DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 10 February 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Non-elected claims 16-20 have been canceled.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15, line 2, “os” should be -- is --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ortner et al. (US 2018/0215647 A1)(Ortner).
Ortner discloses a plate-like glass (i.e., panel). See the title. Glass is inherently a “vitreous material.” Ortner discloses employing a glass having a coefficient of thermal expansion of 3.3 x 10-6K-1. See paragraph [0080]. The plate has opposing surfaces, a thickness between the surfaces and a channel (i.e., recess) which joins the surfaces. See the abstract and Figure 12. The wall of the channel between the surfaces has a plurality of hemispherical depressions (i.e., dome-shaped hollows). See the abstract. Hemispherical depressions have ridges that enclose them as shown in Figure 7.
Ortner fails to disclose:
The mean roughness of the wall of the channel is least 50 nm and less than 5 µm (claim 1);
The mean roughness value is at least 50 nm and less than 1 µm (claim 5) and
The anisotropy limitations of instant claims 12 and 13.
However, these features are presumed to be inherent to the article of Ortner for two reasons. See MPEP 2112. First, the SEM micrograph of Figure 7 of Ortner is identical to instant Figure 5. Instant Figure 5 shows the surface of the channel and is formed in accordance with the instant invention. See paragraph [0079] of the instant specification as published as US 2023/0311248 A1. If the surface of Ortner is microscopically identical to the surface of the present invention, the mean roughness and anisotropy must also be the same.
Second, the method taught by Ortner and the method of the instant invention are nearly identical:
Step/parameter
Ortner disclosure
Location in Ortner
Instant invention
Location in Pre Grant publication of the instant invention
Laser
YAG; 1064 nm
[0053]
Nd:YAG 1064 nm
[0039]
Laser dia.
12 mm
[0053]
12 mm
[0039]
Laser pulse duration
10 ps
[0053]
< 15 ps
[0044]
Number of pulses
4 or more
[0053]
3 to less than 10
[0041]
Burst frequency
20 ns
[0053]
20 ns
[0070]
Pulse energy
At least 400 microjoule
[0053]
At least 400 microjoule
[0070]
Etchant
KOH
[0054]
KOH
[0073]
Etchant concentration
6-30mol/L
[0054]
6-30 mol/L
[0073]
Etching pH
> 12
[0054]
> 12
[0073]
Etching temperature
> 90°C
[0054]
60-100°C
[0051]
Etching time
8 hours
[0081]
Several hours
[0052]
If the surface of the channel is formed in an identical manner, then the wall mean surface roughness and anisotropy must be the same.
As to claims 2 and 3, Ortner teaches the channel runs transverse, in particular perpendicular, to the side face. See paragraph [0072].
As to claim 6, Ortner teaches the hemispherical depressions (i.e., domes) have a transverse dimension (i.e., diameter) of 5 to 20 µm. See paragraph [0074].
As to claims 7 and 8, Ortner discloses forming multiple channels in which each is formed by the same method and will therefore have the claimed mean roughness. See Figures 3-6.
The transmission recited in claims 9 and 10 is presumed to be inherent to the product of Ortner because it is formed in an identical manner with a glass that is identical to the glass recited in instant claim 14.
As to claim 14, Ortner discloses using a glass containing 63-83wt% SiO2. See paragraph [0080]
As to claim 15, Ortner teaches the glass may be used as a fuel pressure sensor. See paragraph [0091].
Conclusion
/David Sample/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784