DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of example 1 of Hirano having an adhesion strength of 196 N/cm2 and the most preferred propionate range of 30-40 wt% as disclosed by Wang does not fall within the claimed range of 7.5 ≤ F/X ≤ 25. Applicant further argues that the other examples as disclosed by Hirano in combination with the preferred propionate range of 30-40 wt% also fall outside of the claimed range, apart from example 7 having an adhesion strength of 225 N/cm2 yielding F/X=7.5. Thus, applicant submits that none of the examples provided by Hirano in combination with Wang teach the claimed ranges, including the specific surface area limitation as claimed.
However, the full disclosure of Hirano is not limited to the provided examples. Hirano discloses that the adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance is 98 N/cm2 or more, or 150 to 250 N/cm2 in which more can be achieved (see e.g., Hirano; [0056]). Hirano also discloses that the BET specific surface area of the graphite particles is 3-7 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0040]). Thus, when Hirano is modified by Wang which provides a propionate range most preferably in 30-40 wt%, the combination of the adhesion strength of 98 N/cm2 or more, or 150 to 250 N/cm2 results in an overlapping range; from the adhesion strength of 98 N/cm2 or more as disclosed by Hirano and Wang's most preferable range of 30-40 wt% of propionate, the ratio F/X may be in the range of greater than 3.26 or greater than 2.45, which overlaps with the claimed range of wherein 7.5≤F/X≤25. Furthermore, the provided 150 to 250 N/cm2 in which “more can be achieved” combined with the preferred range of 30-40 wt% of propionate results in a F/X range of 3.75 to 8.33, which also overlaps with the claimed range of 7.5-25. Therefore, from the complete disclosure of Hirano in combination with Wang, there is overlap with the claimed range of F/X. The disclosed 3-7 m2/g BET specific surface area of Hirano is applied in combination with the adhesion strength and propionate range as described above. That is, the BET specific surface area of Hirano is also not limited to only the examples, and the full range of 3-7 m2/g as disclosed by Hirano is applied to the combination of adhesion strength and propionate inclusion, which therefore meets all the limitations as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 16-19, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano (JP-2011204576-A) (see translation), and in further view of Wang (CN-109980225-A) (see US2020303767A1 for translation and reference).
Regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses an electrochemical apparatus (see e.g., Hirano; [0001]), comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte (see e.g., Hirano; [0061]); wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode mixture layer disposed on the negative electrode current collector (see e.g., Hirano; [0076], [0015], [0009], [0013] regarding negative electrode slurry on negative electrode plate or core material), and the negative electrode mixture layer comprises a negative electrode active substance (see e.g., Hirano; [0009] regarding graphite particles); adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance is 98 N/cm2 or more, or 150 to 250 N/cm2, and also provides examples of 196 N/cm2, 215 N/cm2, 176 N/cm2, 147 N/cm2, 225 N/cm2 (see e.g., Hirano; table 1, [0056], [0077], [0087], [0118], [0122], [0125], [0129] regarding graphite binding strength), which falls within the claimed range of F N/cm2, 100 ≤ F ≤ 500.
Hirano discloses that the BET specific surface area of the graphite particles is 3-7 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0040]), that the specific surface area may decrease after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0054]), and that in example 3 the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0091]), and in example 7 wherein the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.0 m2/g after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0129]), which overlaps with the claimed range of negative electrode mixture layer of A m2/g where 3 ≤ A ≤ 5. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had selected a negative electrode graphite material such that the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g or 3.0 m2/g as disclosed by Hirano in order to provide high peel strength, interparticle strength, excellent capacity retention, minimal swelling (see e.g., Hirano; [0111], [0132]).
Hirano does not explicitly disclose the electrolyte comprises propionate, wherein based on a weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the propionate is X%, 20 ≤ X ≤ 62.5 and 7.5 ≤ F/X ≤ 25. However, Wang discloses an electrolyte comprising propionate (see e.g., Wang; [0006], claim 1). Wang is further analogous art because Wang discloses the electrolyte in a secondary battery and also discloses similar lithium salts (see e.g., Wang; [0023]). Wang discloses that 10-65 wt% of the electrolyte may be propionate, and most preferably 30-40 wt% (see e.g., Wang; [0060]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 20-62.5 wt%. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano by providing propionate at 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]). From the adhesion strength of 98 N/cm2 or more as disclosed by Hirano and Wang's most preferable range of 30-40 wt% of propionate, the ratio F/X may be in the range of greater than 3.26 or greater than 2.45, which overlaps with the claimed range of wherein 7.5≤F/X≤25.
Regarding claim 2, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the negative electrode mixture layer comprises rubber such as styrene butadiene rubber (SBR) (see e.g., Hirano; [0009], [0031]), which overlaps with the claimed rubber comprising at least one of styrene-butadiene rubber, isoprene rubber, butadiene rubber, fluorine rubber, acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber, or styrene-propylene rubber.
Regarding claim 3, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 2. Hirano also discloses wherein in addition, acrylonitrile, acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, and butyl acrylate can be used (see e.g., Hirano; [0031]), which have acrylic functional groups and therefore overlaps with the claimed group of at least one of an acrylic functional group, a chlorotrifluoroethylene functional group, or a hexafluoropropylene functional group.
Regarding claim 4, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. Hirano does not explicitly disclose 5 ≤ X ≤ 65. However, Wang discloses that 10-65 wt% of the electrolyte may be propionate, and most preferably 30-40 wt% (see e.g., Wang; [0060]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 5-65. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano by providing propionate at 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. As above regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses an example wherein the specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g or 3.0 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0054], [0091]). As above regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance in the same example 1 or example 3 of 196 N/cm2 (Hirano; table 1). Therefore, the ratio F/A=196/3.0=65.3 or F/A=196/3.5=56, which both overlaps with the claimed range of 20 ≤ F/A ≤ 250. Therefore, modified Hirano also teaches the claimed range wherein 20 ≤ F/A ≤ 250.
Regarding claim 9, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. As above regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses an example wherein the specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g or 3.0 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0054], [0091]). As above regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance in the same example 1 and example 3 of 196 N/cm2 (Hirano; table 1). Therefore, the ratio F/A=196/3.0=65.3 or F/A=196/3.5=56, which both overlaps with the claimed range of 30 ≤ F/A ≤ 125. Therefore, modified Hirano also teaches the claimed range wherein 30 ≤ F/A ≤ 125.
Regarding claim 10, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. Hirano also discloses that the negative electrode active material may be graphite, and may have an average particle size of the graphite particles of 14 to 25 μm, or more preferably 16 to 23 μm (see e.g., Hirano; [0037]). Therefore, Hirano discloses at least characteristics (a) and (b) of the claimed:
wherein the negative electrode active substance has at least one of the following characteristics: (a) having a median particle size of 5 µm to 30 µm; (b) comprising at least one of artificial graphite, natural graphite, mesocarbon microbeads, soft carbon, hard carbon, amorphous carbon, a silicon-containing material, a tin-containing material, or an alloy material; or (c) comprising a metal, wherein the metal comprises at least one of molybdenum, iron, or copper; and based on a weight of the negative electrode mixture layer, a percentage of the metal is lower than 0.05%.
Regarding claim 16, Hirano discloses an electronic apparatus (see e.g., Hirano; [0132], regarding the battery being used in portable electronic devices), comprising an electrochemical apparatus (see e.g., Hirano; [0001]), comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte (see e.g., Hirano; [0061]); wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode mixture layer disposed on the negative electrode current collector (see e.g., Hirano; [0076], [0015], [0009], [0013] regarding negative electrode slurry on negative electrode plate or core material), and the negative electrode mixture layer comprises a negative electrode active substance (see e.g., Hirano; [0009] regarding graphite particles); adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance is 98 N/cm2 or more, or 150 to 250 N/cm2, and also provides examples of 196 N/cm2, 215 N/cm2, 176 N/cm2, 147 N/cm2, 225 N/cm2 (see e.g., Hirano; [0056], [0077], [0087], [0118], [0122], [0125], [0129] regarding graphite binding strength), which overlaps with the claimed range of F N/cm2, 100 ≤ F ≤ 500;
Hirano discloses that the BET specific surface area of the graphite particles is 3-7 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0040]), that the specific surface area may decrease after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0054]), and that in example 3 the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0091]), and in example 7 wherein the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.0 m2/g after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0129]), which overlaps with the claimed range of negative electrode mixture layer of A m2/g where 3 ≤ A ≤ 5. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had selected a negative electrode graphite material such that the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g or 3.0 m2/g as disclosed by Hirano in order to provide high peel strength, interparticle strength, excellent capacity retention, minimal swelling (see e.g., Hirano; [0111], [0132]).
Hirano does not explicitly disclose the electrolyte comprises propionate, wherein based on a weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the propionate is X%, 20 ≤ X ≤ 62.5 and 7.5 ≤ F/X ≤ 25. However, Wang discloses an electrolyte comprising propionate (see e.g., Wang; [0006], claim 1). Wang is further analogous art because Wang discloses the electrolyte in a secondary battery and also discloses similar lithium salts (see e.g., Wang; [0023]). Wang discloses that 10-65 wt% of the electrolyte may be propionate, and most preferably 30-40 wt% (see e.g., Wang; [0060]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 20-62.5 wt%. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano by providing propionate at 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]). From the adhesion strength of 98 N/cm2 or more as disclosed by Hirano and Wang's most preferable range of 30-40 wt% of propionate, the ratio F/X may be in the range of greater than 3.26 or greater than 2.45, which overlaps with the claimed range of wherein 7.5≤F/X≤25.
Regarding claim 17, modified Hirano teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the negative electrode mixture layer comprises rubber such as styrene butadiene rubber (SBR) (see e.g., Hirano; [0009], [0031]), which overlaps with the claimed rubber comprising at least one of styrene-butadiene rubber, isoprene rubber, butadiene rubber, fluorine rubber, acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber, or styrene-propylene rubber.
Regarding claim 18, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 16. As above regarding claim 16, Hirano discloses an example wherein the specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g or 3.0 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0054], [0091]). As above regarding claim 16, Hirano discloses adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance in the same example 1 or example 3 of 196 N/cm2 (Hirano; table 1). Therefore, the ratio F/A=196/3.0=65.3 or F/A=196/3.5=56, which both overlaps with the claimed range of 20 ≤ F/A ≤ 250. Therefore, modified Hirano also teaches the claimed range wherein 20 ≤ F/A ≤ 250.
Regarding claim 19, modified Hirano teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16. Hirano also discloses that the negative electrode active material may be graphite, and may have an average particle size of the graphite particles of 14 to 25 μm, or more preferably 16 to 23 μm (see e.g., Hirano; [0037]). Therefore, Hirano discloses at least characteristics (a) and (b) of the claimed:
wherein the negative electrode active substance has at least one of the following characteristics: (a) having a median particle size of 5 µm to 30 µm; (b) comprising at least one of artificial graphite, natural graphite, mesocarbon microbeads, soft carbon, hard carbon, amorphous carbon, a silicon-containing material, a tin-containing material, or an alloy material; or (c) comprising metal, wherein the metal comprises at least one of molybdenum, iron, or copper, and based on a weight of the negative electrode mixture layer, a percentage of the metal is lower than 0.05%.
Regarding claim 21, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. As above regarding claim 1, modified Hirano teaches that the negative electrode active substance comprises of the same materials, and has the same properties of adhesion strength and specific surface area as in the instant specification. Therefore, because the material and properties of the negative electrode active substance as disclosed by Hirano are the same as in the instant specification, it is the examiners position that the resulting material would have the same measurable properties, including wherein based on an X- ray diffraction pattern, an interlayer distance of a lattice plane (plane 002) of the negative electrode active substance ranges from 0.335 nm to 0.345 nm.
MPEP 2112 I. states ‘“[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable.’
Regarding claim 22, modified Hirano teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16. As above regarding claim 16, modified Hirano teaches that the negative electrode active substance comprises of the same materials, and has the same properties of adhesion strength and specific surface area as in the instant specification. Therefore, because the material and properties of the negative electrode active substance as disclosed by Hirano are the same as in the instant specification, it is the examiners position that the resulting material would have the same measurable properties, including wherein based on an X- ray diffraction pattern, an interlayer distance of a lattice plane (plane 002) of the negative electrode active substance ranges from 0.335 nm to 0.345 nm.
MPEP 2112 I. states ‘“[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable.’
Claim(s) 11-15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hirano (JP-2011204576-A) (see translation), Wang (CN-109980225-A) (see US2020303767A1 for translation and reference), and in further in view of Oh (US-20200127333-A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. Hirano discloses that various additives may be added to the electrolyte (see e.g., Hirano; [0067]). Hirano does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrolyte further comprises at least one of the following compounds: a) a fluorocarbonate; b) a compound having a cyano group; c) lithium difluorophosphate; or d) a compound of formula 1:
formula 1, wherein R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, and R6 are each independently hydrogen or a C1–C10 alkyl group; L1 and L2 are each independently -(CR7R8)n-; R7 and R8 are each independently hydrogen or a C1–C10 alkyl group; and n is 1, 2, or 3.
However, Oh discloses a secondary battery electrolyte with a cyclic phosphate compound having a chemical structure corresponding to the claimed compound of formula 1 (see e.g., Oh; claims 1, 4, [0021], [0027]-[0035], regarding cyclic phosphate compounds). Oh is analogous art because Oh similarly discloses the electrolyte having a lithium salt and a nonaqueous solvent (see e.g., Oh; abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the cyclic phosphate compound disclosed by Oh in the electrolyte taught by Hirano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this addition in order to improve initial capacity, cycle characteristics, preserve characteristics at a high temperature, characteristics at a low temperature, self-discharge characteristics, overcharge characteristics, and the like (see e.g., Oh; [0008]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Hirano teaches electrochemical apparatus according to claim 11. As above regarding claim 11, modified Hirano teaches the compound of formula 1 comprising at least one of the claimed compound structures of formula 1-1 to 1-6.
Regarding claim 13, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the electrolyte comprises the compound of formula 1. Hirano does not explicitly disclose based on the weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the compound of formula 1 is in a range from 0.01% to 5%.
However, Oh discloses that the cyclic phosphate compound may be included at 0.1 to 5.0 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte (see e.g., Oh; [0035], claim 5), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01% to 5%. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte of Hirano to include 0.1% to 5.0 wt% of the cyclic phosphate compound disclosed by Oh in order to improve stability at high temperature and capacity retention ratio and preventing deterioration of the battery characteristics due to rapid life deterioration occurrence (see e.g., Oh; [0068]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 11. Hirano does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrolyte comprises the compound having a cyano group; and based on the weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the compound having a cyano group is b%, and 0.01 ≤ b ≤ 10.
However, Wang discloses that the electrolyte may comprise of additive having cyano group (see e.g., Wang; [0075]), wherein the content of the additive is 0.01% to 15% based on a total weight of the electrolyte and most preferably 1% to 5% (see e.g., Wang; [0076]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01 to 10. Wang also discloses examples S78, S88, and S96 which have TCEP included in the electrolyte in weight percents of 2% and example S86 which has EDN included in the electrolyte in a weight percent of 1% (see e.g., Wang; table 4, regarding TCEP and EDN second additives, see also abbreviations table wherein TCEP and EDN have cyano groups). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano to have an additive containing a cyano group in a range of 1% to 5% as disclosed by Wang in order to provide excellent cycle, storage, and low-temperature performance (see e.g., Wang; [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 12. Hirano discloses wherein a specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 2.6 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0075], regarding example 1).
Hirano does not explicitly disclose wherein based on the weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the propionate is X%, 5 ≤ X ≤ 65, and wherein the electrolyte comprises the compound having a cyano group; and based on the weight of the weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the compound having a cyano group is b%, and 0.5≤X/b≤200.
Wang discloses that 10-65 wt% of the electrolyte may be propionate, and most preferably 30-40 wt% (see e.g., Wang; [0060]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 5-65. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano by providing propionate at 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]).
Wang discloses that the electrolyte may comprise of additive having cyano group (see e.g., Wang; [0075]), wherein the content of the additive is 0.01% to 15% based on a total weight of the electrolyte and most preferably 1% to 5% (see e.g., Wang; [0076]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01 to 10. Wang also discloses examples S78, S88, and S96 which have TCEP included in the electrolyte in weight percents of 2% and example S86 which has EDN included in the electrolyte in a weight percent of 1% (see e.g., Wang; table 4, regarding TCEP and EDN second additives, see also abbreviations table wherein TCEP and EDN have cyano groups). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano to have an additive containing a cyano group in a range of 1% to 5% as disclosed by Wang in order to provide excellent cycle, storage, and low-temperature performance (see e.g., Wang; [0004]).
Taking the most preferable range of 30-40 wt% of propionate as disclosed by Wang and the most preferable range of 1% to 5% of the cyano group as disclosed by Wang provides a ratio X/b of propionate X to cyano group additive b of 6 to 40, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5 to 200.
Furthermore, as shown by Wang in S78, S88, and S96 which have TCEP included in the electrolyte in weight percents of 2% and example S86 which has EDN included in the electrolyte in a weight percent of 1%, and that have PP and EP included in an amount of 30 wt% to 50 wt% (see e.g., Wang; table 4, regarding TCEP and EDN second additives, see also abbreviations table wherein TCEP and EDN have cyano groups), the ratio of propionate X to cyano group b additive also falls within the claimed range of 0.5 to 200. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano to have propionate to cyano group within a range of 0.5 to 200 in order to provide excellent cycle, storage, and low-temperature performance (see e.g., Wang; [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Hirano teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16. Hirano discloses that various additives may be added to the electrolyte (see e.g., Hirano; [0067]). Hirano does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrolyte further comprises at least one of the following compounds: a) a fluorocarbonate; b) a compound having a cyano group; c) lithium difluorophosphate; or d) a compound of formula 1:
formula 1, wherein R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, and R6 are each independently hydrogen or a C1–C10 alkyl group; L1 and L2 are each independently -(CR7R8)n-; R7 and R8 are each independently hydrogen or a C1–C10 alkyl group; and n is 1, 2, or 3.
However, Oh discloses a secondary battery electrolyte with a cyclic phosphate compound having a chemical structure corresponding to the claimed compound of formula 1 (see e.g., Oh; claims 1, 4, [0021], [0027]-[0035], regarding cyclic phosphate compounds). Oh is analogous art because Oh similarly discloses the electrolyte having a lithium salt and a nonaqueous solvent (see e.g., Oh; abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the cyclic phosphate compound disclosed by Oh in the electrolyte taught by Hirano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this addition in order to improve initial capacity, cycle characteristics, preserve characteristics at a high temperature, characteristics at a low temperature, self-discharge characteristics, overcharge characteristics, and the like (see e.g., Oh; [0008]).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano (JP-2011204576-A) (see translation) and Wang (CN-109980225-A) (see US2020303767A1 for translation and reference), and in further view of Satow (US-20120064415-A1).
Regarding claim 23, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. Hirano does not explicitly disclose wherein a density of the negative electrode active substance in the negative electrode mixture layer is 1.3 g/cm3 to 1.9 g/cm3. However, Satow discloses a negative electrode active substance in the mixture layer is 1.5 to 1.9 g/cm3 (see e.g., Satow; [0072]), and further provides an example having a density of 1.6 g/cm3 (see e.g., Satow; [0100]). Satow is further analogous art because Satow discloses overlapping bonding strength (see e.g., Satow; abstract, [0071]) and specific surface area (see e.g., Satow; [0069]) properties of the material. Satow discloses that the high density correlates with the bonding strength of the material (see e.g., Satow; [0072]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the negative electrode active substance disclosed by Hirano to have a density of 1.5-1.9 g/cm3 as disclosed by Satow in order to provide high capacity and good lithium ion acceptance and good coulombic efficient (see e.g., Satow; [0072]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN SONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728