal].
As per Claim 1, Jhaveri discloses a medical information processing apparatus comprising a processing circuitry in paragraphs [0025-0026] and [0040] (a workflow tracker system (synonymous to a medical information processing apparatus) including a processor (synonymous to a processing circuitry), wherein the workflow tracker system processes the workflow of patients and users or care providers in real time) configured to: obtain, on a channel opened in a chat application and used for discussing a target care, a record of messages that have been entered by a plurality of members of the channel in paragraphs [0025] and [0027] (obtain, on a communication channel (synonymous to a channel opened in a chat application) used for discussing care administered to a patient (synonymous to target care), a communication thread (synonymous to a record of messages) among multiple care providers (synonymous to a plurality of members of the channel)); obtain role information indicating a role of a target member among the members in paragraphs [0065] and [0072] (obtain user information (synonymous to role information) indicating the clinical role of the user or care provider among the care providers); obtain progress information indicating a current progress of the target care in paragraphs [0023] and [0032] and [0034] and [0049] and [0067] (obtain workflow progress (synonymous to progress information) indicating the progress of the workflow regarding the care administered to a patient).
Jhaveri does not disclose the following limitations. However, Lee discloses identify one or more candidates for a message to be entered by the target member based on the record of messages, and the progress information in column 8 lines 40-47 and column 10 lines 13-25 and column 24 line 9 - column 25 line 2 and column 31 line 65-column 32 line 12 and claim 1 (identify messages entered by the user (synonymous to the target member) based on record of messages, user relationships, wherein user relationships include role information, and completion status (synonymous to progress information) (Examiner notes that messages can be identified through the search engine module that indexes data which allows users to search messages by specific key words indicating a record of messages)); display the one or more candidates on an input screen of the target member for the channel in column 6 lines 58-column 7 line 14 and column 9 lines 33-50 and column 13 line 17-column 14 line 8 (display the messages on an user interface screen display (synonymous to an input screen) by the user).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention a medical information processing apparatus that obtains a channel for discussing target care, and obtain role information and progress information, as disclosed by Jhaveri, to be combined with identifying messages entered by the user based on the record messages and completion status and displaying the messages on an user interface, as disclosed by Lee, for the purpose of delivering a higher quality and better coordinated care by improving the communication and collaboration among healthcare providers [column 1 lines 15-38].
The combination of Jhaveri and Lee disclosed identifying messages to be entered by the user based on the record of messages and the progress information, but does not disclose identifying messages based on a message type that is narrowed down. However, Khandelwal discloses narrow down a message type that the target member is allowed to input based on the role information in paragraphs [0024-00026] and [0112] and claim 1 (specify a message type that the user inputs based on the user's role); identify one or more candidates for a message to be entered by the target member based on the message type that is narrowed down, the record of messages in paragraphs [0020-0021] and [0024-0026] and [0112-0113] and claim 1 (identify suggested messages (synonymous to one or more candidate messages) based on contextual parameter or rule filtering (synonymous to a message type that is narrowed down), and previous messages (synonymous to the record of messages)); display the one or more candidates on an input screen of the target member for the channel in paragraphs [0020] and [0112-0113] and [0123-0124] and claim 18 (prompt the user with suggested messages on the user interface); and if one candidate is selected from the one or more candidates, display a message corresponding to the one candidate in a message display field of the input screen in paragraphs [0123-0126] (display the selected suggested message in the message display field of the user interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the workflow tracker system that obtains a communication channel used for discussing care administered to a patient, obtain role information and workflow progress, identify messages entered by the user based on record of messages and completion status, and display the messages on the user interface of Jhaveri and Lee with the concept of specifying a message type that the user inputs based on the user’s role, identifying suggested messages based on contextual parameter or rule filtering and previous messages, displaying the suggested messages, and displaying the selected suggested message in the message display field of the user interface as taught by Khandelwal since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a medical information processing apparatus that obtains a channel for discussing target care, obtain role information and progress information, narrows down a message type that the target member is allowed to input based on role information, identifies candidates for a message to be entered based on a narrowed down message type, record of messages, and progress information, displays the candidates of messages on the input screen, and display the selected candidate message in the message display field of the input screen.
As per Claim 2, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Jhaveri also discloses wherein each of the one or more candidates is a first candidate for a message that has a function as a character string representing a conversational sentence, a second candidate for a message that has a function to issue a medical procedures order, or a third candidate for a message that has a function to send a query for information in paragraphs [0029] and [0135] and [0153] (a message that has a function to request (synonymous to send a query) of additional information).
As per Claim 3, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 2.
Jhaveri does not disclose the following limitations. However, Lee discloses wherein the processing circuitry displays the one or more candidates with a visual effect corresponding to the function of the candidates in column 6 lines 58-column 7 line 14 and column 9 lines 33-50 and column 13 line 17-column 14 line 8 and column 14 line 43-column 15 line 15 (the processor displays the message with a tag (synonymous to a visual effect) corresponding to the function of the message).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention a medical information processing apparatus that obtains a channel for discussing target care, obtain role information and progress information, as disclosed by Jhaveri, to be combined with displaying the message with a visual effect, as disclosed by Lee, for the purpose of delivering a higher quality and better coordinated care by improving the communication and collaboration among healthcare providers [column 1 lines 15-38].
As per Claim 5, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Jhaveri also discloses wherein each of the one or more candidates is a first candidate for a message that has a function as a character string representing a conversational sentence, a second candidate for a message that has a function to issue a medical procedures order, or a third candidate for a message that has a function to send a query for information in paragraphs [0029] and [0135] and [0153] (a message that has a function to request (synonymous to send a query) of additional information), and the processing circuitry displays a message corresponding to the one candidate with a visual effect corresponding to the function of the one candidate in paragraphs [0029] and [0055-0057] and [0061] (the processor displays the message with a control button (synonymous to the visual effect) corresponding to the function of the messages).
As per Claim 6, J Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Jhaveri also discloses wherein if the role information of the target member indicates a radiologist and the progress information indicates completion of image analysis, the processing circuitry displays as the one or more candidates a button for inputting a character string indicating an image diagnosing result in paragraphs [0029] and [0057-0058] and [0065] and [0068-0069] and [0076-0077] and [0079] and [0090-0091] and Figure 4 (if the user information indicates a radiologist and the workflow progress indicates completion of image analysis, the processor displays a one or more of a report control button for user's current findings (Examiner notes that the control button inputs a character string indicated with an image diagnosing result)).
As per Claim 9, J Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Jhaveri also discloses wherein if the role information of the target member indicates a physician specialized in a symptom suspected in the target care and the record of messages does not include a message relating to an onset time of the symptom, the processing circuitry displays as the one or more candidates a button for sending a query on the onset time in paragraphs [0047] and [0055] and [0072] and [0082] and [0089] and [0150-0152] (if the user information indicates a physician confirming the diagnosis and treatment plan and the communication thread does not include a message relating to patient care, wherein patient care includes a workflow timeline ,the processor displays as the message a button for requesting (synonymous sending a query) for a workflow timeline, wherein the workflow timeline includes the time of the acquired data (synonymous to the onset time of the symptom) (Examiner notes that a physician that confirms the diagnosis and treatment plan is a physician specialized in a symptom suspected in the target care)).
As per Claim 10, J Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Jhaveri does not disclose the following limitations. However, Lee discloses wherein if the target member is a member newly invited onto the channel, the processing circuitry displays as the one or more candidates a button for sending a query for treatment content information relating to details of the target care in column 14 lines 9-42 and column 23 line 65- column 24 line 18 (when the provider is newly invited onto the clinical application (synonymous), the processor displays, as the message, an "Add Task" button for sending a query for a patient record including an x-ray (synonymous to treatment content information relating to the details of the target care)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention a medical information processing apparatus that obtains a channel for discussing target care, obtain role information and progress information, as disclosed by Jhaveri, to be combined with displaying a button for sending a query for treatment content information relating to details of the target care if the target care member is a newly invited member, as disclosed by Lee, for the purpose of delivering a higher quality and better coordinated care by improving the communication and collaboration among healthcare providers [column 1 lines 15-38].
As per Claim 11, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Jhaveri also discloses wherein if an alert condition is satisfied on the channel while a task assigned to the target member is incomplete, the processing circuitry displays as the one or more candidates a button for asking details of the task in paragraphs [0029] and [0132-0135] and [0140] and [0153] (when a notification (synonymous to an alert condition being satisfied on the channel) indicate tasks assigned to the care provider still remains on the worklist, the processor displays as the message a button for a request of additional information, wherein the additional information includes details of the current workflow step (synonymous to details of the task) (Examiner notes that the tasks remaining on the worklist indicates that the task is incomplete)).
As per Claim 13, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Jhaveri also discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain medical service information relating to the target care from a hospital information system in paragraphs [0040-0042] (obtain medical information (synonymous to medical service information) relating to the care from a hospital information system); and identify the one or more candidates based further on the medical service information in paragraphs [0150-0151] (identify messages based on medical information).
As per Claim 14, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 13, Jhaveri also discloses wherein when a trigger for presenting the one or more candidates occurs, the processing circuitry obtains the medical service information from the hospital information system in paragraphs [0044-0048] (in response to a request (synonymous to when a trigger for presenting the one or candidate occurs), the workstation, wherein the workstation includes a processing unit, retrieves the medical information from the hospital information system).
As per Claim 15, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 13, Jhaveri also discloses wherein the processing circuitry receives the medical service information through a push notification which is performed by the hospital information system upon generation of the medical service information at the hospital information system, and caches the received medical service information in a storage device in paragraphs [0040-0042] and [0044-0050] and [0052] and [0063-0075] and Figure 4 (the processing unit receives the medical information, wherein the medical information includes medical images, through a complete indication (synonymous to a push notification) performed by the hospital information system upon the acquisition of the medical images at the hospital information system, and stores the received medical information in a database (synonymous to a storage device)).
As per Claim 16, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 13, Jhaveri also discloses wherein when a trigger for presenting the one or more candidates occurs, the processing circuitry polls the hospital information system in relation to obtainment of the medical service information in paragraphs [0044-0047] and Figure 2 (in response to a request (synonymous to when a trigger for presenting the one or candidate occurs), the user interface of the workstation presents the medical information (Examiner notes that the user interface presenting the medical information indicates that the processing circuitry polled the hospital information system in relation to obtaining the medical service information because processing unit of the workstation retrieves the medical information stored in the hospital information system)).
As per Claim 17, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 13, Jhaveri also discloses wherein the processing circuitry displays, on the input screen, a medical service information obtainment status for a system of the hospital information system from which the medical service information has been obtained, a system of the hospital information system from which the medical service information is currently being obtained, and/or a system of the hospital information system from which the medical service information has not yet been obtained in paragraphs [0044-0050] and [0055] and [0058] and [0063-0075] (the processing unit displays, on the workstation user interface, workflow tracker progress of obtaining a medical image (synonymous to a medical information obtainment status) from the PACs (synonymous to a system of the hospital information system), where the PACs is implemented in the hospital information system, from which the medical information has been obtained, wherein the medical information includes medical images).
As per Claim 18, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 13, Jhaveri also discloses wherein the medical service information includes basic information, medical history, medication history, and/or examination results of a patient relating to the target care in paragraph [0042] (medical information includes clinical reports, patient information, and/or administrative information received from electronic medical records, electronic health record system, and personal health record system relating to the care(Examiner notes that basic information, medical history, medication history and/or examination results are included in clinical reports, patient information, and administrative information)).
As per Claim 19, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 13, Jhaveri also discloses wherein the hospital information system includes an electronic medical recording system, an examination reservation system, a PACS, an image processing system, a reporting system, a vitals monitoring system, an electrocardiographic system, and/or a medication information system in paragraphs [0040-0041] (the hospital information system includes a PACs).
As per Claim 20, Jhaveri discloses a medical information processing method in paragraphs [0025-0026] and [0040] (a method for processing workflows of patients and users or care providers in real time) comprising: acquiring, on a channel opened in a chat application and used for discussing a target care, a record of messages that have been entered by a plurality of members of the channel in paragraphs [0025] and [0027] (obtain, on a communication channel (synonymous to a channel opened in a chat application) used for discussing care administered to a patient (synonymous to target care), a communication thread (synonymous to a record of messages) among multiple care providers (synonymous to a plurality of members of the channel)); acquiring role information indicating a role of a target member among the members in paragraphs [0065] and [0072] (obtain user information (synonymous to role information) indicating the clinical role of the user or care provider among the care providers); acquiring progress information indicating a current progress of the target care in paragraphs [0023] and [0032] and [0049] and [0067] (acquire workflow progress (synonymous to progress information) indicating the progress of the workflow regarding the care administered to a patient).
Jhaveri does not disclose the following limitations. However, Lee discloses identifying one or more candidates for a message to be entered by the target member based on the record of messages, and the progress information in column 8 lines 40-47 and column 10 lines 13-25 and column 24 line 9 - column 25 line 2 and column 31 line 65-column 32 line 12 and claim 1 (identify messages entered by the user (synonymous to the target member) based on record of messages, user relationships, wherein user relationships include role information, and completion status (synonymous to progress information) (Examiner notes that messages can be identified through the search engine module that indexes data which allows users to search messages by specific key words indicating a record of messages)); displaying the one or more candidates on an input screen of the target member for the channel in column 6 lines 58-column 7 line 14 and column 9 lines 33-50 and column 13 line 17-column 14 line 8 (display the messages on an user interface screen display (synonymous to an input screen) by the user).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention a medical information processing method that obtains a channel for discussing target care, and obtain role information and progress information, as disclosed by Jhaveri, to be combined with identifying messages entered by the user based on the record messages and completion status and displaying the messages on an user interface, as disclosed by Lee, for the purpose of delivering a higher quality and better coordinated care by improving the communication and collaboration among healthcare providers [column 1 lines 15-38].
The combination of Jhaveri and Lee disclosed identifying messages to be entered by the user based on the record of messages and the progress information, but does not disclose identifying messages based on a message type that is narrowed down. However, Khandelwal discloses narrowing down a message type that the target member is allowed to input based on the role information in paragraphs [0024-00026] and [0112] and claim 1 (specify a message type that the user inputs based on the user's role); identifying one or more candidates for a message to be entered by the target member based on the message type that is narrowed down, the record of messages in paragraphs [0020-0021] and [0024-0026] and [0112-0113] and claim 1 (identify suggested messages (synonymous to one or more candidate messages) based on contextual parameter or rule filtering (synonymous to a message type that is narrowed down) and previous messages (synonymous to the record of messages)); displaying the one or more candidates on an input screen of the target member for the channel in paragraphs [0020] and [0112-0113] and [0123-0124] and claim 18 (prompt the user with suggested messages on the user interface); and if one candidate is selected from the one or more candidates, display a message corresponding to the one candidate in a message display field of the input screen in paragraphs [0123-0126] (display the selected suggested message in the message display field of the user interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the method for processing workflows of patients and care providers that obtains a communication channel used for discussing care administered to a patient, obtain role information and workflow progress, identify messages entered by the user based on record of messages and completion status, and display the messages on the user interface of Jhaveri and Lee with the concept of specifying a message type that the user inputs based on the user’s role, identifying suggested messages based on contextual parameter or rule filtering and previous messages, displaying the suggested messages, and displaying the selected suggested message in the message display field of the user interface as taught by Khandelwal since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a medical information processing method that obtains a channel for discussing target care, obtain role information and progress information, narrows down a message type that the target member is allowed to input based on role information, identifies candidates for a message to be entered based on a narrowed down message type, record of messages, and progress information, displays the candidates of messages on the input screen, and display the selected candidate message in the message display field of the input screen.
Claims 7-8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jhaveri (US-20210287783-A1)[hereinafter Jhaveri], in view of Lee et al. (US-10986144-B1)[hereinafter Lee], in view of Khandelwal (US-20160019402-A1)[hereinafter Khandelwal], in view of Khan et al. (US-20060195342-A1)[hereinafter Khan].
As per Claim 7, Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal do not disclose the following limitations. However, Khan discloses wherein if the role information of the target member indicates a physician specialized in a symptom suspected in the target care, the processing circuitry displays as the one or more candidates a button for ordering a medical procedure to deal with the symptom in paragraphs [0019] and [0047] and [0067] and [0069] and [0090] Figure 4 and Figure 17 (when a physician specialized in a symptom suspected in the diagnosis (synonymous to the target care) logins to the medical healthcare server, the server (synonymous to the processing circuitry) displays the one or more procedures as a button for ordering a medical procedure to deal with the symptom (Examiner notes that the credentials the physician used to log into the server is synonymous to the role information of the target member)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention a medical information processing apparatus that obtains a channel for discussing target care, obtain role information and progress information, narrows down a message type that the target member is allowed to input based on role information and identifies messages suggestions entered by the user based on the narrowed down message type, record of messages, and progress information, as disclosed by Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal, to be combined with displaying a button for ordering a medical procedure to deal with the symptom suspected in the target care by the identified target member, as disclosed by Khan, for the purpose of effectively providing information about test and procedures to physicians [0003-0004].
As per Claim 8, Jhaveri, Lee, Khandelwal, and Khan disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 7.
Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal do not disclose the following limitations. However, Khan discloses wherein if the button is pressed, the processing circuitry places an order corresponding to the button to an order recipient system in paragraphs [0069] and [0083-0084] (if the button is pressed, the server creates a purchase order corresponding to the button to a purchase order software interface (synonymous to the order recipient system), wherein the purchase order software interface includes vendor information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention a medical information processing apparatus that obtains a channel for discussing target care, obtain role information and progress information, narrows down a message type that the target member is allowed to input based on role information and identifies messages suggestions entered by the user based on the narrowed down message type, record of messages, and progress information, as disclosed by Jhaveri, Lee, and Khandelwal, to be combined with placing an order if the button is pressed, as disclosed by Khan, for the purpose of effectively providing information about test and procedures to physicians [0003-0004].
As per Claim 12, Jhaveri, Lee, Khandelwal, and Khan disclose the medical information processing apparatus according to claim 7, Jhaveri also discloses wherein if the button is pressed, the processing circuitry displays a message corresponding to the button on the input screen in paragraphs [0028-0029] (if the button is pressed, the processor display the message corresponding to the button on the dashboard (synonymous to the input screen)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 8-10, “35 U.S.C. § 101 “, filed 04/08/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended claims recite significantly more than an abstract idea. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended claim limitations are directed to obtaining role and progress information, narrowing a message type based on the role information, identifying one or more candidates for a message and displaying the one or more candidates for a message. The use of the medical information processing apparatus, processing circuitry, channel, a channel opened in a chat application, input screen, message display field of the input screen, button, order recipient system, hospital information system, caches the received medical service information in a storage device, a system of the hospital information system, electronic medical recording system, examination reservation system, PACS, image processing system, reporting system, vitals monitoring system, electrocardiographic system, and a medication information system to carry out the steps of the abstract idea is merely applying the abstract idea to general purpose computer components which amounts to mere instructions to apply the exceptions, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). The courts indicated in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984, that “a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer” is not enough to qualify as significantly more.
Applicant argues that the amended claims provide an improvement to medical chat technology. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not recite an improvement to medical prediction in medical chats technology. Applicant also argues that the amended claims are similar to the claims in McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d at 1102-03. Examiner respectfully disagrees. McRO was only eligible because of automatic lip synchronization and facial expression animation using computer-implemented rules that were not directed to an abstract idea but directed to an improvement in computer animation, therefore reciting an improvement to the technological process. Furthermore, Applicant argues that the amended claims provide a technical solution to the technical problem similar to the claims in DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1259, 113 USPQ2d at 1107. Examiner respectfully disagrees. DDR Holdings was directed to a web-page generation system that solved a technical problem in computer networks. The solution is directed to the abstract idea rather than being a technical solution to a technical problem. The claims merely recite obtaining role and progress information, narrowing a message type based on the role information, identifying one or more candidates for a message and displaying the one or more candidates for a message, which are a part of the abstract idea. An improvement to the abstract ideas of obtaining role and progress information, narrowing a message type based on the role information, identifying one or more candidates for a message and displaying the one or more candidates for a message does not amount to an improvement to technology or a technical field (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II) stating “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology."). The courts indicated in TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48, that gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and providing the output is not sufficient to show an improvement to technology. The claim language and instant application fails to provide details regarding how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Here, the improvement is to obtaining role and progress information, narrowing a message type based on the role information, identifying one or more candidates for a message and displaying the one or more candidates for a message. There is no indication in the disclosure that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology for the outlined problem statement. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-12, “35 U.S.C. § 103“, filed 04/08/2026 with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-20 have been fully considered.
With regards to claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-11, and 13-20, Applicant argues that the combination Jhaveri, Lee, and Noboru do not disclose the amended limitations of the claims. Examiner finds this persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of 01/08/2026 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration a new grounds of rejection is made over Jhaveri, in view of Lee, and in view of Khandelwal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Siwicki, B., "Clinical communication and collaboration tool satisfies Piedmont Healthcare caregivers", (2019) teaches on PerfectServe technology that is used by healthcare providers to communicate with another caregiver.
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682