DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldo (US 20220104315 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Baldo (US 20220104315 A1) teaches a separable control assembly for selective interaction with a cooktop appliance comprising an electric heating coil (Figure 3), the separable control assembly:
a support body (beam 42 and burner box 44) attachable to the cooktop appliance (Paragraph 37, each of the induction coils 26 are mounted above and supported on a beam 42);
a device controller mounted to the support body (Paragraph 43, controller 30 is mounted to and supported by the bottom wall of the burner box);
a coil receptacle (first electrical circuit 34) mounted to the support body in electrical communication with the device controller (Paragraph 41, circuit electrical circuit 34 of the controller 30; Paragraph 43, controller 30 including the first circuit board is mounted to and supported by the bottom wall of the burner box), the coil receptacle comprising one or more female connectors mounted to the support body (Paragraph 41, conductive connections of the first electrical circuit 34 may be configured as female terminals) and configured to receive one or more male coil terminals of the electric heating coil (Paragraph 41, electrical connectors 68 on the induction coil 26 may be configured as male terminals to establish an electrical connection between the first electrical circuit and the induction coils 26);
Baldo fails to explicitly teach:
one or more male connector terminals mounted to the support body in electrical communication with the device controller to connect to a power receptacle.
JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1) teaches an induction heating device for an induction hob, comprising:
one or more male connector terminals mounted to the support body in electrical communication with the device controller to connect to a power receptacle (Paragraph 20, control unit 6 is used to regulate the power section 5 of the induction coils; Figure 1 Paragraph 25, first electrical connector 12a connected to the control unit 6 forms the socket part of the electrical plug connection connects to a plug portion of an external memory 11; Paragraph 28, electrical connector 9 connects control unit 6 with a control element 8 through a similar socket part; Paragraph 22, cable 15 for supplying power to the generator).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with JÄCKLE and have the controller further comprise male connectors to connects the controller with various other electrical components. This would have been done to provide an electrical connector to connect the controller with other electrical components accessible from the outside of the housing of the controller and attached to said housing (JÄCKLE Paragraph 28).
The Office further notes that using a male connector to connect to a female connector such as to provide power to the cooking apparatus is well known in the art as evidenced by Donnell (US 20230195067 A1).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldo (US 20220104315 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHO (US 20250039999 A1) and Niiyama (US 20090020516 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1, further comprising
a power supply mounted to support body disposed in electrical communication with the device controller (Paragraph 32, first electrical circuit 34 supplies electricity to the induction coils 26 which includes switching devices that are configured to generate variable frequency/variable amplitude electric current to the induction coils).
While Baldo fails to explicitly teach “an AC/DC power supply”, the use of converting AC power from an AC power supply to DC power such as to provide the resonance current for heating coils is well known in the art as evidenced by CHO (US 20250039999 A1) and Niiyama (US 20090020516 A1).
Claim(s) 3 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldo (US 20220104315 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blum (US 20190364618 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1, further comprising
a switch module mounted to the support body in electrical communication with the device controller and the coil receptacle (Paragraph 32, first electrical circuit 34 supplies electricity to the induction coils 26 which includes switching devices that are configured to generate variable frequency/variable amplitude electric current to the induction coils)
Baldo as modified fails to explicitly teach:
a switch module to selectively limit power to the electric heating coil
Blum (US 20190364618 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance and control method, wherein:
a switch module to selectively limit power to the electric heating coil (Paragraph 32, controller is used to control a supply of power to the heaters through relays; Paragraph 35, inexpensive power control devices such as a single-pole, single-throw relay are used)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Blum and used a switch module to limit the power to the electric heating coil. This would have been done to provide an inexpensive power control method for the electric heating coils (Blum Paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 5, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a module mounted to support body disposed in electrical communication with the device controller (Paragraphs 46-47, a second circuit board 100 which is supported by the beam 42 and is used to process temperature signals from temperature sensors and transmit signals to the controller 30).
Baldo fails to explicitly teach:
a wireless module
Blum (US 20190364618 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance and control method, wherein:
a wireless module (Figure 3 Paragraph 29, each receiver is configured as a wireless receiver 34 configured to receive one or more wireless signals from the cookware temperature sensor 28 or food temperature sensor 30)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Blum and have the second circuit board include a wireless module. This would have been done to allow the second circuit board to associate with two temperature sensors to measure both the cookware as well as the food (Blum Paragraphs 23-27).
Regarding claim 6, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 5, further comprising:
a temperature sensor (Paragraph 44, induction cooking apparatus further a temperature sensor 80 for each induction coil positioned in the opening of each induction coil)
Blum further teaches:
a temperature sensor spaced apart from the support body in wireless communication with the device controller through the wireless module to transmit one or more temperature signals to the device controller (Figure 3 Paragraph 29, each receiver is configured as a wireless receiver 34 configured to receive one or more wireless signals from the cookware temperature sensor 28 or food temperature sensor 30 wherein both sensors are spaced apparent from the receiver 34).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 5.
Blum further teaches:
the device controller is configured to receive instructional inputs from a remote device spaced apart from the support body and in wireless communication with the device controller through the wireless module (Paragraph 31, user interface 62 is operably connected to the controller through wireless communication network wherein the user interface allows the controller to operate the cooktop 12 in response to user input via the user input 62).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Blum and have the user interface be wirelessly connected to the controller. This would allow the user to allow the control the cooktop appliance through their smart phone or tablet (Blum Paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 8, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a temperature sensor (Paragraph 44, induction cooking apparatus further a temperature sensor 80 for each induction coil positioned in the opening of each induction coil)
Baldo as modified fails to explicitly teach:
a temperature sensor movable relative to the support body and in electrical communication with the device controller to transmit one or more temperature signals thereto.
Blum (US 20190364618 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance and control method, wherein:
a temperature sensor movable relative to the support body (Paragraph 25, food temperature sensor 30 is a probe positionable at any suitable location to sense a temperature of one or more food items 32) and in electrical communication with the device controller to transmit one or more temperature signals thereto (Figure 3 Paragraph 29, each receiver is configured as a wireless receiver 34 configured to receive one or more wireless signals from the cookware temperature sensor 28 or food temperature sensor 30).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Blum and used a temperature sensor which is movable relative to the support body. This would have been done to allow the temperature sensor to be positionable at any suitable location to sense a location of the food item (Blum Paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 9, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 8, wherein:
the temperature sensor is coaxially mounted relative to the electric heating coil (Paragraph 44, opening 78 is located at the center of the induction coils; Paragraph 44, temperature sensor 80 is positioned in the opening 78 of each induction coil).
Blum further teaches:
the temperature sensor is coaxially mounted relative to the electric heating coil (Paragraph 25, food temperature sensor 30 is a probe positionable at any suitable location to sense a temperature of one or more food items 32; mounting the temperature sensor within the food coaxially with the electric heating coil is one of those suitable locations)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1, wherein:
the device controller is configured to direct a responsive cooking operation comprising receiving a detected temperature signal (Paragraph 45, temperature sensors 80 communicate temperature signals for the induction coils are utilized for temperature control and regulation purposes)
Baldo as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the device controller is configured to direct a responsive cooking operation comprising receiving a detected temperature signal, and directing power to the electric heating coil through the coil receptacle based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature.
Blum (US 20190364618 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance and control method, wherein:
device controller is configured to direct a responsive cooking operation comprising receiving a detected temperature signal (Figure 5 Paragraphs 34-39, monitoring a temperature with a temperature sensor), and directing power to the electric heating coil through the coil receptacle based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature (Figure 5 Paragraphs 34-39, uses said monitored temperature to determine a maximum temperature and then compares the temperature with a temperature setting to activate or deactivate a heating element).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Blum and had the device controller direct power to the heating coil based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature. This would have been done to provide control over the temperature in an inexpensive way compared with typical control methods (Blum Paragraph 35).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldo (US 20220104315 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gomez (US 20180087777 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1.
Baldo fails to teach:
a drip bowl disposed below the electric heating coil, the drip bowl comprising a bowl body and a receptacle clip fixed beside the bowl body, wherein the coil receptacle is selectively received on the receptacle clip.
Gomez (US 20180087777 A1) teaches a method and apparatus for controlling operation of range top coils for cooking, comprising:
a drip bowl disposed below the electric heating coil (Paragraph 43, drip pan 64 is attached to panel 20 below electric heating element 21), the drip bowl comprising a bowl body and a receptacle clip fixed beside the bowl body (Figure 7 Paragraph 43, drip pan 64 includes a concave sidewall 70 as well as a channel 86 to receive temperature switch 36), wherein the coil receptacle is selectively received on the receptacle clip (Paragraph 44, channel 86 receives temperature switch 36; Paragraph 41, temperature switch 36 is placed in series with the voltage input of the heating element).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Gomez and have a drip bowl be disposed below the electric heating coil with a coil receptacle received on the receptacle clip. This would have been done to provide additional safety by cutting off a voltage to one or more of the heating elements if the temperature in the drip pan is too high (Gomez Paragraph 21).
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldo (US 20220104315 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1), Smith (US 20170359861 A1), and Blum (US 20190364618 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Baldo (US 20220104315 A1) teaches a separable control assembly for selective interaction with a cooktop appliance comprising an electric heating coil (Figure 3), the separable control assembly:
a support body (beam 42 and burner box 44) attachable to the cooktop appliance (Paragraph 37, each of the induction coils 26 are mounted above and supported on a beam 42);
a device controller mounted to the support body (Paragraph 43, controller 30 is mounted to and supported by the bottom wall of the burner box);
a temperature sensor in operable communication with the device controller (Paragraph 44, induction cooking apparatus further a temperature sensor 80 for each induction coil positioned in the opening of each induction coil; Paragraph 47, temperature sensors are electrically connected to the second electrical circuit 110 which transmits temperature signals to the controller);
a coil receptacle (first electrical circuit 34) mounted to the support body in electrical communication with the device controller (Paragraph 41, circuit electrical circuit 34 of the controller 30; Paragraph 43, controller 30 including the first circuit board is mounted to and supported by the bottom wall of the burner box), the coil receptacle comprising a pair of female connectors mounted to the support body (Paragraph 41, conductive connections of the first electrical circuit 34 may be configured as female terminals) and configured to receive a pair of male coil terminals of the electric heating coil (Paragraph 41, electrical connectors 68 on the induction coil 26 may be configured as male terminals to establish an electrical connection between the first electrical circuit and the induction coils 26);
Baldo fails to explicitly teach:
a pair of male connector terminals mounted to the support body in electrical communication with the device controller to connect to a power receptacle
wherein the device controller is configured to direct a responsive cooking operation comprising
receiving a detected temperature signal from the temperature sensor, and
directing power to the electric heating coil through the coil receptacle based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature.
JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1) teaches an induction heating device for an induction hob, comprising:
a pair of male connector terminals mounted to the support body in electrical communication with the device controller to connect to a power receptacle (Paragraph 20, control unit 6 is used to regulate the power section 5 of the induction coils; Figure 1 Paragraph 25, first electrical connector 12a connected to the control unit 6 forms the socket part of the electrical plug connection connects to a plug portion of an external memory 11; Paragraph 28, electrical connector 9 connects control unit 6 with a control element 8 through a similar socket part; Paragraph 22, cable 15 for supplying power to the generator).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with JÄCKLE and have the controller further comprise male connectors to connects the controller with various other electrical components. This would have been done to provide an electrical connector to connect the controller with other electrical components accessible from the outside of the housing of the controller and attached to said housing (JÄCKLE Paragraph 28).
While Baldo modified with JÄCKLE fails to explicitly teach “a pair of male connector terminals”, Smith (US 20170359861 A1) teaches a method and apparatus for controlling the operation of range top coils wherein two male coils prongs extend outward from the coil such as to connect the coil apparatus with the socket of the heat controller 50 (Smith Figure 3-4 Paragraphs 32-33). Thus, it would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Smith and used a pair of male connector terminals to connect the support body to power. This would have been done to properly supply power through the positive and negative leads to the coil.
The Office further notes that using a male connector to connect to a female connector such as to provide power to the cooking apparatus is well known in the art as evidenced by Donnell (US 20230195067 A1).
Baldo as modified fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the device controller is configured to direct a responsive cooking operation comprising
receiving a detected temperature signal from the temperature sensor, and
directing power to the electric heating coil through the coil receptacle based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature.
Blum (US 20190364618 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance and control method, wherein:
wherein the device controller is configured to direct a responsive cooking operation comprising receiving a detected temperature signal from the temperature sensor (Figure 5 Paragraphs 34-39, monitoring a temperature with a temperature sensor), and
directing power to the electric heating coil through the coil receptacle based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature (Figure 5 Paragraphs 34-39, uses said monitored temperature to determine a maximum temperature and then compares the temperature with a temperature setting to activate or deactivate a heating element).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Blum and had the device controller direct power to the heating coil based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature. This would have been done to provide control over the temperature in an inexpensive way compared with typical control methods (Blum Paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 13, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 11, further comprising
a switch module mounted to the support body in electrical communication with the device controller and the coil receptacle (Paragraph 32, first electrical circuit 34 supplies electricity to the induction coils 26 which includes switching devices that are configured to generate variable frequency/variable amplitude electric current to the induction coils)
Blum further teaches:
a switch module to selectively limit power to the electric heating coil (Paragraph 32, controller is used to control a supply of power to the heaters through relays; Paragraph 35, inexpensive power control devices such as a single-pole, single-throw relay are used)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Blum and used a switch module to limit the power to the electric heating coil. This would have been done to provide an inexpensive power control method for the electric heating coils (Blum Paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 15, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 11, further comprising
a module mounted to support body disposed in electrical communication with the device controller (Paragraphs 46-47, a second circuit board 100 which is supported by the beam 42 and is used to process temperature signals from temperature sensors and transmit signals to the controller 30).
Blum further teaches:
a wireless module (Figure 3 Paragraph 29, each receiver is configured as a wireless receiver 34 configured to receive one or more wireless signals from the cookware temperature sensor 28 or food temperature sensor 30)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Blum and have the second circuit board include a wireless module. This would have been done to allow the second circuit board to associate with two temperature sensors to measure both the cookware as well as the food (Blum Paragraphs 23-27).
Regarding claim 16, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 15, further comprising
the temperature sensor (Paragraph 44, induction cooking apparatus further a temperature sensor 80 for each induction coil positioned in the opening of each induction coil)
Blum further teaches:
the temperature sensor is spaced apart from the support body in wireless communication with the device controller through the wireless module to transmit one or more temperature signals to the device controller (Figure 3 Paragraph 29, each receiver is configured as a wireless receiver 34 configured to receive one or more wireless signals from the cookware temperature sensor 28 or food temperature sensor 30 wherein both sensors are spaced apparent from the receiver 34).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 15.
Blum further teaches:
the device controller is configured to receive instructional inputs from a remote device spaced apart from the support body and in wireless communication with the device controller through the wireless module (Paragraph 31, user interface 62 is operably connected to the controller through wireless communication network wherein the user interface allows the controller to operate the cooktop 12 in response to user input via the user input 62).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Blum and have the user interface be wirelessly connected to the controller. This would allow the user to allow the control the cooktop appliance through their smart phone or tablet (Blum Paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 18, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 11, comprising:
the temperature sensor (Paragraph 44, induction cooking apparatus further a temperature sensor 80 for each induction coil positioned in the opening of each induction coil)
Blum further teaches:
the temperature sensor is movable relative to the support body (Paragraph 25, food temperature sensor 30 is a probe positionable at any suitable location to sense a temperature of one or more food items 32) and in electrical communication with the device controller to transmit one or more temperature signals thereto (Figure 3 Paragraph 29, each receiver is configured as a wireless receiver 34 configured to receive one or more wireless signals from the cookware temperature sensor 28 or food temperature sensor 30).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Blum and used a temperature sensor which is movable relative to the support body. This would have been done to allow the temperature sensor to be positionable at any suitable location to sense a location of the food item (Blum Paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 19, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 18, comprising:
the temperature sensor is coaxially mounted relative to the electric heating coil (Paragraph 44, opening 78 is located at the center of the induction coils; Paragraph 44, temperature sensor 80 is positioned in the opening 78 of each induction coil)
Blum further teaches:
the temperature sensor is coaxially mounted relative to the electric heating coil (Paragraph 25, food temperature sensor 30 is a probe positionable at any suitable location to sense a temperature of one or more food items 32; mounting the temperature sensor within the food coaxially with the electric heating coil is one of those suitable locations)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 11.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldo (US 20220104315 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1), Smith (US 20170359861 A1), and Blum (US 20190364618 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of CHO (US 20250039999 A1) and Niiyama (US 20090020516 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 11, further comprising
a power supply mounted to support body disposed in electrical communication with the device controller (Paragraph 32, first electrical circuit 34 supplies electricity to the induction coils 26 which includes switching devices that are configured to generate variable frequency/variable amplitude electric current to the induction coils).
While Baldo fails to explicitly teach “an AC/DC power supply”, the use of converting AC power from an AC power supply to DC power such as to provide the resonance current for heating coils is well known in the art as evidenced by CHO (US 20250039999 A1) and Niiyama (US 20090020516 A1).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldo (US 20220104315 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1), Smith (US 20170359861 A1), and Blum (US 20190364618 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gomez (US 20180087777 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Baldo as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 11.
Baldo fails to teach:
a drip bowl disposed below the electric heating coil, the drip bowl comprising a bowl body and a receptacle clip fixed beside the bowl body, wherein the coil receptacle is selectively received on the receptacle clip.
Gomez (US 20180087777 A1) teaches a method and apparatus for controlling operation of range top coils for cooking, comprising:
a drip bowl disposed below the electric heating coil (Paragraph 43, drip pan 64 is attached to panel 20 below electric heating element 21), the drip bowl comprising a bowl body and a receptacle clip fixed beside the bowl body (Figure 7 Paragraph 43, drip pan 64 includes a concave sidewall 70 as well as a channel 86 to receive temperature switch 36), wherein the coil receptacle is selectively received on the receptacle clip (Paragraph 44, channel 86 receives temperature switch 36; Paragraph 41, temperature switch 36 is placed in series with the voltage input of the heating element).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baldo with Gomez and have a drip bowl be disposed below the electric heating coil with a coil receptacle received on the receptacle clip. This would have been done to provide additional safety by cutting off a voltage to one or more of the heating elements if the temperature in the drip pan is too high (Gomez Paragraph 21).
Conclusion
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761