Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 3A & 3B appears to have part of the drawing cut off; clarify the record. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because applicant is required to remove the exemplary and verbose language “Embodiments of this application propose”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-19 recite “the system”. This limitation lacks antecedent basis. Replace with “the low-voltage redundant power supply system”.
Claim 19: recites “the second relay (HVS_2) is a linkage relay, and comprises a first linkage unit (HVS_2′) and a second linkage unit (HVS_2″)” The way it is written, it would seem that HVS_2 is made up of HVS_2’ and HVS_2”. However, the applicant’s specification does not support this feature (see at least Fig. 3c). For purposes of examination, the examiner will assume applicant meant to recite:
“the second relay (HVS_2) is a linkage relay, and the low-voltage redundant power supply system comprises a first linkage unit (HVS_2′) and a second linkage unit (HVS_2″)”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al (USPGPN 20190359078)
Independent Claim 1, Yamada discloses a low-voltage redundant power supply system, the system (Figs. [1, 2, 4-6]) comprising:
a high-voltage battery pack (22, ¶[51] describes casing/packaging housing the pack 22, i.e. a battery pack) configured to provide a first voltage and comprising a number of power supply units connected in series, each power supply unit being at least one battery in the high-voltage battery pack or an equivalent power supply formed by connecting a number of batteries in series/parallel (see esp. Figs. [2, 4, 5, 6], BM[1]-BM[n] of 22 each having cells); and
a relay array, with relays in the relay array connected to the power supply units in the high-voltage battery pack based on a specified connection relationship (relays SR1-SR3, 27, MR1, MR2, see e.g. Fig. [2, 5]);
in at least one on/off state combination of the relay array, at least one power supply unit in the high-voltage battery pack is reused in a time-division manner to provide a second voltage to supply power to a low-voltage load (see Figs. [7, 9] describing time-division manner, ¶’s [54-58, 84, esp. 56, 84]); and
the first voltage is higher than the second voltage (low-voltage state vs non-low-voltage state, involves use of MR1/SR1[bypass-state]/MR2, SR3/MR2/SR1[bypass-state+MR1/SR2 off], etc. is lower than MR1/SR1[non-bypass-state]/MR2 connection,
where non-bypass state is when the BMs are all connected via SR1s e.g. Fig. 4, while the bypass state is when some of the BMs are shorted/bypassed via side path of SR1 e.g. Fig. 6).
Dependent Claim 2, Yamada discloses the number of power supply units comprise a first power supply unit and at least one second power supply unit, and in an on/off state combination of the relay array, the first power supply unit or the second power supply unit provides the second voltage to supply power to the low-voltage load (see BMs, combination described above, 25 representing the low voltage load, while 21/20 when SR3 is connected or MR1 when SR1 is in the bypass state would be lower voltage than when MR1 is connected and SR1 is in the non-bypass state, 40 also represents a low voltage load, with e.g. Fig. 6 showing an example).
Dependent Claim 3, Yamada discloses the number of power supply units comprise a first power supply unit and a second power supply unit, and in an on/off state combination of the relay array, the first power supply unit and at least one second power supply unit are connected in series to provide the second voltage to supply power to the low-voltage load (Fig. 4 provision of power through 23, ¶’s [27, 28, 30]).
Dependent Claim 5, Yamada discloses the system further comprises a direct current chopper, and the number of power supply units comprise a first power supply unit and a third power supply unit; the first power supply unit supplies power to the low-voltage load; and in an on/off state combination of the relay array, the first power supply unit interrupts power supply to the low-voltage load, the third power supply unit supplies power to the direct current chopper, and the direct current chopper provides the second voltage to supply power to the low-voltage load (as seen in Figs. [2, 4-6, if SR2/MR1 is turned off, SR3/MR2 is turned on, and SR1 is bypassed, then BM2-BMn provides power to 25 through 23, while Fig. 6 shows only BM1 providing the power to 25).
Dependent Claim 6, Yamada discloses the system further comprises a direct current chopper, and the number of power supply units comprise a first power supply unit and a third power supply unit; the first power supply unit supplies power to the low-voltage load; and in an on/off state combination of the relay array, the third power supply unit supplies power to the direct current chopper, and the direct current chopper provides the second voltage to perform balancing for the first power supply unit and to supply power to the low-voltage load (as seen in esp. Fig. 6, when SR2/SR3/MR2 is turned on & SR1 is bypassed and power is output from 23 to the bus between 25 and BM1, then the power output from 23 balances with the power output from BM1, as one of ordinary skill in the art understands).
Dependent Claim 7, Yamada discloses the system further comprises a direct current chopper, and the number of power supply units further comprise a third power supply unit (as seen in Figs. [2, 4-6] BM[1] includes first and second cells [i.e. first power supply and second power supplies], while BM2-BMn corresponds to a third power supply unit); and in an on/off state combination of the relay array, the third power supply unit supplies power to the direct current chopper, and the direct current chopper provides the second voltage to perform balancing for the first power supply unit or the second power supply unit and to supply power to the low-voltage load (Fig. 6 when power is provided through 23, the cells in BM[1] can be balanced by charging and power provided to the load 25).
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leyten et al (USPGPN 20050212495)
Independent Claim 1, Leyten discloses a low-voltage redundant power supply system, the system (Figs. [1-6, 9, 11, 12]) comprising:
a high-voltage battery pack (11 in Figs. [1-3] shown to be in a pack, ¶’s [09, 14, 46, esp. 46] describes a common housing) configured to provide a first voltage and comprising a number of power supply units connected in series, each power supply unit being at least one battery in the high-voltage battery pack or an equivalent power supply formed by connecting a number of batteries in series/parallel (see Figs. [4-6, 9], 36V in series, 12V in parallel, see 36V and 12V outputs at 11/12); and
a relay array, with relays in the relay array connected to the power supply units in the high-voltage battery pack based on a specified connection relationship (relays 18,19, see ¶’s [14, 20, 46, 50, 51], where ¶’s [14, 20] clearly labels the switches can be relays or MOSFETs, thus while ¶’s [46, 50, 51] may have 18 as MOSFETs, it is clear they may be relays as well);
in at least one on/off state combination of the relay array, at least one power supply unit in the high-voltage battery pack is reused in a time-division manner to provide a second voltage to supply power to a low-voltage load (12V output to 12V/14V loads, ¶’s [27, 42,47,55,56]; and
the first voltage is higher than the second voltage (12V lower than 36V).
Dependent Claim 2, Leyten discloses the number of power supply units comprise a first power supply unit and at least one second power supply unit, and in an on/off state combination of the relay array, the first power supply unit or the second power supply unit provides the second voltage to supply power to the low-voltage load (parallel or bypass operation to 12V output shown in Figs. 4-6).
Dependent Claim 4, Leyten discloses the number of power supply units comprise a first power supply unit and a second power supply unit, and in an on/off state combination of the relay array, the first power supply unit and the second power supply unit are connected in parallel to provide the second voltage to supply power to the low-voltage load (parallel operation serves to provide 12V to the 12V/14V load, see esp. ¶’s [43, 56, 57]).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Erhart (USPGPN 20200079232)
Independent Claim 1, Erhart discloses a low-voltage redundant power supply system (Figs. 2-6), the system comprising:
a high-voltage battery pack (¶[07] defines that the battery system with controller is within a common housing, i.e. battery pack, 100 includes cells 10, see ¶[43]) configured to provide a first voltage and comprising a number of power supply units connected in series (see Figs. [2-6]),
each power supply unit being at least one battery in the high-voltage battery pack or an equivalent power supply formed by connecting a number of batteries in series/parallel (¶[11]);
and a relay array, with relays in the relay array connected to the power supply units in the high-voltage battery pack based on a specified connection relationship (41-45, see Figs. [2-4, 6]);
in at least one on/off state combination of the relay array, at least one power supply unit in the high-voltage battery pack is reused in a time-division manner to provide a second voltage to supply power to a low-voltage load (connection of 42/45 would be one high voltage connection, all the switches off would be another high voltage connection, while 41 would provide another voltage, while buck converter 23 also has an effect, ¶’s [45, 47, 48, 50-53]); and
the first voltage is higher than the second voltage (12V vs 48V, ¶’s [11,17,27,41, 43-45]).
Dependent Claim 2, Erhart discloses the number of power supply units comprise a first power supply unit and at least one second power supply unit, and in an on/off state combination of the relay array, the first power supply unit or the second power supply unit provides the second voltage to supply power to the low-voltage load (14 being closed causes the circuit 17 to provide power to the low voltage load).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (USPGPN 20190359078) in view of Leyten et al (USPGPN 20050212495), as evidenced by Goetz (USPGPN 20200328593) and Bishop et al (GB 2545700 A)
Dependent Claims 4 and 8, Yamada teaches the number of power supply units comprise a first power supply unit and a second power supply unit (as seen in Figs. [2, 4-6] BM[1] includes first and second cells [i.e. first power supply and second power supplies], while BM2-BMn corresponds to a third power supply unit), and in an on/off state combination of the relay array, the first power supply unit and the second power supply unit are connected (see Figs. [2, 4-6]) and the system further comprises a direct current chopper (23), and the number of power supply units further comprise a third power supply unit (BM2-BMn); and in an on/off state combination of the relay array, the third power supply unit supplies power to the direct current chopper (see e.g. Fig. 6), and the direct current chopper provides the second voltage to perform balancing for the first power supply unit and the second power supply unit and to supply power to the low-voltage load (Fig. 6 when power is provided through 23, the cells in BM[1] can be balanced by charging and power provided to the load 25).
Yamada is silent to the first power supply unit and the second power supply unit are connected in parallel to provide the second voltage to supply power to the low-voltage load (with respect to [wrt] Claim 4).
Leyten teaches the first power supply unit and the second power supply unit are connected in parallel to provide the second voltage to supply power to the low-voltage load (parallel operation serves to provide 12V to the 12V/14V load, see esp. ¶’s [43, 44, 56, 57], see esp. series to parallel circuitry of Figs. [4-6], 12V is parallel output while 36V is serial output).
Leyten teaches that by providing extra switchable batteries (e.g. in the location of BM1) it serves to provide improved flexibility [provide higher current in parallel mode, higher voltage in series mode] and energy output when needed (¶’s [24, 27]). Bishop provides evidence that the configurability of the battery connections (bypass/serial/parallel connections) provides improved flexibility (page 13 L5-9) in providing a preferred capability (higher current in parallel, higher voltage in series, page 1 L30 to page 2 L26; see Figs. 1-3 for analogous structure). Goetz provides evidence that such a configurable battery setup (analogous structure in Fig. 1, abstract) provides improved flexibility in meeting needs (abstract, ¶[12])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with Leyten to provide improved energy output and flexibility.
Leyten further discloses a low-voltage redundant power supply system, the system (Figs. [1-6, 9, 11, 12]) comprising:
a high-voltage battery pack (11 in Figs. [1-3] shown to be in a pack, ¶’s [09, 14, 46, esp. 46] describes a common housing) configured to provide a first voltage and comprising a number of power supply units connected in series, each power supply unit being at least one battery in the high-voltage battery pack or an equivalent power supply formed by connecting a number of batteries in series/parallel (see Figs. [4-6, 9], 36V in series, 12V in parallel, see 36V and 12V outputs at 11/12); and
a relay array, with relays in the relay array connected to the power supply units in the high-voltage battery pack based on a specified connection relationship (relays 18,19, see ¶’s [14, 20, 46, 50, 51], where ¶’s [14, 20] clearly labels the switches can be relays or MOSFETs, thus while ¶’s [46, 50, 51] may have 18 as MOSFETs, it is clear they may be relays as well);
in at least one on/off state combination of the relay array, at least one power supply unit in the high-voltage battery pack is reused in a time-division manner to provide a second voltage to supply power to a low-voltage load (12V output to 12V/14V loads, ¶’s [27, 42,47,55,56]; and
the first voltage is higher than the second voltage (12V lower than 36V).
Dependent Claims 10 and 11, Yamada teaches the number of power supply units comprise a first power supply unit, a second power supply unit, and a third power supply unit (BM1-BMn of 22);
the relay array comprises a first relay, a second relay, a third relay, a fourth relay, a fifth relay, and a sixth relay (six relays shown in Figs. [2, 4-6]); and
the specified connection relationship comprises: the first relay (HVS_1) is connected between the first power supply unit and the second power supply unit (SR1);
the second relay (HVS_2) is connected between the second power supply unit and the third power supply unit (SR3 via 26 to MR2);
a first pole of the second power supply unit is connected to a first terminal of the low-voltage load via the third relay (SR2); and
a second pole of the second power supply unit is connected to a second terminal of the low-voltage load via the fourth relay (SR1 in the bypass state).
Yamada is silent to a second pole of the second power supply unit is connected to a second pole of the first power supply unit via the fourth relay [with respect to claim 10 only];
a first pole of the first power supply unit is connected to the first terminal of the low-voltage load via the fifth relay; and
a second pole of the first power supply unit is connected to the second terminal of the low-voltage load via the sixth relay.
Leyten teaches in 18 & 19 relays (relays 18,19, see ¶’s [14, 20, 46, 50, 51], where ¶’s [14, 20] clearly labels the switches can be relays or MOSFETs, thus while ¶’s [46, 50, 51] may have 18 as MOSFETs, it is clear they may be relays as well) of Figs. 4-6 corresponding to the third through sixth switches as the applicant has Figs. [5a-7f], and thus Leyten teaches a second pole of the second power supply unit is connected to a second pole of the first power supply unit via the fourth relay;
a first pole of the first power supply unit is connected to the first terminal of the low-voltage load via the fifth relay; and
a second pole of the first power supply unit is connected to the second terminal of the low-voltage load via the sixth relay. Leyten uses this combination of relays to improve the flexibility of the system to provide higher current [parallel connection, 12V output] and higher voltage [serial connection, 36V output] (¶’s [43, 44, 56, 57],
Leyten teaches that by providing extra switchable batteries (e.g. in the location of BM1) it serves to provide improved flexibility [provide higher current in parallel mode, higher voltage in series mode] and energy output when needed (¶’s [24, 27]). Bishop provides evidence that the configurability of the battery connections (bypass/serial/parallel connections) provides improved flexibility (page 13 L5-9) in providing a preferred capability (higher current in parallel, higher voltage in series, page 1 L30 to page 2 L26; see Figs. 1-3 for analogous structure). Goetz provides evidence that such a configurable battery setup (analogous structure in Fig. 1, abstract) provides improved flexibility in meeting needs (abstract, ¶[12])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with Leyten to provide improved energy output and flexibility.
Leyten further discloses a low-voltage redundant power supply system, the system (Figs. [1-6, 9, 11, 12]) comprising:
a high-voltage battery pack (11 in Figs. [1-3] shown to be in a pack, ¶’s [09, 14, 46, esp. 46] describes a common housing) configured to provide a first voltage and comprising a number of power supply units connected in series, each power supply unit being at least one battery in the high-voltage battery pack or an equivalent power supply formed by connecting a number of batteries in series/parallel (see Figs. [4-6, 9], 36V in series, 12V in parallel, see 36V and 12V outputs at 11/12); and
a relay array, with relays in the relay array connected to the power supply units in the high-voltage battery pack based on a specified connection relationship (relays 18,19, see ¶’s [14, 20, 46, 50, 51], where ¶’s [14, 20] clearly labels the switches can be relays or MOSFETs, thus while ¶’s [46, 50, 51] may have 18 as MOSFETs, it is clear they may be relays as well);
in at least one on/off state combination of the relay array, at least one power supply unit in the high-voltage battery pack is reused in a time-division manner to provide a second voltage to supply power to a low-voltage load (12V output to 12V/14V loads, ¶’s [27, 42,47,55,56]; and
the first voltage is higher than the second voltage (12V lower than 36V).
Claims 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (USPGPN 20190359078) in view of Kusumi et al (USPGPN 20190070971), as evidenced by Goetz (USPGPN 20200328593) and Bishop et al (GB 2545700 A)
Dependent Claim 9, Yamada teaches the number of power supply units comprise a first power supply unit (BM1), a second power supply unit (BM2), and a third power supply unit (BMn); the relay array comprises a first relay (HVS_1), a second relay (HVS_2), a third relay (LVS_1), and a fourth relay (relays shown in Figs. [2, 4-6]); and
the specified connection relationship comprises: the first relay (HVS_1) is connected between the first power supply unit and the second power supply unit (SR1);
the second relay (HVS_2) is connected between the second power supply unit and the third power supply unit (SR3 via 26 to MR2);
a first pole of the second power supply unit is connected to a first terminal of the low-voltage load via the third relay (SR2); and
a second pole of the second power supply unit is connected to a second terminal of the low-voltage load via the fourth relay (SR1 in the bypass state).
Yamada is silent to a separate relay between the first relay and the fourth relay [i.e. a direct connection, rather than the roundabout connection of the second relay], and a direct connection between the second power supply unit and the third power supply unit, and further a relay between the negative pole of the second power supply unit and the positive pole of the third power supply unit.
Kusumi teaches in Figs. [2-3B] compared to Fig. 1 a plurality of relays where 151-157 can correspond to the first-fourth relays, specifically 153/154 connects the two power supplies on the direct path, where X of Figs. [1-3B] can correspond to BM1 of Yamada,
Thus, in this mapping:
BM1 of Yamada has 141 & 142 of Kusumi (thus first and second power supplies),
Yamada BM2-BMn corresponds to the third power supply
Kusumi Relays 153/154/156 corresponds to the first relay
Yamada SR1 corresponds to the second relay
Yamada SR2 and Kusumi 155/157 corresponds to the third relay
Yamada SR1 and Kusumi 151/152 corresponds to the fourth relay.
Kusumi teaches power can be provided in parallel and in series (¶’s [69, 70]). Bishop provides evidence that the configurability of the battery connections (bypass/serial/parallel connections) provides improved flexibility (page 13 L5-9) in providing a preferred capability (higher current in parallel, higher voltage in series, page 1 L30 to page 2 L26; see Figs. 1-3 for analogous structure). Goetz provides evidence that such a configurable battery setup (analogous structure in Fig. 1, abstract) provides improved flexibility in meeting needs (abstract, ¶[12])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with Kusumi to provide improved flexibility.
Dependent Claim 12, Yamada teaches the system further comprises a direct current chopper (23); the relay array further comprises a seventh relay and an eighth relay; and
the specified connection relationship further comprises:
the eighth relay (HVS_Pos) is connected between a first pole of the third power supply unit and a first pole on an input side of the direct current chopper (Sr3);
the seventh relay (HVS_3) is connected between a second pole of the third power supply unit and a second pole on the input side of the direct current chopper (MR2, PR-27);
the second relay (HVS_2) is connected between the second pole on the input side of the direct current chopper and the first pole of the second power supply unit (see Figs. [2, 4-6]);
the seventh relay (HVS_3) is connected to the second relay (HVS_2) in series and to the first pole of the second power supply unit (see Figs. [2, 4-6]); and
the low-voltage load is connected between a first pole and a second pole on an output side of the direct current chopper (see Figs. [2, 4-6]).
Dependent Claim 13, the combination of Yamada and Kusumi teaches the second relay (HVS_2) is a linkage relay, and
comprises a first linkage unit (HVS_2′) and a second linkage unit (HVS_2″); and the second relay (HVS_2) is connected to the second pole of the first power supply unit via the second linkage unit (HVS_2″) and the first linkage unit (in Kusumi you have 157 to 142 to 156 to 154 to 153 to 141 to 151, where in this line, 157 correspond to HVS_2, HVS_2’ corresponds to 151, while Yamada’s SR1 in bypass mode corresponds to HVS_2”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Closest prior art found: US-20160339795-A1 OR US-20180323638-A1 OR US-20190359078-A1 OR US-20200023794-A1 OR US-20230086550-A1 OR US-10279699-B2 OR US-11095147-B2 OR US-11001162-B2 OR US-11173857-B2 OR US-12240338-B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859