Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 11/17/2025. As directed by the amendment, the status of the claim(s) are:
Claim(s) 21-25, 34-35 has/have been amended;
Claim(s) 1-20, 36-40 is/are cancelled;
Claim(s) 41-45 is/are new;
Claim(s) 21-35, 41-45 is/are presently pending.
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) is sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection(s) from the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts on p. 8-13 of remarks that the prior art of record does not teach the recited limitations. However, the arguments amount to a mere statements that the cited art do not teach the recited limitations without anything more. MPEP 2145: However, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. See, e.g., In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139-40, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
For clarity of the record, the cited art and the Examiner’s understanding/interpretation of how they apply to the claim limitations are stated below.
As discussed on p. 9 of remarks, Kinnunen teaches a sleep score which is determined in part based on sleep efficiency ([0134] “In order to calculate the sleep score…”; [[0138] “Sleep Efficiency: Total Sleep/(number of elements…The latter corresponds with time spent in bed”) and further teaches that the sleep score is used to find optimum zone for bedtimes ([0274] “sleep scores could be correlated with determined bedtimes in order to find an optimum zone”). Kaplan also teaches using sleep efficiency measure to adjust time in bed, specifically the “prescribed sleep window (i.e., from bedtime to arising time)” ([0016] “if a person reports sleeping an average of 5 hours per night out of 8 hours spent in bed, the initial prescribed sleep window (i.e., from bedtime to arising time) would be 5 hours. Subsequently, the allowable time in bed is increased by 15-20 minutes for a given week when average sleep efficiency (ratio of total sleep time to the total time spent in bed) exceeds 0.9, decreased by the same amount of time when average sleep efficiency is lower than 0.8, and kept stable when sleep efficiency falls between 0.8 and 0.9. Adjustments are made periodically (usually on a weekly basis) until the desired sleep duration is achieved.”). Thus, the cited art in combination teaches generating sleep recommendation based on the different limitations as recited.
Claims 24-35, 41-45 have new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments presented below and so Applicant’s arguments with respect to these claims are moot in light of new grounds of rejection due to claim amendment(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 25 as currently amended recites “identifying the circadian cycle based on motion data from the wearable physiological monitoring device”; however, a review of the instant disclosure does not reveal support for this limitation. Thus this is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinnunen (US 20210007658 A1; 1/14/2021; cited in previous office action) in view of Luo (US 20200289321 A1; 9/17/2020; cited in previous office action), and further in view of Kaplan (US 20100094103 A1; 4/15/2010; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 21, Kinnunen teaches a computer program product for suggesting adjustments to a sleep regimen, the computer program product comprising non-transitory computer executable code embodied in a computer readable medium that, when executing on one or more computing devices, performs the steps of (Fig. 1-2; [0121]):
acquiring heart rate data for a user from a wearable physiological monitoring device ([0011]; [0120]).
Kinnunen does not teach determining a prior sleep history for the user based on the heart rate data. Note that Kinnunen does teach identifying a current sleep cycle from heart rate data ([0206]) and comparing to prior sleep history (Fig. 5; [0016]; [0097]-[0101]; [0146]-[0147]; [0214]-[0229]) with deep data analysis of the measured physiological data ([0121]). However, to avoid doubt, Luo teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) determining a prior sleep history for the user based on the heart rate data ([0063] “Physiological parameters can be captured by sensors…to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…Heart rate, which increases when the user enters REM sleep…may be detected by photoplethysmogram (PPG) or pulse oximetry…One or several of these sensors and parameters may be used independently or in combination, to detect different states and stages of sleep…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen to include this feature as taught by Luo because this enables better analysis of the physiological data ([0063]).
The combination of Kinnunen and Luo teaches identifying a circadian cycle for the user based on the prior sleep history (Kinnunen [0015]; [0167] “comparing shift of circadian rhythm over days…use heart rate data…to fill in the excluded times”; [0182]; [0214]; Luo [0063] “to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”);
identifying a current sleep cycle for the user based on the heart rate data (Kinnunen [0015]; [0167] “comparing shift of circadian rhythm over days…use heart rate data…to fill in the excluded times”; [0182]; [0214]; Luo [0063] “to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”);
identifying a sleep efficiency for the user based on a ratio of time asleep to a time in bed from the prior sleep history (Kinnunen [0167] “comparing shift of circadian rhythm over days”; [0138] “Sleep Efficiency”; Luo [0063] “history”);
calculating a sleep debt for the user based on the prior sleep history (Kinnunen [0146]; [0152]); and
generating a sleep recommendation for the user (Kinnunen Fig. 5; Luo Fig. 13; Fig. 21B), the sleep recommendation including:
an amount of sleep for the user, the amount of sleep adjusted based on the sleep debt (Kinnunen [0274]-[0275]; [0282] “sleep debt”; [0283]-[0286]; claim 1), and
a timing of sleep for the user, the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on the current sleep cycle, and the circadian cycle for the user (Kinnunen Fig. 5; [0182]-[0184]; [0214]-[0229]; Luo Fig. 13; Fig. 21B; [0102]).
The combination of Kinnunen and Luo does not teach the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on the sleep efficiency. Note that Kinnunen teaches measure of sleep efficiency which is total sleep divided by time spent in bed as part of measuring sleep score ([0138]) and sleep score is used to find optimum zone for bedtimes ([0274] “sleep scores could be correlated with determined bedtimes in order to find an optimum zone”). However, Kaplan teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1) the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on the sleep efficiency ([0016]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen and Luo to include this feature as taught by Kaplan because this enables treating sleep disorder by taking account the ratio of time in sleep to total time in bed ([0003]; [0016]).
Regarding claim 22, Kinnunen teaches a system comprising:
a wearable physiological monitor including one or more sensors ([0011]; [0120]), a first processor configured to substantially continuously acquire heart rate data for a user based on a signal from the one or more sensors (Fig. 1-2; [0121]), and a communications interface for coupling with a remote resource (Fig. 1-2; [0121]-[0122]; [0125]);
a server coupled in a communicating relationship with the wearable physiological monitor ([0125]), the server including a second processor ([0125]) configured by computer executable code to:
receive heart rate data form the wearable physiological monitor ([0123]-[0126]).
Kinnunen does not teach determine a prior sleep history for the user based on the heart rate data. Note that Kinnunen does teach identifying a current sleep cycle from heart rate data ([0206]) and comparing to prior sleep history (Fig. 5; [0016]; [0097]-[0101]; [0146]-[0147]; [0214]-[0229]) with deep data analysis of the measured physiological data ([0121]). However, to avoid doubt, Luo teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) determine a prior sleep history for the user based on the heart rate data([0063] “Physiological parameters can be captured by sensors…to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…Heart rate, which increases when the user enters REM sleep…may be detected by photoplethysmogram (PPG) or pulse oximetry…One or several of these sensors and parameters may be used independently or in combination, to detect different states and stages of sleep…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen to include this feature as taught by Luo because this enables better analysis of the physiological data ([0063]).
The combination of Kinnunen and Luo teaches identify a circadian cycle for the user based on the prior sleep history (Kinnunen [0015]; [0167] “comparing shift of circadian rhythm over days…use heart rate data…to fill in the excluded times”; [0182]; [0214]; Luo [0063] “to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”);
identify a current sleep cycle for the user based on the heart rate data ((Kinnunen [0015]; [0167] “comparing shift of circadian rhythm over days…use heart rate data…to fill in the excluded times”; [0182]; [0214]; Luo [0063] “to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”);
identify a sleep efficiency for the user based on a ratio of a time asleep to a time in bed from the prior sleep history (Kinnunen [0167] “comparing shift of circadian rhythm over days”; [0138] “Sleep Efficiency”; Luo [0063] “history”);
calculate a sleep debt for the user based on the prior sleep history (Kinnunen [0146]; [0152]); and
generate a sleep recommendation for the user (Kinnunen Fig. 5; Luo Fig. 13; Fig. 21B), the sleep recommendation including:
an amount of sleep for the user, the amount of sleep adjusted based on the sleep debt (Kinnunen [0274]-[0275]; [0282] “sleep debt”; [0283]-[0286]; claim 1), and
a timing of sleep for the user, the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on the current sleep cycle, and the circadian cycle for the user (Kinnunen Fig. 5; [0182]-[0184]; [0214]-[0229]; Luo Fig. 13; Fig. 21B; [0102]).
The combination of Kinnunen and Luo does not teach the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on the sleep efficiency. Note that Kinnunen teaches measure of sleep efficiency which is total sleep divided by time spent in bed as part of measuring sleep score ([0138]) and sleep score is used to find optimum zone for bedtimes ([0274] “sleep scores could be correlated with determined bedtimes in order to find an optimum zone”). However, Kaplan teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1) the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on the sleep efficiency ([0016]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen and Luo to include this feature as taught by Kaplan because this enables treating sleep disorder by taking account the ratio of time in sleep to total time in bed ([0003]; [0016]).
The combination of Kinnunen, Luo, and Kaplan teaches a user interface configured to present the sleep recommendation to the user (Kinnunen Fig. 5; [0182]-[0184]; [0214]-[0229]; Luo Fig. 13; Fig. 21B; [0102]; Kaplan Fig. 4; [0107]).
Regarding claim 23, in the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, and Kaplan, Luo teaches wherein the sleep recommendation is based in part on a phase within the circadian cycle for the user based on a machine learning model trained to detect the phase of the user based on a respiratory rate and resting heart rate ([0063] “Physiological parameters can be captured by sensors…to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…Respiration rate…may be detected by sensors…Heart rate, which increases when the user enters REM sleep…may be detected by photoplethysmogram (PPG) or pulse oximetry…One or several of these sensors and parameters may be used independently or in combination, to detect different states and stages of sleep…The system may store a history of heart rate data, breathing data…to establish a base line heart rate…breathing patterns…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”).
Claim(s) 24-26, 28, 30-35, 41-43, 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinnunen (US 20210007658 A1; 1/14/2021; cited in previous office action) in view of Luo (US 20200289321 A1; 9/17/2020; cited in previous office action), in view of Breslow (US 20160374567 A1; 12/29/2016; cited in IDS), and further in view of Kaplan (US 20100094103 A1; 4/15/2010; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 24, Kinnunen teaches a method comprising:
acquiring heart rate data for a user from a wearable physiological monitoring device ([0011]; [0120]).
Kinnunen does not teach determining a prior sleep history for the user based on the heart rate data. Note that Kinnunen does teach identifying a current sleep cycle from heart rate data ([0206]) and comparing to prior sleep history (Fig. 5; [0016]; [0097]-[0101]; [0146]-[0147]; [0214]-[0229]) with deep data analysis of the measured physiological data ([0121]). However, to avoid doubt, Luo teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) determining a prior sleep history for the user based on the heart rate data ([0063] “Physiological parameters can be captured by sensors…to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…Heart rate, which increases when the user enters REM sleep…may be detected by photoplethysmogram (PPG) or pulse oximetry…One or several of these sensors and parameters may be used independently or in combination, to detect different states and stages of sleep…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen to include this feature as taught by Luo because this enables better analysis of the physiological data ([0063]).
The combination of Kinnunen and Luo teaches identifying a circadian cycle for the user based on the prior sleep history (Kinnunen [0015]; [0167] “comparing shift of circadian rhythm over days…use heart rate data…to fill in the excluded times”; [0182]; [0214]; Luo [0063] “to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”);
identifying a current sleep cycle for the user based on the heart rate data (Kinnunen [0015]; [0167] “comparing shift of circadian rhythm over days…use heart rate data…to fill in the excluded times”; [0182]; [0214]; Luo [0063] “to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”).
The combination of Kinnunen and Luo does not teach determining a recent physiological strain experienced by the user based on the heart rate data. Note that the combination of Kunnunen and Luo does teach that stress and physical activity/provocation affect sleep (Kinnunen [0003]; [0124]; [0161]; Luo Fig. 4A; [0120]). However, Breslow teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; [0002]) determining a recent physiological strain experienced by the user based on the heart rate data (Fig. 10; Fig. 27; [0262] “a measure of strain or exercise intensity over some predetermined prior interval”; [0264] “The strain component, ƒ.sub.1(strain), may be assessed based on a previous day's physical intensity, and will typically increase the sleep need”; [0139]-[0140]; [0158] reference is teaching intensity score measures recent physiological strain and is measured from heart rate data). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen and Luo to include this feature as taught by Breslow because this enables more accurate assessment of sleep need by including physical strain or exercise ([0262]).
The combination of Kinnunen, Luo, and Breslow teaches calculating a sleep debt for the user based on the prior sleep history and the recent physiological strain (Kinnunen [0146]; [0152]; Breslow [0262]; [0264]); and
generating a sleep recommendation for the user (Kinnunen Fig. 5; Luo Fig. 13; Fig. 21B), the sleep recommendation including:
an amount of sleep for the user, the amount of sleep adjusted based on the sleep debt (Kinnunen [0274]-[0275]; [0282] “sleep debt”; [0283]-[0286]; claim 1), and the sleep recommendation including a timing of sleep for the user, the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on the current sleep cycle, and the circadian cycle for the user (Kinnunen Fig. 5; [0182]-[0184]; [0214]-[0229]; Luo Fig. 13; Fig. 21B; [0102]).
The combination of Kinnunen, Luo, and Breslow does not teach the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on a sleep efficiency for the user. Note that Kinnunen teaches measure of sleep efficiency which is total sleep divided by time spent in bed as part of measuring sleep score ([0138]) and sleep score is used to find optimum zone for bedtimes ([0274] “sleep scores could be correlated with determined bedtimes in order to find an optimum zone”), Breslow also teaches sleep efficiency as part of sleep score ([0163] “sleep efficiency”). However, Kaplan teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1) the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on a sleep efficiency ([0016]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen, Luo, and Breslow to include this feature as taught by Kaplan because this enables treating sleep disorder by taking account the ratio of time in sleep to total time in bed ([0003]; [0016]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan teaches wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes identifying the circadian cycle based on motion data from the wearable physiological monitoring device (Luo [0076] “one or more accelerometers and/or gyroscope, one or more motion-monitoring actigraphy… Optionally, the sensors and/or other electronics may be located on other places, for example, inside the mobile phone, under the mattress, or on the user's wrist or chest. The actigraphy sensor may monitor circadian phase and sleep patterns…. Optionally, the actigraphy may be worn on the wrist and/or-may be shaped similar to a watch.”).
Regarding claim 26, in the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan, Kinnunen teaches wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes identifying the circadian cycle based on a pattern of change in a heart rate variability for the user over a period of the circadian cycle ([0214]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan teaches wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes training a machine learning model to detect a phase within the circadian cycle based on one or more of a respiratory rate and a resting heart rate for the user (Luo ([0063] “Physiological parameters can be captured by sensors…to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…Respiration rate…may be detected by sensors…Heart rate, which increases when the user enters REM sleep…may be detected by photoplethysmogram (PPG) or pulse oximetry…One or several of these sensors and parameters may be used independently or in combination, to detect different states and stages of sleep…The system may store a history of heart rate data, breathing data…to establish a base line heart rate…breathing patterns…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”; base line heart rate reads on “resting heart rate”, alternatively, since heart rate is obtained throughout sleep, resting heart rate is inherently included in the heart rate data that is analyzed; [0132] “stable heart rate”).
Regarding claim 30, in the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan, Kinnunen teaches wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes identifying the circadian cycle based on duration a skin temperature measured for the user with the wearable physiological monitoring device ([0167] “he body temperature of the user is measured by the wearable device (for example a ring) and the time point when the lowest body temperature during the night time, or certain part of the night time, is measured is used as a marking and reference point for a circadian rhythm.”; [0169]).
Regarding claim 31, in the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan, Kinnunen teaches wherein the sleep cycle for the user includes information related to a duration of sleep for a prior sleep event ([0015]-[0016]; [0043]-[0044]; [0134]-[0139]; [0154]).
Regarding claim 32, in the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan, Kinnunen teaches wherein the heart rate data spans at least 24 hours for the user ([0041] “over a plurality of days”; [0153]; [0198] “collect data over many days”).
Regarding claim 33, in the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan, Kinnunen teaches wherein the heart rate data is captured substantially continuously by the wearable physiological monitoring device ([0198] “collect data over many days”).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan teaches further comprising presenting the sleep recommendation to the user in a user interface (Kinnunen Fig. 5; [0182]-[0184]; [0214]-[0229]; Luo Fig. 13; Fig. 21B; [0102]; Kaplan Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 35, in the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan, Kinnunen teaches further comprising transmitting the heart rate data to a server for remote processing ([0123]-[0126]) and transmitting the sleep recommendation from the server to a local device for viewing by the user ([0123]-[0127]; Fig. 1-2; Fig. 5; [0182]-[0184]; [0214]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 41, Kinnunen teaches a computer program product for suggesting adjustments to a sleep regimen, the computer program product comprising non-transitory computer executable code embodied in a computer readable medium that, when executing on one or more computing devices, performs the steps of (Fig. 1-2; [0121]):
acquiring heart rate data for a user from a wearable physiological monitoring device ([0011]; [0120]).
Kinnunen does not teach determining a prior sleep history for the user based on the heart rate data. Note that Kinnunen does teach identifying a current sleep cycle from heart rate data ([0206]) and comparing to prior sleep history (Fig. 5; [0016]; [0097]-[0101]; [0146]-[0147]; [0214]-[0229]) with deep data analysis of the measured physiological data ([0121]). However, to avoid doubt, Luo teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) determining a prior sleep history for the user based on the heart rate data ([0063] “Physiological parameters can be captured by sensors…to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…Heart rate, which increases when the user enters REM sleep…may be detected by photoplethysmogram (PPG) or pulse oximetry…One or several of these sensors and parameters may be used independently or in combination, to detect different states and stages of sleep…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen to include this feature as taught by Luo because this enables better analysis of the physiological data ([0063]).
The combination of Kinnunen and Luo teaches identifying a circadian cycle for the user (Kinnunen [0015]; [0167] “comparing shift of circadian rhythm over days…use heart rate data…to fill in the excluded times”; [0182]; [0214]; Luo [0063] “to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”);
identifying a current sleep cycle for the user based on the heart rate data (Kinnunen [0015]; [0167] “comparing shift of circadian rhythm over days…use heart rate data…to fill in the excluded times”; [0182]; [0214]; Luo [0063] “to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…The system may store a history of heart rate data…to establish a base line heart rate…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”).
The combination of Kinnunen and Luo does not teach determining a recent physiological strain experienced by the user based on the heart rate data. Note that the combination of Kunnunen and Luo does teach that stress and physical activity/provocation affect sleep (Kinnunen [0003]; [0124]; [0161]; Luo Fig. 4A; [0120]). However, Breslow teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; [0002]) determining a recent physiological strain experienced by the user based on the heart rate data (Fig. 10; Fig. 27; [0262] “a measure of strain or exercise intensity over some predetermined prior interval”; [0264] “The strain component, ƒ.sub.1(strain), may be assessed based on a previous day's physical intensity, and will typically increase the sleep need”; [0139]-[0140]; [0158] reference is teaching intensity score measures recent physiological strain and is measured from heart rate data). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen and Luo to include this feature as taught by Breslow because this enables more accurate assessment of sleep need by including physical strain or exercise ([0262]).
The combination of Kinnunen, Luo, and Breslow teaches calculating a sleep debt for the user based on the prior sleep history and the recent physiological strain (Kinnunen [0146]; [0152]; Breslow [0262]; [0264]); and
generating a sleep recommendation for the user (Kinnunen Fig. 5; Luo Fig. 13; Fig. 21B), the sleep recommendation including
an amount of sleep for the user, the amount of sleep adjusted based on the sleep debt (Kinnunen [0274]-[0275]; [0282] “sleep debt”; [0283]-[0286]; claim 1), and the sleep recommendation including a timing of sleep for the user, the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on one or more of the current sleep cycle, and the circadian cycle for the user (Kinnunen Fig. 5; [0182]-[0184]; [0214]-[0229]; Luo Fig. 13; Fig. 21B; [0102]).
The combination of Kinnunen, Luo, and Breslow does not teach the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on a sleep efficiency for the user. Note that Kinnunen teaches measure of sleep efficiency which is total sleep divided by time spent in bed as part of measuring sleep score ([0138]) and sleep score is used to find optimum zone for bedtimes ([0274] “sleep scores could be correlated with determined bedtimes in order to find an optimum zone”), Breslow also teaches sleep efficiency as part of sleep score ([0163] “sleep efficiency”). However, Kaplan teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1) the timing of sleep including a recommended time into bed based on a sleep efficiency ([0016]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen, Luo, and Breslow to include this feature as taught by Kaplan because this enables treating sleep disorder by taking account the ratio of time in sleep to total time in bed ([0003]; [0016]).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan teaches wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes identifying the circadian cycle based on the heart rate data (Kinnunen [0015]; [0167] “comparing shift of circadian rhythm over days…use heart rate data…to fill in the excluded times”; [0182]; [0214]).
Regarding claim 43, in the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan, Kinnunen teaches wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes identifying the circadian cycle based on a pattern of change in a heart rate variability for the user over a period of the circadian cycle ([0214]).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan teaches wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes training a machine learning model to detect a phase within the circadian cycle based on one or more of a respiratory rate and a resting heart rate for the user (Luo ([0063] “Physiological parameters can be captured by sensors…to detect where the body is in the sleep cycle and/or the circadian rhythm cycle…Respiration rate…may be detected by sensors…Heart rate, which increases when the user enters REM sleep…may be detected by photoplethysmogram (PPG) or pulse oximetry…One or several of these sensors and parameters may be used independently or in combination, to detect different states and stages of sleep…The system may store a history of heart rate data, breathing data…to establish a base line heart rate…breathing patterns…and learn from the data collected by the sensors through, for example, machine learning. By collecting these physiological parameters throughout sleep, the system may…determine which state of sleep the user is in”; base line heart rate reads on “resting heart rate”, alternatively, since heart rate is obtained throughout sleep, resting heart rate is inherently included in the heart rate data that is analyzed; [0132] “stable heart rate”).
Claim(s) 27, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan as applied to claims 24, 41 above, further in view of Verrier (US 5902250 A; 5/11/1999; cited in previous office action), and further in view of Pastore (US 20100049270 A1; 2/25/2010; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan does not teach wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes determining a respiratory rate for the user based on a heart rate variability for the user. However, Verrier teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 3-4A) wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes determining a respiratory rate for the user based on a heart rate variability for the user (Col. 4 lines 35-40). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan to include this feature as taught by Verrier because this enables monitoring with minimal equipment (Col. 3 lines 25-30).
The combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, Kaplan, and Verrier does not teach identifying the circadian cycle based on a pattern of change in the respiratory rate. However, Pastore teaches in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 3; [0031] “circadian”) identifying the circadian cycle based on a pattern of change in the respiratory rate ([0031] “detect such circadian patterns based upon…changes in heart rate or breathing patterns, and changes in autonomic balance as detected from heart rate variability”; claim 14). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, Kaplan, and Verrier to include this feature as taught by Pastore because this enables detecting circadian pattern from a variety of sources including respiratory rate ([0031]; claim 14).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan does not teach wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes determining a respiratory rate for the user based on a heart rate variability for the user. However, Verrier teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 3-4A) wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes determining a respiratory rate for the user based on a heart rate variability for the user (Col. 4 lines 35-40). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan to include this feature as taught by Verrier because this enables monitoring with minimal equipment (Col. 3 lines 25-30).
The combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, Kaplan, and Verrier does not teach identifying the circadian cycle based on a pattern of change in the respiratory rate. However, Pastore teaches in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 3; [0031] “circadian”) identifying the circadian cycle based on a pattern of change in the respiratory rate ([0031] “detect such circadian patterns based upon…changes in heart rate or breathing patterns, and changes in autonomic balance as detected from heart rate variability”; claim 14). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, Kaplan, and Verrier to include this feature as taught by Pastore because this enables detecting circadian pattern from a variety of sources including respiratory rate ([0031]; claim 14).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan as applied to claim(s) 24 above, further in view of Burton (US 20210169417 A1; Filed 10/22/2020; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 29, in the combination of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan, Kinnunen teaches wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes identifying the circadian cycle based on user input ([0175]; [0199]; [0208]; [0249]-[0251]; [0254]; [0261]; the reference is teaching that user input is used to calibrate or re-calibrate the system for physiological data analysis in which circadian cycle is obtained as explained above).
However, to avoid doubt and demonstrate prior art that is closer to the invention as disclosed, Burton teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) wherein identifying the circadian cycle includes identifying the circadian cycle based on user input ([0650] “questionnaires and/or subject/patient/user sleep journals (i.e. start sleep period time, lights off for sleep time, awakening sleep time) in order to determine an approximation of internal circadian cycle clock time”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kinnunen, Luo, Breslow, and Kaplan to include this feature as taught by Burton because this enables obtaining circadian cycle via user input in addition to other methods (Fig. 1A; [0650]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN T KUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792