DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 9 and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuda et al. (US 20210099933 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuda teaches a method (Method of Figs. 14-16), comprising:
based on first credentials indicating that a first user equipment is associated with non-emergency personnel (the acquisition unit 231 can acquire information regarding a type of the communication apparatus 50 as the information regarding the communication apparatus 50, [0245]; the user type can be, in one example, information indicating whether the user is a general user, [0246]),
a first service level agreement associated with the first user equipment (the acquisition unit 231 can acquire, as the type information, information indicating the type of communication service that is receivable by the communication apparatus 50. The information indicating the type of communication service can be, in one example, information regarding the type of communication service contracted by the user of the communication apparatus 50 with the wireless communication provider, [0245]), and
an occurrence of a defined event (In the case where the connected communication apparatus 50 is located within the predetermined distance from the cell edge, the discrimination unit 233 discriminates that the current time is the timing to transmit the switching information to the communication apparatus, [0253]),
changing, by network equipment comprising a processor deployed in a terrestrial access network, a first connection of the first user equipment from a satellite network to the terrestrial access network (if the base station apparatus as a switching destination candidate is not the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (step S606: No), the control unit 23 returns the process to step S601. Moreover, in this case, the control unit 23 can terminate the switching information transmission process and perform the handover process illustrated in FIG. 14, [0257]; In the case of switching the base station apparatus as a connection destination, the control unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) selects the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 to be a switching destination (a handover destination) of the communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 transmits a handover command, which is created by the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (target), to the communication apparatus 50 (step S406), [0215]; The following description is given on the assumption that the base station apparatus connected to the communication apparatus 50 is the non-terrestrial base station apparatus, [0242]); and
based on second credentials indicating that a second user equipment is associated with emergency personnel (the acquisition unit 231 can acquire information regarding a type of the communication apparatus 50 as the information regarding the communication apparatus 50, [0245]; the user type can be, in one example, information indicating whether the user is an emergency service worker, [0246]),
a second service level agreement associated with the second user equipment (the type information can be information indicating the priority of communication assigned to the communication apparatus 50. In addition, the type information can be information indicating the type of user who uses the communication apparatus, [0246]), and
the occurrence of the defined event (In the case where the connected communication apparatus 50 is located within the predetermined distance from the cell edge, the discrimination unit 233 discriminates that the current time is the timing to transmit the switching information to the communication apparatus, [0253]),
changing, by the network equipment, a second connection of the second user equipment from the terrestrial access network to the satellite network (If the type of the connected communication apparatus 50 is the configuration type (step S607: Yes), the transmitter 235 of the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 transmits, to the base station apparatus as a switching destination candidate, a request to assign a dedicated radio resource that is exclusively used by the connected communication apparatus, [0259]; the discrimination unit 233 discriminates whether or not the type of the base station apparatus as a switching destination candidate is the non-terrestrial base station apparatus, [0257], yes to step 606), and
wherein a first priority of the first service level agreement is less than a second priority of the second service level agreement (The priority can be set to be higher for the communication apparatus 50 that necessitates low delay and high reliability, such as a mobile terminal of an emergency service worker, [0258]), and
wherein the first user equipment is distinct from the second user equipment (general user versus emergency service worker, [0246]), and
the first service level agreement is distinct from the second service level agreement (the discrimination unit 233 discriminates whether or not the priority of the communication apparatus 50 is a preset priority level. The priority can be set to be higher, [0258]).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuda teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the terrestrial access network (the radio access scheme of the terrestrial network TN2 is NR, [0077]), and the satellite network are configured to operate according to a new radio network communication protocol (The non-terrestrial network included in the communication system 1 can be wireless networks of the radio access scheme other than NR, [0061]).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuda teaches a system (terrestrial base station apparatus 30 of system Figs. 1, and Fig. 7), comprising: a processor (control unit 34); and a memory (storage unit 32) that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor when deployed in a terrestrial access network (the base station apparatus connected to the communication apparatus 50 is the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20, but the base station apparatus is not limited to the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 and can be the terrestrial base station apparatus 30, [0242]), facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
based on first credentials indicating that a first user equipment is associated with non-emergency personnel (the acquisition unit 231 can acquire information regarding a type of the communication apparatus 50 as the information regarding the communication apparatus 50, [0245]; the user type can be, in one example, information indicating whether the user is a general user, [0246]) and a first service level agreement established for the first user equipment (the acquisition unit 231 can acquire, as the type information, information indicating the type of communication service that is receivable by the communication apparatus 50. The information indicating the type of communication service can be, in one example, information regarding the type of communication service contracted by the user of the communication apparatus 50 with the wireless communication provider, [0245]),
transitioning a first connection with the first user equipment from a satellite network to the terrestrial access network (if the base station apparatus as a switching destination candidate is not the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (step S606: No), the control unit 23 returns the process to step S601. Moreover, in this case, the control unit 23 can terminate the switching information transmission process and perform the handover process illustrated in FIG. 14, [0257]; In the case of switching the base station apparatus as a connection destination, the control unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) selects the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 to be a switching destination (a handover destination) of the communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 transmits a handover command, which is created by the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (target), to the communication apparatus 50 (step S406), [0215]; The following description is given on the assumption that the base station apparatus connected to the communication apparatus 50 is the non-terrestrial base station apparatus (source base station), [0242]); and
based on second credentials indicating that a second user equipment is associated with emergency personnel (the acquisition unit 231 can acquire information regarding a type of the communication apparatus 50 as the information regarding the communication apparatus 50, [0245]; the user type can be, in one example, information indicating whether the user is an emergency service worker, [0246]) and a second service level agreement established for the second user equipment (the type information can be information indicating the priority of communication assigned to the communication apparatus 50. In addition, the type information can be information indicating the type of user who uses the communication apparatus, [0246]),
transitioning a second connection with the second user equipment from the terrestrial access network to the satellite network (If the type of the connected communication apparatus 50 is the configuration type (step S607: Yes), the transmitter 235 of the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 transmits, to the base station apparatus as a switching destination candidate, a request to assign a dedicated radio resource that is exclusively used by the connected communication apparatus, [0259]; the discrimination unit 233 discriminates whether or not the type of the base station apparatus as a switching destination candidate is the non-terrestrial base station apparatus, [0257], yes to step 606),
wherein the first service level agreement comprises a first priority and the second service level agreement comprises a second priority, and wherein the second priority is a higher priority as compared to the first priority (The priority can be set to be higher for the communication apparatus 50 that necessitates low delay and high reliability, such as a mobile terminal of an emergency service worker, [0258]), and
wherein the first user equipment is distinct from the second user equipment (general user versus emergency service worker, [0246]), and the first service level agreement is distinct from the second service level agreement (communication apparatus 50 that necessitates low delay and high reliability, [0258]).
Regarding claim 14, Matsuda teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: prior to the transitioning of the first connection and the transitioning of the second connection, instantiating a software defined networking controller device that enables a service for the second user equipment (The control unit 55 is a controller that controls each component of the communication apparatus, [0140]).
Regarding claim 17, Matsuda teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining that a condition occurring with respect to the first user equipment and the second user equipment has changed (The control unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) receives the measured result (MR) from the communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 determines whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination of the communication apparatus 50 on the basis of the measured result (MR), [0214]);
transitioning the first connection from the terrestrial access network to the satellite network (Then, the control unit 34 transmits a handover command, which is created by the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (target), to the communication apparatus 50, [0215]; One of the source and target base station apparatuses can be the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 and the other can be the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20, [0210]); and
transitioning the second connection from the satellite network to the terrestrial access network (One of the source and target base station apparatuses can be the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 and the other can be the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20, [0210]).
Regarding claim 18, Matsuda teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the terrestrial access network (the radio access scheme of the terrestrial network TN2 is NR, [0077]), and the satellite network are configured to operate according to a new radio network communication protocol (The non-terrestrial network included in the communication system 1 can be wireless networks of the radio access scheme other than NR, [0061]).
Regarding claim 19, Matsuda teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium (base station 30 of Fig. 1), comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor deployed in a terrestrial access network (the base station apparatus connected to the communication apparatus 50 is the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20, but the base station apparatus is not limited to the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 and can be the terrestrial base station apparatus 30, [0242]), facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
based on an occurrence of a defined event, first credentials indicating that a first user equipment is associated with non-emergency personnel (the acquisition unit 231 can acquire information regarding a type of the communication apparatus 50 as the information regarding the communication apparatus 50, [0245]; the user type can be, in one example, information indicating whether the user is a general user, [0246]), and
a first service level agreement associated with the first user equipment (the acquisition unit 231 can acquire, as the type information, information indicating the type of communication service that is receivable by the communication apparatus 50. The information indicating the type of communication service can be, in one example, information regarding the type of communication service contracted by the user of the communication apparatus 50 with the wireless communication provider, [0245]),
transitioning a first connection of the first user equipment from a satellite network to the terrestrial access network (if the base station apparatus as a switching destination candidate is not the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (step S606: No), the control unit 23 returns the process to step S601. Moreover, in this case, the control unit 23 can terminate the switching information transmission process and perform the handover process illustrated in FIG. 14, [0257]; In the case of switching the base station apparatus as a connection destination, the control unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) selects the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 to be a switching destination (a handover destination) of the communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 transmits a handover command, which is created by the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (target), to the communication apparatus 50 (step S406), [0215]; The following description is given on the assumption that the base station apparatus connected to the communication apparatus 50 is the non-terrestrial base station apparatus, [0242]); and
based on the occurrence of the defined event, second credentials indicating that a second user equipment is associated with emergency personnel (the acquisition unit 231 can acquire information regarding a type of the communication apparatus 50 as the information regarding the communication apparatus 50, [0245]; the user type can be, in one example, information indicating whether the user is an emergency service worker, [0246]), and
a second service level agreement associated with the second user equipment (the type information can be information indicating the priority of communication assigned to the communication apparatus 50. In addition, the type information can be information indicating the type of user who uses the communication apparatus, [0246]),
transitioning a second connection of the second user equipment from the terrestrial access network to the satellite network (If the type of the connected communication apparatus 50 is the configuration type (step S607: Yes), the transmitter 235 of the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 transmits, to the base station apparatus as a switching destination candidate, a request to assign a dedicated radio resource that is exclusively used by the connected communication apparatus, [0259]; the discrimination unit 233 discriminates whether or not the type of the base station apparatus as a switching destination candidate is the non-terrestrial base station apparatus, [0257], yes to step 606),
wherein the first service level agreement comprises a first priority and the second service level agreement comprises a second priority (The priority can be set to be higher for the communication apparatus 50 that necessitates low delay and high reliability, such as a mobile terminal of an emergency service worker, [0258]),
wherein the second priority is a higher priority as compared to the first priority (The priority can be set to be higher for the communication apparatus 50 that necessitates low delay and high reliability, such as a mobile terminal of an emergency service worker, [0258]), and
wherein the first user equipment is distinct from the second user equipment (general user versus emergency service worker, [0246]), and
the first service level agreement is distinct from the second service level agreement (The priority can be set to be higher for the communication apparatus 50 that necessitates low delay and high reliability, such as a mobile terminal of an emergency service worker, [0258]).
Regarding claim 20, Matsuda teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the operations further comprise: prior to the transitioning of the first connection and the transitioning of the second connection, instantiating a software defined networking controller device that enables a service for the second user equipment (The control unit 55 is a controller that controls each component of the communication apparatus, [0140]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 10-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda in view of Frerking et al.( US 20160119052 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuda teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Matsuda does not teach further comprising: based on the defined event determined to be an emergency situation, adjusting, by the network equipment, the second priority to be a higher priority as compared to the first priority.
In an analogous art, Frerking teaches further comprising: based on the defined event determined to be an emergency situation, adjusting, by the network equipment, the second priority to be a higher priority as compared to the first priority (In at least one embodiment of in-flight connectivity controller 1418, an override selection may be made that gives absolute priority to aircraft avionics under certain circumstances e.g., emergency communications, [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Regarding claim 3, Matsuda teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Matsuda does not teach further comprising: prior to the changing of the first connection and the changing of the second connection, determining, by the network equipment, that the first user equipment is associated with a first credential of non-emergency personnel and that the second user equipment is associated with a second credential of emergency personnel.
In an analogous art, Frerking teaches prior to the changing of the first connection and the changing of the second connection, determining, by the network equipment, that the first user equipment is associated with a first credential of non-emergency personnel and that the second user equipment is associated with a second credential of emergency personnel (Each user and/or user type may be granted different priority for its associated equipment. For example, aircraft avionics may be granted highest priority and equipment associated with passengers may be granted lowest priority, [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Regarding claim 4, Matsuda teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Matsuda does not teach wherein the first user equipment and the second user equipment are determined to be within a defined geographic area, and wherein the defined event is an emergency situation occurring within the defined geographic area.
In an analogous art, Frerking teaches wherein the first user equipment and the second user equipment are determined to be within a defined geographic area (In addition, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 allocates aircraft-area bandwidth e.g., bandwidth for communications using the in-flight communications network in regions internal or proximate to the aircraft including the aircraft cabin, the aircraft cockpit, cargo area, and other regions internal or proximate to the aircraft within range of signals transmitted using cabin equipment 1402, to individual sessions on the airplane i.e., between a user and management controller 1426, according to the prioritization level of equipment on the aircraft, [0036]), and wherein the defined event is an emergency situation occurring within the defined geographic area (In at least one embodiment of in-flight connectivity controller 1418, an override selection may be made that gives absolute priority to aircraft avionics under certain circumstances (e.g., emergency communications, [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Regarding claim 5, Matsuda teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Matsuda does not teach wherein the defined event is associated with an application determined to be executing on the second user equipment, and wherein the method further comprises: prior to the changing of the first connection and the changing of the second connection, determining, by the network equipment, that a measurement reported by the second user equipment is determined to fail to support one or more conditions of the second service level agreement.
In an analogous art, Frerking teaches wherein the defined event is associated with an application determined to be executing on the second user equipment, and wherein the method further comprises: prior to the changing of the first connection and the changing of the second connection, determining, by the network equipment, that a measurement reported by the second user equipment is determined to fail to support one or more conditions of the second service level agreement (For example, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 determines whether sufficient air-to-ground system bandwidth is available for sensor data transmission from the aircraft (204), i.e., whether the total used air-to-ground bandwidth is less than or equal to a threshold, e.g., the maximum air-to-ground bandwidth allocated to the aircraft. If the air-to-ground bandwidth is insufficient, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 determines whether it is economical to transmit the sensor data from the aircraft using satellite communications system bandwidth allocated to the aircraft, [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Regarding claim 6, Matsuda teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Matsuda does not teach wherein the changing of the first connection comprises temporarily halting information transmitted via the first connection to the first user equipment.
In an analogous art, Frerking teaches wherein the changing of the first connection comprises temporarily halting information transmitted via the first connection to the first user equipment (If the air-to-ground bandwidth is insufficient, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 determines whether it is economical to send the flight-deck data transmission using satellite communications system bandwidth (208). If use of satellite bandwidth is economical, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 throttles user Internet services and/or other services allocated satellite communications system bandwidth (218) to provide bandwidth for avionics data transmission, [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Regarding claim 7, Matsuda teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Matsuda does not teach wherein the changing of the first connection comprises discontinuing usage of a first antenna of a first group of antennas for the first connection, and wherein the changing of the second connection comprises temporarily adding the first antenna to a second group of second antennas.
In an analogous art, Frerking teaches wherein the changing of the first connection comprises discontinuing usage of a first antenna of a first group of antennas for the first connection, and wherein the changing of the second connection comprises temporarily adding the first antenna to a second group of second antennas (In-flight connectivity controller 1418 determines whether any remaining air-to-ground bandwidth is sufficient for avionics data communications (206). If the air-to-ground bandwidth is insufficient, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 determines whether it is economical to send the flight-deck data transmission using satellite communications system bandwidth (208). If use of satellite bandwidth is economical, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 throttles user Internet services and/or other services allocated satellite communications system bandwidth (218) to provide bandwidth for avionics data transmission, [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Regarding claim 10, Matsuda teaches the system of claim 9.
However, Matsuda does not teach wherein the operations further comprise: prior to the transitioning of the first connection and the transitioning of the second connection, determining that the first user equipment and the second user equipment are within a defined geographic area.
In an analogous art, Frerking teaches wherein the operations further comprise: prior to the transitioning of the first connection and the transitioning of the second connection, determining that the first user equipment and the second user equipment are within a defined geographic area (In addition, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 allocates aircraft-area bandwidth (e.g., bandwidth for communications using the in-flight communications network in regions internal or proximate to the aircraft including the aircraft cabin, the aircraft cockpit, cargo area, and other regions internal or proximate to the aircraft within range of signals transmitted using cabin equipment 1402) to individual sessions on the airplane (i.e., between a user and management controller 1426) according to the prioritization level of equipment on the aircraft, [0033]), and wherein the transitioning of the first connection and the transitioning of the second connection is based on a receipt of information indicative of an occurrence of a defined condition (In at least one embodiment of in-flight connectivity controller 1418, an override selection may be made that gives absolute priority to aircraft avionics under certain circumstances e.g., emergency communications, [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Regarding claim 11, Matsuda teaches the system of claim 10.
However, Matsuda does not teach wherein the defined condition is a condition that is an internal condition of at least one of: the first user equipment or the second user equipment (In addition, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 allocates aircraft-area bandwidth.
In an analogous art, Frerking further teaches wherein the defined condition is a condition that is an internal condition of at least one of: the first user equipment or the second user equipment (In addition, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 allocates aircraft-area bandwidth (e.g., bandwidth for communications using the in-flight communications network in regions internal or proximate to the aircraft including the aircraft cabin, the aircraft cockpit, cargo area, and other regions internal or proximate to the aircraft within range of signals transmitted using cabin equipment 1402) to individual sessions on the airplane (i.e., between a user and management controller 1426) according to the prioritization level of equipment on the aircraft, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Regarding claim 12, Matsuda teaches the system of claim 10.
However, Matsuda does not teach wherein the defined condition is a condition occurring within the defined geographic area and external to the first user equipment and the second user equipment (in-flight connectivity controller 1418 allocates aircraft-area bandwidth.
In an analogous art, Frerking further teaches wherein the defined condition is a condition occurring within the defined geographic area and external to the first user equipment and the second user equipment (in-flight connectivity controller 1418 allocates aircraft-area bandwidth (e.g., bandwidth for communications using the in-flight communications network in regions internal or proximate to the aircraft including the aircraft cabin, the aircraft cockpit, cargo area, and other regions internal or proximate to the aircraft within range of signals transmitted using cabin equipment 1402) to individual sessions on the airplane (i.e., between a user and management controller 1426) according to the prioritization level of equipment on the aircraft, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Regarding claim 13, Matsuda teaches the system of claim 10.
However, Matsuda does not teach wherein the defined condition is related to an application executing at the second user equipment, and wherein the operations further comprise: prior to the transitioning of the first connection and during consumption of the application at the second user equipment, receiving an indication that a quality of service of the application fails to satisfy the second service level agreement.
In an analogous art, Frerking further teaches wherein the defined condition is related to an application executing at the second user equipment, and wherein the operations further comprise: prior to the transitioning of the first connection and during consumption of the application at the second user equipment, receiving an indication that a quality of service of the application fails to satisfy the second service level agreement (For example, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 determines whether sufficient air-to-ground system bandwidth is available for sensor data transmission from the aircraft (204), i.e., whether the total used air-to-ground bandwidth is less than or equal to a threshold, e.g., the maximum air-to-ground bandwidth allocated to the aircraft. If the air-to-ground bandwidth is insufficient, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 determines whether it is economical to transmit the sensor data from the aircraft using satellite communications system bandwidth allocated to the aircraft, [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Regarding claim 15, Matsuda teaches the system of claim 9.
However, Matsuda does not teach wherein the transitioning of the first connection comprises discontinuing usage of a first antenna of a first group of antennas for the first connection, and wherein the transitioning of the second connection comprises temporarily adding the first antenna to a second group of second antennas.
In an analogous art, Frerking teaches wherein the transitioning of the first connection comprises discontinuing usage of a first antenna of a first group of antennas for the first connection, and wherein the transitioning of the second connection comprises temporarily adding the first antenna to a second group of second antennas (In-flight connectivity controller 1418 determines whether any remaining air-to-ground bandwidth is sufficient for avionics data communications (206). If the air-to-ground bandwidth is insufficient, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 determines whether it is economical to send the flight-deck data transmission using satellite communications system bandwidth (208). If use of satellite bandwidth is economical, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 throttles user Internet services and/or other services allocated satellite communications system bandwidth (218) to provide bandwidth for avionics data transmission, [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Regarding claim 16, Matsuda teaches the system of claim 9.
However, Matsuda does not teach wherein the transitioning of the first connection comprises temporarily halting information transmitted via the first connection to the first user equipment.
In an analogous art, Frerking further teaches wherein the transitioning of the first connection comprises temporarily halting information transmitted via the first connection to the first user equipment (If the air-to-ground bandwidth is insufficient, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 determines whether it is economical to send the flight-deck data transmission using satellite communications system bandwidth (208). If use of satellite bandwidth is economical, in-flight connectivity controller 1418 throttles user Internet services and/or other services allocated satellite communications system bandwidth (218) to provide bandwidth for avionics data transmission, [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified switching communication of Matsuda with the service of Frerking to provide a method to additional bandwidth for emergency communications as suggested, Frerking [0046].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (US 10434935 B1): Interactive external vehicle-user communication may include identifying operational environment information representing a current operational environment for an AV; identifying a target external user based on the current operational environment for the AV, the target external user is identified based on sensor information from a sensor of the AV; controlling the AV to output, for the target external user, a first semiotic representation of a control information of the AV related to the operational environment information; receiving an acknowledgement of the first semiotic representation from the target external user; and in response to the acknowledgement, controlling the AV to traverse the portion of the vehicle transportation network, such that controlling the AV to traverse the portion of the vehicle transportation network includes controlling the AV to output a second semiotic representation based on the acknowledgement from the target external user.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641