DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment filed by Applicant on September 10, 2026 has been fully considered. The amendment to instant claim 1 is acknowledged. In light of the amendment, all previous rejections are withdrawn. The new grounds of rejections are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Neil et al (US 2018/0223069) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247), Zhu (US 2010/0112321), Oldham (US 4,681,718), Smith (US 3,865,759) and Kiskiras et al (US 2009/0308022).
5. O’Neil et al disclose a process for forming a silicone rubber syntactic foam and the silicone foam produced by the process (as to instant claim 11) comprising:
1) preparing an organopolysiloxane composition X comprising:
a) at least one organopolysiloxane A of the following formula:
Wherein R’ is a C1-C20 alkenyl radical, such as vinyl, allyl, hexenyl ({0025]-
[[0030]);
b) at least one silicon compound B comprising at least two hydrogen atoms
bonded to silicon per molecular; preferably a mixture of two silicon compounds B
one comprising two telechelic hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon per molecule with
no pendent hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon per molecule and the other
comprising at least three hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon per molecule ([0031],
as to instant claims 7 and 8);
c) a hydrosilylation catalyst C ([0032]);
d) hollow glass beads D, preferably hollow borosilicate glass microspheres ([0033],
as to instant claims 1-2); and
2) curing the composition ([0024], [0133], [0112]), such as at room temperature to form silicone rubber syntactic foam comprising a silicone rubber binder and hollow glass beads ([0176], as to instant claim 10).
6. The silicone rubber syntactic foam is used to fill open spaces in a battery module casing ([0047]) by injecting the liquid silicone composition precursor of the silicone foam into free spaces to fill those, followed by curing ([0058]).
Thus, the liquid silicone composition is injected into the battery casing to fill open spaces and is cured there via crosslinking, i.e. cured in an enclosed space.
7. As to instant claim 5, the level of hollow glass beads is up to 80% volume, preferably 5-70% volume; the exemplified composition shows the hollow glass beads present in amount of 13.05 pbw (Table 1).
8. As to instant claim 6, the hollow borosilicate glass microspheres are having true density of 0.1-0.65 g/cc ([0051]).
9. As to instant claim 9, the composition X is having viscosity at 25⁰C of 500-300,000 mPa.s or 500-5000 mPa.s ([0078]).
9. Though O’Neil et al discloses curing taking place at room temperature, O’Neil et al does not explicitly recite the pressure during curing.
10. However,
1) Fisher et al disclose a process for curing silicone compositions, wherein Fisher et al teaches that the silicone resin can be cured at atmospheric pressure or subatmospheric pressure; wherein in case of the silicone resin in the form of a coating that is enclosed between liners/substrates, the silicone resin is typically cured under a reduced pressure, such as 1,000-20,000 Pa ([0090]), i.e. 10-200 mbar (as to instant claim 1, 3).
Thus, Fisher et al explicitly teaches that curing of silicone resins enclosed between substrates is conducted under a subatmospheric pressure such as 200 mbar.
2) Zhu discloses a process for making cured silicone resin impregnated with reinforcement, including glass-based reinforcement ([0102]), comprising curing said reinforced silicone resin at a temperature such as room temperature (23+2⁰C) and a subatmospheric pressure such as 20,000 Pa (200 mbar) ([0124]).
Thus, Zhu explicitly teaches that even glass reinforcement-impregnated silicone resins are cured at a low pressure of about 200 mbar.
3) Further, Oldham discloses a method for forming fiber-reinforced syntactic foam composite comprising a resin and hollow glass microspheres having density of 0.15-0.32 g/cc (col. 5, lines 34-45; col. 6, lines 35-40), formed by molding, wherein Oldham explicitly teaches that a subatmospheric pressure of 150-200 mm Hg (200-266 mbar) is applied to the mold to impregnate the filler and to expand bubbles of entrapped air in the resin (col. 8, lines 1-10).
Thus, Oldham shows that under application of subatmospheric pressure onto the syntactic foamable composition, air bubbles entrapped in the resin are expanded, i.e. at least partially air-foamed resin is produced.
11. Given i) the silicone foam of O’Neil et al is formed by injecting a liquid silicone composition comprising glass microspheres into the battery casing to fill open spaces and is cured there via crosslinking, i.e. cured in an enclosed space, ii) curing of silicone resins enclosed between substrates, including silicone resins impregnated with glass-based reinforcement, is conducted under a subatmospheric pressure such as 200 mbar, as shown by Fisher et al and Zhu, and iii) Oldham shows that under application of subatmospheric pressure onto the syntactic foamable composition, air bubbles entrapped in the resin are expanded, i.e. at least partially air-foamed resin is produced,
therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of O’Neil et al, Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham, and to conduct, or obvious to try to conduct the curing of the liquid silicone composition of O’Neil et al inside the battery casing under a reduced subatmospheric pressure such as 200 mbar, as taught by Fisher et al and Zhu as well, since such process step is taught in the art for curing silicone resins, including glass impregnated, and further wherein such step will ensure
at least partial expanding on any air bubbles entrapped in the resin, i.e. producing at least partially air-foamed resin of O’Neil et al as well, thereby arriving at the present invention. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 USC 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 USC 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141
12. Given the process of O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham
is substantially the same as that claimed in instant invention, including preparing the same silicone curable composition as claimed in instant invention including hollow microspheres, and conducting curing under a subatmospheric pressure without using external blowing agents, therefore, the silicone foam of O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham will intrinsically and necessarily be syntactic, air-foamed and having low density as well, especially since instant specification recites that:
p. 6, lines 11-13 of instant specification):
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01(I). Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
13. Further, though O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham do not explicitly teach the density of the produced syntactic foam,
1) Smith discloses a syntactic foam composition comprising an organopolysiloxane and a low density hollow glass microspheres (col. 6, lines 10-35), wherein Smith explicitly teaches that the amount of the low density hollow glass microspheres will be selected to provide the final density of the foam of below 0.9 g/cc (col. 7, lines 5-10).
Thus, Smith explicitly teaches that the syntactic silicones resins have density of less than 0.9 g/cc and wherein the specific density of the final foam product will depend on the amount of used hollow glass microspheres.
2) Kiskiras et al discloses silicone syntactic foam material having density of 0.24-0.272 g/cc and thermal conductivity of 0.05-0.055 W/m.K, are having enhanced insulation properties and are used for making insulting panels ([0016]).
14. Since i) the silicone syntactic foams typically have density of less than 0.9 g/cc, and wherein the specific density of the final foam product depends on the amount of used hollow glass microspheres, as taught by Smith, and ii) silicone syntactic foam materials having density of 0.240-0.272 g/cc and thermal conductivity of 0.05-0.055 W/m.K are having enhanced insulation properties and are used for making panels, as shown by Kiskiras et al, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kiskiras et al, Smith and O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham, and to prepare, or obvious to try to prepare the silicone syntactic foamable composition of O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham having such amount of hollow glass microspheres, so that the final syntactic foam has a density of 0.240-0.272 g/cc and thermal conductivity of 0.05-0.055 W/m.K, also having enhanced insulation properties, so that such foam O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham can be used making insulating panels, as well, thereby arriving at the present invention. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 USC 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 USC 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141
15. Further, based on the teachings of Smith that the specific densities of the syntactic foam depend on the amount of the hollow glass microspheres used (col. 7, lines 5-10), therefore, it would have been obvious to and within the skills of a one of ordinary skill in the art to make variations and optimize by routine experimentation the amount of added hollow glass microspheres into the silicone resin composition of O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham, so to obtain the syntactic foam of O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham having a desired density, such as in the range of 0.2-0.8 g/cc, given such is desired, as well. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
16. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Neil et al (US 2018/0223069) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247), Zhu (US 2010/0112321), Oldham (US 4,681,718), Smith (US 3,865,759) and Kiskiras et al (US 2009/0308022), in further view of Mochizuki (US 2021/0095126).
17. The discussion with respect to O’Neil et al (US 2018/0223069) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247), Zhu (US 2010/0112321), Oldham (US 4,681,718), Smith (US 3,865,759) and Kiskiras et al (US 2009/0308022), set forth in paragraphs 4-15 above, is incorporated here by reference.
18. Though O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu, Oldham, Smith and Kiskiras et al do not specify the reduced pressure being applied before the composition is fully cured and at a time of at least 10% of gel time,
Mochizuki discloses a method of manufacturing silicone cured product, wherein the method comprises:
a) curing the organopolysiloxane by hydrosilylation reaction under a closed atmosphere at a temperature of 40-200⁰C for 0.5 min to 5 hours, or 1 min to 2 hours to obtain a primary cured product ([0035]);
b) heating the product under a reduced pressure at a temperature of 60-160⁰C for 2-24 hours (Abstract, [0043]-[0044]),
wherein the produced cured silicone resin has very low generation of a volatile component (Abstract).
19. Thus, Mochizuki explicitly teaches a method for making silicone resin cured product taking place in two steps: curing under a temperature of 40-200⁰C to form a primary, i.e. partially, cured product, followed by heating under a reduced pressure, so to produce the silicone resin having very low generation of volatile components. Given the second step is conducted under heating and in the presence of the same catalyst, therefore, the heating in the second step would be reasonably expected to lead to further, at least to minor extent, curing as well. Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
20. Based on the teachings of Mochizuki that the first curing step is conducted for 0.5 min to 5 hours, and the longer curing will intrinsically and necessarily lead to higher crosslinking level, and thus higher gel content, it would have been obvious to and within the skills of a one of ordinary skill in the art to make variations and optimize the length of the period for the first step curing, so to obtain the primary cured product having a desired gel content, such at least 10% of gel time, before submitting that to further heating under a reduced pressure in the second step, so to obtain the final product having a desired level of curing and a desired level of volatile components, thereby arriving at the present invention. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
21. Since silicone resins can be cured in a two step process including curing under heating to form a primary cured product, followed by further heating (and to at least minor extent further curing) under a reduced pressure, as taught by Mochizuki, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mochizuki and O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu, Oldham, Smith and Kiskiras et al, and to modify, or obvious to try to modify the process of O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu, Oldham, Smith and Kiskiras et al by conducting curing of the silicone composition of O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu, Oldham, Smith and Kiskiras et al under heating first, to produce the primary cured silicone product having a gel content of at least 10%, or 45-65%, followed by reducing the pressure and continuing heating to form the final silicone syntactic foam of O’Neil et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu, Oldham, Smith and Kiskiras et al as well. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 USC 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 USC 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "‘[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141
22. Claims 1-3, 7, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247) and Nakane et al (JP 2004-123836, based on machine translation), as evidenced by
It is noted that while the rejection is made over EP 3,875,519 for date purposes, in order to elucidate the examiner's position the corresponding US equivalent viz. US 2023/0159718 is relied upon. All citations to paragraph numbers, etc., below refer to US 2023/0159718.
23. Kempf et al discloses a silicone rubber foam and a method for making said silicone rubber foam (as to instant claims 1, 11), the method comprises:
providing a curable and foamable precursor of said silicone rubber foam, followed by foaming and curing said foam (Abstract), wherein
- the precursor of the silicone rubber comprises:
a) at least one organopolysiloxane compound A having two alkenyl groups ([0053]-[0054]) and having the following formula:
Where R’ are alkenyl groups ([0053]);
b) at least one organohydrogenpolysiloxane compound B having at least two hydrogen atoms per molecule ([0049]);
c) at least one hydroxyl compound C;
d) a curing catalyst D and
e) optionally, a foaming agent ([0047]-[0052], as to instant claim 7),
wherein the silicone rubber foam further comprises hollow microspheres such as glass bubbles (as to instant claim 2, [0081]),
the foam comprises air gaseous cavities ([0074]),
and wherein the silicone rubber foam comprises a thermal conductivity of no greater than 0.1 W/m.K ([0104]), or as low as 0.02 W/m.K ([0105]) and density 0.2-0.5 g/cc ([0097]-[0098], as to instant claim 1).
Since the foaming agent component e) is cited as being optional, i.e. not required, it would be obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to exclude it from the curable silicone composition as well. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045).
24. As to instant claim 10, the curing step is performed at a temperature of 20-100⁰C ([0130]-[0132]).
25. It is noted that instant specification defines the term “silicone syntactic foam which is also air-formed” as follows (see p. 6, lines 35-37 of instant specification):
Further, “syntactic foam” by definition provided by
:
Syntactic foam is a lightweight, high-strength composite material made by embedding hollow microspheres in a matrix, offering exceptional strength-to-weight ratio and tailored performance for subsea, aerospace, and engineering applications.
That is, “syntactic foam” comprises hollow microspheres embedded in a matrix.
26. Thus, instant specification recites said “syntactic air-foamed foam” as i) comprising hollow microspheres in the silicone binder, and ii) having air cavities.
Since the silicon rubber foam of Kempf et al comprises a) hollow microspheres in the silicone binder ([0081]) and b) air gaseous cavities ([0074]), therefore, the silicone rubber foam of Kempf et al will intrinsically and necessarily be at least partially syntactic and air-foamed as well. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01(I). Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
27. Though Kempf et al discloses curing taking place at temperature of 20-100⁰C, Kempf et al does not explicitly recite the pressure during curing.
28. However,
1) Fisher et al disclose a process for curing silicone compositions, wherein Fisher et al teaches that the silicone resin can be cured at atmospheric pressure or subatmospheric pressure; wherein the silicone resin in the form of a coating that is enclosed between liners/substrates, the silicone resin is typically cured under a reduced pressure, such as 1,000-20,000 Pa ([0090]), i.e. 10-200 mbar (as to instant claim 1, 3).
Thus, Fisher et al explicitly teaches that curing of silicone resins enclosed between substrates is conducted under a subatmospheric pressure such as 200 mbar.
2) Nakane et al discloses a process for forming a silicone foam comprising a) subjecting/injecting a silicone precursor composition into a sealed foaming container and b) foaming and hardening the silicone composition under a reduced pressure, such as about zero MPa ([0008]; page 2, second paragraph of the translation; Table 2, paragraph [0052]), wherein the produced silicone foam is having high expansion and low density (Table 2).
29. Given i) the silicone foam of Kempf et al is formed by injecting curable silicone composition between two layers and is cured there via crosslinking, i.e. cured in an enclosed space (Abstract), ii) Fisher et al explicitly teaches that curing of silicone resins enclosed between substrates is conducted under a subatmospheric pressure such as 200 mbar, and iii) Nakane et al teaches that forming silicone foam by hardening and expansion under a reduced pressure leads to producing the silicone foam having a low density, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kempf et al, Fisher et al and Nakane et al, and to conduct, or obvious to try to conduct the curing of the curable silicone composition of Kempf et al under a reduced subatmospheric pressure such as 200 mbar, as taught by Fisher et al and Nakane et al, as well, since such process step is taught in the art for curing silicone resins and producing low density foams, thereby arriving at the present invention. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 USC 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 USC 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141
30. Given the process of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al and Nakane et al
is substantially the same as that claimed in instant invention, including preparing the same silicone curable composition including hollow microspheres as claimed in instant invention, and conducting curing under a subatmospheric pressure without using external blowing agents, therefore, the silicone foam of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al and Nakane et al will intrinsically and necessarily be syntactic and air-foamed, and having low thermal conductivity of less than 0.1 W/m.K and density in the range of 0.2-0.8 g/cc as well. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01(I). Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
31. Claims 1-3, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247) and Nakane et al (JP 2004-123836, based on machine translation), as evidenced by
in further view of O’Neil et al (US 2018/0223069).
It is noted that while the rejection is made over EP 3,875,519 for date purposes, in order to elucidate the examiner's position the corresponding US equivalent viz. US 2023/0159718 is relied upon. All citations to paragraph numbers, etc., below refer to US 2023/0159718.
32. The discussion with respect to Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247) and Nakane et al (JP 2004-123836, based on machine translation), set forth in paragraphs 22-30 above, is incorporated here by reference.
33. Though Kempf et al does not explicitly disclose the relative amount of the hollow microspheres in the curable silicone composition, viscosity of the composition, and properties of hollow glass microspheres,
O’Neil et al disclose a process for forming a silicone rubber syntactic foam and the silicone foam produced by the process (as to instant claim 11) comprising:
1) preparing an organopolysiloxane composition X comprising:
a) at least one organopolysiloxane A of the following formula:
Wherein R’ is a C1-C20 alkenyl radical, such as vinyl, allyl, hexenyl ({0025]-
[[0030]);
b) at least one silicon compound B comprising at least two hydrogen atoms
bonded to silicon per molecular; preferably a mixture of two silicon compounds B
one comprising two telechelic hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon per molecule with
no pendent hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon per molecule and the other
comprising at least three hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon per molecule ([0031],
as to instant claims 7 and 8);
c) a hydrosilylation catalyst C ([0032]);
d) hollow glass beads D, preferably hollow borosilicate glass microspheres ([0033],
as to instant claims 1-2); and
2) curing the composition ([0024], [0133], [0112]), such as at room temperature to form silicone rubber syntactic foam comprising a silicone rubber binder and hollow glass beads ([0176], as to instant claim 10).
34. The silicone rubber syntactic foam is used to fill open spaces in a battery module casing ([0047] of O’Neil et al) by injecting the liquid silicone composition precursor of the silicone foam into free spaces to fill those, followed by curing ([0058] of O’Neil et al). Thus, the liquid silicone composition is injected into the battery casing to fill open spaces and is cured there via crosslinking, i.e. cured in an enclosed space.
35. As to instant claim 5, the level of hollow glass beads is up to 80% volume, preferably 5-70% volume; the exemplified composition shows the hollow glass beads present in amount of 13.05 pbw (Table 1 of O’Neil et al).
36. As to instant claim 6, the hollow borosilicate glass microspheres are having true density of 0.1-0.65 g/cc ([0051] of O’Neil et al).
37. As to instant claim 9, the composition X is having viscosity at 25⁰C of 500-300,000 mPa.s or 500-5000 mPa.s ([0078] of O’Neil et al).
38. Since both O’Neil et al and Kempf et al are related to silicone rubber foams produced from substantially the same silicone precursor compositions comprising hollow microspheres, and thereby belong to the same field of endeavor, wherein O’Neil et al teaches the amount of used hollow microspheres, viscosity of the composition and density of the hollow glass microspheres used in such composition, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kempf et al and O’Neil et al, and to use, or obvious to try to use the silicone composition of O’Neil et al as the silicone curable precursor composition in the process of Kempf et al, and further use, or obvious to try to include the hollow glass microspheres as taught by O’Neil et al in the precursor composition of Kempf et al since such hollow glass microspheres are taught in the art as being used to form silicone rubber foam, and it would be obvious to choose material based on its suitability. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045). Case law holds that the mere substitution of an equivalent (something equal in value or meaning, as taught by analogous prior art) is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958).
39. Claims 1-4, 7, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247) and Nakane et al (JP 2004-123836, based on machine translation), as evidenced by
in further view of Mochizuki (US 2021/0095126).
It is noted that while the rejection is made over EP 3,875,519 for date purposes, in order to elucidate the examiner's position the corresponding US equivalent viz. US 2023/0159718 is relied upon. All citations to paragraph numbers, etc., below refer to US 2023/0159718.
40. The discussion with respect to Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247) and Nakane et al (JP 2004-123836, based on machine translation), set forth in paragraphs 22-30 above, is incorporated here by reference.
41. Though Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al and Nakane et al do not specify the reduced pressure being applied before the composition is fully cured and at a time of at least 10% of gel time,
Mochizuki discloses a method of manufacturing silicone cured product, wherein the method comprises:
a) curing the organopolysiloxane by hydrosilylation reaction under a closed atmosphere at a temperature of 40-200⁰C for 0.5 min to 5 hours, or 1 min to 2 hours to obtain a primary cured product ([0035]);
b) heating the product under a reduced pressure at a temperature of 60-160⁰C for 2-24 hours (Abstract, [0043]-[0044]),
wherein the produced cured silicone resin has very low generation of a volatile component (Abstract).
42. Thus, Mochizuki explicitly teaches a method for making silicone resin cured product taking place in two steps: curing under a temperature of 40-200⁰C to form a primary, i.e. partially, cured product, followed by heating under a reduced pressure, so to produce the silicone resin having very low generation of volatile components. Given the second step is conducted under heating and in the presence of the same catalyst, therefore, the heating in the second step would be reasonably expected to lead to further, at least to minor extent, curing as well. Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
43. Based on the teachings of Mochizuki that the first curing step is conducted for 0.5 min to 5 hours, and the longer curing will intrinsically and necessarily lead to higher crosslinking level, and thus higher gel content, it would have been obvious to and within the skills of a one of ordinary skill in the art to make variations and optimize the length of the period for the first step curing, so to obtain the primary cured product having a desired gel content, such at least 10% of gel time, before submitting that to further heating under a reduced pressure in the second step, so to obtain the final product having a desired level of curing and a desired level of volatile components, thereby arriving at the present invention. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
44. Since silicone resins can be cured in a two-step process including curing under heating to form a primary cured product, followed by further heating (and to at least minor extent further curing) under a reduced pressure, as taught by Mochizuki, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mochizuki and Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al and Nakane et al, and to modify, or obvious to try to modify the process of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al and Nakane et al by conducting curing of the silicone composition of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al and Nakane et al under heating first, to produce the primary cured silicone product having a gel content of at least 10%, or 45-65%, followed by reducing the pressure and continuing heating to form the final silicone syntactic foam of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al and Nakane et al as well. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 USC 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 USC 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "‘[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141
45. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247), Nakane et al (JP 2004-123836, based on machine translation) and O’Neil et al (US 2018/0223069), as evidenced by
in further view of Mochizuki (US 2021/0095126).
It is noted that while the rejection is made over EP 3,875,519 for date purposes, in order to elucidate the examiner's position the corresponding US equivalent viz. US 2023/0159718 is relied upon. All citations to paragraph numbers, etc., below refer to US 2023/0159718.
46. The discussion with respect to Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247), Nakane et al (JP 2004-123836, based on machine translation) and O’Neil et al (US 2018/0223069), set forth in paragraphs 31-38 above, is incorporated here by reference.
47. Though Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Nakane et al and O’Neil et al do not specify the reduced pressure being applied before the composition is fully cured and at a time of at least 10% of gel time,
Mochizuki discloses a method of manufacturing silicone cured product, wherein the method comprises:
a) curing the organopolysiloxane by hydrosilylation reaction under a closed atmosphere at a temperature of 40-200⁰C for 0.5 min to 5 hours, or 1 min to 2 hours to obtain a primary cured product ([0035]);
b) heating the product under a reduced pressure at a temperature of 60-160⁰C for 2-24 hours (Abstract, [0043]-[0044]),
wherein the produced cured silicone resin has very low generation of a volatile component (Abstract).
48. Thus, Mochizuki explicitly teaches a method for making silicone resin cured product taking place in two steps: curing under a temperature of 40-200⁰C to form a primary, i.e. partially, cured product, followed by heating under a reduced pressure, so to produce the silicone resin having very low generation of volatile components. Given the second step is conducted under heating and in the presence of the same catalyst, therefore, the heating in the second step would be reasonably expected to lead to further, at least to minor extent, curing as well. Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
49. Based on the teachings of Mochizuki that the first curing step is conducted for 0.5 min to 5 hours, and the longer curing will intrinsically and necessarily lead to higher crosslinking level, and thus higher gel content, it would have been obvious to and within the skills of a one of ordinary skill in the art to make variations and optimize the length of the period for the first step curing, so to obtain the primary cured product having a desired gel content, such at least 10% of gel time, before submitting that to further heating under a reduced pressure in the second step, so to obtain the final product having a desired level of curing and a desired level of volatile components, thereby arriving at the present invention. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
50. Since silicone resins can be cured in a two-step process including curing under heating to form a primary cured product, followed by further heating (and to at least minor extent further curing) under a reduced pressure, as taught by Mochizuki, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mochizuki and Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Nakane et al and O’Neil et al, and to modify, or obvious to try to modify the process of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Nakane et al and O’Neil et al by conducting curing of the silicone composition of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Nakane et al and O’Neil et al under at least some heating first, to produce the primary cured silicone product having a gel content of at least 10%, or 45-65%, followed by reducing the pressure and continuing heating to form the final silicone syntactic foam of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Nakane et al and O’Neil et al as well. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 USC 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 USC 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "‘[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141
51. Claims 1-3, 7, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247), Zhu (US 2010/0112321), Oldham (US 4,681,718), as evidenced by
It is noted that while the rejection is made over EP 3,875,519 for date purposes, in order to elucidate the examiner's position the corresponding US equivalent viz. US 2023/0159718 is relied upon. All citations to paragraph numbers, etc., below refer to US 2023/0159718.
52. Kempf et al discloses a silicone rubber foam and a method for making said silicone rubber foam (as to instant claims 1, 11), the method comprises:
providing a curable and foamable precursor of said silicone rubber foam, followed by foaming and curing said foam (Abstract), wherein
- the precursor of the silicone rubber comprises:
a) at least one organopolysiloxane compound A having two alkenyl groups ([0053]-[0054]) and having the following formula:
Where R’ are alkenyl groups ([0053]);
b) at least one organohydrogenpolysiloxane compound B having at least two hydrogen atoms per molecule ([0049]);
c) at least one hydroxyl compound C;
d) a curing catalyst D and
e) optionally, a foaming agent ([0047]-[0052], as to instant claim 7),
wherein the silicone rubber foam further comprises hollow microspheres such as glass bubbles (as to instant claim 2, [0081]),
the foam comprises air gaseous cavities ([0074]),
and wherein the silicone rubber foam comprises a thermal conductivity of no greater than 0.1 W/m.K ([0104]), or as low as 0.02 W/m.K ([0105]) and density 0.2-0.5 g/cc ([0097]-[0098], as to instant claim 1).
Since the foaming agent component e) is cited as being optional, i.e. not required, it would be obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to exclude it from the curable silicone composition as well. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045).
53. As to instant claim 10, the curing step is performed at a temperature of 20-100⁰C ([0130]-[0132]).
54. It is noted that instant specification defines the term “silicone syntactic foam which is also air-formed” as follows (see p. 6, lines 35-37 of instant specification):
Further, “syntactic foam” by definition provided by
:
Syntactic foam is a lightweight, high-strength composite material made by embedding hollow microspheres in a matrix, offering exceptional strength-to-weight ratio and tailored performance for subsea, aerospace, and engineering applications.
That is, “syntactic foam” comprises hollow microspheres embedded in a matrix.
55. Thus, instant specification recites said “syntactic air-foamed foam” as i) comprising hollow microspheres in the silicone binder, and ii) having air cavities.
Since the silicon rubber foam of Kempf et al comprises a) hollow microspheres in the silicone binder ([0081]) and b) air gaseous cavities ([0074]), therefore, the silicone rubber foam of Kempf et al will intrinsically and necessarily be at least partially syntactic and air-foamed as well. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01(I). Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
56. Though Kempf et al discloses curing taking place at temperature of 20-100⁰C, Kempf et al does not explicitly recite the pressure during curing.
57. However,
1) Fisher et al disclose a process for curing silicone compositions, wherein Fisher et al teaches that the silicone resin can be cured at atmospheric pressure or subatmospheric pressure; wherein in the case of the silicone resin being in the form of a coating that is enclosed between liners/substrates, the silicone resin is typically cured under a reduced pressure, such as 1,000-20,000 Pa ([0090]), i.e. 10-200 mbar (as to instant claim 1, 3).
Thus, Fisher et al explicitly teaches that curing of silicone resins enclosed between substrates is conducted under a subatmospheric pressure such as 200 mbar.
2) Zhu discloses a process for making cured silicone resin impregnated with reinforcement, including glass-based fiber reinforcement ([0102]), comprising curing said reinforced silicone resin at a temperature such as room temperature (23+2⁰C) and a subatmospheric pressure such as 20,000 Pa (200 mbar) ([0124]).
Thus, Zhu explicitly teaches that even glass reinforcement-impregnated silicone resins are cured at a low pressure of about 200 mbar.
3) Further, Oldham discloses a method for forming fiber-reinforced syntactic foam composite comprising a resin and hollow glass microspheres having density of 0.15-0.32 g/cc (col. 5, lines 34-45; col. 6, lines 35-40), formed by molding, wherein Oldham explicitly teaches that a subatmospheric pressure of 150-200 mm Hg (200-266 mbar) is applied to the mold to impregnate the filler and to expand bubbles of entrapped air in the resin (col. 8, lines 1-10).
Thus, Oldham shows that under application of subatmospheric pressure onto the syntactic foamable composition, air bubbles entrapped in the resin are expanded, i.e. at least partially air-foamed resin is produced.
58. Given i) the silicone foam of Kempf et al is formed by injecting curable silicone composition between two layers and is cured there via crosslinking, i.e. cured in an enclosed space (Abstract), ii) curing of silicone resins enclosed between substrates, including silicone resins impregnated with glass-based reinforcement, is conducted under a subatmospheric pressure such as 200 mbar, as shown by Fisher et al and Zhu, and iii) Oldham shows that under application of subatmospheric pressure onto the syntactic foamable composition, air bubbles entrapped in the resin are expanded, i.e. at least partially air-foamed resin is produced,
therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kempf et al, Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham, and to conduct, or obvious to try to conduct the curing of the curable silicone composition of Kempf et al under a reduced subatmospheric pressure such as 200 mbar, as taught by Fisher et al and Zhu as well, since such process step is taught in the art as being used for curing of the silicone resins, including glass impregnated, and further wherein such step will ensure
at least partial expanding on any air bubbles entrapped in the resin, i.e. producing at least partially air-foamed resin of Kempf et al as well, thereby arriving at the present invention. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 USC 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 USC 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141
59. Given the process of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham
is substantially the same as that claimed in instant invention, including preparing the same silicone curable composition as claimed in instant invention including hollow microspheres, and conducting curing under a subatmospheric pressure without using external blowing agents, therefore, the silicone foam of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu and Oldham will intrinsically and necessarily be syntactic, air-foamed and having thermal conductivity and low density as claimed in instant invention as well (as to instant claim 1), especially since instant specification recites that:
p. 6, lines 11-13 of instant specification):
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01(I). Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
60. Claims 1-3, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247), Zhu (US 2010/0112321), Oldham (US 4,681,718), as evidenced by
in further view of O’Neil et al (US 2018/0223069).
It is noted that while the rejection is made over EP 3,875,519 for date purposes, in order to elucidate the examiner's position the corresponding US equivalent viz. US 2023/0159718 is relied upon. All citations to paragraph numbers, etc., below refer to US 2023/0159718.
61. The discussion with respect to Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247), Zhu (US 2010/0112321), Oldham (US 4,681,718), set forth in paragraphs 51-59 above, is incorporated here by reference.
62. Though Kempf et al does not explicitly disclose the relative amount of the hollow microspheres in the curable silicone composition, viscosity of the composition, and properties of hollow glass microspheres,
O’Neil et al disclose a process for forming a silicone rubber syntactic foam and the silicone foam produced by the process (as to instant claim 11) comprising:
1) preparing an organopolysiloxane composition X comprising:
a) at least one organopolysiloxane A of the following formula:
Wherein R’ is a C1-C20 alkenyl radical, such as vinyl, allyl, hexenyl ({0025]-
[[0030]);
b) at least one silicon compound B comprising at least two hydrogen atoms
bonded to silicon per molecular; preferably a mixture of two silicon compounds B
one comprising two telechelic hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon per molecule with
no pendent hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon per molecule and the other
comprising at least three hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon per molecule ([0031],
as to instant claims 7 and 8);
c) a hydrosilylation catalyst C ([0032]);
d) hollow glass beads D, preferably hollow borosilicate glass microspheres ([0033],
as to instant claims 1-2); and
2) curing the composition ([0024], [0133], [0112]), such as at room temperature to form silicone rubber syntactic foam comprising a silicone rubber binder and hollow glass beads ([0176], as to instant claim 10).
63. The silicone rubber syntactic foam is used to fill open spaces in a battery module casing ([0047] of O’Neil et al) by injecting the liquid silicone composition precursor of the silicone foam into free spaces to fill those, followed by curing ([0058] of O’Neil et al). Thus, the liquid silicone composition is injected into the battery casing to fill open spaces and is cured there via crosslinking, i.e. cured in an enclosed space.
64. As to instant claim 5, the level of hollow glass beads is up to 80% volume, preferably 5-70% volume; the exemplified composition shows the hollow glass beads present in amount of 13.05 pbw (Table 1 of O’Neil et al).
65. As to instant claim 6, the hollow borosilicate glass microspheres are having true density of 0.1-0.65 g/cc ([0051] of O’Neil et al).
66. As to instant claim 9, the composition X is having viscosity at 25⁰C of 500-300,000 mPa.s or 500-5000 mPa.s ([0078] of O’Neil et al).
67. Since both O’Neil et al and Kempf et al are related to silicone rubber foams produced from substantially the same silicone precursor compositions comprising hollow microspheres, and thereby belong to the same field of endeavor, wherein O’Neil et al teaches the amount of used hollow microspheres, viscosity of the composition and density of the hollow glass microspheres used in such composition, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kempf et al and O’Neil et al, and to use, or obvious to try to use the silicone composition of O’Neil et al as the silicone curable precursor composition in the process of Kempf et al, and further use, or obvious to try to include the hollow glass microspheres as taught by O’Neil et al in the precursor composition of Kempf et al since such hollow glass microspheres are taught in the art as being used to form silicone rubber foam, and it would be obvious to choose material based on its suitability. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045). Case law holds that the mere substitution of an equivalent (something equal in value or meaning, as taught by analogous prior art) is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958).
68. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247), Zhu (US 2010/0112321), Oldham (US 4,681,718) and O’Neil et al (US 2018/0223069), as evidenced by
in further view of Mochizuki (US 2021/0095126).
It is noted that while the rejection is made over EP 3,875,519 for date purposes, in order to elucidate the examiner's position the corresponding US equivalent viz. US 2023/0159718 is relied upon. All citations to paragraph numbers, etc., below refer to US 2023/0159718.
69. The discussion with respect to Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) in view of Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247), Zhu (US 2010/0112321), Oldham (US 4,681,718) and O’Neil et al (US 2018/0223069), set forth in paragraphs 60-67 above, is incorporated here by reference.
70. Though Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu, Oldham and O’Neil et al do not specify the reduced pressure being applied before the composition is fully cured and at a time of at least 10% of gel time,
Mochizuki discloses a method of manufacturing silicone cured product, wherein the method comprises:
a) curing the organopolysiloxane by hydrosilylation reaction under a closed atmosphere at a temperature of 40-200⁰C for 0.5 min to 5 hours, or 1 min to 2 hours to obtain a primary cured product ([0035]);
b) heating the product under a reduced pressure at a temperature of 60-160⁰C for 2-24 hours (Abstract, [0043]-[0044]),
wherein the produced cured silicone resin has very low generation of a volatile component (Abstract).
71. Thus, Mochizuki explicitly teaches a method for making silicone resin cured product taking place in two steps: curing under a temperature of 40-200⁰C to form a primary, i.e. partially, cured product, followed by heating under a reduced pressure, so to produce the silicone resin having very low generation of volatile components. Given the second step is conducted under heating and in the presence of the same catalyst, therefore, the heating in the second step would be reasonably expected to lead to further, at least to minor extent, curing as well. Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
72. Based on the teachings of Mochizuki that the first curing step is conducted for 0.5 min to 5 hours, and the longer curing will intrinsically and necessarily lead to higher crosslinking level, and thus higher gel content, it would have been obvious to and within the skills of a one of ordinary skill in the art to make variations and optimize the length of the period for the first step curing, so to obtain the primary cured product having a desired gel content, such at least 10% of gel time, before submitting that to further heating under a reduced pressure in the second step, so to obtain the final product having a desired level of curing and a desired level of volatile components, thereby arriving at the present invention. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
73. Since silicone resins can be cured in a two-step process including curing under heating to form a primary cured product, followed by further heating (and to at least minor extent further curing) under a reduced pressure, as taught by Mochizuki, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mochizuki and Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu, Oldham and O’Neil et al, and to modify, or obvious to try to modify the process of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu, Oldham and O’Neil et al by conducting curing of the silicone composition of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu, Oldham and O’Neil et al under at least some heating first, to produce the primary cured silicone product having a gel content of at least 10%, or 45-65%, followed by reducing the pressure and continuing heating to form the final silicone syntactic foam of Kempf et al in view of Fisher et al, Zhu, Oldham and O’Neil et al as well. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 USC 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 USC 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "‘[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141
Response to Arguments
74. Applicant's arguments filed on September 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in light of the new grounds of rejections and discussion set forth above.
75. It is further noted that:
1) the above rejections are based on the combination of references. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
2) Fisher et al (US 2010/0062247), Nakane et al (JP 2004-123836, based on machine translation) are the secondary references which were applied for the specific teachings.
Secondary reference does not need to teach all limitations. “It is not necessary to be able to bodily incorporate the secondary reference into the primary reference in order to make the combination.” In re Nievelt, 179 USPQ 224 (CCPA 1973).
3) It is not clear why the curing of the composition of Kempf et al (EP 3,875,519) cannot be conducted under a reduced pressure. Kempf et al clearly teaches that the foaming agent is optional ([0052]), and thereby is not required. Since the foaming agent component e) is cited as being optional, i.e. not required, it would be obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to exclude it from the curable silicone composition as well. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045).
At the same time Kempf et al teaches the silicone foam comprising hollow glass microspheres ([0081]) and further air gas cavities ([0074]). Curing under a reduced pressure allows the air entrapped in the resin to expand, as shown by Oldham (col. 8, lines 1-10), thereby further expanding the resin. Since curing under a reduced pressure not only cured the silicone resin, but further expands entrapped air bubbles, further foaming the resin and providing air gas cavities, therefore, it would have been obvious to conduct, or obvious to conduct curing of the composition of Kempf et al under a reduced pressure as well.
Conclusion
/IRINA KRYLOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764