DETAILED ACTION
In view of the appeal filed on 5/09/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED as set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/ADAM R MOTT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yorke (US 11524656) in view of Flick (US 2002/0163450), and Zhang US 8939332.
Regarding claim 1, Yorke discloses a method comprising:
receiving, over a wireless network (wireless network 33 could be any wireless network including a server, etc; fig. 4; col. 6, lines 9-34) and by a processor (processor 31; col. 6, 9-34) of a vehicle operating in a first power mode (operating in a first mode implies operating vehicle functions, vehicle electronic components in a first, second mode of using power from the vehicle, e.g. security device 31 arms, actuates, activates, enables deactivates, disables, immobilizes, interrupts vehicle functions, vehicle electronic systems e.g. ECU, door locks, trunk/hatch, alarm, etc. based on received messages or commands received from user’s smart device 32; i.e. arming, actuating, activating, enabling, deactivating, disabling, immobilizing, interrupting the vehicle functions or vehicle electronic systems causes the vehicle functions or vehicle electronic components to transition from using vehicle power in one power usage mode to another power usage mode as it is well known in the art; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 14; col. 11, lines 53-56; col. 12, lines 59-64; col. 13, lines 2-9; col. 14, lines 56-67; col. 19, lines 42-45; col. 20, lines 8-28, 35-37, 50-55), a power mode command (i.e processor 31 receives a message to operate vehicle functions, vehicle electronic components in a first, second mode of using power from the vehicle, based on a message sent from a user’s smart device 32; i.e. based on the commands from the user’s smart device 32 the processor 31 causes the vehicle functions, vehicle electronic components to transition between power consumption modes, wherein the vehicle functions, vehicle electronic components are either armed, disarmed, turned-on or turned-off or enabled or disabled, and wherein when the vehicle functions, vehicle electronic are disarmed, disabled, turned-off they operate in a power mode where less power is consumed and vis versa as it is well known in the art; col. 4, lines 32-33, lines 38-49, lines 59 to col. 5, lines 19, lines 27-53; col. 15, lines 33-65) that corresponds to a location of an authorized user of the vehicle being more than a threshold distance from the vehicle (user it at a certain location from the vehicle and can adjust a threshold distance between a position of the user and a position of the vehicle; based on the distance user uses a user device to issue the commands; col. 4, lines 32-33, lines 38-54, 59 to col. 5, lines 19; col. 6, lines 15-20, 34-50; col. 8, lines 40-47); and
responsive to receiving the power mode command, causing, by the processor, a transition from the first power mode to a second power mode (enable/disable power to electronic systems similar to LoJack system; col. 11, lines 53-56; col. 12, lines 59-64; col. 13, lines 2-9; col. 14, lines 56-67), the second power mode using less power than the first power mode (when systems are disabled, disarmed, immobilized etc in a vehicle the vehicle transitions into a lower power usage mode using less power as compared to when systems are enabled, armed, actuated, etc in a vehicle the vehicle transitions into a higher power usage mode using more power as known in the art; col. 4, lines 32-33, lines 38-54, 59 to col. 5, lines 19; col. 6, lines 15-20, 34-50; col. 8, lines 40-47; col. 11, lines 17-66; col. 12, lines 1-64).
Applicant insists that Yorke does not disclose a first and second power mode, wherein the processor transitions from the first power mode to a second power mode, and wherein the second power mode using less power than the first power mode.
Assuming that Yorke does not disclose the invention, the examiner introduces Flick.
Flick teaches:
“receiving, over a wireless network (wireless network; sec 0012, 0013, 0055) and by a processor (25, fig. 2; sec 0012, 0013, 0055, 0067) of a vehicle operating in a first power mode operating in a first mode implies operating vehicle functions, vehicle electronic components in a first, second mode of using power from the vehicle, e.g. security device 25 arms, actuates, activates, enables deactivates, disables, immobilizes, interrupts vehicle functions, vehicle electronic systems e.g. ECU, door locks, trunk/hatch, alarm, etc. based on received messages or commands received from user’s smart device; i.e. through the wireless network control 25 receives a command or activation signal from transmitter 60 to selectively cause a vehicle tracking unit to be in a Low Power mode to conserve power; Also, the controller may cooperate with the wireless communications device to intermittently awaken the vehicle tracking unit from the Low power mode to poll the communications network; sec 0012, 0013-0017, 0078-0085, 0117, 0118), a power mode command (through the wireless network control 25 receives a command or activation signal to selectively cause a vehicle tracking unit to be in a Low Power mode to conserve power or to be in a high power mode when devices are awaken from the low power mode; Also, the controller may cooperate with the wireless communications device to intermittently awaken the vehicle tracking unit from the Low power mode to poll the communications network; sec 0012, 0013-0017, 0065, 0067, 0078-0085, 0117, 0118) that corresponds to a location (out of range , within range; sec 0018, 0034, 0036, 0069, 0277-0281) of an authorized user of the vehicle being more than a threshold distance from the vehicle (out of range , within range; sec 0018, 0034, 0036, 0069, 0277-0281); and
responsive to receiving the power mode command, causing, by the processor, a transition from the first power mode to a second power mode (sec 0012, 0013-0017, 0065, 0067, 0078-0085, 0117, 0118, 0286-0296), the second power mode using less power than the first power mode (sec 0012, 0013-0017, 0065, 0067, 0078-0085, 0117, 0118, 0321, 0323, 0325, 0326).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Yorke such that the Yorke device, “…..responsive to receiving the power mode command, causes, by the processor, a transition from the first power mode to a second power mode, wherein the second power mode using less power than the first power mode” as taught by Flick for the purpose of conserving power (Flick sec 0012, 0013), save the batteries while preventing unauthorized access to vehicle.
Applicant in addition insists that Yorke/Flick do not disclose a first and second power mode, wherein the processor transitions from the first power mode to a second power mode, and wherein the second power mode using less power than the first power mode after receiving the power mode command signal over a wireless network. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Assuming that Yorke and Fick do not disclose the invention, the examiner introduces Zhang (US 8938332). Zang discloses a method comprising:
Zhang (US 8938332). Zang discloses a method comprising:
receiving, over a wireless network and by a processor of a vehicle (processor or processors in a vehicle repeatedly over a wireless network receive a broadcasted or transmitted wireless power mode command signals from a smartphone, etc; col. 7, lines 4-37, lines 55-64) operating in a first power mode (the processor or processors in the vehicle operate in first and second power modes; col. 4 lines 1 – 15; col. 13 lines 24 – 34) a power mode command that corresponds to a location of an authorized user of the vehicle being more than a threshold distance from the vehicle (threshold distance is the threshold range and distance the driver with smartphone is away from the vehicle wherein processors in the vehicle receive the power mode command; col. 6, lines 51 to col. 7, lines 1; col. 7, lines 51-54); and
responsive to receiving the power mode command, causing, by the processor, a transition from the first power mode to a second power mode, the second power mode using less power than the first power mode (col. 3, lines 55 to col. 4, lines 15; col. 13 lines 24 – 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Yorke/Flick so that the Yorker/Flick device have the capability to cause a processor transition from a first power mode to a second power mode after receiving a power mode command over a wireless network, wherein the second power mode uses less power than the first power mode as taught by Zhang for saving power consumption of electronics in a vehicle and hence saving costs.
Regarding claim 2, Yorke as modified by Flick discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an indication of an amount of time that the authorized user is expected to be more than the threshold distance from the vehicle (col. 5, lines 36-42); and
controlling power usage in the second power mode based at least in part on the amount of time that the authorized user is expected to be more than the threshold distance from the vehicle (vehicle is disabled thus using less power based on user’s configuration for a time the user is away after exiting the vehicle; col. 5, lines 36-42).
Regarding claim 3, Yorke as modified by Flick discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the power mode command (operating in a first mode implies operating vehicle functions, vehicle electronic components in a first, second mode of using power from the vehicle, e.g. security device 31 arms, actuates, activates, enables deactivates, disables, immobilizes, interrupts vehicle functions, vehicle electronic systems e.g. ECU, door locks, trunk/hatch, alarm, etc. based on received messages or commands received from user’s smart device 32; i.e. arming, actuating, activating, enabling, deactivating, disabling, immobilizing, interrupting the vehicle functions or vehicle electronic systems causes the vehicle functions or vehicle electronic components to transition from using vehicle power in one power usage mode to another power usage mode as it is well known in the art; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 14; col. 11, lines 53-56; col. 12, lines 59-64; col. 13, lines 2-9; col. 14, lines 56-67); col. 19, lines 42-45; col. 20, lines 8-28, 35-37, 50-55) is received from at least one of:
a server (wireless network 33 could be any wireless network including a server, etc; fig. 4; col. 6, lines 9-34) associated with the vehicle, or a user device (user interface or smart device 31; col. 4, lines 10 to col. 5, lines 26; col. 5, lines 3-11, 22-25, 36-42) associated with the authorized user.
Regarding claim 4, Yorke discloses the method of claim 1, but did not particularly recite, a primary battery and a secondary battery. However, Flick teaches of a method, wherein a vehicle comprises a primary battery (61; sec 0078, 0079) and a secondary battery (54; sec 0078, 0079) and the method further comprises:
causing power to be delivered to the vehicle from the secondary battery while operating in the first and second power modes (sec 0078, 0079, 0081, 0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Yorke as taught by Flick for the purpose of helping the Yorke device to better and efficiently manage power consumption in vehicle devices using a first battery and a second battery such that if one battery is drained then another battery can be used as a backup to operate the systems in the Yorke device since the many devices in Yorke put together will be consuming a lot of power.
Regarding claim 5, Flick teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: causing the primary battery to recharge the secondary battery while operating in the first and second power modes (sec 0078, 0079, 0081, 0082).
Regarding claim 6, Flick teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the secondary battery is recharged less frequently when operating in the second power mode than when operating in the first power mode (backup battery, sec 0078, 0079, 0081, 0082).
Regarding claim 7, Flick teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the primary battery comprises a higher number of volts than the second battery (main battery 61; sec 0078, 0079, 0081, 0082).
Regarding claim 8, Yorke as modified by Flick discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transition from the first power mode to the second power mode comprises at least one of:
reducing at least one of a frequency or voltage (processor 31 receives plurality power mode commands, from a user’s smart device 32; based on the commands the processor configures components in a vehicle and causes them to transition between power consumption modes, wherein the modules are either turned-on or shut-down or enabled or disabled; col. 4, lines 10 to col. 5, lines 26) of at least one processor of the vehicle; or
disabling a supply of power to at least one processor of the vehicle (processor 31 receives plurality power mode commands, from a user’s smart device 32; based on the commands the processor configures components in a vehicle and causes them to transition between power consumption modes, wherein the modules are either turned-on or shut-down or enabled or disabled; col. 4, lines 10 to col. 5, lines 26).
Regarding claim 9, Yorke as modified by Flick discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, over the network and by the processor of the vehicle operating in the second power mode, another power mode command that corresponds to the authorized user of the vehicle being less than the threshold distance from the vehicle (processor 31 receives plurality power mode commands, from a user’s smart device 32; based on the commands the processor configures components in a vehicle and causes them to transition between power consumption modes, wherein the modules are either turned-on or shut-down or enabled or disabled; col. 4, lines 10 to col. 5, lines 26); and
responsive to receiving the other power mode command, causing, by the processor, another transition from the second power mode to the first power mode (processor 31 receives plurality power mode commands, from a user’s smart device 32; based on the commands the processor configures components in a vehicle and causes them to transition between power consumption modes, wherein the modules are either turned-on or shut-down or enabled or disabled; col. 4, lines 10 to col. 5, lines 26).
Regarding claim 10, Yorke discloses a system comprising:
one or more processors (processor 31; col. 6, 9-34) configured to:
configure one or more electrical components of a vehicle to operate in a first power mode (operating in a first mode implies operating vehicle functions, vehicle electronic components in a first, second mode of using power from the vehicle, e.g. security device 31 arms, actuates, activates, enables deactivates, disables, immobilizes, interrupts vehicle functions, vehicle electronic systems e.g. ECU, door locks, trunk/hatch, alarm, etc. based on received messages or commands received from user’s smart device 32; i.e. arming, actuating, activating, enabling, deactivating, disabling, immobilizing, interrupting the vehicle functions or vehicle electronic systems causes the vehicle functions or vehicle electronic components to transition from using vehicle power in one power usage mode to another power usage mode as it is well known in the art; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 14; col. 11, lines 53-56; col. 12, lines 59-64; col. 13, lines 2-9; col. 14, lines 56-67; col. 19, lines 42-45; col. 20, lines 8-28, 35-37, 50-55);
receive a command over a wireless network (wireless network 33 could be any wireless network including a server, etc; fig. 4; col. 6, lines 9-34) to transition from the first power mode to a second power mode (enable/disable power to electronic systems similar to LoJack system; col. 11, lines 53-56; col. 12, lines 59-64; col. 13, lines 2-9; col. 14, lines 56-67), the command corresponding to a determination that an authorized user of the vehicle is more than a threshold distance from the vehicle (user it at a certain location from the vehicle and can adjust a threshold distance between a position of the user and a position of the vehicle; based on the distance user uses a user device to issue the commands; col. 4, lines 32-33, lines 38-54, 59 to col. 5, lines 19; col. 6, lines 15-20, 34-50; col. 8, lines 40-47); and
responsive to receipt of the command, configure the one or more electrical components of the vehicle to operate in the second power mode, the second power mode utilizing less power than the first power mode (when systems are disabled, disarmed, immobilized etc in a vehicle the vehicle transitions into a lower power usage mode using less power as compared to when systems are enabled, armed, actuated, etc in a vehicle the vehicle transitions into a higher power usage mode using more power as known in the art; col. 4, lines 32-33, lines 38-54, 59 to col. 5, lines 19; col. 6, lines 15-20, 34-50; col. 8, lines 40-47; col. 11, lines 17-66; col. 12, lines 1-64).
Applicant insists that Yorke does not disclose a first and second power mode, wherein the processor transitions from the first power mode to a second power mode, and wherein the second power mode using less power than the first power mode.
Assuming that Yorke does not disclose the invention, the examiner introduces Flick.
Flick teaches:
A system comprising:
one or more processors (25, fig. 2; sec 0012, 0013, 0055, 0067) configured to:
configure one or more electrical components of a vehicle to operate in a first power mode (operating in a first mode implies operating vehicle functions, vehicle electronic components in a first, second mode of using power from the vehicle, e.g. security device 25 arms, actuates, activates, enables deactivates, disables, immobilizes, interrupts vehicle functions, vehicle electronic systems e.g. ECU, door locks, trunk/hatch, alarm, etc. based on received messages or commands received from user’s smart device; i.e. through the wireless network control 25 receives a command or activation signal from transmitter 60 to selectively cause a vehicle tracking unit to be in a Low Power mode to conserve power; Also, the controller may cooperate with the wireless communications device to intermittently awaken the vehicle tracking unit from the Low power mode to poll the communications network; sec 0012, 0013-0017, 0078-0085, 0117, 0118);
receive a command over a wireless network to transition from the first power mode to a second power mode (sec 0012, 0013-0017, 0065, 0067, 0078-0085, 0117, 0118, 0286-0296, 0321, 0323, 0325, 0326), the command corresponding to a determination that an authorized user of the vehicle is more than a threshold distance from the vehicle (out of range , within range; sec 0018, 0034, 0036, 0069, 0277-0281); and
responsive to receipt of the command, configure the one or more electrical components of the vehicle to operate in the second power mode, the second power mode utilizing less power than the first power mode (sec 0012, 0013-0017, 0065, 0067, 0078-0085, 0117, 0118, 0321, 0323, 0325, 0326).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Yorke such that the Yorke device, “…..responsive to receiving the power mode command, causes, by the processor, a transition from the first power mode to a second power mode, wherein the second power mode using less power than the first power mode” as taught by Flick for the purpose of conserving power (Flick sec 0012, 0013), save the batteries while preventing unauthorized access to vehicle.
Applicant in addition insists that Yorke/Flick do not disclose a first and second power mode, wherein the processor transitions from the first power mode to a second power mode, and wherein the second power mode using less power than the first power mode after receiving the power mode command signal over a wireless network. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Assuming that Yorke and Fick do not disclose the invention, the examiner introduces Zhang (US 8938332). Zang discloses a method comprising:
Zhang (US 8938332). Zang discloses a method comprising:
receiving, over a wireless network and by a processor of a vehicle (processor or processors in a vehicle repeatedly over a wireless network receive a broadcasted or transmitted wireless power mode command signals from a smartphone, etc; col. 7, lines 4-37, lines 55-64) operating in a first power mode (the processor or processors in the vehicle operate in first and second power modes; col. 4 lines 1 – 15; col. 13 lines 24 – 34) a power mode command that corresponds to a location of an authorized user of the vehicle being more than a threshold distance from the vehicle (threshold distance is the threshold range and distance the driver with smartphone is away from the vehicle wherein processors in the vehicle receive the power mode command; col. 6, lines 51 to col. 7, lines 1; col. 7, lines 51-54); and
responsive to receiving the power mode command, causing, by the processor, a transition from the first power mode to a second power mode, the second power mode using less power than the first power mode (col. 3, lines 55 to col. 4, lines 15; col. 13 lines 24 – 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Yorke/Flick so that the Yorker/Flick device have the capability to cause a processor transition from a first power mode to a second power mode after receiving a power mode command over a wireless network, wherein the second power mode uses less power than the first power mode as taught by Zhang for saving power consumption of electronics in a vehicle and hence saving costs.
Regarding claim 11, Yorke as modified by Flick disclose the system of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
receive the command over a network (wireless network 33 could be any wireless network including a server, etc; fig. 4; col. 6, lines 9-34) from at least one of:
a server associated with the vehicle (wireless network 33 could be any wireless network including a server, etc; fig. 4; col. 6, lines 9-34), or
a user device (user interface or smart device 31; col. 4, lines 10 to col. 5, lines 26; col. 5, lines 3-11, 22-25, 36-42) of the authorized user.
Regarding claim 12, Yorke as modified by Flick disclose the system of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
receive an indication of an amount of time that the authorized user is expected to be more than the threshold distance from the vehicle (col. 5, lines 36-42); and
manage operation of the one or more electrical components in the second power mode based at least in part on the amount of time (vehicle is disabled thus using less power based on user’s configuration for a time the user is away after exiting the vehicle; col. 5, lines 36-42).
Regarding claim 13, Yorke discloses the system of claim 12, but did not particularly recite, a primary battery and a secondary battery. However, Flick teaches of a system, wherein a vehicle comprises a primary battery (61; sec 0078, 0079) and a secondary battery (54; sec 0078, 0079), and one or more electrical components draw power from the secondary battery when operating in the first and second power modes (sec 0078, 0079, 0081, 0082), and wherein the primary battery is used to recharge the secondary battery during the first and second power modes (sec 0078, 0079, 0081, 0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Yorke as taught by Flick for the purpose of helping the Yorke device to better and efficiently manage power consumption in vehicle devices using a first battery and a second battery such that if one battery is drained then another battery can be used as a backup to operate the systems in the Yorke device since the many devices in Yorke put together will be consuming a lot of power.
Regarding claim 14, Flick teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
manage operation of the one or more electrical components in the second power mode to minimize a number of recharges of the secondary battery over the amount of time (sec 0078, 0079, 0081, 0082).
Regarding claim 15, Flick teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to: initiate a conditioning operation for the primary battery based at least in part on the amount of time (sec 0078, 0079, 0081, 0082).
Regarding claim 16, Yorke as modified by Flick disclose the system of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors is configured to configure the one or more electrical components of the vehicle to operate in the second power mode by:
causing a reduction in a frequency or a voltage (processor 31 receives plurality power mode commands, from a user’s smart device 32; based on the commands the processor configures components in a vehicle and causes them to transition between power consumption modes, wherein the modules are either turned-on or shut-down or enabled or disabled; col. 4, lines 10 to col. 5, lines 26) corresponding to at least one of the one or more electrical components; or
preventing power from being provided to at least one of the one or more electrical components (processor 31 receives plurality power mode commands, from a user’s smart device 32; based on the commands the processor configures components in a vehicle and causes them to transition between power consumption modes, wherein the modules are either turned-on or shut-down or enabled or disabled; col. 4, lines 10 to col. 5, lines 26).
Regarding claim 17, Yorke discloses a non-transitory machine readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first location of a vehicle (user it at a certain location from the vehicle and can adjust a threshold distance between a position of the user and a position of the vehicle; col. 6, lines 15-20, 34-50; col. 8, lines 40-47);
receiving a second location of an authorized user of the vehicle (user it at a certain location from the vehicle and can adjust a threshold distance between a position of the user and a position of the vehicle; col. 6, lines 15-20, 34-50; col. 8, lines 40-47); and
controlling power consumption of the vehicle (i.e processor 31 receives a message to operate vehicle functions, vehicle electronic components in a first, second mode of using power from the vehicle, based on a message sent from a user’s smart device 32; i.e. based on the commands from the user’s smart device 32 the processor 31 causes the vehicle functions, vehicle electronic components to transition between power consumption modes, wherein the vehicle functions, vehicle electronic components are either armed, disarmed, turned-on or turned-off or enabled or disabled, and wherein when the vehicle functions, vehicle electronic are disarmed, disabled, turned-off they operate in a power mode where less power is consumed and vis versa as it is well known in the art; col. 4, lines 32-33, lines 38-49, lines 59 to col. 5, lines 19, lines 27-53; col. 15, lines 33-65) based at least in part on whether the second location of the authorized user is more than a pre-configured distance from the first location of the vehicle (user it at a certain location from the vehicle and can adjust a threshold distance between a position of the user and a position of the vehicle; based on the distance user uses a user device to issue the commands; col. 4, lines 32-33, lines 38-54, 59 to col. 5, lines 19; col. 6, lines 15-20, 34-50; col. 8, lines 40-47).
Applicant is insisting that Yorke does not disclose the invention. Assuming that Yorke does not disclose the invention as insisted by applicant Flick is introduced wherein, Flick teaches:
A non-transitory machine readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (25, fig. 2; sec 0012, 0013, 0055, 0067), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first location of a vehicle (out of range, within range; sec 0018, 0034, 0036, 0069, 0276-0281);
receiving a second location of an authorized user of the vehicle (out of range, within range; sec 0018, 0034, 0036, 0069, 0276-0281); and
controlling power consumption of the vehicle based at least in part on whether the second location of the authorized user is more than a pre-configured distance from the first location of the vehicle (0276-0287).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Yorke as taught by Flick for the purpose of helping the Yorke device to better and efficiently manage power consumption in vehicle devices using a first battery and a second battery such that if one battery is drained then another battery can be used as a backup to operate the systems in the Yorke device since the many devices in Yorke put together will be consuming a lot of power.
Regarding claim 18, Flick teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 17, wherein the first location of the vehicle is received from a telematics system and the second location of the authorized user is received from a user device of the authorized user (sec 0018, 0034, 0036, 0069, 0276-0281);
Regarding claim 19, Flick teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 17, wherein controlling power consumption of the vehicle based at least in part on whether the second location of the authorized user is more than the pre-configured distance from the first location of the vehicle (sec 0018, 0034, 0036, 0069, 0276-0281), comprises:
responsive to determining, based at least in part on the first and second locations, that the authorized user of the vehicle has moved outside of the pre-configured distance from the vehicle (sec 0016-0018, 0034, 0036, 0069, 0276-0281) transmitting, to a processor of the vehicle, a command to cause the vehicle to transition from a first power mode to a second power mode (sec 0012, 0013-0017, 0065, 0067, 0078-0085, 0117, 0118, 0286-0296), the second power mode utilizing less power than the first power mode (sec 0012, 0013-0017, 0065, 0067, 0078-0085, 0117, 0118, 0321, 0323, 0325, 0326); and
responsive to determining, based at least in part on the first and second locations, that the authorized user of the vehicle has moved inside of the pre-configured distance from the vehicle (sec 0012, 0013-0017, 0065, 0067, 0078-0085, 0117, 0118, 0276-0296), transmitting, to the processor of the vehicle, another command to cause the vehicle to transition from the second power mode to the first power mode (sec 0012, 0013-0017, 0065, 0067, 0078-0085, 0117, 0118, 0321, 0323, 0325, 0326).
Regarding claim 20, Flick teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 19, wherein the authorized user and another authorized user are registered as authorized users of the vehicle (0276-0281, 0300, 0314), and the operations further comprise:
receiving a third location of the other authorized user of the vehicle (several authorized users are authorized to use the vehicle sec 0016-0018, 0034, 0036, 0069, 0276-0281, 0293); and
responsive to determining, based at least in part on the first, second, and third locations, that both the authorized user and the other authorized user are outside of the pre-configured distance from the vehicle (sec 0016-0018, 0034, 0036, 0069, 0276-0281, 0297, 0300, 0314), transmitting, to the processor of the vehicle, the command to cause the vehicle to transition from the first power mode to the second power mode (sec 0304-0326).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections based on newly cited prior art, Flick.
This is a non-final rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0019720; sec [0023]
US 2024/0013600; sec [0186]
US 2013/0332007; sec [0034]
US 2013/0060408; sec [0042], [0047], [0048]
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657