Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 7, term “the second data cable” lacks antecedent basis.
As to claim 22, term “the image sensor disposed within the tool” lacks antecedent basis as only an “image sensor disposed with the endoscope” has been previously claimed. For purposes of examination, this term will be assumed to be “the image sensor disposed within the endoscope”, in accordance with Applicant’s current amendments to other claims (this assumption will also avoid a Drawings Objection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scheib et al. (US 2020/0015924, hereinafter “Scheib”).
As to claim 22, Scheib discloses a system comprising:
a tool (surgical device 102, Fig.1) configured for insertion into a light deficient environment (sized and shaped to be inserted into a patient, e.g. Fig.5);
an endoscope (imaging device 120, Fig.1) configured to provide visualization of the light deficient environment (imaging device can be a spectral camera, [0076]);
a source of electromagnetic radiation (either spectral light source 150 or structured light source 152, the latter being analogous to the emitter 106 emitting a patterned light, [0093])) that emits pulses of electromagnetic radiation according to a pulse cycle (pulsed, [0084]); and
a controller (control system 133 including control circuit 132, Fig.2 and controls 148 for the imaging device 120,[0082]) that instructs the source to pulse according to the pulse cycle ([0084]; also note 622 and 628 in Fig.11, [0115],[0116] which is a more detailed);
wherein an image sensor (e.g. 122, Fig.1, [0094]) disposed within the endoscope (120) outputs a data frame comprising information for determining a position of the tool relative to the endoscope (capable of outputting image signals (data frame) indicating sensed return light, such signals representative of a position of an object, and, if pointed at tool 102, would indicate the position of the tool relative to the endoscope, [0084],[0103],[0116],[0170]); and
wherein the image sensor disposed within the endoscope outputs the data frame in response to the source of electromagnetic radiation emitting a pulse of electromagnetic radiation that is diffracted into a mapping pattern (image sensor 122 capable of outputting an image (data frame) in response to a source of electromagnetic radiation emitting a pulse of electromagnetic radiation that is diffracted into a mapping pattern, [0084],[0093],[0103],[0116],[0170]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2019/0008367, hereinafter “Ishikawa”) in view of Tani et al. (US 2009/0147078, hereinafter “Tani”).
As to claim 21, Ishikawa discloses a system comprising:
a tool (e.g. endoscope arm 22, Fig.2) configured for insertion into a light deficient environment (shown inserted into a body in Fig.1);
an endoscope (endoscope arm 23, Fig.2) configured to provide visualization of the light deficient environment (imaging apparatus, [0032]);
a source of electromagnetic radiation (illumination light source 212, Fig.2) that emits electromagnetic radiation ([0035]);
a controller (light source controller 213, Fig.2) that instructs the source to emit the electromagnetic radiation;
wherein an image sensor disposed within the endoscope outputs a data frame (images, [0033]) comprising information for determining a position of the tool relative to the endoscope (if pointed at the tool, the location of the tool in the image will indicate the position of the tool relative to the endoscope);
an emitter (cart 20, Figs.1,2) that is located remote to each of the tool and the endoscope (cart 20 is remote to 22 and 23, Fig.2), wherein the source of electromagnetic radiation is disposed within the emitter (illuminating light source 212 disposed within emitter 20, Fig.2);
a first waveguide that communicates the electromagnetic radiation from the emitter to a distal end of the endoscope for illuminating the light deficient environment (optical fibers connect illumination light source 212 with illuminating optical system 2342 of the endoscope 23, [0036],Fig.2); and
a second waveguide that communicates the electromagnetic radiation to a distal end of the tool (optical fibers connect illumination light source 212 with illuminating optical system 2242 of the tool 22, [0036],Fig.2).
Ishikawa fails to disclose the illumination scheme, and thus fails to disclose that the source of electromagnetic radiation emits a cycle of pulses, controlled by the controller. However, it is well known in the image capture/endoscope art that illumination can be provided as a continuous emission or as a cycle of pulses. Tani is just one of numerous references that teach that continuous or pulsed illumination light are known techniques as an illumination scheme for an endoscope, depending on need (see paragraphs [0004]-[0006]). It would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any illumination scheme in Ishikawa that is known in the art to be suitable for endoscopic imaging, including a pulsed illumination light (inherently controlled by the controller) to meet current imaging needs, such as for imaging a moving object (Tani: [0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 8-17and 19 are allowed.
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See references cited on PTO-892.
/JOHN P LEUBECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795