DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2, Formula IV in the reply filed on 4/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 2, 3, 9, 11, 12, and 28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The Office considers these claims to be distinct from the elected Species 2.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 21 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims are meant to recite “4 mA∙h to about 20 mA∙h” and “5 mA∙h to about 8 mA∙h,” respectively. Instead, the bullet operation appears as an empty box. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-8, and 13-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: the charge of the structure. The elected species Formula IV, depicted in claim 10, must have a charge of -2 as established in the instant specification. This charge must be depicted in the structure since the CAT+2 is also shown. Claims 4-8 and 13-27 depend on claim 1.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the hexacyanoferrate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,267,830. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims encompass the same molecular structure of Species 2 (Formula IV) in the context of a battery with anode and cathode having the structure. The solid charge storage medium of the instant claims can be considered an anode or cathode solution which is recited in the patented claims. U.S. Patent No. 11,267,830 discloses that the structure is bound to a substrate (paragraph 63) and thus the distinction of a current collector is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 16-19, 23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cappillino (WO 2018/165312 A1). Corresponding US Application 2021/0139516 A1 is used in lieu for citation purposes.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 25-27, Cappillino discloses: an anode and cathode comprising the structure of Formula IV including the claimed CAT (see claim 26). The solid charge storage medium of the instant claims can be considered a solution (instant paragraph 45); Cappillino discloses that the anode and cathode have solutions (paragraph 8). Cappillino discloses that the structure is bound to a substrate (paragraph 63) which is considered a current collector.
Regarding claim 4, Cappillino discloses that the claimed cations (paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 5-7, Cappillino discloses that the claimed R1 values (paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 8, Cappillino discloses that a coordination number of 8 (paragraph 98).
Regarding claims 16-19, Cappillino discloses that that the anode and cathode solutions can have concentrations of 5-20 mM (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 23, Cappillino discloses a first pump 26 and second pump 28 for the anode and cathode tanks respectively (paragraph 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15, 20-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappillino as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chun (KR 102315320 B1). A machine translation is provided herewith and used for citation and translation purposes.
Cappillino does not discloses the use of hexacyanoferrates or the assessed capacities associated with the use of hexacyanoferrates. Chun—in an invention for a battery utilizing redox reactions—discloses that cobalt hexacyanoferrate (CoHCF) contains “cobalt (Co) as a transition metal, Co ions and Fe (CN) .sup.6- ions form a combined crystal structure, and both Co and Fe, which are transition metals, participate in oxidation/reduction reactions. Therefore, when used as a cathode material, there is an advantage of having a high specific capacity” (paragraph 5 from the top of the machine translation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize CoHCF for the cathode of Cappillino to improve its assessed capacity as suggested by Chun. It is the Office’s position that the assessed capacity would then be as claimed since all the same materials would be present and thus the same properties.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725