Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 17 – 18 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the invention of originally presented claim 1 does not require the limitations for an exhaust oxidizer configured to receive a mixture of at least a portion of the anode exhaust and the cathode exhaust and to output an oxidized exhaust. Then, the inventions of claims 1 and 17 are related as patentably distinct products.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 17 – 18 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 5/18/26.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the previous rejection.
The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Jahnke, US20190148753A1 and further in view of Galloway, US20240425761A1
Regarding claim 1, Jahnke teaches a system [0002], comprising:
a digestion system configured to convert a digestate into a fuel gas (hydrogen generation system)[0019]; and
a fuel cell power system (fuel cell)[0020] comprising
solid oxide fuel cells configured to generate power using the fuel gas and to output an exhaust and a heat exchanger configured to generate steam that is provided to the reformer by extracting heat from the exhaust output by fuel cells (generate electrical power)[0019](waste heat from cells)[0035] (waste heat from cells to reformer)[0035]
Janke does not teach a carbonaceous waste digestate, solid oxide fuel cells, and a rotary reformer.
Galloway teaches a system comprising a digestion system [0002] and a fuel cell power system [0004] comprising a carbonaceous waste digestate [0004], solid oxide fuel cells [0067], and a rotary reformer [0039]. Further, Galloway teaches the claimed components to make efficient use of steam reformation to maximize production of hydrogen [0006]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the components of Galloway into the system of Janke to efficiently maximize hydrogen production using a carbonaceous waste digestate.
Regarding claim 2, combined Jahnke teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the fuel gas comprises hydrogen (H2) (hydrogen)[0027].
Regarding claim 3, combined Jahnke teaches the system of claim 2,
Further, Janke teaches wherein the fuel cell power system comprises: fuel cells (cells (204))[0039];
a condenser configured to remove water from fuel exhaust output from the fuel cells to generate recycled fuel (condenser)[0051][0055];
a recycling conduit (recycle path (426))[ configured to receive the fuel exhaust from the fuel cells and transfer the fuel exhaust to the condenser; and
a recycle blower (recycle blower (425)) configured to pressurize the recycled fuel output [fig. 4] from the condenser.
Regarding claim 4, combined Jahnke teaches the system of claim 3.
Further, Janke teaches wherein the exhaust comprises a fuel exhaust, and the heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the fuel exhaust to water to generate the steam. (generate electrical power)[0019](waste heat from cells)[0035] (waste heat from cells to reformer)[0035]
Regarding claim 5, Jahnke teaches the system of claim 4.
Further, Janke teaches at least a portion of the steam is configured to be generated using the water removed from the fuel exhaust (generate electrical power)[0019](waste heat from cells)[0035] (waste heat from cells to reformer)[0035].
Regarding claim 7, combined Jahnke teaches the system of claim 6.
Further, Galloway teaches a system comprising a digestion system [0002] and a fuel cell power system [0004] wherein the digestion system further comprises a syngas cleanup module [0068] and a water-gas-shift module [0073].
Regarding claim 8, combined Jahnke teaches the system of claim 7.
Further, Galloway teaches wherein the digestion system further comprises a pressure-swing adsorption module [0063].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724