DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chretien et al. (US 2019/0305708) in view of Ichikawa et al. (US 6,229,722).
Regarding claim 1,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
A heating ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system (¶0016), comprising: a motor (Fig. 3, 202) for powering a load (compressor, ¶0016); a voltage source (106) having a first line (top AC line of 210) and a second line (bottom line of AC line 210), wherein at least one of the first line and the second line is further coupled to a drive (208) for operating the load (202, drives compressor, ¶0024), wherein the drive is configured for operation in at least one of inverter power (208) and line power (from 210 and 114); and a circuit (210, 114, 302) coupled to the drive (208),
and when the drive is not experiencing failure, operate in a disabled state, in which the circuit does not bypass operation of the drive and the drive continues to operate the load (drive or inverter, 208, drives load when contactors, 114 are not bypassing inverter, ¶0020).
They do not disclose:
the circuit comprising a plurality of fuse disconnects coupled to respective inverter legs of the drive, wherein the circuit is configured to: when the drive is experiencing failure, operate in an operable state in which the circuit disconnects the drive from the load using at least one fuse disconnect of the plurality of fuse disconnects and provides power to the load instead of the drive;
However, Ichikawa teaches (Fig 32):
the circuit comprising a plurality of fuse disconnects (Fig. 32, A4U1, A4V1, A4W1, A4U2, A4V2, A4W2, A4U3, A4V3, A4W3) coupled to respective inverter legs of the drive (U, V, W, Col. 13:31-44), wherein the circuit is configured to: when the drive is experiencing failure, operate in an operable state in which the circuit disconnects the drive from the load using at least one fuse disconnect of the plurality of fuse disconnects (Col. 14:29-54) and provides power to the load instead of the drive (bypass operation, Col. 14:29-54);
Although Chretien nor Ichikawa disclose fuse disconnects coupled between the load and respective inverter legs of the drive, Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take fuse disconnects and move them between the load and inverter legs as it would have been obvious to try with a finite of identified, predictable solutions I.E. as there are a finite amount of places a fuse can go to disconnect the load from the power source, it would have been obvious to try and place the fuses in between he inverter legs and load which accomplishes the same task as peer Perfect Web Tech., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328-29, 92 USPQ2d 1849, 1854 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the HVAC system from Chretien that bypasses an inverter if the inverter fails to directly power a load (¶0020, ¶0039) and add the fuses in the inverter legs as taught by Ichikawa in order to blow a fuse and bypass an inverter leg in order to keep powering a load during a transient event (Col. 14:29-54). This would increase redundancy allowing the load to be powered when an inverter leg is damaged or bypassed entirely.
Regarding claim 2,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein the circuit (Fig. 3, 210, 114, 302) further comprises a contactor (114, ¶0018).
Regarding claim 3,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
a relay (114, a contactor is a type of relay), a capacitor (316), and at least one of a switch (304, 306) for automatic bypass and manual override connection points for manual bypass (¶0030).
They do not disclose:
wherein the circuit further comprises: a plurality of fuse disconnects,
However, Ichikawa teaches (Fig. 32):
wherein the circuit further comprises: a plurality of fuse disconnects (Fig. 32, A4U1, A4V1, A4W1, A4U2, A4V2, A4W2, A4U3, A4V3, A4W3),
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the HVAC system from Chretien that bypasses an inverter if the inverter fails to directly power a load (¶0020, ¶0039) and add the fuses in the inverter legs as taught by Ichikawa in order to blow a fuse and bypass an inverter leg in order to keep powering a load during a transient event (Col. 14:29-54). This would increase redundancy allowing the load to be powered when an inverter leg is damaged or bypassed entirely.
Regarding claim 4,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein the contactor includes inputs (input to 114, from 210) and outputs (output to inverter and motor, 202, 208).
Regarding claim 5,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein inputs of the contactor (Fig. 3, connected to 210) are coupled to the first line (top AC line of 210) and the second line (bottom AC line of 210) of the voltage source (106), and outputs of the contactor (outputs of 114 connected to 208 and 202) are coupled to a main winding (206) and a start winding (204) of the motor (202, ¶0023).
Regarding claim 6,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein one of the inputs and outputs of the contactor is coupled to the capacitor (connected through capacitor 316, ¶0031).
Regarding claim 7,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein the relay (Fig. 4, 114) is coupled to an inverter leg (coupled to two legs and node connecting 212) of the drive (208), the start winding of the motor (204), and the capacitor (316, ¶0030-¶0031).
Regarding claim 8,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
where a command to the switch for automatic bypass is provided by at least one of a standalone electronic circuit (302), from a system controller (¶0020), and from a thermostat.
Regarding claim 9,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
A heating ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system (¶0016), comprising: a motor (Fig. 3, 202) for powering a load (compressor, ¶0016); a voltage source (106) having a first line (top AC line of 210) and a second line (bottom line of AC line 210), wherein at least one of the first line and the second line is further coupled to a drive (208) for operating the load (202, drives compressor, ¶0024); and a circuit (210, 114, 302) coupled to the drive (208),
and when the drive is not experiencing failure, operate in a disabled state, in which the circuit does not bypass operation of the drive and the drive continues to operate the load (drive or inverter, 208, drives load when contactors, 114 are not bypassing inverter, ¶0020).
They do not disclose:
the circuit comprising a plurality of fuse disconnects coupled to respective inverter legs of the drive, wherein the circuit is configured to: when the drive is experiencing failure, operate in an operable state in which the circuit disconnects the drive from the load using at least one fuse disconnect of the plurality of fuse disconnects and provides power to the load instead of the drive;
However, Ichikawa teaches (Fig. 32):
the circuit comprising a plurality of fuse disconnects (Fig. 32, A4U1, A4V1, A4W1, A4U2, A4V2, A4W2, A4U3, A4V3, A4W3) coupled to respective inverter legs of the drive (U, V, W, Col. 13:31-44), wherein the circuit is configured to: when the drive is experiencing failure, operate in an operable state in which the circuit disconnects the drive from the load using at least one fuse disconnect of the plurality of fuse disconnects (Col. 14:29-54) and provides power to the load instead of the drive (bypass operation, Col. 14:29-54);
Although Chretien nor Ichikawa disclose fuse disconnects coupled between the load and respective inverter legs of the drive, Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take fuse disconnects and move them between the load and inverter legs as it would have been obvious to try with a finite of identified, predictable solutions I.E. as there are a finite amount of places a fuse can go to disconnect the load from the power source, it would have been obvious to try and place the fuses in between he inverter legs and load which accomplishes the same task as peer Perfect Web Tech., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328-29, 92 USPQ2d 1849, 1854 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the HVAC system from Chretien that bypasses an inverter if the inverter fails to directly power a load (¶0020, ¶0039) and add the fuses in the inverter legs as taught by Ichikawa in order to blow a fuse and bypass an inverter leg in order to keep powering a load during a transient event (Col. 14:29-54). This would increase redundancy allowing the load to be powered when an inverter leg is damaged or bypassed entirely.
Regarding claim 10,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein the circuit (Fig. 3, 210, 114, 302) further comprises a contactor (114, ¶0018).
Regarding claim 11,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein the contactor includes inputs (input to 114, from 210) and outputs (output to inverter and motor, 202, 208).
Regarding claim 12,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein inputs of the contactor (Fig. 3, connected to 210) are coupled to the first line (top AC line of 210) and the second line (bottom AC line of 210) of the voltage source (106), and outputs of the contactor (outputs of 114 connected to 208 and 202) are coupled to a main winding (206) and a start winding (204) of the motor (202, ¶0023).
Regarding claim 13,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
, wherein at least one inverter leg of the drive (Fig. 3, 208) is coupled to a capacitor (212 is coupled to middle leg, ¶0023).
Regarding claim 14,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
A bypass kit (Fig. 3, all elements) comprising:
a contactor (114) having inputs (connected to 210) and outputs (connected to 208 and 202) for coupling with a drive (208, ¶0023), the contactor (114) including inputs (connected to 210) and outputs (connected to 208 and 202), wherein the inputs are configured for coupling to a voltage source (106, through 210) having a first line (top line of 210) and a second line (bottom AC line of 210), and the outputs are configured for coupling to at least one inverter leg of the drive (output of 114 is connected to two legs of 208 and 202)
and when the drive is not experiencing failure, operate in a disabled state, in which the contactor does not bypass operation of the drive and the drive continues to operate the motor for powering the load (drive or inverter, 208, drives load when contactors, 114 are not bypassing inverter, ¶0020).
They do not disclose:
wherein the contactor is configured to: , when the drive is experiencing failure, operate an operable state in which the contactor is configured to disconnects the drive from a motor using at least one fuse disconnect of the plurality of fuse disconnects and provide power to the motor for powering a load instead of the drive;
However, Ichikawa teaches (Fig. 32):
a plurality of fuse disconnects (Fig. 32, A4U1, A4V1, A4W1, A4U2, A4V2, A4W2, A4U3, A4V3, A4W3) coupled to respective inverter legs of a drive (U, V, W, Col. 13:31-44);
wherein the contactor is configured to: , when the drive is experiencing failure, operate an operable state in which the contactor is configured to disconnects the drive from a motor using at least one fuse disconnect of the plurality of fuse disconnects (Col. 14:29-54)and provide power to the motor for powering a load instead of the drive (bypass operation, Col. 14:29-54);
Although Chretien nor Ichikawa disclose fuse disconnects coupled between the load and respective inverter legs of the drive, Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take fuse disconnects and move them between the load and inverter legs as it would have been obvious to try with a finite of identified, predictable solutions I.E. as there are a finite amount of places a fuse can go to disconnect the load from the power source, it would have been obvious to try and place the fuses in between he inverter legs and load which accomplishes the same task as peer Perfect Web Tech., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328-29, 92 USPQ2d 1849, 1854 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the HVAC system from Chretien that bypasses an inverter if the inverter fails to directly power a load (¶0020, ¶0039) and add the fuses in the inverter legs as taught by Ichikawa in order to blow a fuse and bypass an inverter leg in order to keep powering a load during a transient event (Col. 14:29-54). This would increase redundancy allowing the load to be powered when an inverter leg is damaged or bypassed entirely.
Regarding claim 15,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein one of the inputs and outputs of the contactor is coupled to the capacitor (connected through capacitor 316, ¶0031).
Regarding claim 16,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein outputs of the contactor (outputs of 114 connected to 208 and 202) are coupled to a main winding (206) and a start winding (204) of the motor (202, ¶0023).
Regarding claim 17,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein the circuit further comprises: a switch (Fig. 3, 304, 306,) for automatic bypass and manual override connection points for manual bypass (¶0030).
Regarding claim 18,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
further comprising a relay (Fig. 3, 114, a contactor is a type of relay) coupled to an inverter leg of the drive (coupled to leg of 208 and 202).
Regarding claim 19,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein the relay (114)is coupled to the capacitor (316).
Regarding claim 20,
Chretien discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein the capacitor (Fig. 3, 316) is coupled to the start winding (coupled to outputs of 114 and 204 and 214) and one of the outputs of the contactor (output of 114).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments pertaining to claims 1-20, applicant argues that Chretien nor Ichikawa teach that the fuses are connected between the load and the inverter legs, however, as shown above in the 103 rejection, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take fuse disconnects and move them between the load and inverter legs as it would have been obvious to try with a finite of identified, predictable solutions I.E. as there are a finite amount of places a fuse can go to disconnect the load from the power source, it would have been obvious to try and place the fuses in between he inverter legs and load which accomplishes the same task as peer Perfect Web Tech., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328-29, 92 USPQ2d 1849, 1854 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
As such, examiner is maintaining the rejections of claims 1-20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.S.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 2846 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846