DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on February 24, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Pat No 4,858,969 to Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an apparatus that comprises a housing (1); a cover (2) that is opened and closed on the housing; a detection part (8) that is configured to detect opening and closing of the cover using ON and OFF; a rotating part (5) that is rotatably supported and turns on and off the detection part; a pushing portion (front portion of element 3, see above for example) that comes into contact with the rotating part to rotate the rotating part in a case where the cover is closed; and a rotation applying part (12) that applies a rotational force to the rotating part rotated by the pushing portion in a direction in which the detection part is turned on in a case where the cover is closed.
As shown above, Lee illustrates that in a case where the rotating part turns on the detection part, the pushing portion is not in contact with the rotating part.
As to claim 2, Lee discloses that a cumulative tolerance between the rotating part, the detection part, and the rotation applying part is configured to be smaller than a cumulative tolerance between the pushing portion and the rotating part.
As to claim 3, Lee discloses that the detection part, the rotating part, and the rotation applying part are provided in the housing and the pushing portion is provided on the cover.
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Pat No 4,745,250 to Mayo.
Regarding claim 1, Mayo discloses an apparatus that comprises a housing (92); a cover (96) that is opened and closed on the housing; a detection part (26a,b) that is configured to detect opening and closing of the cover using ON and OFF; a rotating part (34) that is rotatably supported and turns on and off the detection part; a pushing portion (front surface of 19, as shown above for example) that comes into contact with the rotating part to rotate the rotating part in a case where the cover is closed (from fig 1 to fig 3); and a rotation applying part (42) that applies a rotational force to the rotating part rotated by the pushing portion in a direction in which the detection part is turned on in a case where the cover is closed.
As shown above, Mayo illustrates that in a case where the rotating part turns on the detection part, the pushing portion is not in contact with the rotating part.
As to claim 2, Mayo discloses that a cumulative tolerance between the rotating part, the detection part, and the rotation applying part is configured to be smaller than a cumulative tolerance between the pushing portion and the rotating part.
As to claim 3, Mayo discloses that the detection part, the rotating part, and the rotation applying part are provided in the housing and the pushing portion is provided on the cover.
As to claim 4, Mayo discloses that the rotation applying part is an elastic body (42) that extends in a longitudinal direction and one end of the elastic body is connected to the rotating part (at 80), the rotating part is rotated about a rotating shaft (62), and the detection part, the rotating shaft, and the other end of the elastic body are held by an identical member (12).
As to claim 5, Mayo discloses that the rotating part includes a push-down portion (82, 84, 86) that is provided at one end of the rotating part and pushes down the detection part and a receiving portion (by 118) that is provided at the other end of the rotating part and receives a pushing force from the pushing portion.
As to claim 6, Mayo discloses that the receiving portion is moved in a direction intersecting a direction in which the pushing portion is moved, and retreats in a case where the rotation applying part applies the rotational force to the rotating part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 4,745,250 to Mayo in view of US Pat No 4,858,969 to Lee.
Mayo fails to disclose that the detection part includes a push button that is turned on by being pushed down and an operation arm that is elastically deformed to push the push button. Mayo discloses that the detection part includes a push button (104).
Lee teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a detection part (8) that includes a push button and an operating arm (8a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the detection part described by Mayo with an operating arm, as taught by Lee, in order to provide a surface closer to the rotating arm to activate the detection part.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the drawing objection and the 112 2nd paragraph rejection, the current amendment to the drawings overcomes the previous issues.
With respect to the prior art rejection in view of Collins, the current amendment overcomes the rejection.
With respect to the prior art rejection in view of Mayo or Lee, the rejection is maintained. With the current interpretation, Mayo and Lee both shows that in a case where the rotating part turns on the detection part, the pushing portion is not in contact with the rotating part.
The current claim just requires a pushing portion, and both shows a pushing portion that is not in contact with the rotating part.
Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Until the invention is clearly defined, the current interpretation by the examiner is maintained.
Prosecution has been closed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
March 16, 2026