DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of Anagnostopoulos and Kroskey fail to teach the elements of the invention as set forth in claim 1 and that Kroskey would not be considered relevant. Examiner respectfully disagrees, Kroskey is utilized as a teaching of providing a production system i.e. multiple tools/devices onto a mobile vehicle/trailer to allow for a ease of transporting [paragraph 0040]. The combination of Anagnostopoulos and Kroskey provides for a system to be on a vehicle/trailer. Therefore the rejection is respectfully maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anagnostopoulos (US 2008/0078226) in view of Kroskey et al. (hereafter “Kroskey”) (US 2011/0174128).
With regards to claim 1, Anagnostopoulos discloses a system for providing supply of reinforcing bar materials to a jobsite, comprising:
a coil handler (2)configured to rotatably support a coil of reinforcing bar material (rebar, paragraph 0025) in a manner which allows the reinforcing bar materials to be unwound and fed from the coil;
a straightener (4) positioned adjacent to the coil handler, the outfeed device configured to receive the reinforcing bar materials and to perform a straightening operation which will provide a straightened rebar material at an output of the outfeed device[ as seen in Figure 2 and paragraph 0026]; and
a cutter (13) positioned adjacent the outfeed device to cut reinforcing bar materials to a desired length when that length has been provided through the output [ as seen in Figure 2 and paragraph 0030].
Anagnostopoulos discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the coil handler, outfeed device and cutter are supported by a vehicle having a support frame and a support surface. Kroskey is relied upon to teach providing a deforming system (10) mounted on a vehicle having a support frame and a support surface for transporting to the installation site [paragraph 0040]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Anagnostopoulos’s system with a vehicle/trailer as taught by Kroskey in order to allow for ease of transporting and because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
With regards to claim 3, Anagnostopoulos discloses further comprising a bending device (10/12) positioned adjacent the cutter and configured to bend the desired length of reinforcing bar materials into a predetermined configuration [paragraph 0030].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-11 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725