DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended cancelled claim 5 into independent claim 1 to claim “wherein based on a weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the propionate is X%, 1.6 ≤ F/X ≤ 100.”
As in the previous office action, Hirano is combined with Wang to teach this limitation:
Wang discloses an electrolyte comprising propionate (see e.g., Wang; [0006], claim 1). Wang is further analogous art because Wang discloses the electrolyte in a secondary battery and also discloses similar lithium salts (see e.g., Wang; [0023]). Wang discloses that 10-65 wt% of the electrolyte may be propionate, and most preferably 30-40 wt% (see e.g., Wang; [0060]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 5-65. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano by providing propionate at 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]). Taking, for example, Hirano's example 1 or example 3 adhesion strength of 196 N/cm² (see e.g., Hirano; table 1) and Wang's most preferable range of 30-40 wt% of propionate, the ratio F/X may be in the range of 4.9 to 6.53, which overlaps with the claimed range of wherein 1.6≤F/X≤100. Other values of the examples may be similarly taken and calculated to produce a ratio F/X within the claimed range of 1.6 to 100.
Applicant has cancelled claim 7, and claim 1 now claims “wherein a specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is A m2/g, and 3 ≤ A ≤ 5.” Applicant argues that Hirano fails to teach this amended feature, citing example 1 of Hirano which discloses a specific surface area of 2.6 m2/g. However, the full disclosure of Hirano, including other examples, do teach the claimed specific surface area range: Hirano discloses that the BET specific surface area of the graphite particles is 3-7 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0040]), that the specific surface area may decrease after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0054]), and that in example 3 the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0091]), and in example 7 wherein the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.0 m2/g after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0129]), which overlaps with the claimed range of negative electrode mixture layer of A m2/g where 3 ≤ A ≤ 5. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had selected a negative electrode graphite material such that the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g or 3.0 m2/g as disclosed by Hirano in order to provide high peel strength, interparticle strength, excellent capacity retention, minimal swelling (see e.g., Hirano; [0111], [0132]).
Applicant submits that the prior art does not recognize cooperative mechanism of the claimed F/X relationship as described in the instant specifications. However, the combination of Hirano with Wang of providing propionate at 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte is motivated by specific benefits to the secondary battery: in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]). Although Hirano combined with Wang does not list out the F/X ratio as claimed, the combination still teaches and exhibits the ratio as claimed. Therefore, there is proper motivation for the combination of the propionate range of Wang to Hirano.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano (JP-2011204576-A) (see translation), and in further view of Wang (CN-109980225-A) (see US2020303767A1 for translation and reference).
Regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses an electrochemical apparatus (see e.g., Hirano; [0001]), comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte (see e.g., Hirano; [0061]); wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode mixture layer disposed on the negative electrode current collector (see e.g., Hirano; [0076], [0015], [0009], [0013] regarding negative electrode slurry on negative electrode plate or core material), and the negative electrode mixture layer comprises a negative electrode active substance (see e.g., Hirano; [0009] regarding graphite particles); adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance is 98 N/cm2 or more, or 150 to 250 N/cm2, and also provides examples of 196 N/cm2, 215 N/cm2, 176 N/cm2, 147 N/cm2, 225 N/cm2 (see e.g., Hirano; table 1, [0056], [0077], [0087], [0118], [0122], [0125], [0129] regarding graphite binding strength), which falls within the claimed range of F N/cm2, 100 ≤ F ≤ 500.
Hirano discloses that the BET specific surface area of the graphite particles is 3-7 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0040]), that the specific surface area may decrease after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0054]), and that in example 3 the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0091]), and in example 7 wherein the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.0 m2/g after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0129]), which overlaps with the claimed range of negative electrode mixture layer of A m2/g where 3 ≤ A ≤ 5. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had selected a negative electrode graphite material such that the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g or 3.0 m2/g as disclosed by Hirano in order to provide high peel strength, interparticle strength, excellent capacity retention, minimal swelling (see e.g., Hirano; [0111], [0132]).
Hirano does not explicitly disclose the electrolyte comprises propionate, wherein based on a weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the propionate is X%, 1.6 ≤ F/X ≤ 100. However, Wang discloses an electrolyte comprising propionate (see e.g., Wang; [0006], claim 1). Wang is further analogous art because Wang discloses the electrolyte in a secondary battery and also discloses similar lithium salts (see e.g., Wang; [0023]). Wang discloses that 10-65 wt% of the electrolyte may be propionate, and most preferably 30-40 wt% (see e.g., Wang; [0060]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 5-65. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano by providing propionate at 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]). Taking, for example, Hirano's example 1 or example 3 adhesion strength of 196 N/cm² (see e.g., Hirano; table 1) and Wang's most preferable range of 30-40 wt% of propionate, the ratio F/X may be in the range of 4.9 to 6.53, which overlaps with the claimed range of wherein 1.6≤F/X≤100. Other values of the examples may be similarly taken and calculated to produce a ratio F/X within the claimed range of 1.6 to 100.
Regarding claim 2, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the negative electrode mixture layer comprises rubber such as styrene butadiene rubber (SBR) (see e.g., Hirano; [0009], [0031]), which overlaps with the claimed rubber comprising at least one of styrene-butadiene rubber, isoprene rubber, butadiene rubber, fluorine rubber, acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber, or styrene-propylene rubber.
Regarding claim 3, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 2. Hirano also discloses wherein in addition, acrylonitrile, acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, and butyl acrylate can be used (see e.g., Hirano; [0031]), which have acrylic functional groups and therefore overlaps with the claimed group of at least one of an acrylic functional group, a chlorotrifluoroethylene functional group, or a hexafluoropropylene functional group.
Regarding claim 4, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. Hirano does not explicitly disclose 5 ≤ X ≤ 65. However, Wang discloses that 10-65 wt% of the electrolyte may be propionate, and most preferably 30-40 wt% (see e.g., Wang; [0060]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 5-65. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano by providing propionate at 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. Hirano does not explicitly disclose 20 ≤ X ≤ 62.5. and 7.5≤F/X≤25. Wang discloses propionate included in an amount of about 10-65 wt% based on the total of the electrolyte, and most preferably 30-40 wt% (see e.g., Wang; [0060]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 20 ≤ X ≤ 62.5. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano by providing propionate at 10-65 wt% or 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]). As above regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance is 98 N/cm2 or more, or 150 to 250 N/cm2, and also provides examples of 196 N/cm2, 215 N/cm2, 176 N/cm2, 147 N/cm2, 225 N/cm2 (see e.g., Hirano; [0056], [0077], [0087], [0118], [0122], [0125], [0129] regarding graphite binding strength). Taking, for example, Hirano’s example 1 adhesion strength of 196 N/cm2 and Wang’s most range of 10-65 wt% of propionate, the ratio F/X may be in the range of 3.015 to 19.6, which overlaps with the claimed range of 7.5≤F/X≤25. Other values of the examples may be similarly taken and calculated to produce a ratio F/X within the claimed range. Therefore, Hirano modified with Wang teaches an overlapping range of propionate with the claimed range of 20 ≤ X ≤ 62.5, and an overlapping range with the claimed range of 7.5≤F/X≤25.
Regarding claim 8, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. As above regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses an example wherein the specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g or 3.0 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0054], [0091]). As above regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance in the same example 1 or example 3 of 196 N/cm2 (Hirano; table 1). Therefore, the ratio F/A=196/3.0=65.3 or F/A=196/3.5=56, which both overlaps with the claimed range of 20 ≤ F/A ≤ 250. Therefore, modified Hirano also teaches the claimed range wherein 20 ≤ F/A ≤ 250.
Regarding claim 9, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. As above regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses an example wherein the specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g or 3.0 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0054], [0091]). As above regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance in the same example 1 and example 3 of 196 N/cm2 (Hirano; table 1). Therefore, the ratio F/A=196/3.0=65.3 or F/A=196/3.5=56, which both overlaps with the claimed range of 30 ≤ F/A ≤ 125. Therefore, modified Hirano also teaches the claimed range wherein 30 ≤ F/A ≤ 125.
Regarding claim 10, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. Hirano also discloses that the negative electrode active material may be graphite, and may have an average particle size of the graphite particles of 14 to 25 μm, or more preferably 16 to 23 μm (see e.g., Hirano; [0037]). Therefore, Hirano discloses at least characteristics (a) and (b) of the claimed:
wherein the negative electrode active substance has at least one of the following characteristics: (a) having a median particle size of 5 µm to 30 µm; (b) comprising at least one of artificial graphite, natural graphite, mesocarbon microbeads, soft carbon, hard carbon, amorphous carbon, a silicon-containing material, a tin-containing material, or an alloy material; or (c) comprising a metal, wherein the metal comprises at least one of molybdenum, iron, or copper; and based on a weight of the negative electrode mixture layer, a percentage of the metal is lower than 0.05%.
Regarding claim 16, Hirano discloses an electronic apparatus (see e.g., Hirano; [0132], regarding the battery being used in portable electronic devices), comprising an electrochemical apparatus (see e.g., Hirano; [0001]), comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte (see e.g., Hirano; [0061]); wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode mixture layer disposed on the negative electrode current collector (see e.g., Hirano; [0076], [0015], [0009], [0013] regarding negative electrode slurry on negative electrode plate or core material), and the negative electrode mixture layer comprises a negative electrode active substance (see e.g., Hirano; [0009] regarding graphite particles); adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance is 98 N/cm2 or more, or 150 to 250 N/cm2, and also provides examples of 196 N/cm2, 215 N/cm2, 176 N/cm2, 147 N/cm2, 225 N/cm2 (see e.g., Hirano; [0056], [0077], [0087], [0118], [0122], [0125], [0129] regarding graphite binding strength), which overlaps with the claimed range of F N/cm2, 100 ≤ F ≤ 500;
Hirano discloses that the BET specific surface area of the graphite particles is 3-7 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0040]), that the specific surface area may decrease after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0054]), and that in example 3 the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0091]), and in example 7 wherein the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.0 m2/g after drying (see e.g., Hirano; [0129]), which overlaps with the claimed range of negative electrode mixture layer of A m2/g where 3 ≤ A ≤ 5. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had selected a negative electrode graphite material such that the BET specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g or 3.0 m2/g as disclosed by Hirano in order to provide high peel strength, interparticle strength, excellent capacity retention, minimal swelling (see e.g., Hirano; [0111], [0132]).
Hirano does not explicitly disclose the electrolyte comprises propionate, wherein based on a weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the propionate is X%, 1.6 ≤ F/X ≤ 100. However, Wang discloses an electrolyte comprising propionate (see e.g., Wang; [0006], claim 1). Wang is further analogous art because Wang discloses the electrolyte in a secondary battery and also discloses similar lithium salts (see e.g., Wang; [0023]). Wang discloses that 10-65 wt% of the electrolyte may be propionate, and most preferably 30-40 wt% (see e.g., Wang; [0060]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 5-65. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano by providing propionate at 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]). Taking, for example, Hirano's example 1 adhesion strength of 196 N/cm² and Wang's most preferable range of 30-40 wt% of propionate, the ratio F/X may be in the range of 4.9 to 6.53, which overlaps with the claimed range of wherein 1.6≤F/X≤100. Other values of the examples may be similarly taken and calculated to produce a ratio F/X within the claimed range of 1.6 to 100.
Regarding claim 17, modified Hirano teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the negative electrode mixture layer comprises rubber such as styrene butadiene rubber (SBR) (see e.g., Hirano; [0009], [0031]), which overlaps with the claimed rubber comprising at least one of styrene-butadiene rubber, isoprene rubber, butadiene rubber, fluorine rubber, acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber, or styrene-propylene rubber.
Regarding claim 18, modified Hirano teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16. Hirano discloses an example wherein the specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 3.5 m2/g or 3.0 (see e.g., Hirano; [0054], [0091]). As above regarding claim 16, Hirano discloses adhesion strength of the negative electrode active substance in the same example 1 of 196 N/cm2 (Hirano; [0077]). Therefore, the ratio F/A=196/3.0=65.3 and F/A=196/56, which overlaps with the claimed range of 20 ≤ F/A ≤ 250. Therefore, modified Hirano also teaches the claimed range wherein 20 ≤ F/A ≤ 250.
Hirano does not explicitly disclose a percentage of the propionate is X%, 5 ≤ X ≤ 65. However, Wang discloses that 10-65 wt% of the electrolyte may be propionate, and most preferably 30-40 wt% (see e.g., Wang; [0060]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 5-65. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano by providing propionate at 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Hirano teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16. Hirano also discloses that the negative electrode active material may be graphite, and may have an average particle size of the graphite particles of 14 to 25 μm, or more preferably 16 to 23 μm (see e.g., Hirano; [0037]). Therefore, Hirano discloses at least characteristics (a) and (b) of the claimed:
wherein the negative electrode active substance has at least one of the following characteristics: (a) having a median particle size of 5 µm to 30 µm; (b) comprising at least one of artificial graphite, natural graphite, mesocarbon microbeads, soft carbon, hard carbon, amorphous carbon, a silicon-containing material, a tin-containing material, or an alloy material; or (c) comprising metal, wherein the metal comprises at least one of molybdenum, iron, or copper, and based on a weight of the negative electrode mixture layer, a percentage of the metal is lower than 0.05%.
Claim(s) 11-15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hirano (JP-2011204576-A) (see translation), Wang (CN-109980225-A) (see US2020303767A1 for translation and reference), and in further in view of Oh (US-20200127333-A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1. Hirano discloses that various additives may be added to the electrolyte (see e.g., Hirano; [0067]). Hirano does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrolyte further comprises at least one of the following compounds: a) a fluorocarbonate; b) a compound having a cyano group; c) lithium difluorophosphate; or d) a compound of formula 1:
formula 1, wherein R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, and R6 are each independently hydrogen or a C1–C10 alkyl group; L1 and L2 are each independently -(CR7R8)n-; R7 and R8 are each independently hydrogen or a C1–C10 alkyl group; and n is 1, 2, or 3.
However, Oh discloses a secondary battery electrolyte with a cyclic phosphate compound having a chemical structure corresponding to the claimed compound of formula 1 (see e.g., Oh; claims 1, 4, [0021], [0027]-[0035], regarding cyclic phosphate compounds). Oh is analogous art because Oh similarly discloses the electrolyte having a lithium salt and a nonaqueous solvent (see e.g., Oh; abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the cyclic phosphate compound disclosed by Oh in the electrolyte taught by Hirano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this addition in order to improve initial capacity, cycle characteristics, preserve characteristics at a high temperature, characteristics at a low temperature, self-discharge characteristics, overcharge characteristics, and the like (see e.g., Oh; [0008]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Hirano teaches electrochemical apparatus according to claim 11. As above regarding claim 11, modified Hirano teaches the compound of formula 1 comprising at least one of the claimed compound structures of formula 1-1 to 1-6.
Regarding claim 13, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the electrolyte comprises the compound of formula 1. Hirano does not explicitly disclose based on the weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the compound of formula 1 is in a range from 0.01% to 5%.
However, Oh discloses that the cyclic phosphate compound may be included at 0.1 to 5.0 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte (see e.g., Oh; [0035], claim 5), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01% to 5%. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte of Hirano to include 0.1% to 5.0 wt% of the cyclic phosphate compound disclosed by Oh in order to improve stability at high temperature and capacity retention ratio and preventing deterioration of the battery characteristics due to rapid life deterioration occurrence (see e.g., Oh; [0068]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 11. Hirano does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrolyte comprises the compound having a cyano group; and based on the weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the compound having a cyano group is b%, and 0.01 ≤ b ≤ 10.
However, Wang discloses that the electrolyte may comprise of additive having cyano group (see e.g., Wang; [0075]), wherein the content of the additive is 0.01% to 15% based on a total weight of the electrolyte and most preferably 1% to 5% (see e.g., Wang; [0076]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01 to 10. Wang also discloses examples S78, S88, and S96 which have TCEP included in the electrolyte in weight percents of 2% and example S86 which has EDN included in the electrolyte in a weight percent of 1% (see e.g., Wang; table 4, regarding TCEP and EDN second additives, see also abbreviations table wherein TCEP and EDN have cyano groups). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano to have an additive containing a cyano group in a range of 1% to 5% as disclosed by Wang in order to provide excellent cycle, storage, and low-temperature performance (see e.g., Wang; [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Hirano teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 12. Hirano discloses wherein a specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is 2.6 m2/g (see e.g., Hirano; [0075], regarding example 1).
Hirano does not explicitly disclose wherein based on the weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the propionate is X%, 5 ≤ X ≤ 65, and wherein the electrolyte comprises the compound having a cyano group; and based on the weight of the weight of the electrolyte, a percentage of the compound having a cyano group is b%, and 0.5≤X/b≤200.
Wang discloses that 10-65 wt% of the electrolyte may be propionate, and most preferably 30-40 wt% (see e.g., Wang; [0060]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 5-65. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano by providing propionate at 30-40 wt% of the electrolyte in order to achieve a more excellent effect of improving chemical stability, inhibiting gas production after high-temperature charging to thereby reduce thickness expansion of the electrochemical device (see e.g., Wang; [0054], [0060]).
Wang discloses that the electrolyte may comprise of additive having cyano group (see e.g., Wang; [0075]), wherein the content of the additive is 0.01% to 15% based on a total weight of the electrolyte and most preferably 1% to 5% (see e.g., Wang; [0076]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01 to 10. Wang also discloses examples S78, S88, and S96 which have TCEP included in the electrolyte in weight percents of 2% and example S86 which has EDN included in the electrolyte in a weight percent of 1% (see e.g., Wang; table 4, regarding TCEP and EDN second additives, see also abbreviations table wherein TCEP and EDN have cyano groups). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano to have an additive containing a cyano group in a range of 1% to 5% as disclosed by Wang in order to provide excellent cycle, storage, and low-temperature performance (see e.g., Wang; [0004]).
Taking the most preferable range of 30-40 wt% of propionate as disclosed by Wang and the most preferable range of 1% to 5% of the cyano group as disclosed by Wang provides a ratio X/b of propionate X to cyano group additive b of 6 to 40, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5 to 200.
Furthermore, as shown by Wang in S78, S88, and S96 which have TCEP included in the electrolyte in weight percents of 2% and example S86 which has EDN included in the electrolyte in a weight percent of 1%, and that have PP and EP included in an amount of 30 wt% to 50 wt% (see e.g., Wang; table 4, regarding TCEP and EDN second additives, see also abbreviations table wherein TCEP and EDN have cyano groups), the ratio of propionate X to cyano group b additive also falls within the claimed range of 0.5 to 200. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Hirano to have propionate to cyano group within a range of 0.5 to 200 in order to provide excellent cycle, storage, and low-temperature performance (see e.g., Wang; [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Hirano teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16. Hirano discloses that various additives may be added to the electrolyte (see e.g., Hirano; [0067]). Hirano does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrolyte further comprises at least one of the following compounds: a) a fluorocarbonate; b) a compound having a cyano group; c) lithium difluorophosphate; or d) a compound of formula 1:
formula 1, wherein R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, and R6 are each independently hydrogen or a C1–C10 alkyl group; L1 and L2 are each independently -(CR7R8)n-; R7 and R8 are each independently hydrogen or a C1–C10 alkyl group; and n is 1, 2, or 3.
However, Oh discloses a secondary battery electrolyte with a cyclic phosphate compound having a chemical structure corresponding to the claimed compound of formula 1 (see e.g., Oh; claims 1, 4, [0021], [0027]-[0035], regarding cyclic phosphate compounds). Oh is analogous art because Oh similarly discloses the electrolyte having a lithium salt and a nonaqueous solvent (see e.g., Oh; abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the cyclic phosphate compound disclosed by Oh in the electrolyte taught by Hirano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this addition in order to improve initial capacity, cycle characteristics, preserve characteristics at a high temperature, characteristics at a low temperature, self-discharge characteristics, overcharge characteristics, and the like (see e.g., Oh; [0008]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728