CTFR 18/300,311 CTFR 82499 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-23, 25, 26, 28-32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170324652 A1 herein Lee in view of US 20180316740 A1 herein Stockhammer in view of US 20080019303 A1 herein Baek . Claim 1, Lee discloses A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Since UE, thus memory and processor) , configured to: transmit, to a network node, an indication of one or more of a deadline, a periodicity, a nominal packet delay budget, a jitter of burst arrival times, or a nominal arrival time of data packets of a communication session (0126-0128, request to change a priority of a set of packets when the deadline to transmit) ; a user plane header (0093, 0098, packet header) ; and receive one or more data packets based at least in part on the one or more data packets arriving at or before the deadline (0128-0130, downlink packets according to deadline) . Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication is included in a general packet radio service (GPRS) tunneling protocol user plane (GTP-U) header. Stockhammer discloses wherein the indication is included in a general packet radio service (GPRS) tunneling protocol user plane (GTP-U) header (0171, client provides packet deadline to RAN/system) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to provide deadline in GTP-U headers as taught by Stockhammer so as to avoid a buffer underrun and provide smooth playback of media data (0006) . Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication includes a burst index or a protocol data unit (PDU) set index identifying a group of data packets to which the indication applies. Baek discloses disclose wherein the indication includes a burst index or a protocol data unit (PDU) set index identifying a group of data packets to which the indication applies (0018, The headers describe various properties of data bursts within the frame and provide information, thus index, to extract the data bits; Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include providing headers for uplink data bursts as taught by Baek so as to better estimate processing requirements (0007) . Claim 2, Lee discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from an application client at the UE, information indicating the deadline, the periodicity, the nominal packet delay budget, the jitter of burst arrival times, or the nominal arrival time of data packets of the communication session (0126) . Claim 3, Lee discloses The UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: convert the deadline into a radio access network (RAN) time domain to create a converted deadline, the deadline indicated by the indication being the converted deadline (0129-0130) . Claim 4, Lee discloses The UE of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors, to convert the deadline into a RAN time domain, are configured to convert the deadline from an application time domain to the RAN time domain based at least in part on one or more of: deadline mapping associated with a quality of service (QoS) flow, one or more deadline notification messages, or one or more data radio bearer (DRB) QoS parameters associated with the deadline (0130, timer at the RAN) . Claim 5, Lee discloses The UE of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: identify a burst index of the data packets based at least in part on one or more of: burst metadata available at an application layer of the data packets, or a determined burst index based at least in part on timing of the data packets, wherein the deadline is a periodic deadline (0152, 0198, timing of data packets) , and wherein the burst index is associated with an occasion of the deadline (0152, 0198, timing of when the set of packets need to be delivered) . Claim 6, Lee discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: identify an internet protocol (IP) flow to which the deadline applies, the IP flow being associated with the data packets and identified based at least in part on one or more of: an indication of the IP flow via an application layer of the data packets, or a determined logical channel identification based at least in part on an IP packet index of the data packets; and translate the IP flow into a quality of service (QoS) flow to which the deadline applies (0208, Fig. 2, IP packets destined for the UE on data bearers for the deadline) . Claim 7, Lee discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit one or more of: an indication that a quality of service (QoS) flow or a logical channel associated with the data packets is associated with the deadline, an indication of a burst index associated with an occasion of the deadline, or an indication that a logical channel identification associated with the data packets is associated with the deadline (0128, deadline for packets in flow to have the same QoS) . Claim 8, Lee discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an additional indication that a QoS flow or logical channel is configured with the deadline (0208, original QoS treatment) ; and transmit an indication that the QoS flow or logical channel associated with the data packets is associated with the deadline (0208, request to change the QoS indication) . Claim 9, Lee discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to one or more of: receive an indication that expiration of the data packets of the communication session is associated with the deadline and is not associated with a packet delay budget; transmit an indication that expiration of the data packets of the communication session is associated with the deadline and is not associated with a packet delay budget; or receive an indication of acceptance of the deadline, the periodicity, the nominal packet delay budget, the jitter of burst arrival times, or the nominal arrival time of data packets of the communication session (0128-0130, 0208) . Claim 10, Lee discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein the deadline is associated with a periodic display time and a UE internal data processing time (0060) . Claim 11, Lee discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication of a downlink resource for receiving the data packets, the downlink resource based at least in part on the indication of the deadline, the periodicity, the nominal packet delay budget, the jitter of burst arrival times, or the nominal arrival time of data packets of the communication session (0126, resources based on priority/deadline) , wherein the data packets are received based on the downlink resource (0126, receiving the scheduled packets) . Claim 12, Lee discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication of a mapping of quality of service (QoS) flows to internet protocol (IP) flows (0056) , wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the deadline, the periodicity, the nominal packet delay budget, the jitter of burst arrival times, or the nominal arrival time, are configured to: transmit, based at least in part on the mapping of the QoS flows to the IP flows, an additional indication that a QoS flow is associated with the deadline, the periodicity, the nominal packet delay budget, the jitter of burst arrival times, or the nominal arrival time (0056, 0208) . Claim 13, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1. Claim 14, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 9. Claim 15, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 10. Claim 16, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 11. Claim 17, Lee discloses The network node of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: group data packets into a burst group based at least in part on the indication of the deadline, a periodicity, a nominal packet delay budget, the jitter of burst arrival times, or the nominal arrival time of data packets of the communication session (0126-0128, request to change priority of a set of packets but maintaining the same QoS) . Claim 18, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 7. Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 8. Claim 20, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 12. Claim 21, Lee discloses The network node of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit an indication of acceptance of the deadline, the periodicity, the nominal packet delay budget, the jitter of burst arrival times, or the nominal arrival time of data packets of the communication session (0007) . Claim 22, Lee discloses The network node of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the deadline, are configured to receive the indication of the deadline via a centralized unit, and wherein the network node comprises a distributed unit (0047) . Claim 23, Lee discloses The network node of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the one or more data packets, are configured to: identify a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with the data packets (0158, QoS enforcement based on (Flow Priority Indication) FPI within the sets of packets) ; apply the deadline to the data packets based at least in part on the QoS flow being associated with the deadline (0128, 0158) ; and apply a periodic occasion of the deadline to the data packets based at least in part on a time at which the network node receives the data packets or an indication of a burst number of the data packets (0158, override the FPI to the set of packets) . Claim 25, Claim 25 further limits an alternative of claim 13. Since Lee discloses deadlines of packets, all the limitations of claim 25 have been met. Claim 26, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 9. Claim 28, Lee discloses The network node of claim 13, wherein the deadline is for transmission of a protocol data unit (PDU), and wherein the deadline of the PDU set is indicated by a PDU set delay budget (PSDB) or packet delay budget (PDB) until the deadline (0130, packet delay budget) . Claim 29, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1. Claim 30, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1. Claim 31, Lee discloses The method of claim 30, wherein receiving the indication of one or more of the deadline, the periodicity, the nominal packet delay budget, the jitter of burst arrival times, or the nominal arrival time comprises receiving the indication via a medium access control control element (Fig. 4: 402, 412) . Claim 32, Lee discloses The network node of claim 28. Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein the GTP-U header corresponds to the PDU set. Stockhammer discloses wherein the GTP-U header corresponds to the PDU set (0171). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to provide deadline in GTP-U headers as taught by Stockhammer so as to avoid a buffer underrun and provide smooth playback of media data (0006) . Claim 33, Lee discloses The method of claim 29. Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein the UE includes the burst index or the PDU set index in the GTP-U header for associating at least one of the deadline or the jitter of burst arrival times with the group of data packets identified by the burst index or the PDU set index. Stockhammer discloses a GTP-U header (see claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to provide deadline in GTP-U headers as taught by Stockhammer so as to avoid a buffer underrun and provide smooth playback of media data (0006) . Baek discloses wherein the UE includes the burst index or the PDU set index in the header for associating at least one of the deadline or the jitter of burst arrival times with the group of data packets identified by the burst index or the PDU set index (0038-0045, processing time (i.e. deadline) varies based on the burst size, burst size described in headers, see claim 1) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include providing headers for uplink data bursts as taught by Baek so as to better estimate processing requirements (0007) . 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 6754210 B1 - The invention describes a method for transmitting and forwarding data packets over a packet switching and shared media networks. The switches of the network maintain a common time reference (CTR), which is obtained either from an external source (such as GPS--Global Positioning System) or is generated and distributed internally. The time intervals are arranged in simple periodicity and complex periodicity (like seconds and minutes of a clock). The present invention provides for synchronous switches to be accessed by end-stations that are located on a shared media network. The shared media network can be of various types, including but not limited to: IEEE P1394 and Ethernet for desktop computers and room area networks, cable modem head-end (e.g., DOCSIS, IEEE 802.14), wireless base-station (e.g., IEEE 802.11), and Storage Area Network (SAN) (e.g., FC-AL, SSA). The end-station can be of corresponding various types including but not limited to: for IEEE 1394: video cameras, VCR and video disk, for cable modem: set-top box with multiple Ethernet connections to video cameras, VCRs, and for wireless: desktop computers and mobile units, and for SAN; disk drives, tape drives, RAM disks, electronic disks, and other storage devices . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Mehmood B. Khan whose telephone number is (571)272-9277. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:30 am-6:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nishant Divecha can be reached at (571) 270-3125. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Mehmood B. Khan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468 Application/Control Number: 18/300,311 Page 2 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/300,311 Page 3 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/300,311 Page 4 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/300,311 Page 5 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/300,311 Page 6 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/300,311 Page 7 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/300,311 Page 8 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/300,311 Page 9 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/300,311 Page 10 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/300,311 Page 11 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/300,311 Page 12 Art Unit: 2419