DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-10, 12, 13, and 16-22 submitted on 09/03/2025 are pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 10, 16, and 20 have been amended. Claims 2, 5, 6, 11, 14, and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 21 and 22 have been newly added.
Priority
No foreign priority or domestic benefit was claimed by the applicant and the application has been examined with respect to its filing date of 04/13/2023.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “The computer-implemented system of claim 6, wherein the first time window is…” on page 4 of the claims submitted on 09/03/2025. Claim 6 has been cancelled by the applicant, therefore, claim 7 is dependent on a cancelled claim. For purposes of compact prosecution and clarity on the record, Examiner will interpret the limitation as, “The computer-implemented system of claim [[6]]1, wherein the first time window is…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-10, 12, 13, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Step 1
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9, 20, and 21 are directed to a machine and claims 10, 12, 13, 16-19, and 22 are directed to a process (see MPEP 2106.03).
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 1, recites at least the following limitations that recite an abstract idea:
A system for optimizing a quantity of products for display, the system comprising:
receive, a scan event comprising at least one identifier associated with a first quantity of products, the scan event comprising an indication that the first quantity of products was received at a first zone, wherein a portion of the first quantity of products are product type, and wherein the first zone is configured to store inbound products;
retrieve, a value representing a second quantity of products of the product type that are stored at a second zone, wherein the second zone is configured to store stowed products;
determine, during a first time window, a total quantity of products based on a value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products, wherein the determined total quantity of products includes the value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products;
modify based on the determined total quantity of products;
generate comprising a product availability and the total quantity of products;
transmit to a customer;
determine, during a second time window, an available quantity of products based on the value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products, wherein the available quantity of products includes only the value representing the second quantity of products;
update to reflect the available quantity of products; and
transmit to the customer.
Claim 20, recites at least the following limitations that recite an abstract idea:
a system for optimizing a quantity of products for display, the system comprising:
receive, a scan event comprising at least one identifier associated with a first quantity of products, the scan event comprising an indication that the first quantity of products was received at a first zone and location information associated with a location of the first quantity of products, wherein a portion of the first quantity of products are of a product type, and wherein the first zone is configured to store inbound products;
retrieve, a value representing a second quantity of products of the product type that are stored at a second zone, wherein the second zone is configured to store stowed products;
determine, during a first time window, a total quantity of products based on a value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products, wherein the determined total quantity of products includes the value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products;
modify based on the determined total quantity of products;
generate comprising a product availability and the total quantity of products;
transmit to a customer;
determine, during a second time window, an available quantity of products based on the value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products, wherein the available quantity of products includes only the value representing the second quantity of products;
update to reflect the available quantity of products; and
transmit to the customer;
receive, an order from the customer, wherein the order includes order information including a selected quantity of the product type;
assign a priority stow indication to a first at least one product of the first quantity of products based on the order information; and
transmit the location information to a second for retrieving the first at least one product.
The above limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), in that it recites a commercial interaction. Claim 10 recites similar limitations as claim 1.
Thus, under Prong 1 of Step 2A, claims 1, 10, and 20 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Claim 1 includes the following additional elements that are bolded:
a computer-implemented system for optimizing a quantity of products for display on a graphical user interface, the system comprising:
a memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
receive, from at least one mobile device, a scan event comprising at least one identifier associated with a first quantity of products, the scan event comprising an indication that the first quantity of products was received at a first zone, wherein a portion of the first quantity of products are
retrieve, from a database, a value representing a second quantity of products of the product type that are stored at a second zone, wherein the second zone is configured to store stowed products;
determine, during a first time window, a total quantity of products based on a value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products, wherein the determined total quantity of products includes the value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products;
modify the database based on the determined total quantity of products;
generate a graphical user interface, the graphical user interface comprising a product availability and the total quantity of products;
transmit the graphical user interface to a customer device;
determine, during a second time window, an available quantity of products based on the value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products, wherein the available quantity of products includes only the value representing the second quantity of products;
update the graphical user interface to reflect the available quantity of products; and
transmit the updated graphical user interface to the customer device.
Claims 1, 10, and 20 include the same additional elements as claim 1. In addition to the additional elements of claim 1, claim 20 includes additional elements such as a second at least one mobile device.
The additional elements recited in claims 1, 10, and 20 merely invoke such elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(h). These additional elements are described at a high level in Applicant’s specification without any meaningful detail about their structure or configuration (see Fig. 5, ¶0073, and ¶¶0092-0098).
As such, under Prong 2 of Step 2A, when considered both individually and as a whole, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and, thus, claims 1, 10, and 20 are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As noted above, while the recitation of the additional elements in independent claims 1, 10, and 20 are acknowledged, claims 1, 10, and 20 merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements of claim 1, 10, and 20 do not add anything that is not already present when they are considered individually. Therefore, under Step 2B, there are no meaningful limitations in claims 1, 10, and 20 that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (see MPEP 2106.05).
As such, independent claims 1, 10, and 20 are ineligible.
Dependent claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, 13, 16, 17, 21, and 22 when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. More specifically, dependent claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, 13, 16, 17, 21, and 22 merely further define the abstract limitations of claims 1, 10, and 20 or provide further embellishments of the limitations recited in independent claims 1, 10, and 20. Claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, 13, 16, 17, 21, and 22 do not introduce any further additional elements. Thus, dependent claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, 13, 16, 17, 21, and 22 are ineligible.
Furthermore, it is noted that certain dependent claims recite additional elements supplemental to those recited in independent claims 1, 10, and 20: a second at least one mobile device (claims 9 and 18), and a web page (claim 19). However, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they merely amount to using a computer to apply the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use and thus do not act to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea. Additionally, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more because they merely amount to using a computer to apply the abstract idea and amount to no more than a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Thus, dependent claims 9, 18, and 19 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-10, 12, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayan et al. (US 2012/0191817 A1 [previously cited]) in view of Riscalla et al. (US 10,726,386 B1 [previously cited]) in further view of Cattoor et al. (US 2014/0164278 A1 [previously cited]).
Regarding Claim 1, Sayan et al., hereinafter, Sayan, discloses a computer-implemented system for optimizing a quantity of products for display on a graphical user interface, the system comprising (Fig. 3; ¶0089[The wholesaler device can scan the invoice barcode to initialize a bill of lading with the quantities and identities of products that were ordered, and then the quantities received can be automatically updated as each unit of goods is scanned by the device] in view of ¶0068[When a product tag is scanned by either the supplier device or the consumer device, the server 301 can respond with freshness information, which is displayed on the scanning device by the corresponding application (e.g., the supplier application or the consumer application). The freshness information can include a timestamp of when that product was shipped, an expiration date, product information, etc.]):
a memory storing instructions (Fig. 3; ¶0029[The components of computer server 301 may include, but are not limited to, one or more processors or processing units 305, a system memory 304, and a bus 307 that couples various system components including system memory 304 to processor 305.]); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (Fig. 3; ¶0029):
receive, from at least one mobile device, a scan event comprising at least one identifier associated with a first quantity of products, the scan event comprising an indication that the first quantity of products was received at a first zone, wherein a portion of the first quantity of products are a product type, and wherein the first zone is configured to receive inbound products (Fig. 3; ¶¶0088-0089[The wholesaler device can scan the invoice barcode to initialize a bill of lading with the quantities and identities of products that were ordered, and then the quantities received can be automatically updated as each unit of goods is scanned by the device] in view of ¶0077[when an item of goods is scanned by the supplier device 110, the supplier application can send the location of the supplier device 110 and the tracking code to the server 301.]; Examiner notes that identities of products are comparable to product types and the location of the supplier device at the time of scanning ordered items is comparable to the first zone);
retrieve, from a database, a value representing a second quantity of products of the product type that are stored at a second zone (Figs. 3-4; ¶¶0082-0088[the inventory services 413 of the back-end application 404 can be used to maintain the inventory… The manufacturer can access the inventory using a personal computer that is attached to the internet or directly through the supplier application on a supplier device 110.] in view of ¶0081[Each record may include product identifying information (e.g., the product identifier, the tracking code, etc.) and origin information (e.g., location of the manufacturer, the manufacturer identifier, time/date of manufacture, time/date of shipment, origin of raw materials used in product, etc.)]; Examiner notes that accessing the inventory is comparable to retrieving a second quantity of products at a second zone and product identifying information is comparable to a value representing the second quantity of products);
determine, a total quantity of products based on a value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products, wherein the determined total quantity of products includes the value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products (¶¶0089[For example, each time a unit of goods is scanned by the wholesale device, the server 301 can add that unit to the inventory of the corresponding wholesaler. The wholesaler can access its inventory in a manner similar to that described above for the manufacturer… The wholesaler device can scan the invoice barcode to initialize a bill of lading with the quantities and identities of products that were ordered, and then the quantities received can be automatically updated as each unit of goods is scanned by the device]; Examiner notes that adding received units to the inventory is comparable to determining a total quantity of products);
modify the database based on the determined total quantity of products (Fig. 3; ¶0088[For example, each time a unit of goods is scanned by the wholesale device, the server 301 can add that unit to the inventory of the corresponding wholesaler. The wholesaler can access its inventory in a manner similar to that described above for the manufacturer.]; Examiner notes adding to the inventory is comparable to modifying the database);
generate a graphical user interface, the graphical user interface comprising a product availability and the products (Figs. 7-8; ¶103[The consumer application can also be used to add the scanned item or a product like the scanned item to a virtual shopping cart, which enables the prior scanned items to be purchased at a later time. When the consumer device 120 scans a product tag outside of a retail store, the consumer application can also display the above described product information. This product information can be personalized based on the current location of the user. For example, the product information may include a list of vendors within a pre-defined distance of the scanned location that carry the product.]);
transmit the graphical user interface to a customer device (Figs. 4, 5A, and 8; ¶0033[The computer server 301 includes a front-end application 401 and a back-end application 404. The front-end application 401 interfaces with an application of the supplier devices 110 and the consumer devices 120, and forwards requests from these devices to the back-end application 404. The computer server 301 can maintain dedicated portals for communicating with the supplier devices 110 and the consumer devices 120… The application on the consumer devices 120 (hereinafter referred to as the "consumer application") is able to communicate with the computer server 301 through the consumer cloud 102 via a second portal maintained by the computer server 301 that is distinct from the first portal]);
determine, an available quantity of products based on the value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products, wherein the available quantity of products includes only the value representing the second quantity of products (Figs. 3-4; ¶¶0082-0088[the inventory services 413 of the back-end application 404 can be used to maintain the inventory… The manufacturer can access the inventory using a personal computer that is attached to the internet or directly through the supplier application on a supplier device 110.] in view of ¶0081[Each record may include product identifying information (e.g., the product identifier, the tracking code, etc.) and origin information (e.g., location of the manufacturer, the manufacturer identifier, time/date of manufacture, time/date of shipment, origin of raw materials used in product, etc.)]; Examiner notes that the inventory is comparable to a second quantity of products);
update the graphical user interface to reflect the available quantity of products (Figs. 7-8; ¶103[The consumer application can also be used to add the scanned item or a product like the scanned item to a virtual shopping cart, which enables the prior scanned items to be purchased at a later time. When the consumer device 120 scans a product tag outside of a retail store, the consumer application can also display the above described product information. This product information can be personalized based on the current location of the user. For example, the product information may include a list of vendors within a pre-defined distance of the scanned location that carry the product.]); and
transmit the updated graphical user interface to the customer device (Figs. 4, 5A, and 8; ¶0033[The computer server 301 includes a front-end application 401 and a back-end application 404. The front-end application 401 interfaces with an application of the supplier devices 110 and the consumer devices 120, and forwards requests from these devices to the back-end application 404. The computer server 301 can maintain dedicated portals for communicating with the supplier devices 110 and the consumer devices 120… The application on the consumer devices 120 (hereinafter referred to as the "consumer application") is able to communicate with the computer server 301 through the consumer cloud 102 via a second portal maintained by the computer server 301 that is distinct from the first portal]).
Although Sayan discloses receiving scan events, Sayan does not explicitly disclose that the first zone is configured to store products.
However, Riscalla et al., hereinafter, Riscalla teaches zones that are configured to store products (Fig. 7B and 8A; Col. 4, lines 18-30[FIG. 8A is a screen shot showing an exemplary Location page that may be presented when an icon is selected from the main menu, e.g., the “Inventory” icon, “Ingredients” icon, or “Containers/Bottles” icon, e.g., to allow a user to create or access an inventory action, search inventory, and/or generate one or more reports. As shown, the default image presented on the inventory device when one of these icons is selected may include a locations menu including storage location fields, e.g., including representative images and/or text identifying storage locations at the selected store. Alternatively, other menus or pages may be presented as the default image, e.g., selected by the user or an administrator of the inventory device.]).
Although Sayan discloses retrieving a value representing products stored at a second zone Sayan does not explicitly disclose wherein the second zone is configured to store stowed products.
However, Riscalla teaches zones for storing different products (Col. 6, lines 14-21[after selecting a storage location were the user is, the user may scan a label of a package, a label mounted at the storage location where a specific item is intended to be stored]).
Although Sayan discloses generating a GUI comprising a product availability of products, Sayan does not explicitly disclose generating a GUI comprising the total quantity of products.
However, Riscalla teaches displaying the total quantity of products (Claim 10[the first electronic device presents a total amount on the first display indicating a total quantity of the first item at the first location of the store and a grand total indicating a grand total quantity of the first item at all storage locations of the store.]).
The system of Riscalla is applicable to the system of Sayan as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to inventory management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Sayan to include zones configured to store products and displaying a total quantity of products as taught by Riscalla. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the system of Sayan in order to project future orders for supplies, to identify losses, such as waste or theft, and the like (Abstract).
Although Sayan discloses determining a total quantity of products, Sayan in view of Riscalla does not explicitly teach making a determination during a first time window.
However, Cattoor et al., hereinafter, Cattoor, teaches various time windows (¶0061[The delivery service providers may have one or more pre-selected delivery times available for the day the individual selected. Based on the pre-selected delivery time, a cut-off order time will be associated with that day's delivery. The individual will need to place an order prior to the designated cut-off order time.]).
Although Sayan discloses determining an available quantity of products, Sayan in view of Riscalla does not explicitly teach making the determination during a second time window.
However, Cattoor teaches various time windows (¶0061[The delivery service providers may have one or more pre-selected delivery times available for the day the individual selected. Based on the pre-selected delivery time, a cut-off order time will be associated with that day's delivery. The individual will need to place an order prior to the designated cut-off order time.]).
The system of Cattoor is applicable to the system of Sayan in view of Riscalla as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are all targeted to inventory and delivery management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Sayan in view of Riscalla to include time windows as taught by Cattoor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the system of Sayan in view of Riscalla for managing delivery methods by tracking delivery data and determining information such as ideal delivery locations, days, times, and order sizes (¶0006).
Regarding Claim 3, Sayan in view of Riscalla in view of Cattoor teaches the computer-implemented system of claim 1, Sayan further discloses wherein the scan event includes a indication that the first quantity of products is located in a zone other than the second zone (Fig. 3; ¶0089[The wholesaler device can scan the invoice barcode to initialize a bill of lading with the quantities and identities of products that were ordered, and then the quantities received can be automatically updated as each unit of goods is scanned by the device] in view of ¶0077[when an item of goods is scanned by the supplier device 110, the supplier application can send the location of the supplier device 110 and the tracking code to the server 301.]; Examiner notes that the location of the received item is comparable to a product being located in a zone other than the second zone).
Although Sayan discloses a scanning event indicating that products are located in a zone, Sayan does not explicitly disclose the scanning event including a second indication.
However, Riscalla teaches scanning events including a second indication of a location (Figs. 9B-9C; Col. 6, lines 1-13[The scanner module may use a camera of the inventory device to take an image and/or otherwise analyze a label. For example, in FIG. 9B, during a Search, a Scan icon may be selected to activate the scanner module and scan a label associated with a specific item to provide information regarding the item within the store. For example, the scanner module may be used in this manner to identify total quantities of the specific item on hand and/or at one or more storage locations within the store.]).
The system of Riscalla is applicable to the system of Sayan as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to inventory management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scanner as disclosed by Sayan to include a second indication as taught by Riscalla. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the system of Sayan in order to project future orders for supplies, to identify losses, such as waste or theft, and the like (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 7, Sayan in view of Riscalla in view of Cattoor teaches the computer-implemented system of claim 1, Sayan further discloses wherein an order cut-off window, and wherein the order cut-off window (¶0066[The operational guidelines or security policies of the manufacturer may mandate that the product be shipped within a certain period of time (hereinafter referred to as a "freshness period". The server 301 may store a freshness period for each product or for each unique code]).
Although Sayan discloses order cut-off windows, Sayan in view of Riscalla does not explicitly teach the first time window is within an order cut-off window and wherein the second time window is outside the order cut-off window.
However, Cattoor teaches a first and second time windows being within and outside an order cut-off window respectively (¶0061[The delivery service providers may have one or more pre-selected delivery times available for the day the individual selected. Based on the pre-selected delivery time, a cut-off order time will be associated with that day's delivery. The individual will need to place an order prior to the designated cut-off order time.]).
The system of Cattoor is applicable to the system of Sayan in view of Riscalla as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are all targeted to inventory and delivery management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determined quantities of products as taught by Sayan in view of Riscalla to include time windows as taught by Cattoor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the system of Sayan in view of Riscalla for managing delivery methods by tracking delivery data and determining information such as ideal delivery locations, days, times, and order sizes (¶0006).
Regarding Claim 8, Sayan in view of Riscalla in view of Cattoor teaches the computer-implemented system of claim 1, wherein the at least one mobile device is configured to scan a product identifier of the first quantity of products and the second quantity of products (Fig. 2; ¶0026[The supplier devices 110 or the consumer devices 110 include software and hardware to scan product tags 140 (e.g., indicia) of one or more products 130]).
Regarding Claim 9, Sayan in view of Riscalla in view of Cattoor teaches the computer-implemented system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the at least one mobile device, location information associated with a location of the first quantity of products (Fig. 3; ¶0089[The wholesaler device can scan the invoice barcode to initialize a bill of lading with the quantities and identities of products that were ordered, and then the quantities received can be automatically updated as each unit of goods is scanned by the device] in view of ¶0077[when an item of goods is scanned by the supplier device 110, the supplier application can send the location of the supplier device 110 and the tracking code to the server 301.]; Examiner notes that identities of products are comparable to product types); and
transmit the location information to a second at least one mobile device for retrieving a first at least one product of the first quantity of products (Fig. 6; ¶0090[The wholesale message sent to the server 301 to indicate sale or shipment of the unit… the message may include the tracking code of the unit and the location of the wholesale device. The wholesale message may also include at least one of a product identifier, shipping time/date, a destination that the unit will be shipped to (e.g., a location, address, or code of vendor or consumer)] and ¶0091[A vendor that receives a shipment of goods from the wholesaler can use a supplier device 110 (hereinafter referred to as the "retail device") to scan the product tag of each unit received to indicate either that the unit has been received (S605) or that the unit has been sold or shipped (S607)]; Examiner notes that the wholesale message which includes an address of a vendor is comparable to transmitting information to a second device, the vendor, for retrieving the product).
Regarding Claim 10, Sayan discloses a computer-implemented method for optimizing a quantity of products for display on a graphical user interface, the method comprising (Fig. 3; ¶0089[The wholesaler device can scan the invoice barcode to initialize a bill of lading with the quantities and identities of products that were ordered, and then the quantities received can be automatically updated as each unit of goods is scanned by the device] in view of ¶0068[When a product tag is scanned by either the supplier device or the consumer device, the server 301 can respond with freshness information, which is displayed on the scanning device by the corresponding application (e.g., the supplier application or the consumer application). The freshness information can include a timestamp of when that product was shipped, an expiration date, product information, etc.]):
receiving, from at least one mobile device, a scan event comprising at least one identifier associated with a first quantity of products, the scan event comprising an indication that the first quantity of products was received at a first zone, wherein a portion of the first quantity of products are a product type, and wherein the first zone is configured to receive inbound products (Fig. 3; ¶¶0088-0089[The wholesaler device can scan the invoice barcode to initialize a bill of lading with the quantities and identities of products that were ordered, and then the quantities received can be automatically updated as each unit of goods is scanned by the device] in view of ¶0077[when an item of goods is scanned by the supplier device 110, the supplier application can send the location of the supplier device 110 and the tracking code to the server 301.]; Examiner notes that identities of products are comparable to product types and the location of the supplier device at the time of scanning ordered items is comparable to the first zone);
retrieving, from a database, a value representing a second quantity of products of the product type that are stored at a second zone (Figs. 3-4; ¶¶0082-0088[the inventory services 413 of the back-end application 404 can be used to maintain the inventory… The manufacturer can access the inventory using a personal computer that is attached to the internet or directly through the supplier application on a supplier device 110.] in view of ¶0081[Each record may include product identifying information (e.g., the product identifier, the tracking code, etc.) and origin information (e.g., location of the manufacturer, the manufacturer identifier, time/date of manufacture, time/date of shipment, origin of raw materials used in product, etc.)]; Examiner notes that accessing the inventory is comparable to retrieving a second quantity of products at a second zone and product identifying information is comparable to a value representing the second quantity of products);
determining a total quantity of products based on a value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products (¶¶0089[For example, each time a unit of goods is scanned by the wholesale device, the server 301 can add that unit to the inventory of the corresponding wholesaler. The wholesaler can access its inventory in a manner similar to that described above for the manufacturer… The wholesaler device can scan the invoice barcode to initialize a bill of lading with the quantities and identities of products that were ordered, and then the quantities received can be automatically updated as each unit of goods is scanned by the device]; Examiner notes that adding received units to the inventory is comparable to determining a total quantity of products);
modifying the database based on the determined total quantity of products (Fig. 3; ¶0088[For example, each time a unit of goods is scanned by the wholesale device, the server 301 can add that unit to the inventory of the corresponding wholesaler. The wholesaler can access its inventory in a manner similar to that described above for the manufacturer.]; Examiner notes adding to the inventory is comparable to modifying the database);
generating a graphical user interface, the graphical user interface comprising a product availability and the products (Figs. 7-8; ¶103[The consumer application can also be used to add the scanned item or a product like the scanned item to a virtual shopping cart, which enables the prior scanned items to be purchased at a later time. When the consumer device 120 scans a product tag outside of a retail store, the consumer application can also display the above described product information. This product information can be personalized based on the current location of the user. For example, the product information may include a list of vendors within a pre-defined distance of the scanned location that carry the product.]); and
transmitting the graphical user interface to a customer device (Figs. 4, 5A, and 8; ¶0033[The computer server 301 includes a front-end application 401 and a back-end application 404. The front-end application 401 interfaces with an application of the supplier devices 110 and the consumer devices 120, and forwards requests from these devices to the back-end application 404. The computer server 301 can maintain dedicated portals for communicating with the supplier devices 110 and the consumer devices 120… The application on the consumer devices 120 (hereinafter referred to as the "consumer application") is able to communicate with the computer server 301 through the consumer cloud 102 via a second portal maintained by the computer server 301 that is distinct from the first portal]);
determining, an available quantity of products based on the value representing the portion of the first quantity of products and the value representing the second quantity of products, wherein the available quantity of products includes only the value representing the second quantity of products (Figs. 3-4; ¶¶0082-0088[the inventory services 413 of the back-end application 404 can be used to maintain the inventory… The manufacturer can access the inventory using a personal computer that is attached to the internet or directly through the supplier application on a supplier device 110.] in view of ¶0081[Each record may include product identifying information (e.g., the product identifier, the tracking code, etc.) and origin information (e.g., location of the manufacturer, the manufacturer identifier, time/date of manufacture, time/date of shipment, origin of raw materials used in product, etc.)]; Examiner notes that the inventory is comparable to a second quantity of products);
updating the graphical user interface to reflect the available quantity of products (Figs. 7-8; ¶103[The consumer application can also be used to add the scanned item or a product like the scanned item to a virtual shopping cart, which enables the prior scanned items to be purchased at a later time. When the consumer device 120 scans a product tag outside of a retail store, the consumer application can also display the above described product information. This product information can be personalized based on the current location of the user. For example, the product information may include a list of vendors within a pre-defined distance of the scanned location that carry the product.]); and
transmitting the updated graphical user interface to the customer device (Figs. 4, 5A, and 8; ¶0033[The computer server 301 includes a front-end application 401 and a back-end application 404. The front-end application 401 interfaces with an application of the supplier devices 110 and the consumer devices 120, and forwards requests from these devices to the back-end application 404. The computer server 301 can maintain dedicated portals for communicating with the supplier devices 110 and the consumer devices 120… The application on the consumer devices 120 (hereinafter referred to as the "consumer application") is able to communicate with the computer server 301 through the consumer cloud 102 via a second portal maintained by the computer server 301 that is distinct from the first portal]).
Although Sayan discloses receiving scan events, Sayan does not explicitly disclose that the first zone is configured to store products.
However, Riscalla teaches zones that are configured to store products (Fig. 7B and 8A; Col. 4, lines 18-30[FIG. 8A is a screen shot showing an exemplary Location page that may be presented when an icon is selected from the main menu, e.g., the “Inventory” icon, “Ingredients” icon, or “Containers/Bottles” icon, e.g., to allow a user to create or access an inventory action, search inventory, and/or generate one or more reports. As shown, the default image presented on the inventory device when one of these icons is selected may include a locations menu including storage location fields, e.g., including representative images and/or text identifying storage locations at the selected store. Alternatively, other menus or pages may be presented as the default image, e.g., selected by the user or an administrator of the inventory device.]).
Although Sayan discloses retrieving a value representing products stored at a second zone Sayan does not explicitly disclose wherein the second zone is configured to store stowed products.
However, Riscalla teaches zones for storing different products (Col. 6, lines 14-21[after selecting a storage location were the user is, the user may scan a label of a package, a label mounted at the storage location where a specific item is intended to be stored]).
Although Sayan discloses generating a GUI comprising a product availability of products, Sayan does not explicitly disclose generating a GUI comprising the total quantity of products.
However, Riscalla teaches displaying the total quantity of products (Claim 10[the first electronic device presents a total amount on the first display indicating a total quantity of the first item at the first location of the store and a grand total indicating a grand total quantity of the first item at all storage locations of the store.]).
The method of Riscalla is applicable to the method of Sayan as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to inventory management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Sayan to include zones configured to store products and displaying a total quantity of products as taught by Riscalla. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the method of Sayan in order to project future orders for supplies, to identify losses, such as waste or theft, and the like (Abstract).
Although Sayan discloses determining an available quantity of products, Sayan in view of Riscalla does not explicitly teach making the determination during a second time window.
However, Cattoor teaches various time windows (¶0061[The delivery service providers may have one or more pre-selected delivery times available for the day the individual selected. Based on the pre-selected delivery time, a cut-off order time will be associated with that day's delivery. The individual will need to place an order prior to the designated cut-off order time.]).
The method of Cattoor is applicable to the method of Sayan in view of Riscalla as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are all targeted to inventory and delivery management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Sayan in view of Riscalla to include time windows as taught by Cattoor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the method of Sayan in view of Riscalla for managing delivery methods by tracking delivery data and determining information such as ideal delivery locations, days, times, and order sizes (¶0006).
Regarding Claim 12, Sayan in view of Riscalla in view of Cattoor teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, Sayan further discloses wherein the scan event includes a indication that the first quantity of products is located in a zone other than the second zone (Fig. 3; ¶0089[The wholesaler device can scan the invoice barcode to initialize a bill of lading with the quantities and identities of products that were ordered, and then the quantities received can be automatically updated as each unit of goods is scanned by the device] in view of ¶0077[when an item of goods is scanned by the supplier device 110, the supplier application can send the location of the supplier device 110 and the tracking code to the server 301.]; Examiner notes that the location of the received item is comparable to a product being located in a zone other than the second zone).
Although Sayan discloses a scanning event indicating that products are located in a zone, Sayan does not explicitly disclose the scanning event including a second indication.
However, Riscalla teaches scanning events including a second indication of a location (Figs. 9B-9C; Col. 6, lines 1-13[The scanner module may use a camera of the inventory device to take an image and/or otherwise analyze a label. For example, in FIG. 9B, during a Search, a Scan icon may be selected to activate the scanner module and scan a label associated with a specific item to provide information regarding the item within the store. For example, the scanner module may be used in this manner to identify total quantities of the specific item on hand and/or at one or more storage locations within the store.]).
The method of Riscalla is applicable to the method of Sayan as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to inventory management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scanner as disclosed by Sayan to include a second indication as taught by Riscalla. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the method of Sayan in order to project future orders for supplies, to identify losses, such as waste or theft, and the like (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 16, Sayan in view of Riscalla in view of Cattoor teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, Sayan further discloses wherein an order cut-off window, and wherein the order cut-off window (¶0066[The operational guidelines or security policies of the manufacturer may mandate that the product be shipped within a certain period of time (hereinafter referred to as a "freshness period". The server 301 may store a freshness period for each product or for each unique code]).
Although Sayan discloses order cut-off windows, Sayan in view of Riscalla does not explicitly teach the first time window is within an order cut-off window and wherein the second time window is outside the order cut-off window.
However, Cattoor teaches a first and second time windows being within and outside an order cut-off window respectively (¶0061[The delivery service providers may have one or more pre-selected delivery times available for the day the individual selected. Based on the pre-selected delivery time, a cut-off order time will be associated with that day's delivery. The individual will need to place an order prior to the designated cut-off order time.]).
The method of Cattoor is applicable to the method of Sayan in view of Riscalla as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are all targeted to inventory and delivery management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determined quantities of products as taught by Sayan in view of Riscalla to include time windows as taught by Cattoor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the method of Sayan in view of Riscalla for managing delivery methods by tracking delivery data and determining information such as ideal delivery locations, days, times, and order sizes (¶0006).
Regarding Claim 17, Sayan in view of Riscalla in view of Cattoor teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, Sayan further discloses wherein the at least one mobile device is configured to scan a product identifier of the first quantity of products and the second quantity of products (Fig. 2; ¶0026[The supplier devices 110 or the consumer devices 110 include software and hardware to scan product tags 140 (e.g., indicia) of one or more products 130]).
Regarding Claim 18, Sayan in view of Riscalla in view of Cattoor teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, Sayan further discloses the method further comprising:
receiving, from the at least one mobile device, location information associated with a location of the first quantity of products (Fig. 3; ¶0089[The wholesaler device can scan the invoice barcode to initialize a bill of lading with the quantities and identities of products that were ordered, and then the quantities received can be automatically updated as each unit of goods is scanned by the device] in view of ¶0077[when an item of goods is scanned by the supplier device 110, the supplier application can send the location of the supplier device 110 and the tracking code to the server 301.]; Examiner notes that identities of products are comparable to product types); and
tran