DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Kondou does not disclose “the pole shaft formed tapering inwardly in the radial direction over the length of the pole shaft, starting from the inside of the annular yoke to the pole shoe,” stating that Kondou’s pole shaft has a straight part and a tapered part. Examiner disagrees. While Kondou does disclose a straight part and a tapered part, Kondou still discloses the tapered part starting from an inside of the annular yoke to the pole shoe, disclosing the limitation above. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondou et al. (US 2012/0112600 A1) in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 2014/0354095 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kondou discloses a stator (2) for an electrical machine (1) of a motor vehicle (¶ [0003]), the stator (2) comprising:
an annular yoke (11) with an inside oriented inwards in the radial direction (FIG 2) of the annular yoke (11);
a plurality of pole teeth (10) are connected to the annular yoke (11) on the inside of the annular yoke (11) by form fit (FIG 4B; ¶ [0048] press-fit portion 22), and the plurality of pole teeth (10) are mutually spaced in the circumferential direction (FIG 2) of the annular yoke (11), each of the plurality of pole teeth (10) further comprising:
a pole shaft (23); and
a pole shoe (24) adjoining the pole shaft (23; FIG 4A), the pole shaft (23) formed tapering inwardly in the radial direction over the length of the pole shaft (23), starting from the inside of the annular yoke (11) to the pole shoe (23; FIG 4A; ¶ [0050]; the tapering surface starts on the inside of the annular yoke at half way down the pole shaft to the pole shoe);
wherein the pole shoe (24) is formed on a side of the pole tooth (10) facing away from the annular yoke (11);
an endless stator winding (8; FIG 3) configured as a mat (¶ [0060] distributed winding) is formed between each of the plurality of pole teeth (10);
wherein a shortest distance Ak (see annotated FIG 4A) between two pole shoes (24) of two of the plurality of pole teeth (10) which are adjacent in the circumferential direction of the stator (2) is smaller than a maximum width Bmax (see annotated FIG 4A) of the endless stator winding (8) in the circumferential direction of the stator (2).
Kondou does not disclose the maximum width Bmax- of the endless stator winding in the circumferential direction of the stator is greater than a width bB of the pole shaft relative to the circumferential direction of the stator.
Ishikawa discloses the maximum width Bmax- (Bc) of the endless stator winding (7) in the circumferential direction of the stator (5) is greater than a width bB (Bt) of the pole shaft relative to the circumferential direction of the stator (5; FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kondou in view of Ishikawa to disclose the maximum width Bmax- of the endless stator winding in the circumferential direction of the stator is greater than a width bB of the pole shaft relative to the circumferential direction of the stator, for the advantages of configuring the stator without causing interference in the coil end portions (¶ [0085]).
Regarding claim 2/1, Kondou in view of Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 1. Kondou further discloses the endless stator winding (8) configured as a mat (¶ [0060] distributed winding) is formed in multiple layers (FIG 4A) relative to the radial direction of the stator (2).
Regarding claim 3/1, Kondou in view of Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 1. Kondou further discloses each of the plurality of pole teeth (10) further comprising:
a protrusion (22) on a side facing the annular yoke (11);
wherein the protrusion (22) engages in a negative contour and/or recess (18) formed on the inside of the annular yoke (11) for form-fit connection (press-fit) to the annular yoke (11; FIG 4B).
Regarding claim 4/3, Kondou in view of Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 3. Kondou further discloses the pole shaft further comprising:
a shoulder (see annotated FIG 4B) facing the protrusion (22), the shoulder is at least in portions encased in and/or surrounded by the annular yoke (11);
wherein the negative contour and/or recess (18) corresponding to the protrusion (22) on the inside of the annular yoke (11) is displaced correspondingly outward in the radial direction of the annular yoke (11) by the engagement depth of the shoulder of the pole shaft (23) or pole tooth (10).
Regarding claim 5/1, Kondou in view of Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 1. Kondou further discloses each of the plurality of pole teeth (10) are connected to the annular yoke (11) via a dovetail connection (FIG 4B; press-fit portion 22 is tapered radially outward).
Regarding claim 14, Kondou discloses an electric machine (1), comprising:
a rotor (3); and
a stator (2), further comprising:
an annular yoke (11) with an inside oriented inwards in the radial direction (FIG 2) of the annular yoke (11);
a plurality of pole teeth (10) are connected to the annular yoke (11) on the inside of the annular yoke (11) by form fit (FIG 4B; ¶ [0048] press-fit portion 22), and the plurality of pole teeth (10) are mutually spaced in the circumferential direction (FIG 2) of the annular yoke (11), each of the plurality of pole teeth (10) further comprising:
a pole shaft (23); and
a pole shoe (24) adjoining the pole shaft (23; FIG 4A), the pole shaft (23) formed tapering inwardly in the radial direction over the length of the pole shaft (23), starting from the inside of the annular yoke (11) to the pole shoe (23; FIG 4A; ¶ [0050]; the tapering surface starts on the inside of the annular yoke at half way down the pole shaft to the pole shoe);
wherein the pole shoe (24) is formed on a side of the pole tooth (10) facing away from the annular yoke (11);
an endless stator winding (8; FIG 3) configured as a mat (¶ [0060] distributed winding) is formed between each of the plurality of pole teeth (10);
wherein a shortest distance Ak (see annotated FIG 4A) between two pole shoes (24) of two of the plurality of pole teeth (10) which are adjacent in the circumferential direction of the stator (2) is smaller than a maximum width Bmax (see annotated FIG 4A) of the endless stator winding (8) in the circumferential direction of the stator (2).
Kondou does not disclose the maximum width Bmax- of the endless stator winding in the circumferential direction of the stator is greater than a width bB of the pole shaft relative to the circumferential direction of the stator.
Ishikawa discloses the maximum width Bmax- (Bc) of the endless stator winding (7) in the circumferential direction of the stator (5) is greater than a width bB (Bt) of the pole shaft relative to the circumferential direction of the stator (5; FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kondou in view of Ishikawa to disclose the maximum width Bmax- of the endless stator winding in the circumferential direction of the stator is greater than a width bB of the pole shaft relative to the circumferential direction of the stator, for the advantages of configuring the stator without causing interference in the coil end portions (¶ [0085]).
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondou et al. (US 2012/0112600 A1) in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 2014/0354095 A1) and Tsutsui (JP 2011-97723 A).
Regarding claim 7, Kondou discloses a method for producing a stator (2), comprising the steps of:
providing an annular yoke (11) with an inside oriented inwards in the radial direction (FIG 2) of the annular yoke (11);
providing a plurality of pole teeth (10) connected to the annular yoke (11) on the inside of the annular yoke (11) by form fit (FIG 4B; ¶ [0048] press-fit portion 22), and the plurality of pole teeth (10) are mutually spaced in the circumferential direction (FIG 2) of the annular yoke (11), each of the plurality of pole teeth (10) further comprising:
a pole shaft (23);
a pole shoe (24) adjoining the pole shaft (23) such that the pole shoe (24) is formed on a side of the pole tooth (10) facing away from the annular yoke (11), the pole shaft (23) formed tapering inwardly in the radial direction over the length of the pole shaft (23), starting from the inside of the annular yoke (11) to the pole shoe (23; FIG 4A; ¶ [0050]; the tapering surface starts on the inside of the annular yoke at half way down the pole shaft to the pole shoe);
providing an endless stator winding (8; FIG 3) configured as a mat (¶ [0060] distributed winding) formed between each of the plurality of pole teeth (10) such that a shortest distance Ak (see annotated FIG 4A) between two pole shoes (24) of two of the plurality of pole teeth (10) which are adjacent in the circumferential direction of the stator (2) is smaller than a maximum width Bmax (see annotated FIG 4A) of the endless stator winding (8) in the circumferential direction of the stator (2).
Kondou does not disclose the maximum width Bmax- of the endless stator winding in the circumferential direction of the stator is greater than a width bB of the pole shaft relative to the circumferential direction of the stator; and
providing a circular ring;
arranging each of the plurality of pole teeth on the circular ring;
inserting the endless stator winding configured as a mat in an intermediate space between mutually adjacent pole teeth, starting from a side facing away from the pole shoe;
connecting the plurality of pole teeth having the endless stator winding to the annular yoke in form-fit fashion.
Ishikawa discloses the maximum width Bmax- (Bc) of the endless stator winding (7) in the circumferential direction of the stator (5) is greater than a width bB (Bt) of the pole shaft relative to the circumferential direction of the stator (5; FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kondou in view of Ishikawa to disclose the maximum width Bmax- of the endless stator winding in the circumferential direction of the stator is greater than a width bB of the pole shaft relative to the circumferential direction of the stator, for the advantages of configuring the stator without causing interference in the coil end portions (¶ [0085]).
Tsutsui providing a circular ring (40);
arranging each of the plurality of pole teeth (15) on the circular ring (40; FIG 10);
inserting the endless stator winding (20) configured as a mat (FIG 11) in an intermediate space (19) between mutually adjacent pole teeth (15), starting from a side facing away from the pole shoe (15b; FIG 12);
connecting the plurality of pole teeth (15) having the endless stator winding (20) to the annular yoke (13) in form-fit fashion (FIG 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kondou in view of Tsutsui to disclose providing a circular ring; arranging each of the plurality of pole teeth on the circular ring; inserting the endless stator winding configured as a mat in an intermediate space between mutually adjacent pole teeth, starting from a side facing away from the pole shoe; connecting the plurality of pole teeth having the endless stator winding to the annular yoke in form-fit fashion, for the advantages of increasing the efficiency of winding insertion process.
Regarding claim 8/7, Kondou in view of Ishikawa and Tsutsui was discussed above in claim 7. Kondou in view of Ishikawa does not disclose providing an insulation paper;
laying the insulation paper between two adjacent of the plurality of pole teeth after arranging the pole teeth on the circular ring and before inserting the endless stator winding configured as a mat.
Tsutsui discloses providing an insulation paper;
laying the insulation paper between two adjacent of the plurality of pole teeth (15) after arranging the pole teeth (15) on the circular ring (40) and before inserting the endless stator winding (20) configured as a mat.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kondou in view of Ishikawa and Tsutsui to disclose providing an insulation paper; laying the insulation paper between two adjacent of the plurality of pole teeth after arranging the pole teeth on the circular ring and before inserting the endless stator winding configured as a mat, for the advantages of ensuring insulation of the coil from the stator teeth.
Regarding claim 9/8, Kondou in view of Ishikawa and Tsutsui was discussed above in claim 8. Tsutsui further discloses for arranging the endless stator winding (20) configured as a mat, the circular ring (40) is turned about its longitudinal axis (FIG 12).
Regarding claim 10/9, Kondou in view of Ishikawa and Tsutsui was discussed above in claim 9. Kondou further discloses arranging the endless stator winding (8) in the intermediate space (12) between the pole teeth (10) in multiple layers (eight layers) in the radial direction of the stator (2; FIG 4A).
Regarding claim 11/10, Kondou in view of Ishikawa and Tsutsui was discussed above in claim 10. Kondou further discloses introducing the pole teeth (10) in corresponding recesses (18) on the inside of the annular yoke (11) in the axial direction of the stator (2) or annular yoke (11).
Regarding claim 12/11, Kondou in view of Tsutsui was discussed above in claim 11. Kondou does not disclose pressing the pole teeth having the endless stator winding, at least in portions, into corresponding recesses on the inside of the annular yoke in the radial direction of the stator; and
fixing the pole teeth having the endless stator winding in the annular yoke by shaping and/or shrinking.
Tsutsui discloses pressing the pole teeth (15) having the endless stator winding (20), at least in portions, into corresponding recesses (25) on the inside of the annular yoke (14) in the radial direction of the stator (1); and
fixing the pole teeth (15) having the endless stator winding (20) in the annular yoke (14) by shaping and/or shrinking (tooth is fitted to the yoke).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondou et al. (US 2012/0112600 A1) in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 2014/0354095 A1) and Tsutsui (JP 2011-97723 A) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Saint-Michel et al. (US 2021/0203197 A1).
Regarding claim 13/12, Kondou in view of Ishikawa and Tsutsui was discussed above in claim 12. Kondou in view of Ishikawa and Tsutsui does not disclose in addition to the form fit, connecting the annular yoke and the pole teeth together by substance bonding.
Saint-Michel discloses in addition to the form fit (FIG 10), connecting the annular yoke (29) and the pole teeth (23) together by substance bonding (¶ [0164] clipping, rivets, tie rods, welding or any other technique).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kondou in view of Ishikawa and Tsutsui, further in view of Saint-Michel to disclose in addition to the form fit, connecting the annular yoke and the pole teeth together by substance bonding, to ensure that the yoke and the teeth are firmly attached together (¶ [0164] held together).
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834