Election/Restrictions
The applicant’s election without traverse filed 1/20/26 is acknowledged, and the restriction is hereby made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jahnke, US20190148753A1.
Regarding claim 1, Jahnke teaches a system [0002], comprising:
a digestion system configured to convert a digestate into a fuel gas (hydrogen generation system)[0019]; and
a fuel cell power system (fuel cell)[0020] configured to convert the fuel gas into power (generate electrical power)[0019] and heat (waste heat from cells)[0035], and to provide the heat to the digestion system (waste heat from cells to reformer)[0035].
Regarding claim 2, Jahnke teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the fuel gas comprises hydrogen (H2) (hydrogen)[0027].
Regarding claim 3, Jahnke teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the fuel cell power system comprises: fuel cells (cells (204))[0039];
a condenser configured to remove water from fuel exhaust output from the fuel cells to generate recycled fuel (condenser)[0051][0055];
a recycling conduit (recycle path (426))[ configured to receive the fuel exhaust from the fuel cells and transfer the fuel exhaust to the condenser; and
a recycle blower (recycle blower (425)) configured to pressurize the recycled fuel output [fig. 4] from the condenser.
Regarding claim 4, Jahnke teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the fuel cell power system further comprises a heat exchanger (450) configured to transfer heat from the fuel exhaust to a fluid provided to the digestion system (waste heat provided to reformer)[0035][0041].
Regarding claim 5, Jahnke teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the fluid comprises pressurized water or oil (water heat exchanger)[0017].
Regarding claim 6, Jahnke teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the digestion system comprises at least one reformer (reformer (430)), and wherein the fluid is configured to heat the at least one reformer [0041].
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Jahnke, US20190148753A1, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Galloway, US20240425761A1
Regarding claim 7, Jahnke teaches the system of claim 6.
Jahnke does not teach wherein the digestion system further comprises a syngas cleanup module and a water-gas-shift module.
Galloway teaches a system comprising a digestion system [0002] and a fuel cell power system [0004] wherein the digestion system further comprises a syngas cleanup module [0068] and a water-gas-shift module [0073]. Syngas cleanup prevents deactivation of the catalyst and increases the purity of the fuel stream [0068][0081] and water gas shift modules are commonly used in hydrogen production. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the cleanup module and shift module of Galloway into the digestion system of Jahnke to increase purity of the fuel.
Regarding claim 8, combined Jahnke teaches the system of claim 7.
Further, Galloway teaches wherein the digestion system further comprises a pressure-swing adsorption module [0063].
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724