DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 06/05/2026 are entered. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the currently amended claims. The current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the claim feature of “wherein the variable granularity is selected from a granularity group whose elements are determined by multiplying timing advance (TA) values corresponding to a single predefined subcarrier spacing (SCS) by respective factors, wherein the respective factors include 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, or 1/16”, the Applicant contends that different SCS is used in the cited reference, Choi (US 11,832,203 B2).
In the previous Office Action, the rejection relies on a paragraph that includes the following TABLE.
As shown in the table and its corresponding text description in column 8 of Choi, a baseline 15 kHz SCS is used in its TA granularity calculation, as reflected in the Numerology column of TABLE 1, which results in the granularity of 1024Ts. As numerology μ increases, the resulting granularity becomes 512Ts, 216Ts, 128Ts, 64 Ts…etc., which is equivalent to 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, and 1/16 of the initial 1024Ts. Therefore, the 15 kHz is the single predefined baseline SCS used in this TA granularity calculation and may be multiplied by the factor of 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, and 1/16 to yield the resulting TA granularity as shown in TABLE 1 of Choi. The previously presented grounds of rejections are maintained with regards to the “variable granularity” herein.
New grounds of rejections are applied to the currently amended claim in order to account for the new claimed feature of “determining, by the network node, that a value of a burst spread associated with the wireless channel has changed”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2023/0300766) in view of Awad (US 2023/0232355), Choi (US 11,832,203) and Tooher (US 2023/0189055)
Lin discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a method of wireless communication, comprising: receiving, by the network node from the wireless device, a request for reference time information, wherein the request is included in a UE Assistance Information message (see step 3 in Fig. 6, wherein the UE sends a Timing Advance Request to the gNB, wherein the Timing Advance Request is considered as a UE Assistance Information message that requests the timing advance assisting the UE for delay compensation to be performed in step 5 of Fig. 6); and in response to receiving the request, transmitting, by the network node to the wireless device, a value based on the propagation delay and an indication whether to perform a propagation delay compensation operation (see “Step 4: After receiving timing advance request message, the gNB transmits Timing Advance Command MAC CE to the UE to update timing advance for the UE. The Timing Advance Command MAC CE may include at least one of timing advance (or enhanced timing advance) and propagation delay compensation indication. It is noted that only one of RRC-based PropagationDelayCompensationDedicated-r16 and MAC-based propagation delay compensation indication may be used for informing the UE whether to perform PDC” recited in paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the value is a timing advance value, and wherein the timing advance value enables the wireless device to perform propagation delay compensation operation based on the timing advance value (see steps 4-5 in Fig. 6, wherein the UE obtains the timing advance and performs propagation delay compensation accordingly).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the indication whether to perform the propagation delay compensation operation is transmitted through a downlink information transfer message (see paragraph [0068] and step 4 of Fig. 6, wherein the UE receives the propagation delay compensation indication in a downlink MAC CE).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the value based on the propagation delay is included in a MAC CE (see paragraph [0068] and step 4 of Fig. 6, wherein the UE receives the timing advance value in a downlink MAC CE).
Regarding claim 6, a method of wireless communication, comprising: transmitting, by a wireless device to a network node, a request for reference time information, wherein the request is included in a UE Assistance Information message (see step 3 in Fig. 6, wherein the UE sends a Timing Advance Request to the gNB, wherein the Timing Advance Request is considered as a UE Assistance Information message that requests the timing advance assisting the UE for delay compensation to be performed in step 5 of Fig. 6); in response to transmitting the request, receiving, by the wireless device from the network node, a value based on a propagation delay of a wireless channel between the network node and the wireless device (see “Step 4: After receiving timing advance request message, the gNB transmits Timing Advance Command MAC CE to the UE to update timing advance for the UE. The Timing Advance Command MAC CE may include at least one of timing advance (or enhanced timing advance) and propagation delay compensation indication. It is noted that only one of RRC-based PropagationDelayCompensationDedicated-r16 and MAC-based propagation delay compensation indication may be used for informing the UE whether to perform PDC” recited in paragraph [0068]); receiving an indication whether to perform a propagation delay compensation operation (see “the gNB transmits Timing Advance Command MAC CE to the UE to update timing advance for the UE. The Timing Advance Command MAC CE may include at least one of timing advance (or enhanced timing advance) and propagation delay compensation indication” recited in paragraph [0068]); and performing, based on the value of the propagation delay, the propagation delay compensation operation (see steps 4-5 in Fig. 6, wherein the UE obtains the timing advance and performs propagation delay compensation accordingly).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the value is a timing advance value, and wherein the timing advance value enables the wireless device to perform propagation delay compensation operation based on the timing advance value (see steps 4-5 in Fig. 6, wherein the UE obtains the timing advance and performs propagation delay compensation accordingly).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the indication whether to perform the propagation delay compensation operation is transmitted through a downlink information transfer message (see paragraph [0068] and step 4 of Fig. 6, wherein the UE receives the propagation delay compensation indication in a downlink MAC CE).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the value based on the propagation delay is included in a MAC CE (see paragraph [0068] and step 4 of Fig. 6, wherein the UE receives the timing advance value in a downlink MAC CE).
Regarding claim 11, an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor and a memory (see gNB in Fig. 6 and base station 200a in Fig. 2 including processor 201a and memory 202a) storing instructions, execution of which by the processor causes the apparatus to: receive, from the wireless device, a request for reference time information, wherein the request is included in a UE Assistance Information message (see step 3 in Fig. 6, wherein the UE sends a Timing Advance Request to the gNB, wherein the Timing Advance Request is considered as a UE Assistance Information message that requests the timing advance assisting the UE for delay compensation to be performed in step 5 of Fig. 6); and in response to receiving the request, transmit, to the wireless device, a value based on the propagation delay and an indication whether to perform a propagation delay compensation operation (see “Step 4: After receiving timing advance request message, the gNB transmits Timing Advance Command MAC CE to the UE to update timing advance for the UE. The Timing Advance Command MAC CE may include at least one of timing advance (or enhanced timing advance) and propagation delay compensation indication. It is noted that only one of RRC-based PropagationDelayCompensationDedicated-r16 and MAC-based propagation delay compensation indication may be used for informing the UE whether to perform PDC” recited in paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the value is a timing advance value, and wherein the timing advance value enables the wireless device to perform propagation delay compensation operation based on the timing advance value (see steps 4-5 in Fig. 6, wherein the UE obtains the timing advance and performs propagation delay compensation accordingly).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the indication whether to perform the propagation delay compensation operation is transmitted through a downlink information transfer message (see paragraph [0068] and step 4 of Fig. 6, wherein the UE receives the propagation delay compensation indication in a downlink MAC CE).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the value based on the propagation delay is included in a MAC CE (see paragraph [0068] and step 4 of Fig. 6, wherein the UE receives the timing advance value in a downlink MAC CE).
Regarding claim 16, an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor and a memory (see UE in Fig. 6 and UE in Fig. 2 including processor and memory) storing instructions, execution by the processor causes the apparatus to:, comprising: transmit, to a network node, a request for reference time information, wherein the request is included in a UE Assistance Information message (see step 3 in Fig. 6, wherein the UE sends a Timing Advance Request to the gNB, wherein the Timing Advance Request is considered as a UE Assistance Information message that requests the timing advance assisting the UE for delay compensation to be performed in step 5 of Fig. 6); in response to transmitting the request, receive, from the network node, a value based on a propagation delay of a wireless channel between the network node and the wireless device (see “Step 4: After receiving timing advance request message, the gNB transmits Timing Advance Command MAC CE to the UE to update timing advance for the UE. The Timing Advance Command MAC CE may include at least one of timing advance (or enhanced timing advance) and propagation delay compensation indication. It is noted that only one of RRC-based PropagationDelayCompensationDedicated-r16 and MAC-based propagation delay compensation indication may be used for informing the UE whether to perform PDC” recited in paragraph [0068]); receive an indication whether to perform a propagation delay compensation operation (see “the gNB transmits Timing Advance Command MAC CE to the UE to update timing advance for the UE. The Timing Advance Command MAC CE may include at least one of timing advance (or enhanced timing advance) and propagation delay compensation indication” recited in paragraph [0068]); and perform, based on the value of the propagation delay, the propagation delay compensation operation (see steps 4-5 in Fig. 6, wherein the UE obtains the timing advance and performs propagation delay compensation accordingly).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the value is a timing advance value, and wherein the timing advance value enables the wireless device to perform propagation delay compensation operation based on the timing advance value (see steps 4-5 in Fig. 6, wherein the UE obtains the timing advance and performs propagation delay compensation accordingly).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the indication whether to perform the propagation delay compensation operation is transmitted through a downlink information transfer message (see paragraph [0068] and step 4 of Fig. 6, wherein the UE receives the propagation delay compensation indication in a downlink MAC CE).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the value based on the propagation delay is included in a MAC CE (see paragraph [0068] and step 4 of Fig. 6, wherein the UE receives the timing advance value in a downlink MAC CE).
Lin does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, determining, by a network node, a propagation delay of a wireless channel between the network node and a wireless device, wherein a measurement of the propagation delay is of a variable granularity, wherein the variable granularity is selected from a granularity group whose elements are determined by multiplying TA values corresponding to a single predefined SCS by respective factors, wherein the respective factors include 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, or 1/16; determining, by the network node, that a value of a burst spread associated with the wireless channel has changed; and wherein the value transmitted by the network node is a value based on the propagation delay (Lin discloses transmitting a timing advance to be used for propagation delay compensation, but does not explicitly that the timing advance being based on propagation delay determined by the network node); and transmitting an indication of a granularity of the measurement of the propagation delay.
Awad discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, determining, by a network node, a propagation delay of a wireless channel between the network node and a wireless device (see “The gNB regularly measures the propagation delays from the UE, for example based on received UL SRS, PUSCH and PUCCH” recited in paragraph [0100]); and wherein the value transmitted by the network node is a value based on the propagation delay (see “the gNB estimates the propagation delay from the random-access preamble transmitted by the UE in message 1, and converts this propagation delay to a TA value” recited in paragraph [0098] and “The gNB regularly measures the propagation delays from the UE, for example based on received UL SRS, PUSCH and PUCCH, and then the gNB includes TA updates” recited in paragraph [0100]).
Choi discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, wherein a measurement of the propagation delay is of a variable granularity, wherein the variable granularity is selected from a granularity group whose elements are determined by multiplying TA values corresponding to a single predefined SCS by respective factors, wherein the respective factors include 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, or 1/16 (see “a method for the TA granularity scaled for each NR numerology based on the LTE granularity. As shown in Table 1 below, if the TA granularity value is predetermined as (1024 ∙2−μ)TsNR with respect to numerology index μ, it becomes equal to the TA granularity of the LTE in 15 kHz subcarrier spacing, and as the subcarrier spacing is increased, the TA granularity is proportionally decreased” recited in column 8, lines 31-50 and TABLE 1; wherein TABLE 1 shows a group of TA granularity determined by multiplying TsNR and a factor 2−μ corresponding to a single predefined SCS of 15 kHz; wherein 2−μ include 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, or 1/16 when μ =1, 2, 3 or 4, respectively; also, the TA granularity formula is based on a single predefined SCS of 15 kHz, that is, even as the SCS to be used increases, the formula is still based on the 15 kHz SCS and accounts for the SCS as shown in TABLE 1); and transmitting an indication of a granularity of the measurement of the propagation delay (see “In step [S215], the terminal 202 receives a TA granularity value together with the TA command update message through a MAC-CE” recited in column 11, lines 8-10, wherein the TA is considered as a measurement of propagation delay).
Tooher discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, determining, by the network node, that a value of a burst spread associated with the wireless channel has changed (see “A survival time or burst spread indication may be provided/used. A layer (e.g., another layer) may provide an indication of survival time or burst spread status, for example, if the survival time or burst spread requirement originated from the network, or originated from a separate intra-WTRU layer. An indication may be provided or received (e.g., periodically provided or received) by a WTRU, for example, based on a configuration (e.g., RRC configuration), based on request (e.g., polling), and/or based on being triggered by an event. An event may include, for example, one or more of the following: (i) successful completion of survival time requirements (e.g., transmission of the related contents or indication of successful reception, such as an acknowledgment (ACK), within the indicated survival time parameters); (ii) the approach of survival time expiry; (iii) survival time expiry; (iv) beginning of burst spread; (v) burst spread completion; (vi) the approach of burst spread completion; and/or (vii) change in determined (e.g., estimated) burst spread value” recited in paragraph [0147]; paragraph [0150] also discloses a WTRU that indicating burst spread to a base station; that is, a base station may indicate burst spread to the WTRU using an RRC configuration or receive burst spread indication from the WTRU as shown in paragraphs [0147] and [0150], respectively. In either case, the base station must determine the change in the burst spread value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Lin using features, as taught by Awad, Choi and Tooher, in order to compensate for propagation delay caused by the changing distance between the UE and the gNodeB (see paragraph [0100] of Awad); in order to support various numerologies (see column 7, lines 29-39 of Choi); and in order to provide QoS adaptation (see paragraph [0003] of Tooher).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuo (US 2023/0239868) discloses SPS scheduling and burst spread handling (Figs. 1-5B), which is relevant to but insufficient to reject claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 of the current Application.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473