DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 1/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Examiner has not demonstrated a serious search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions include divergent subject matter and require differing fields of search. In analyzing the structure of claims 1 and 14, the method includes the step of obtaining a temperature sensor reading. The structure that is used to accomplish the step could greatly differ in scope from the invention put forth in claim 1. The structure may include various types of heat sensors, the device may include computer automated structure, the system into which the temperature is integrated may differ in scope. Additionally the means by which the obtaining may take place can vary in scope. The reading can be taken manually, or there could be circuitry that is used to perform the function. Each of these contingencies would broaden the scope of search for the device. Further, the device of claim 14 puts forth comparative structure, which may also be manual, or may be an automated system. Each of these contingencies also provide for a varying field of search from that of the device put forth in claim 1.
As to Applicant’s position that the inventions are classified in the same class, A63C3/08 is a generic class for aircraft based devices. Each element added to the aircraft based device will require addition to the field of search. While the device is generically classified as an aircraft based device, the queries and additional classes that will need to be searched will vary due to the difference in scope between the claims.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rambo (CN114450473).
Regarding claim 1, Rambo discloses a fire extinguishing system, comprising:
a thermal transport bus (300) (lines 680-681, the heat exchanger may be a heat transfer bus) to transfer heat between fluids on an aircraft using a working fluid (The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; lines 701-702,. The buffer fluid in the heat exchanger transfers heat from the hot fluid to the cold fluid); and a fire extinguishing nozzle connected to the thermal transport bus (Lines 894-895, The passage suggests an opening where the buffer fluid is provided at a point where cold fluid may mix with hot fluid; Examiner interprets the suggested opening as an extinguishing nozzle), the fire extinguishing nozzle positioned to deploy the working fluid as a fire extinguishing agent to a location of the aircraft (Lines 894-896).
Regarding claim 2, Rambo discloses the fire extinguishing system of claim 1, wherein the fire extinguishing agent is supercritical carbon dioxide (Line 1327).
Regarding claim 3, Rambo discloses the fire extinguishing system of claim 1, wherein the thermal transport bus is in connection with at least one of a supercritical carbon dioxide pump (382) (The pump supplies the buffer fluid which is supercritical carbon dioide) or a heat source.
Regarding claim 4, Rambo discloses the fire extinguishing system of claim 3, wherein the heat source includes at least one of bleed air, a bypass stream, or exhaust heat (Lines 757-758, bleed air from one of the systems is added to the heat exchanger of the transport bus to heat the buffer air).
Regarding claim 5, Rambo discloses the fire extinguishing system of claim 1, wherein the fire extinguishing nozzle is positioned at least one of (1) upstream or downstream of a split valve, or (2) upstream or downstream of a heat source (downstream of a heat source; Figure 4, the point where the hot and cold fluid flow is downstream of the buffer fluid heat exchanger 32; As such, the opening is downstream of the heat source).
Regarding claim 6, Rambo discloses the fire extinguishing system of claim 1, wherein the thermal transport bus is in connection with a first flow split valve (36) and a second flow split valve (Line 835, pressure control valve), a first fire extinguishing nozzle (316) positioned upstream or downstream of the first flow split valve and a second fire extinguishing nozzle (318) positioned upstream or downstream of the second flow split valve (The nozzles are interpreted as extinguishing nozzles, as they circulate fire extinguishing fluid).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752