DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-16 were pending for examination in Application No. 18,300,019, filed April 13th, 2023. In the remarks and amendments received on March 2nd, 2026, claims 1, 3, 6, and 15-16 are amended, claims 2 and 9 are cancelled, and no claims are added. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-8, and 10-16 are pending for examination in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed March 2nd, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1, have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references, facilitated by Applicant’s newly submitted amendments being used in the current rejection.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US-20230074128-A1), and further in view of Lefevere et al. (US-7463772-B1).
Regarding claim 1, Fujita teaches a printed-matter inspection system (“an inspection apparatus that performs quality inspection on a printed matter printed by a printer,” Para [0009]) comprising:
a processor that inspects printed matter (“including at least one processor,” Para [0009]); and
a display device that displays a result of the inspection (“inspection status screen 501 further displays the number of inspected sheets, the number of sheets each determined as inspection result NG, a defect rate, and the number of times of occurrence of each cause of the inspection result NG on a real-time basis during the inspection,” Para [0104]),
wherein the processor is configured to:
compare a scanned image (“a scanned image of a printed matter,” Para [0003]) with a reference image of an inspection-target page of the printed matter (“an image before printed, such as a RIP image, is set as the reference image,” Para [0003]) to perform inspection for at least one defect that is present in the scanned image (“in a case where a difference is detected as a result of comparison between the pre-printed image and the scanned image… receive a user input concerning whether or not the detected difference is a defect,” Para [0009]), the scanned image being obtained by scanning the inspection-target page (“generates a scanned image by photographing a sheet passing through the inspection unit,” Para [0053]);
and display, on the display device, the at least one detected defect on a page (Fig. 9, assumed defect is marked on “Print result”) of the plurality of pages (Fig. 7, Step S703, many pages are scanned in succession)
Fujita fails to teach the following limitations as further claimed. Lefevere, however, further teaches:
obtain information about post-processing (de-warping) that is to be performed on the printed matter (“generate a model that describes the three-dimensional profile of a page… The model can be used to "de-warp" a two-dimensional image of the page,” Col. 3, Lines 25-26, 28-29));
on a basis of the information about the post-processing, form at least one simulated image (“de-warp[ed]… two-dimensional image of a page,” Col. 3, Lines 30-31) of the printed matter obtained after the post-processing (“de-warping”) from the scanned image (“page 301,” Col. 3, Pg. 33), the at least one simulated image comprising a plurality of pages (“model 455 may be generated for each page or pair of pages of the document,” Col. 5, Lines 45-47, where the document can be a book, such as in Fig. 1);
and display, on the display device, the at least one detected defect on a page (Fujita, Fig. 9, assumed defect is marked on “Print result”) of the plurality of pages (Fujita, Fig. 7, Step S703, many pages are scanned in succession) of the at least one simulated image (Lefevere, “de-warp[ed]… two-dimensional image of a page,” Col. 3, Lines 30-31).
Lefevere is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of compensating for distortions when scanning printed documents. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lefevere into Fujita for the benefit of a clearer output image that is not marred by defects or warps.
Regarding claim 8, the rejections of claims 1 is incorporated herein. Fujita in view of Lefevere teaches the system of claim 1, and Fujita further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: further display a type of the at least one defect on the display device (“The inspection apparatus 108 thus identifies a type of the detected defect based on features of each defect and displays the identified type on the inspection NG list,” Para [0111]).
Claims 15 and 16 are non-transitory computer readable medium and system claims that correspond to system claim 1. Claims 15 and 16 are thus rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim(s) 3, 6-7, 10, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US-20230074128-A1) and Lefevere et al. (US-7463772-B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seto (US-20140293304-A1).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Fujita in view of Lefevere teach the system of claim 1, but are not relied upon to teach the following limitations. Seto, however, further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
convert, for display, a position of the at least one defect in the scanned image (“position deviation of each page area 108“) to a position in the at least one simulated image (“two-dimensional position deviation for each page area 108 in the form of the virtual product VP”) of the printed matter obtained after the post-processing (“reflect the position deviation of each page area 108 generated at the time of post-processing as the two-dimensional position deviation for each page area 108 in the form of the virtual product VP,” Para [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have incorporated the teachings of Seto into Fujita and Lefevere for the benefit of an operator being more able to find the page of a book that has a defect.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Fujita in view of Lefevere teach the system of claim 1, but are not relied upon to teach the following limitations. Seto, however, further teaches wherein the at least one simulated image comprises a plurality of simulated images corresponding to the plurality of images (“faithfully visualize a degree of the position deviation of each page area,” I.E., page area is one page,” Para [0008]), and wherein the processor is configured to:
display, in page order (“based on the post-processing information relating to the post-processing included in the imposition data acquired by the data acquisition unit,” (Para [0009]) I.E., imposition data inherently contains page order), the simulated images of the printed matter obtained after the post-processing (Figs. 11A and 11B, showing the virtual product, which is a virtual version of the “final product”, or, the finished book),
and display the at least one defect (“mapping a page image indicating the page area on the printed matter shifted as much as the position deviation amount… on the virtual product”) in accordance with the page order (“creates preview image data indicating the virtual product by mapping a page image indicating the page area on the printed matter shifted as much as the position deviation amount estimated by the position deviation amount estimation unit onto the page area on the virtual product,” Para [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have incorporated the teachings of Seto into Fujita and Lefevere for the benefit of an operator being more able to find the page of a book that has a defect.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein. Fujita in view of Lefevere teach the system of claim 6, but are not relied upon to teach the following limitations. Seto, however, further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
display, in a spread, the simulated images of the printed matter obtained after the post-processing (Fig. 11A, the “virtual product”),
and display the at least one defect in the spread (“mapping a page image indicating the page area on the printed matter shifted as much as the position deviation amount estimated by the position deviation amount estimation unit onto the page area on the virtual product,” Para [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have incorporated the teachings of Seto into Fujita and Lefevere for the benefit of an operator being more able to find the page of a book that has a defect.
Regarding claims 10 and 13-14, the rejections of claims 3 and 6-7 are incorporated herein. Fujita in view of Lefevere and Seto teach the system of claims 3 and 6-7, and Fujita further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: further display a type of the at least one defect on the display device (“The inspection apparatus 108 thus identifies a type of the detected defect based on features of each defect and displays the identified type on the inspection NG list,” Para [0111]).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US-20230074128-A1) in view of Lefevere et al. (US-7463772-B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seto (US-20140293304-A1) and Atwood et al. (US-20220309634-A1).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Fujita in view of Lefevere teach the system of claim 1, but are not relied upon to teach the following limitations. Seto, however, further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: among the defects that are present in the scanned image, cause a defect that is not present in the at least one simulated image of the printed matter (I.E., not in the “cut out area”) obtained after the post-processing, to be hidden (“the image creation unit 78 acquires each page image 170 that includes the cut out area or each page image 170 that does not include the cut out area, and creates the virtual product VP according to the instruction operation of the operator,” Para [0091]).
Seto fails to teach the following limitations as further claimed. Atwood, however, further teaches: wherein the at least one defect comprises a plurality of defects (“The defect detection component 152 is configured for identifying, where present, one or more defects in the scanned image,” Para [0070]).
Atwood is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of defect detection in printed images or text. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have incorporated the teachings of Atwood into Fujita, Lefevere, and Seto for the benefit of a more effective defect detection system.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have incorporated the teachings of Seto into Fujita and Lefevere for the benefit of a more refined virtual visualization of the book or printed product.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. Fujita in view of Lefevere, Seto, and Atwood teach the system of claim 4, and Seto further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: among the defects that are present in the scanned image, cause a defect that is at a position of a register mark or at a position in a margin in the printed matter (“Examples of the cut out area include trimming (finishing), bleeding (cutting margin) and creeping (the thickness of the sheet 36 and the space required to fold the sheet of each folded book),” Para [0091]) obtained after the post-processing, to be hidden (“the image creation unit 78 acquires each page image 170 that includes the cut out area or each page image 170 that does not include the cut out area, and creates the virtual product VP according to the instruction operation of the operator,” Para [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have incorporated the teachings of Seto into the combination for the benefit of a more refined virtual visualization of the book or printed product.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the rejections of claims 4 and 5 are incorporated herein. Fujita in view of Lefevere, Seto, and Atwood teach the system of claims 4 and 5, and Fujita further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: further display a type of the at least one defect on the display device (“The inspection apparatus 108 thus identifies a type of the detected defect based on features of each defect and displays the identified type on the inspection NG list,” Para [0111]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Rachel Anne Ometz/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 3/17/26
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668