Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 3,477,761 to Krantz.
Claims 1 and 15, Krantz discloses a head positioner comprising a platform defined by a back rest 10 which is configured to be mounted on a stand; the platform comprising a central slider member defined by a support bar 12 which is in slidable engagement with the platform, the central slider member movable longitudinally along the platform; a bracket defined by a yoke means 12 mounted on the support bar; and a landmark pad defined by headrest 11 a pin 13 which is in rotational engagement with the bracket and the landmark pad being movable longitudinally with respect to the platform in response to the longitudinal movement of the central slider member along the platform, and a central depression capable of accepting a selected landmark of a patient's head (fig. 1).
Claims 2 and 16, Krantz discloses the head positioner further comprising an adjustor defined by detents (23,24) capable of providing horizontal movement of the head rest.
Claims 3 and 17, Krantz discloses the head positioner wherein the landmark pad further includes an elongated wedge defined by brackets (19,20) which is parallel to the pin.
Claims 4 and 18, Krantz discloses the head positioner wherein the brackets are disposed on an inner surface of the landmark pad (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0096322 to Farag et al.
Claims 8-9 and 20, Krantz discloses a head positioner comprising a platform defined by a back rest 10 which is capable of being mounted on a stand or a treatment table [Abstract]; a first central slider member defined by a support bar 12 capable of moving along the backrest on a longitudinal axis; and a landmark pad defined by head rest 11 attached to the support bar and a member defined by a pin 13 capable for rotation in relation to the platform, the headrest including a central depression capable of accepting a selected landmark of a patient's head (fig. 1). Krantz is silent to a second slide member configured to move along the platform along a horizontal axis. Farag discloses a head rest assembly having an adjustment mechanism 18 comprising a first bracket 130, second bracket 132, and a third bracket 134 that are capable of providing movement along a horizontal axis [0044]-[0045]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the adjustment mechanism in Farag with the head positioner of Krantz with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed the user to adjust the head rest of Krantz relative to the longitudinal, axial planes, and central longitudinal axis.
Claim 10, Krantz discloses the head positioner wherein the landmark pad further includes an elongated wedge defined by brackets (19,20) which is parallel to the pin.
Claim 11, Krantz discloses the head positioner wherein the brackets are disposed on an inner surface of the landmark pad (fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0053557 to Damron discloses an adjustable head rest.
U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0046435 to Bonn et al. discloses an adjustable head rest.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Justin C. Mikowski can be reached on (571) 272-8525. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673