DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiel (US 20240113656) in view of Ormesher (US 20170025889) and in further view of Bourilkov (US 20120032631).
Regarding claim 1, Thiel teaches a wearable battery charging system for charging a battery which is sized to fit into a pocket on a tactical vest (figure 8 shows a tactical vest item 600 with battery pack item 100 in side of a pocket of a vest), wherein the pocket has an opening into a pocket cavity and the pocket cavity has a cavity base at the bottom of the cavity (figure 8 shows the battery inside of a pocket cavity closed with a zipper 192), and wherein the pocket is sized to fit onto a torso covering surface on the vest and wherein the battery has a base (figure 8 shows wherein the pocket fits onto a torso), and wherein the battery and pocket are adapted so that the battery is held snugly within the pocket when the vest is worn (figure 10 shows a base system item 150, interpreted as a pouch holding the battery. The curved shape of th battery allows the battery to be held snugly in the pocket), the wearable battery charging system co-operating with a wireless power transmitting coil and associated electronics detached from the vest (paragraph [0115] discloses wherein the battery may be charged with a wireless power transmitting coil, interpreted as being charged via induction using an inductive charging mat),
the wearable battery charging system comprising:
wherein the cradle is sized to snugly fit within the cavity base of the pocket and to be compressed into the cavity base by the battery (shown in figure 10 wherein a cradle is interpreted as a battery cover, securing the battery during charging, where the battery is snugly fit. The cradle, 154, includes opening, channels 160, which allow leads to connect to charge the battery), and
wherein an outer circumferential dimension of the cradle substantially corresponds to an outer circumferential dimension of the base of the battery so that the cradle is conformal with the base of the battery when the power receiving planar coil is snugly adjacent against a face of the battery which is adapted for transfer of power to the battery and the battery (figure 10 shows an outer circumferential dimension of the cradle, the battery holder 154, which is curved to match the curved shape of the battery) and the cradle are mounted in the pocket of the vest so as to compress the cradle into the cavity base of the pocket (figure 8 shows the battery 100 is mounted in a pocket of the vest).
Thiel does not explicitly teach a battery charging cradle having within it a rectification circuit, a battery charging circuit, and a wireless power receiving planar coil, wherein the power receiving planar coil is sized for optimized wireless power charging of the battery when the power receiving planar coil within the cradle is brought into charging proximity to, and charging alignment with so as to be parallel to, the wireless power transmitting coil the power receiving planar coil in the cradle, and wherein the cradle is sized and shaped to correspond to the size and shape of the base of the battery and to fit snugly against the base of the battery so as to lie in a plane of the battery, and is adapted to transfer power from the power receiving planar coil to the battery when snugly against the base of the battery.
Ormesher teaches a battery charging cradle (figure 3 item 28 defined as a docking system located within a pocket of a garment), having within it a battery charging circuit (figure 1 item 30 defined as a power controller), and a wireless power receiving planar coil wherein the power receiving planar coil is sized for optimized wireless power charging of the battery when the power receiving planar coil within the cradle is brought into charging proximity to (figure 1 item 20 defined as a wireless receiver), and charging alignment with so as to be parallel to, the wireless power transmitting coil the power receiving planar coil in the cradle (figure 5 shows wherein the wireless receiver is placed on a wireless induction transmitter item 32 to receive transmitted charging), and wherein the cradle is sized and shaped to correspond to the size and shape of the base of the battery and to fit snugly against the base of the battery so as to lie in a plane of the battery (figures 3, 4 and 5 show the cradle interpreted as a docking system 28 fitting snugly against the base of the battery. The battery here is interpreted as item 16, which may be a portable battery or the battery within a portable device), and is adapted to transfer power from the power receiving planar coil to the battery when snugly against the base of the battery (paragraph [0039] discloses wherein power is transferred when the wireless induction charger transmitter and wireless induction charge receiver are aligned and the battery is connected with the docking station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the charging system of the Thiel reference with the charging system of the Ormesher reference so that portable devices may be easily charged while in transit.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ormesher reference in paragraph [0005] wherein portable devices are easily charged while in transit.
Thiel and Ormesher do not explicitly teach a battery charging cradle having within it a rectification circuit.
Bourilkov teaches a battery charging cradle having within it a rectification circuit (figure 4 shows a charging cradle attachment system which includes a rectifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Thiel and Ormersher references with the charging system of the Bourilkov reference so that a generic inductive coil system instead of a custom made system to be attached to a variety of different portable devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bourilkov reference in [0002] wherein devices may use a generic inductive coil system instead of a custom made system.
Thiel Figure 8 shows a tactical vest with pockets and a pocket for a battery item 100
Thiel Figure 11 shows a battery with a curvature which fits snugly in a cradle or holder and confines to a body
Ormesher figure 5 shows a cradle or docking station system 14, within a pocket of a garment 12. The portable device or battery connects with the docking station, which includes a wireless receiving coil to receive charge transmitted from a wireless transmitting coil on charging pad 32.
Bourilkov figure 4 shows an attachment for a portable device which uses wireless charging via receiving coil 40 and includes a rectifier 45.
Regarding claim 2, Thiel teaches the system of claim 1 further comprising a releasable securing means adapted to releasably secure the battery onto the cradle when the battery and the cradle are mounted in the pocket (figure 27 item 2318 [0201] shown as straps to secure the battery to the holder).
Regarding claim 3, Thiel teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the cradle has a battery interface on a surface of the cradle facing the battery when the battery is on the cradle, and wherein the battery interface has a battery receiving cavity into which the base of the battery snugly fits.
Ormesher teaches wherein the cradle has a battery interface on a surface of the cradle facing the battery when the battery is on the cradle, and wherein the battery interface has a battery receiving cavity into which the base of the battery snugly fits (figures 3- 5 show wherein a cradle, docking system 14 includes an interface which faces the battery interface wherein the battery interface has a receiving cavity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the charging system of the Thiel reference with the charging system of the Ormesher reference so that portable devices may be easily charged while in transit.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ormesher reference in paragraph [0005] wherein portable devices are easily charged while in transit.
Regarding claim 10, Thiel teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the cradle does not have any cables leading into or out of the cradle.
Ormesher teaches wherein the cradle does not have any cables leading into or out of the cradle (figure 5 shows wherein the cradle does not have any cable leading into or out of the cradle item 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the charging system of the Thiel reference with the charging system of the Ormesher reference so that portable devices may be easily charged while in transit.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ormesher reference in paragraph [0005] wherein portable devices are easily charged while in transit.
Regarding claim 11, Thiel teaches the system of claim 10 further comprising a data exchange and power-out connector on the cradle (paragraph [0185] teaches a data hub for exchanging data. Figure 16 and [0137] discloses a power connector on the cradle, which may be any type of connector).
Regarding claim 12, Thiel teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the battery has a curvature to conform to a curvature of the torso of a user, and wherein the cradle has a corresponding curvature (figure 11 shows the battery 150 having a curvature).
Regarding claim 13, Thiel teaches the system of claim 12 wherein the cradle is manufactured from material chosen from the group consisting of: rigid material, semi-rigid material (paragraph [0145] discloses wherein the material may be a rigid material).
Regarding claim 14, Thiel teaches the system of claim 2 wherein the releasable securing means is chosen from the group comprising: strap, straps, latch between the battery and cradle, releasable adhesive, hook and loop fasteners, male-female mating between the battery and cradle, rigid arm, rigid arms with interlocking releasable mating of the arms, a tensioning fold-over pocket flap to push the battery and cradle into the cavity base of the pocket (figure 27 item 2318 [0201] shown as straps to secure the battery to the holder).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiel (US 20240113656) in view of Ormesher (US 20170025889) and in further view of Bourilkov (US 20120032631) applied to claim 1 and in further view of Oo (US 20170179750).
Regarding claim 4, Thiel, Ormesher, and Bourilkov teach the system of claim 1, but do not teach or suggest the combination of wherein the wireless power receiving planar coil has a diameter which is at least five inches.
Oo teaches the combination of wherein the wireless power receiving planar coil has a diameter which is at least five inches (figures 2A-2B discloses wherein the receiving coil 109 is at least five inches in diameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the charging system of the Thiel, Ormesher, and Bourilkov references with the charging system of the Oo reference so that the recharging times of the portable devices are shortened.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Oo reference in paragraph [0001] wherein decreasing recharging times is taught.
Claims 5- 9, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiel (US 20240113656) in view of Ormesher (US 20170025889) and in further view of Bourilkov (US 20120032631) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Bean (US 20200383395).
Regarding claim 5, Thiel, Ormesher, and Bourilkov teaches the system of claim 4 but does not teach or suggest wherein the wireless power receiving planar coil, the rectification circuit and the battery charging circuit are adapted to receive wireless power from the wireless power transmitting coil, and to provide the received power to the battery in the range of zero to 300 Watts.
Bean teaches teach wherein the system does not include a wireless power coil or rectification circuit and is adapted so the battery charging circuit receives power in the range of zero to 300 Watts from an external cable coupled to the cradle (defined in paragraphs [0064] – [0065] wherein the range of power transmitted is in the range of zero to 300W, as it does not exceed 10mW or 100mW).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the charging system of the Thiel, Ormesher and Bourilkov reference with the charging system of the Bean reference so that portable devices may be easily charged in a short range distance.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bean reference in paragraph [0064]-[0065] wherein portable devices are easily charged in a short range distance.
Regarding claim 6, Thiel teaches the system of claim 5 wherein the pocket is located on the rear of the vest (figure 8 wherein the pocket is located on the rear).
Regarding claim 7, Thiel teaches the system of claim 6 wherein the pocket covers greater than one quarter of the surface area of the rear of the vest (figure 8 wherein the pocket is covers greater than one quarter of the surface area).
Regarding claim 8, Thiel teaches the system of claim 7 wherein the battery has a battery width, a battery height, and a battery depth, and wherein the battery depth is less than one fifth of the battery width, and wherein the cradle has a cradle width, a cradle height, and a cradle depth, and wherein the battery width is the same as the cradle width, and wherein the battery depth is the same as the cradle depth, and wherein the pocket cavity is correspondingly sized to receive snugly in the pocket cavity the battery and the cradle when the battery is mounted on the cradle (figures 10 and 11 show battery 150).
Regarding claim 9, Thiel, Ormesher, and Bourilkov teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the method for wireless power transfer is chosen from the group comprising: inductive at operating frequencies between 20 kHz to 500 kHz, magnetic resonance at operating frequencies between 6 MHz to 7 MHz, magnetic resonance at operating frequencies between 13 MHz to 14 MHz.
Bean teaches wherein the method for wireless power transfer is chosen from the group comprising: inductive at operating frequencies between 20 kHz to 500 kHz, magnetic resonance at operating frequencies between 6 MHz to 7 MHz, magnetic resonance at operating frequencies between 13 MHz to 14 MHz (paragraphs [0025] – [0028] discloses a variety of operating frequencies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the charging system of the Thiel, Ormesher and Bourilkov reference with the charging system of the Bean reference so that portable devices may be easily charged in a short range distance.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bean reference in paragraph [0064]-[0065] wherein portable devices are easily charged in a short range distance.
Regarding claim 15, Thiel and Ormesher teach the system of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach wherein the cradle width is less than the battery width.
Bourilkov teaches wherein the cradle has a width which is less than a width of the battery (figures 2 and 4 shows a charging cradle attachment system is less than a width of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Thiel and Ormersher references with the charging system of the Bourilkov reference so that a generic inductive coil system instead of a custom made system to be attached to a variety of different portable devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bourilkov reference in [0002] wherein devices may use a generic inductive coil system instead of a custom made system.
Regarding claim 16, Thiel, Ormesher, and Bourilkov teach the system of claim 1, but do not explicitly teach wherein the system does not include a wireless power coil or rectification circuit and is adapted so the battery charging circuit receives power in the range of zero to 300 Watts from an external cable coupled to the cradle.
Bean teaches teach wherein the system does not include a wireless power coil or rectification circuit and is adapted so the battery charging circuit receives power in the range of zero to 300 Watts from an external cable coupled to the cradle (defined in paragraphs [0064] – [0065] wherein the range of power transmitted is in the range of zero to 300W, as it does not exceed 10mW or 100mW).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the charging system of the Thiel, Ormesher and Bourilkov reference with the charging system of the Bean reference so that portable devices may be easily charged in a short range distance.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bean reference in paragraph [0064]-[0065] wherein portable devices are easily charged in a short range distance.
Regarding claim 17, Thiel teaches the system of claim 16 further comprising a data exchange and power-out connector on the cradle (paragraph [0185] teaches a data hub for exchanging data. Figure 16 and [0137] discloses a power connector on the cradle, which may be any type of connector).
Regarding claim 18, Thiel teaches the system of claim 16 wherein the battery has a curvature to conform to a curvature of the torso of a user, and wherein the cradle has a corresponding curvature (figure 11 shows the battery 150 having a curvature).
Regarding claim 19, Thiel teaches the system of claim 16 further comprising releasable securing means chosen from the group comprising: strap, straps, latch between the battery and cradle, adhesive, hook and loop fasteners, male-female mating between the battery and cradle, rigid arm, rigid arms with interlocking releasable mating of the arms, a tensioning fold-over pocket flap to push the battery and cradle into the cavity base of the pocket (figure 27 item 2318 [0201] shown as straps to secure the battery to the holder).
Regarding claim 20, Thiel and Ormesher teach the system of claim 16 but does not explicitly teach wherein the cradle has a width which is less than a width of the battery.
Bourilkov teaches wherein the cradle has a width which is less than a width of the battery (figures 2 and 4 shows a charging cradle attachment system is less than a width of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Thiel and Ormersher references with the charging system of the Bourilkov reference so that a generic inductive coil system instead of a custom made system to be attached to a variety of different portable devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bourilkov reference in [0002] wherein devices may use a generic inductive coil system instead of a custom made system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20150326044 A1 Bag With Power Interface Ashley; Adam R. Et Al.
Us 12351977 B2 Actively Heated Or Cooled Garments Alexander; Clayton Et Al.
Us 20130132743 A1 Inductive Receivers For Electrical Devices Azancot; Yossi Et Al.
Us 20160315496 A1 Induction Charging Station Barnard; Brandon
Us 20130214931 A1 Induction Charging System Chia; Stanley
Us 20040251871 A1 Charging System Dvorak, Joseph L. Et Al.
Us 20120262117 A1 Charging System Ferber; Roman S. Et Al.
Us 10038345 B1 Smart Clothes Georgakopoulos; Stavros
Us 9819209 B2 Contactless Charging Hunt; Steven E. Et Al.
Us 20100201312 A1 Wireless Power Transfer Kirby; Miles Alexander Lyell Et Al.
Us 20170338681 A1 System for Wireless Power Transfer Lim; Bing Qin Et Al.
Us 20110173731 A1 Portable Electrical Power Source Mcelroy; Michael Et Al.
Us 9425632 B2 Utility Bags With Pickens; Ron A. Et Al.
Us 11133687 B2 Wireless Charging Holster Spyrison; Benjamin Nolan Et Al.
Us 20120119708 A1 Charging Base, Toya; Shoichi
Us 20190081493 A1 Portable Power Case Thiel; Laura Et Al.
Us 20130025021 A1 Tactical Vest Wright; A. Vernon
Us 20110227527 A1 Wireless Charging Kit Zhu; Shou Qiang Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859