DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 08/04/2025, with respect to the objection of the title have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the title has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 08/04/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 8-13, and 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yoshio (US 20050242779 A1).
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chen allegedly fails to disclose the claimed feature that, once monitoring operations are completed, “the monitoring operations of the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers transition to a termination/end state together,” asserting Chen [0051] and [0064] merely relate to extra monitoring during delays (blocks 508/518) and monitoring after exiting an “active” state. The Examiner disagrees.
In the previous office action, Chen is the main art reference which does not include or refer to [0051] and [0064]. [0051] and [0064] are related to Park secondary art reference, (blocks 508/518) are only mentioned in Chen. The applicant might had made a mistake in the remarks.Specifically, Chen teaches that each controller computes a different start time such that “no two controllers perform isolation resistance measurements at the same time” (Col. 2, ll. 11–20), and that “start times determined by different battery monitoring system controllers are separated by a duration sufficient to complete the isolation resistance measurement,” and after “performing an isolation resistance measurement process” and “reporting a result,” each controller “updates the start time based on a cycle time that is the same for each battery monitoring system controller” and then “repeats” the measurement/report/update acts at the updated start time (Col. 3, ll. 15–29). Chen further explains the staggered timing relationship (e.g., tstart,2=tstart,1+td and sequential IDs similarly offset) in the timing diagram discussion (Col. 12, ll. 12–24). Thus, a controller that completes its measurement earlier in the cycle necessarily remains in a waiting/idle condition until the later-starting controllers complete their measurements within the same shared cycle time (i.e., it “waits until” the remaining monitoring operations finish before the cycle is complete for the plurality). Thus, the claimed collective completion (“then all the monitoring operations are completed”) is met by Chen’s bank-level cycle completion point (end of the shared cycle), after which the controllers return to a non-monitoring state until the next updated start time. Further, Chen explicitly recognizes distinct operating “modes (or states)” including an “idle” mode “in which the battery is neither charging nor powering a load” (Col. 13, ll. 51–59), which corresponds to the claimed “end state” in the sense of a non-monitoring/terminated state between monitoring cycles. Accordingly, Applicant’s characterization of Chen as only teaching “delays” at blocks 508/518 is overly narrow, those delays are merely internal to the measurement procedure, while Chen’s broader disclosure of staggered start times, common cycle time, repeated cycles establishes that early finished controllers must remain non-monitoring (waiting/idle) until all controllers finish their monitoring in that cycle, at which point the plurality is collectively in the non-monitoring state prior to the next cycle.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the first high-voltage battery controller is configured to perform a master function, and when a monitoring operation of the first high-voltage battery controller is completed, to the first high- voltage battery controller is configured to determine whether monitoring operations of the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller have been completed.” The use of “to” and “is” are confusing and appear to be incorrect usage. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “and wherein the first high-voltage batter controller”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 12181503 B1), in view of Yoshio (US 20050242779 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a high-voltage battery control apparatus comprising:
a high-voltage battery control apparatus including a plurality of high-voltage battery controllers [Col. 6 Line 21-23] “Each HV battery 210 also includes a battery monitoring system (BMS) controller 220, which can be a component of battery monitoring system 108 of FIG. 1. Each BMS controller 220 can be a printed circuit board with circuitry configured to monitor the status of one or more cells within the HV [high voltage] battery 210.” Each HV battery having a dedicated BMS controller satisfies the apparatus structure with multiple controllers.
each of the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers being configured to monitor a state of a plurality of high-voltage batteries included in one high-voltage battery pack depending on a predetermined period for monitoring the high-voltage battery pack [Col. 6 Line 31-38] “The BMS component boards within one HV battery 210 can communicate with the BMS controller 220 of that HV battery 210. In embodiments described below, isolation resistance monitoring is performed for HV battery 210 as a whole (rather than per-cell), and BMS controller 220 can include fixed-function and/or programmable logic circuitry to perform the isolation resistance monitoring.” [Col. 7 Line 54-64] “For instance, memory 304 can store the unique (within a battery bank) identifier 312 assigned to BMS controller 300. Memory 304 can also store a start time 314 for a next isolation resistance measurement; the start time can be determined as described below.” [Col. 3 Line 15-29] “wherein the start time determined by each battery monitoring system controller is different from the start time determined by each other battery monitoring system controller and wherein the start times determined by different battery monitoring system controllers are separated by a duration sufficient to complete the isolation resistance measurement” Chen’s isolation resistance measurement is a battery-pack state/condition that the BMS monitors, because isolation resistance indicates whether the HV battery pack is electrically insulated from the chassis/ground (i.e., whether leakage/fault conditions exist). Chen ties the monitoring to a predetermined period by storing a next start time and updating it based on a cycle time that governs repeated monitoring.
wherein each of the high-voltage battery controllers are further configured to transition a state of the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers together to an end state when one of the high-voltage battery controllers among the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers [Col. 13, lines 3–10] “once isolation resistance measurements are complete for all BMS controllers, the system proceeds to the next cycle" The “next cycle” boundary is the functional end state of the current monitoring cycle., which has completed a monitoring operation, first waits until all monitoring operations of the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers that have not yet completed monitoring operations are completed, and then all the monitoring operations of the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers are completed [Col. 12 Line 12-24] “FIG. 8 shows a timing diagram for isolation resistance measurements in a battery bank when process 700 is used according to some embodiments. For purposes of illustration, battery bank 200 of FIG. 2B, which has six batteries 210 and six BMS controllers 220 (assigned IDs from 1 to 6) is used. Time t.sub.start,1 is the start time computed by the BMS controller 220 with ID=1 at block 706 of process 700 using Eq. (3) above. Time t.sub.start,2 is the start time computed by the BMS controller 220 with ID=2 at block 706 of process 700 using Eq. (3) above. As can be seen, t.sub.start,2=t.sub.start,1+t.sub.d. Similarly, each other BMS controller 220 calculates a different start time, with start times computed by BMS controller with sequential identifiers ID separated by t.sub.d.” Chen shows that each controller’s measurement start time such that controllers complete at different times and controller that completes earlier necessarily remains in an idle/holding condition (i.e., waits) until the remaining controllers complete and the system can proceed to the next cycle.
Chen does not appear to teach the full claim limitation regarding “wherein the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers each include a timer, and continue monitoring when at least one of the timers fails”
However, Yoshio teaches equivalent teachings wherein the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers each include a timer [0011] “it is preferred that the battery protection circuit have a clock monitoring circuit that monitors the clock signal supplied from the controller, and a register for holding the first or second mode state, with the following function: when the clock signal is not supplied throughout a first period, a reset signal is supplied to the controller, and at the same time, a control signal for turning off the first switch circuit is output; then, if the clock signal is not supplied throughout a second period, in the first mode, said reset signal is supplied, and in the second mode, a control signal for turning off the second switch circuit is output.” [0040] “watchdog circuit 36 for monitoring the clock signal from microcomputer IC3 2, and interface logic circuit 37 to which the command (Comm.) from microcomputer IC3 is input and which sends a control signal to FET drive circuit 31.” Yoshio timer is the watchdog/clock-monitoring logic that measures elapsed time (“first period” / “second period”) without receiving the clock signal and measuring whether a condition persists for a defined “first/second period” is a timer function (i.e., time-based fault detection), implemented by the watchdog circuit.,
and continue monitoring when at least one of the timers fails [0071] "WDF (Watchdog Fault) 2 protection mode" increases the function of the "WDF protection mode" (primary protection mode) in the constitution shown in FIG. 1. In the constitution shown in FIG. 1, when clock CLK is stopped, since watchdog circuit 36 that monitors the output of clock signal CLK from microcomputer 2 detects the clock stop state, the WDF detection signal is output to FET drive circuit 31, and as a result, FET switches SW1 and/or SW2 are turned off.” [0067] “Thus, since microcomputer (.mu.C) 2 receives an alarm signal from protection circuit (IC) 3B, it goes to an appropriate malfunction processing routine, such as an initialization routine, so that the microcomputer itself is reset to eliminate the malfunction. As a result, it is possible to reset the normal state with this constitution.” Yoshio teaches fault-tolerant operation when timing/clock functionality fails by using a watchdog-based monitoring path that detects the failure and forces the controller back into a recoverable operating condition rather than halting operation.
It would have been obvious to a person that skilled in the art before the effective filling date to combine Chen and Yoshio teachings to make the system wherein the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers each include a timer and continue monitoring when at least one of the timers fails.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Chen and Yoshio teachings to increase system overall efficiency and protection [Yoshio 0030] “For the battery protection circuit of the present invention, when secondary protection is performed, because the primary protection has been performed before it, the number of cycles of execution of the secondary protection that cannot be reset can be minimized, so that the operating efficiency can be improved.”
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Chen and Yoshimo discloses the high-voltage battery control apparatus of claim 1, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers includes: a first high-voltage battery controller configured to monitor a state of a first high-voltage battery among the plurality of high-voltage batteries [Col. 6 Line 21-23] “Each HV battery 210 also includes a battery monitoring system (BMS) controller 220, which can be a component of battery monitoring system 108 of FIG. 1. Each BMS controller 220 can be a printed circuit board with circuitry configured to monitor the status of one or more cells within the HV [high voltage] battery 210.” Each HV battery having a dedicated BMS controller satisfies the apparatus structure with multiple controllers.; a second high-voltage battery controller configured to monitor a state of a second high-voltage battery among the plurality of high-voltage batteries [Col. 6 Line 21-23] “Each HV battery 210 also includes a battery monitoring system (BMS) controller 220, which can be a component of battery monitoring system 108 of FIG. 1. Each BMS controller 220 can be a printed circuit board with circuitry configured to monitor the status of one or more cells within the HV [high voltage] battery 210.” Each HV battery having a dedicated BMS controller satisfies the apparatus structure with multiple controllers.; and a third high-voltage battery controller configured to monitor a state of a third high-voltage battery among the plurality of high-voltage batteries [Col. 5 Line 59-67] “FIG. 2A shows a simplified schematic diagram of a battery bank 200 according to some embodiments. Battery bank 200 incorporates a battery monitoring system as an embedded system within the battery bank. Battery bank 200 can be used as battery 102 in an operating environment such as operating environment 100 described above. In this example, battery bank 200 includes three high-voltage (HV) battery packs 202 connected in parallel between a first high-voltage bus 204 (which can connect to a load) and a second high-voltage bus 206 (which can be grounded or connected to some other voltage). Battery packs 202 are rechargeable, and charging terminals 208 are provided for connecting each battery in battery pack 202 to a charger.” Chen Fig. 2A visually shows three batteries and thus at least three BMS controllers, the bank with at least three HV battery packs corresponds to first/second/third controllers monitoring first/second/third batteries.
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Chen and Yoshimo discloses the high-voltage battery control apparatus of claim 1, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers are configured to repeat a process of turning off a vehicle, then monitoring states of the plurality of high-voltage batteries for a first predetermined time, then waiting for the first time, and then performing monitoring for a second predetermined time, and waiting for a predetermined third time, and then performing monitoring for the second time, for a predetermined period [Col. 3 Line 15-29] “wherein the start time determined by each battery monitoring system controller is different from the start time determined by each other battery monitoring system controller and wherein the start times determined by different battery monitoring system controllers are separated by a duration sufficient to complete the isolation resistance measurement; in response to the start time arriving, performing an isolation resistance measurement process; reporting a result of the isolation resistance measurement process to the control system; updating the start time based on a cycle time that is the same for each battery monitoring system controller; and in response to the updated start time arriving, repeating the acts of performing the isolation resistance measurement process, reporting the result, and updating the start time.” [Col. 7 Line 36-47] “Measurement time t.sub.d can be a fixed parameter, with the same value used by all BMS controllers 220 in the battery bank. The value of t.sub.d can be selected as desired, provided that t.sub.d is long enough for a BMS controller to measure the voltages needed to compute isolation resistance. For instance, in embodiments where the BMS controllers use process 500, voltages V1 and V2 should be stable for the measurements at block 502. Closing either of the switches (at block 506 or block 516) perturbs both V1 and V2, and prior to measuring V1′ or V2′ (as the case may be), the BMS controller should wait (delay at block 508 or 518) for the voltages to stabilize again.” [Col. 13 Line 51-59] “In some embodiments, the output values can depend on the operating mode of the BMS and the conditions observed during the isolation resistance measurement (columns 906). In this example, three operating modes (or states) of the BMS are shown (section 904): “active” mode, in which the battery may be powering a load; “maintenance” mode, in which the battery may be charging or not; and “idle” mode in which the battery is neither charging nor powering a load.” Cycle-based measurements shows repeated monitoring and waiting phases.” Chen discloses an “idle” mode in which the battery is neither charging nor powering a load. Thus, Chen supports the “vehicle off (i.e., idle state”) condition for performing periodic monitoring cycles.
Regarding Claim 9, The claim recites a system of the parallel limitations in claim 1, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Chen and Yoshimo discloses the system of claim 9, Chen disclose further comprising a communication module configured to receive a monitoring result of the high-voltage battery pack from the battery management device [Col. 3 Line 15-29] “wherein the start time determined by each battery monitoring system controller is different from the start time determined by each other battery monitoring system controller and wherein the start times determined by different battery monitoring system controllers are separated by a duration sufficient to complete the isolation resistance measurement; in response to the start time arriving, performing an isolation resistance measurement process; reporting a result (i.e., receive a monitoring result) of the isolation resistance measurement process to the control system; updating the start time based on a cycle time that is the same for each battery monitoring system controller; and in response to the updated start time arriving, repeating the acts of performing the isolation resistance measurement process, reporting the result, and updating the start time.”, and to transmit the monitoring result of the high-voltage battery pack to an external server when a problem occurs in the high-voltage battery pack [Col. 4 Line 33-52] Control system 106 can be local to load 104 (e.g., in a vehicle of which load 104 includes the motor), or located remotely from load 104 and communicating via an appropriate connection, including short-range or long-range network connections. In some embodiments, control system 106 can include both local and remote elements. For instance, environment 100 can be an autonomous or remotely-piloted vehicle that is monitored and directed from a location external to the vehicle. [Col. 14 Line 22-46] “control system 252 can generate an alert to an operator, who can take appropriate action. In some embodiments, if the load can be safely disabled or decoupled from battery bank 200, control system 252 can automatically disable or decouple the load in addition to alerting an operator. For instance, in the case of a battery-powered vehicle, disabling or decoupling the load from the battery bank while the vehicle is in motion may not be desirable; it may be preferable to alert an operator to the fault so that the operator can safely bring the vehicle to rest. In some embodiments, control system 252 can instruct some or all of BMS controllers 220 to halt isolation resistance monitoring if an isolation fault is detected.” Chen [Col. 14, lines 22–46] "in response to a reported isolation fault, control system 252 can generate an alert to an operator [] if the load can be safely disabled...control system 252 can automatically disable or decouple the load" This shows that the occurrence of a fault (i.e., "when a problem occurs") triggers communication from the control system 106. Control system 252 operates in response to fault detection. That fault is detected by BMS controllers and reported to control system 252. The control system, in turn, takes automated action when the fault is received.
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Chen and Yoshimo discloses the system of claim 10, Chen discloses further comprising a server configured to transmit a notification to a user and to limit driving of the vehicle when receiving a result of occurrence of the problem of the high-voltage battery pack from the communication module [Col. 14 Line 22-46] “In some embodiments, control system 252 can automatically initiate protective action in response to a reported isolation fault. For example, control system 252 can generate an alert to an operator, who can take appropriate action. In some embodiments, if the load can be safely disabled or decoupled from battery bank 200, control system 252 can automatically disable or decouple the load in addition to alerting an operator. For instance, in the case of a battery-powered vehicle, disabling or decoupling the load from the battery bank while the vehicle is in motion may not be desirable; it may be preferable to alert an operator to the fault so that the operator can safely bring the vehicle to rest. In some embodiments, control system 252 can instruct some or all of BMS controllers 220 to halt isolation resistance monitoring if an isolation fault is detected.” Chen [Col. 14, lines 22–46] discloses “control system 252 can generate an alert to an operator, who can take appropriate action" This shows how the system performs “transmitting a notification to an operator” since generating an alert to an operator constitutes notifying a user of a system event. “In response to a reported isolation fault” clearly shows causality (i.e., when the server (control system 252) performs both notification (alert or fault) and protective action (e.g., disabling or decoupling the load) because it received fault data.
Regarding Claim 12, The claim recites a device of the parallel limitations in claims 8, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 13, The claim recites a system of the parallel limitations in claim 2, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 15, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claim 1, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 16, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claim 2, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Claims 3-7, 14, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 12181503 B1), in view of Yoshio (US 20050242779 A1), and further in view of Park (US 20220352563 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Chen and Yoshimo teach the high-voltage battery control apparatus of claim 2, the combination of Chen and Yoshimo does not teach “wherein the first high- voltage battery controller is configured to perform a master function, and when a monitoring operation of the first high-voltage battery controller is completed, to the first high-voltage battery controller is configured to determine whether monitoring operations of the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller have been completed.”However, Park teaches equivalent teachings wherein the first high-voltage battery controller is configured to perform a master function, and when a monitoring operation of the first high-voltage battery controller is completed, to the first high-voltage battery controller is configured to determine whether monitoring operations of the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller have been completed [0027] “FIG. 3 is a timing chart for describing a process of collecting battery information through wireless communication of a master of FIG. 1 with a plurality of slaves.” [0042] “The master 100 is configured to integratedly control the battery pack 10 through wireless communication with the N slaves 200_1˜200_N. Each of the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N is configured to wirelessly communicate with the master 100 using the slave's ID pre-allocated from the master 100.” [0046] “The master 100 may calculate the state of charge (SOC) and the state of health (SOH) of the battery module 20_i or determine whether overvoltage, undervoltage, overcharge or over discharge occurred in the battery module 20_i based on the battery information from the slave 200_i.” [0051] “The master 100 is configured to perform the operation of classifying each of the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N as a first group or a second group at least once for a standby period from the time point at which the master 100 transmitted the main command packet until the master 100 will transmit the next main command packet. The master 100 may scan a response packet from the second group during a threshold time (for example, 0.3 sec) from the time point at which the master 100 transmitted the main command packet.” This operation functions as determining which slave controllers (i.e., second/third battery controllers) have completed their operations. So, “determine whether monitoring operations are completed” is satisfied via checking for slave response.
It would have been obvious to a person that skilled in the art to combine Chen, Yoshimo, and Park teachings to make the system wherein the first high- voltage battery controller is configured to perform a master function.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Chen, Yoshimo, and Park teachings to increase system overall efficiency [Park 0005] “A battery pack for devices requiring high capacity and high voltage such as electric vehicles generally include a plurality of battery modules connected in series. A management system having a multi slave system is disclosed to individually and efficiently manage the state of the plurality of battery modules. The management system having a multi slave system includes a plurality of slaves for monitoring the state of each battery module and a master to integratedly control the plurality of slaves.”
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Chen and Yoshimo teach the high-voltage battery control apparatus of claim 3, the combination of Chen and Yoshimo does not teach “wherein the first high- voltage battery controller is configured to end the monitoring operation of the first high-voltage battery controller when the monitoring operations of the first high-voltage battery controller, the second high-voltage battery controller, and the third high-voltage battery controller are completed, and wherein the first high-voltage batter controller is further configured to transmit an end command for ending the monitoring operation to the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller”
However, Park teaches equivalent teachings wherein the first high- voltage battery controller is configured to end the monitoring operation of the first high-voltage battery controller when the monitoring operations of the first high-voltage battery controller, the second high-voltage battery controller, and the third high-voltage battery controller are completed, and wherein the first high-voltage batter controller is further configured to transmit an end command for ending the monitoring operation to the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller [0050] “The master 100 wirelessly transmits the main command packet every reference time. The reference time (for example, 1 sec) is preset, considering the number of slaves 200_1˜200_N and the wireless communication distance from each slave 200. The main command packet may include information requesting the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N to transmit the battery information of the plurality of battery modules 20_1˜20_N to the master 100.” [0051] “The master 100 is configured to perform the operation of classifying each of the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N as a first group or a second group at least once for a standby period from the time point at which the master 100 transmitted the main command packet until the master 100 will transmit the next main command packet. The master 100 may scan a response packet from the second group during a threshold time (for example, 0.3 sec) from the time point at which the master 100 transmitted the main command packet.” [0095] “In step S420, the master 100 scans the response packet RP from the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N during the threshold time ΔT.sub.th.” [0096] “In step S430, the master 100 classifies each slave 200 to which the ID included in each response packet RP received within the threshold time ΔT.sub.th is allocated as the first group, and each slave 200 not classified as the first group as the second group.” [0097] “In step S440, the master 100 determines whether at least one of the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N is classified as the second group. When a value of the step S440 is “Yes”, step S450 is performed. When the value of the step S440 is “No”, the method may end.” Park [0097] “when a value of the step S440 is ‘No’, the method may end.” This shows the master ends the method (which includes collection/monitoring) based on group status. The master terminates the cycle when all slaves have responded, which shows that controllers end the monitoring roles. Thus, Park's master controller interaction via wireless packets serves the function of “end commands.” Each slave responds only when prompted, and monitoring ceases if they are not part of the next cycle.
It would have been obvious to a person that skilled in the art to combine Chen, Yoshimo, and Park teachings to make the system wherein the first high- voltage battery controller is configured to end the monitoring operation of the first high-voltage battery controller when the monitoring operations of the first high-voltage battery controller.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Chen, Yoshimo, and Park teachings to increase system overall efficiency [Park 0005] “A battery pack for devices requiring high capacity and high voltage such as electric vehicles generally include a plurality of battery modules connected in series. A management system having a multi slave system is disclosed to individually and efficiently manage the state of the plurality of battery modules. The management system having a multi slave system includes a plurality of slaves for monitoring the state of each battery module and a master to integratedly control the plurality of slaves.”
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Chen and Yoshimo teach the high-voltage battery control apparatus of claim 3, the combination of Chen and Yoshimo does not teach “wherein the second high- voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller, are configured to transition to an end state when receiving an end command signal for ending the monitoring operation from the first high-voltage battery controller even when the monitoring operations of the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller are completed.”
However, Park teaches equivalent teachings wherein the second high- voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller, are configured to transition to an end state when receiving an end command signal for ending the monitoring operation from the first high-voltage battery controller even when the monitoring operations of the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller are completed [0050] “The master 100 wirelessly transmits the main command packet every reference time. The reference time (for example, 1 sec) is preset, considering the number of slaves 200_1˜200_N and the wireless communication distance from each slave 200. The main command packet may include information requesting the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N to transmit the battery information of the plurality of battery modules 20_1˜20_N to the master 100.” [0051] “The master 100 is configured to perform the operation of classifying each of the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N as a first group or a second group at least once for a standby period from the time point at which the master 100 transmitted the main command packet until the master 100 will transmit the next main command packet. The master 100 may scan a response packet from the second group during a threshold time (for example, 0.3 sec) from the time point at which the master 100 transmitted the main command packet.” Park [0097] “when a value of the step S440 is ‘No’, the method may end.” This shows the master ends the method (which includes collection/monitoring) based on group status. The master terminates the cycle when all slaves have responded, which shows that controllers end the monitoring roles. Thus, Park's master controller interaction via wireless packets serves the function of “end commands.” Each slave responds only when prompted, and monitoring ceases if they are not part of the next cycle.
It would have been obvious to a person that skilled in the art to combine Chen, Yoshimo, and Park teachings to make the system wherein the second high- voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller, are configured to transition to an end state when receiving an end command signal for ending the monitoring operation from the first high-voltage battery controller.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Chen, Yoshimo, and Park teachings to increase system overall efficiency [Park 0005] “A battery pack for devices requiring high capacity and high voltage such as electric vehicles generally include a plurality of battery modules connected in series. A management system having a multi slave system is disclosed to individually and efficiently manage the state of the plurality of battery modules. The management system having a multi slave system includes a plurality of slaves for monitoring the state of each battery module and a master to integratedly control the plurality of slaves.”
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Chen and Yoshimo teach the high-voltage battery control apparatus of claim 2, Chen discloses wherein when each of the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers are in a standby state, when the second high-voltage battery controller, the third high-voltage battery controller, and the first high-voltage battery controller wake up in that order to perform a monitoring operation for a same time [Col. 2 Line 11-20] “In some embodiments, each battery in a battery bank has a battery monitoring system controller, and each battery monitoring system controller operates independently of the other battery monitoring system controllers in the battery bank. Each battery monitoring system controller can perform measurements of isolation resistance at regular intervals. Each battery monitoring system controller determines a start time for its measurements in a manner such that no two controllers perform isolation resistance measurements at the same time.” Chen [Col. 2, lines 11–20] "Each controller determines a start time (i.e., wake up or stand by states) such that no two perform isolation measurements at the same time." The scheduling and delay behavior mimics a wake-up sequence controlled by precomputed intervals, and is functionally equivalent to standby–wake-up–monitor behavior described.
The combination of Chen and Yoshimo does not teach “the second high-voltage battery controller is configured to wait until an end command is received from the first high-voltage battery controller after a monitoring operation of the second high-voltage battery controller is completed, and the third high-voltage battery controller is configured to wait until an end command is received from the first high-voltage battery controller after a monitoring operation of the third high-voltage battery controller is completed.”However, Park teaches equivalent teachings the second high-voltage battery controller is configured to wait until an end command is received from the first high-voltage battery controller after a monitoring operation of the second high-voltage battery controller is completed, and the third high-voltage battery controller is configured to wait until an end command is received from the first high-voltage battery controller after a monitoring operation of the third high-voltage battery controller is completed [0050] “The master 100 wirelessly transmits the main command packet every reference time. The reference time (for example, 1 sec) is preset, considering the number of slaves 200_1˜200_N and the wireless communication distance from each slave 200. The main command packet may include information requesting the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N to transmit the battery information of the plurality of battery modules 20_1˜20_N to the master 100.” [0051] “The master 100 is configured to perform the operation of classifying each of the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N as a first group or a second group at least once for a standby period from the time point at which the master 100 transmitted the main command packet until the master 100 will transmit the next main command packet. The master 100 may scan a response packet from the second group during a threshold time (for example, 0.3 sec) from the time point at which the master 100 transmitted the main command packet.” [0052] “When at least one of the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N is classified as the second group, the master 100 may be configured to wirelessly transmit the sub command packet at least once within the standby period. The sub command packet is for inducing each slave 200 of the second group to wirelessly transmit the response packet” [0091] “since the number of members of the second group is 0, the master 100 does not wirelessly transmit an additional sub command packet and stands by before the time point T20 arrives.”[0097] “In step S440, the master 100 determines whether at least one of the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N is classified as the second group. When a value of the step S440 is “Yes”, step S450 is performed. When the value of the step S440 is “No”, the method may end.” This shows that Park teaches a master-controlled end-of-cycle termination condition, where once all slaves have responded (i.e., second group becomes empty), the master ends the method and does not transmit additional command packets, instead standing by until the next cycle, This master-controlled termination condition constitutes the claimed end-of-monitoring command/event that causes the controllers to enter the end/standby state for the cycle.
It would have been obvious to a person that skilled in the art to combine Chen, Yoshimo, and Park teachings to make the system wherein when each of the plurality of high-voltage battery controllers are in a standby state, when the second high-voltage battery controller, the third high-voltage battery controller, and the first high-voltage battery controller wake up in that order to perform a monitoring operation for a same time.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Chen, Yoshimo, and Park teachings to increase system overall efficiency [Park 0005] “A battery pack for devices requiring high capacity and high voltage such as electric vehicles generally include a plurality of battery modules connected in series. A management system having a multi slave system is disclosed to individually and efficiently manage the state of the plurality of battery modules. The management system having a multi slave system includes a plurality of slaves for monitoring the state of each battery module and a master to integratedly control the plurality of slaves.”
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Chen and Yoshimo teach the high-voltage battery control apparatus of claim 6, the combination of Chen and Yoshimo does not teach “wherein the first high- voltage battery controller is configured to: determine whether the monitoring operations of the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller are completed after the monitoring operation of the first high-voltage battery controller is completed; and transmit an end command to the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller when the monitoring operations of the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller are completed; and wherein the monitoring operations of the first high-voltage battery controller, the second high-voltage battery controller, and the third high-voltage battery controller are simultaneously transitioned to an end state.”
However, Park teaches equivalent teachings wherein the first high- voltage battery controller is configured to: determine whether the monitoring operations of the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller are completed after the monitoring operation of the first high-voltage battery controller is completed; and transmit an end command to the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller when the monitoring operations of the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller are completed; and wherein the monitoring operations of the first high-voltage battery controller, the second high-voltage battery controller, and the third high-voltage battery controller are simultaneously transitioned to an end state [0050] “The master 100 wirelessly transmits the main command packet every reference time. The reference time (for example, 1 sec) is preset, considering the number of slaves 200_1˜200_N and the wireless communication distance from each slave 200. The main command packet may include information requesting the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N to transmit the battery information of the plurality of battery modules 20_1˜20_N to the master 100.” [0051] “The master 100 is configured to perform the operation of classifying each of the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N as a first group or a second group at least once for a standby period from the time point at which the master 100 transmitted the main command packet until the master 100 will transmit the next main command packet. The master 100 may scan a response packet from the second group during a threshold time (for example, 0.3 sec) from the time point at which the master 100 transmitted the main command packet.” [0052] “When at least one of the plurality of slaves 200_1˜200_N is classified as the second group, the master 100 may be configured to wirelessly transmit the sub command packet at least once within the standby period. The sub command packet is for inducing each slave 200 of the second group to wirelessly transmit the response packet.” [0053] “When the sub command packet includes the ID of the slave 200, the slave 200 may be configured to wirelessly transmit the response packet as a response to the sub command packet to the master 100.” This shows event-triggered action, which satisfies “waiting for a command before proceeding.” Further: [0051] "The master classifies and directs when each slave is allowed to communicate" This means slaves are waiting for control commands (i.e., they do not proceed independently but act only in response to the master.)
It would have been obvious to a person that skilled in the art to combine Chen, Yoshimo, and Park teachings to make the system wherein the first high- voltage battery controller is configured to: determine whether the monitoring operations of the second high-voltage battery controller and the third high-voltage battery controller are completed after the monitoring operation of the first high-voltage battery controller is completed.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Chen, Yoshimo, and Park teachings to increase system overall efficiency [Park 0005] “A battery pack for devices requiring high capacity and high voltage such as electric vehicles generally include a plurality of battery modules connected in series. A management system having a multi slave system is disclosed to individually and efficiently manage the state of the plurality of battery modules. The management system having a multi slave system includes a plurality of slaves for monitoring the state of each battery module and a master to integratedly control the plurality of slaves.”
Regarding Claim 14, The claim recites a system of the parallel limitations in claim 3 and 4, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 17, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claim 3, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 18, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claims 4, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 19, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claim 4, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 20, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claims 5, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUSSAM ALDEEN ALZATEEMEH/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662