DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 4 and 24 recite, “the coupler,” and, “the side walls of the opening groove,” claim should be amended to recite –a coupler-- and –side walls of the opening groove--.
Claim 19 line 8 recites, “protective covering,” claim should be amended to recite –protective cover covering--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Line 2 recites, “IEC Standard IEC 61754-20.” IEC 61754-20 appears to be an industry standard, which consequently is subject to change over a period of time. Therefore, the recitation of IEC 61754-20 in the claim makes the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caveney et al. [US 7,354,291] in view of Tobey et al. [US 2021/0104843].
Regarding claim 19, Caveney discloses a connector assembly comprising: a) a connector (fig. 1a) including: i) a pair of electrical contacts (fig. 2a; two 155); ii) an elastic locking piece (fig. 2a; 156) configured to engage with a surface (see Col 4 Ln 63-64, top internal surface) of a second connector (fig. 8; 168); and iii) an elastic unlocking piece (fig. 1a; 158) configured to engage with the elastic locking piece (156); b) a protective cover (fig. 1a; 110) having a hollow box shape (fig. 1a; 114) and having a through-hole (fig. 1a; 126), the protective (110) covering the elastic unlocking piece (158); and c) an unlocking rod (fig. 12; 178) having an elongated shape (180 is elongated) and being able to pass through the through-hole (126) of the protective cover (110) to deflect the elastic unlocking piece (158) to unlock the elastic locking piece (156) from the surface (top internal surface) of the second connector (168).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Caveney does not disclose a single pair Ethernet connector [claim 19], wherein the single pair Ethernet connector is a simplex LC connector compliant with IEC Standard IEC 61754-20 [claim 20].
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Tobey teaches a single pair LC connector (fig. 2a; 100, 18 is a single twisted conductor pair cable); the single pair Ethernet connector (LC connectors are used within ethernet networks) is a simplex LC connector (see Par [0048] Ln 3-5; also fig. 2a is an example of a simplex connector 100) compliant with IEC Standard IEC 61754-20 (see Par [0049] Ln 11-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a single pair Ethernet connector and the single pair Ethernet connector being a simplex LC connector compliant with IEC Standard IEC 61754-20 as suggested by Tobey for the benefit of providing optimized locking structures to an ethernet connector in order to significantly decrease unwanted disconnection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-18 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: regarding claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest the elastic unlocking piece extends forward in an angle from the top surface of the male connector and a free end of the elastic unlocking piece is located directly above a free end of the elastic locking piece; wherein the protective cover has an opening in the front end and includes a top wall, a bottom wall, and two side walls and a back wall connecting the top wall and the bottom wall, and wherein an opening groove opened toward the front opening and a pair of hooks located at the entrance of the opening groove are set on the bottom wall of the protective cover, the pair of hooks extend inward from the side walls of the opening groove combined with the remaining limitations of the base claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2831