DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/15/2026 has been entered and accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new rejection has been made in view of Gross (US 20220061133 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1), Bach (US 20170325293 A1), and VIROLI (US 20170105251 A1). A full rejection can be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (US 20220061133 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1), Bach (US 20170325293 A1), and VIROLI (US 20170105251 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gross (US 20220061133 A1) teaches a separable control assembly (electronics housing 12) for selective interaction with a cooktop appliance (Figure 1, induction cooktop 2) comprising a top panel (Figure 1 Paragraph 32, cover plate 4 and retaining plate 8) comprising a heating assembly (Figure 1 Paragraph 32, plurality of inductive heating coils 10) comprising an electric heating coil (Figure 1 Paragraph 32, plurality of inductive heating coils 10), the separable control assembly (electronics housing 12):
a support body attachable to the cooktop appliance (Figure 1 Paragraph 32, electronics housing 12 is fastened to a side of the retaining plate 8 facing away from the heating electronics) and selectively movable relative to and mountable below the top panel (Figure 1 Paragraph 32, electronics housing 12 extends downwardly below the retaining plate 8; electronic housing is fastened and thus can be unfastened and moved relative to the power body), the support body defining an enclosure cavity (Paragraph 32, electronics housing contains electronics within);
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that the use of one-piece construction instead of a separate structure would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice. MPEP §2144.04.V.B. In this case, having the support body be removably attached to the cooktop appliance such as to allow the support body be selectively movable relative to the top panel would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Gross fails to teach:
a device controller mounted to the support body within the enclosure cavity;
a coil receptacle mounted to the support body outside of the enclosure cavity in electrical communication with the device controller, the coil receptacle comprising one or more female connectors mounted to the support body and configured to receive one or more male coil terminals of the electric heating coil; and
one or more male connector terminals mounted to the support body outside of the enclosure cavity in electrical communication with the device controller to connect to a power receptacle.
JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1) teaches an induction heating device for an induction hob, comprising:
a device controller mounted to the support body within the enclosure cavity (Paragraph 26, generator 4 is enclosed in a housing 13; Figure 1 Paragraph 33, control unit 6 is located within the housing 13);
a coil receptacle mounted to the support body outside of the enclosure cavity in electrical communication with the device controller (Figure 1, wire which connects the coil 3 to the housing 13 is located outside of the enclosure cavity)
one or more male connector terminals mounted to the support body outside of the enclosure cavity in electrical communication with the device controller to connect to a power receptacle (Paragraph 20, control unit 6 is used to regulate the power section 5 of the induction coils; Figure 1 Paragraph 25, first electrical connector 12a connected to the control unit 6 forms the socket part of the electrical plug connection connects to a plug portion of an external memory 11; Paragraph 28, electrical connector 9 connects control unit 6 with a control element 8 through a similar socket part; Paragraph 22, cable 15 for supplying power to the generator)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with JÄCKLE and have the controller further comprise male connectors to connects the controller with various other electrical components. This would have been done to provide an electrical connector to connect the controller with other electrical components accessible from the outside of the housing of the controller and attached to said housing (JÄCKLE Paragraph 28).
Gross fails to explicitly teach “a coil receptacle mounted to the support body outside of the enclosure cavity in electrical communication with the device controller, the coil receptacle comprising one or more female connectors mounted to the support body and configured to receive one or more male coil terminals of the electric heating coil; and configured to receive one or more male coil terminals of the electric heating coil”. However, Bach (US 20170325293 A1) teaches an appliance heating element with electrically heated coils as a heat source (Bach Paragraph 24). Said electrically heated coil comprises a plurality of male terminals for connecting to power and/or controller (Bach Paragraph 26). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Bach and have the heating coil comprise male terminals to allow the portions to be disconnected from the cooking appliance. This would have been done allow repositioning of the heating assembly as well as allowing for cleaning of the cooking surface (Bach Paragraph 26). Furthermore, VIROLI (US 20170105251 A1) teaches an induction coil assembly comprising an induction coil cable 3.1 and an adapter assembly 4 (VIROLI Paragraph 36), wherein the induction coil cable 3.1 as a male connector is received into recess 4.3 of the adaptor as a female connector (VIROLI Paragraph 36) such as to provide an electrical connection between the induction coil and the electronic power board (VIROLI Paragraph 5). Said adapter assembly is screwed to the electronic power board from its exterior (VIROLI Paragraph 16). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with VIROLI and have the male terminals of the coil be connected to the electronic circuit through use of an adapter assembly positioned outside of the housing of the electronic circuit. This would have been done to removably connect the coil with the electronics, both mechanically and electrically, through use of screws (VIROLI Paragraph 16).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (US 20220061133 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1), Bach (US 20170325293 A1), and VIROLI (US 20170105251 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SUGA (US 20200214091 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1.
Gross fails to teach:
an AC/DC power supply mounted to support body disposed in electrical communication with the device controller.
SUGA (US 20200214091 A1) teaches an induction cooker, wherein:
an AC/DC power supply mounted to support body (Figure 10 Paragraph 49, body 100 of the induction cooker includes the driver circuit 50; Paragraph 70, driver circuit 50 includes a DC power circuit and an inverter circuit) disposed in electrical communication with the device controller (Paragraphs 71-74, DC power circuit 22 converts an AC voltage input from the AV power source such as to outlet DC voltage to the inverter circuit; Paragraph 101, controller controls the inverter circuit based on set electric power).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with SUGA and have an AC/DC power supply be mounted and disposed in electrical communication with the device controller. This would have been done to convert an AC voltage input from an AC power source to supply power to the heating coil (SUGA Paragraph 74).
Claim(s) 3 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (US 20220061133 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1), Bach (US 20170325293 A1), and VIROLI (US 20170105251 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blum (US 20190364618 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1.
Gross as modified fails to teach:
a switch module mounted to the support body in electrical communication with the device controller and the coil receptacle to selectively limit power to the electric heating coil.
Blum (US 20190364618 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance and control method, wherein:
a switch module mounted to the support body in electrical communication with the device controller and the coil receptacle to selectively limit power to the electric heating coil (Paragraph 32, controller is used to control a supply of power to the heaters through relays; Paragraph 35, inexpensive power control devices such as a single-pole, single-throw relay are used).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Blum and had the electronics contain a switch module such as to limit the power to the electric heating coil. This would have been done to provide an inexpensive power control method for the electric heating coils (Blum Paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 5, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1.
Gross fails to explicitly teach:
a wireless module mounted to support body disposed in electrical communication with the device controller
Blum (US 20190364618 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance and control method, wherein:
a wireless module mounted to support body (wireless module of the controller) disposed in electrical communication with the device controller (Paragraph 31, user interface 62 is wirelessly connected to the controller 52 through one or more wireless communication networks)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Blum and controller comprise a wireless module. This would have been done to allow the user interface to wireless connect to the controller (Blum Paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 6, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 5.
Blum further teaches:
a temperature sensor spaced apart from the support body in wireless communication with the device controller through the wireless module to transmit one or more temperature signals to the device controller (Figure 3 Paragraph 29, each receiver is configured as a wireless receiver 34 configured to receive one or more wireless signals from the cookware temperature sensor 28 or food temperature sensor 30 wherein both sensors are spaced apparent from the receiver 34; Paragraph 30, receivers 34 are wirelessly connected to the controller 52 similar to the wireless communication network 54).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Blum and had the device controller direct power to the heating coil based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature. This would have been done to provide temperature signals such as to provide control of the electrical heating element (Blum Paragraphs 34-35).
Regarding claim 7, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 5.
Blum further teaches:
the device controller is configured to receive instructional inputs from a remote device spaced apart from the support body and in wireless communication with the device controller through the wireless module (Paragraph 31, user interface 62 is operably connected to the controller through wireless communication network wherein the user interface allows the controller to operate the cooktop 12 in response to user input via the user input 62).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 5.
Regarding claim 8, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1.
Gross as modified fails to explicitly teach:
a temperature sensor movable relative to the support body and in electrical communication with the device controller to transmit one or more temperature signals thereto.
Blum (US 20190364618 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance and control method, wherein:
a temperature sensor movable relative to the support body (Paragraph 25, food temperature sensor 30 is a probe positionable at any suitable location to sense a temperature of one or more food items 32) and in electrical communication with the device controller to transmit one or more temperature signals thereto (Figure 3 Paragraph 29, each receiver is configured as a wireless receiver 34 configured to receive one or more wireless signals from the cookware temperature sensor 28 or food temperature sensor 30).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Blum and used a temperature sensor which is movable relative to the support body. This would have been done to allow the temperature sensor to be positionable at any suitable location to sense a location of the food item (Blum Paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 9, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 8.
Blum further teaches:
the temperature sensor is coaxially mounted relative to the electric heating coil (Paragraph 25, food temperature sensor 30 is a probe positionable at any suitable location to sense a temperature of one or more food items 32; mounting the temperature sensor within the food coaxially with the electric heating coil is one of those suitable locations)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1.
Gross as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the device controller is configured to direct a responsive cooking operation comprising receiving a detected temperature signal, and directing power to the electric heating coil through the coil receptacle based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature.
Blum (US 20190364618 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance and control method, wherein:
device controller (controller 52) is configured to direct a responsive cooking operation comprising receiving a detected temperature signal (Figure 5 Paragraphs 34-39, monitoring a temperature with a temperature sensor), and directing power to the electric heating coil through the coil receptacle based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature (Figure 5 Paragraphs 34-39, controller performs a method which uses said monitored temperature to determine a maximum temperature and then compares the temperature with a temperature setting to activate or deactivate a heating element).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Blum and had the device controller direct power to the heating coil based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature. This would have been done to provide control over the temperature in an inexpensive way compared with typical control methods (Blum Paragraph 35).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (US 20220061133 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1), Bach (US 20170325293 A1), and VIROLI (US 20170105251 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gomez (US 20180087777 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 1.
Gross as modified fails to teach:
a drip bowl disposed below the electric heating coil, the drip bowl comprising a bowl body and a receptacle clip fixed beside the bowl body, wherein the coil receptacle is selectively received on the receptacle clip.
Gomez (US 20180087777 A1) teaches a method and apparatus for controlling operation of range top coils for cooking, comprising:
a drip bowl disposed below the electric heating coil (Paragraph 43, drip pan 64 is attached to panel 20 below electric heating element 21), the drip bowl comprising a bowl body and a receptacle clip fixed beside the bowl body (Figure 7 Paragraph 43, drip pan 64 includes a concave sidewall 70 as well as a channel 86 to receive temperature switch 36), wherein the coil receptacle is selectively received on the receptacle clip (Paragraph 44, channel 86 receives temperature switch 36; Paragraph 41, temperature switch 36 is placed in series with the voltage input of the heating element).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Gomez and have a drip bowl be disposed below the electric heating coil with a coil receptacle received on the receptacle clip. This would have been done to provide additional safety by cutting off a voltage to one or more of the heating elements if the temperature in the drip pan is too high (Gomez Paragraph 21).
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (US 20220061133 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1), Bach (US 20170325293 A1), VIROLI (US 20170105251 A1), and Blum (US 20190364618 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Gross (US 20220061133 A1) teaches a separable control assembly (electronics housing 12) for selective interaction with a cooktop appliance (Figure 1, induction cooktop 2) comprising a top panel (Figure 1 Paragraph 32, cover plate 4 and retaining plate 8) comprising a heating assembly (Figure 1 Paragraph 32, plurality of inductive heating coils 10) comprising an electric heating coil (Figure 1 Paragraph 32, plurality of inductive heating coils 10), the separable control assembly (electronics housing 12):
a support body attachable to the cooktop appliance (Figure 1 Paragraph 32, electronics housing 12 is fastened to a side of the retaining plate 8 facing away from the heating electronics) and selectively movable relative to and mountable below the top panel (Figure 1 Paragraph 32, electronics housing 12 extends downwardly below the retaining plate 8; electronic housing is fastened and thus can be unfastened and moved relative to the power body), the support body defining an enclosure cavity (Paragraph 32, electronics housing contains electronics within);
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that the use of one-piece construction instead of a separate structure would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice. MPEP §2144.04.V.B. In this case, having the support body be removably attached to the cooktop appliance such as to allow the support body be selectively movable relative to the top panel would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Gross fails to teach:
a device controller mounted to the support body within the enclosure cavity;
a temperature sensor in operable communication with the device controller;
a coil receptacle mounted to the support body outside of the enclosure cavity in electrical communication with the device controller, the coil receptacle comprising a pair of female connectors mounted to the support body and configured to receive a pair of male coil terminals of the electric heating coil; and
a pair of male connector terminals mounted to the support body outside of the enclosure cavity in electrical communication with the device controller to connect to a power receptacle
wherein the device controller is configured to direct a responsive cooking operation comprising
receiving a detected temperature signal from the temperature sensor, and
directing power to the electric heating coil through the coil receptacle based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature.
JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1) teaches an induction heating device for an induction hob, comprising:
a device controller mounted to the support body within the enclosure cavity (Paragraph 26, generator 4 is enclosed in a housing 13; Figure 1 Paragraph 33, control unit 6 is located within the 13);
a coil receptacle mounted to the support body outside of the enclosure cavity in electrical communication with the device controller (Figure 1, wire which connects the coil 3 to the housing 13 is located outside of the enclosure cavity)
a pair of male connector terminals mounted to the support body outside of the enclosure cavity in electrical communication with the device controller to connect to a power receptacle (Paragraph 20, control unit 6 is used to regulate the power section 5 of the induction coils; Figure 1 Paragraph 25, first electrical connector 12a connected to the control unit 6 forms the socket part of the electrical plug connection connects to a plug portion of an external memory 11; Paragraph 28, electrical connector 9 connects control unit 6 with a control element 8 through a similar socket part; Paragraph 22, cable 15 for supplying power to the generator)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with JÄCKLE and have the controller further comprise male connectors to connects the controller with various other electrical components. This would have been done to provide an electrical connector to connect the controller with other electrical components accessible from the outside of the housing of the controller and attached to said housing (JÄCKLE Paragraph 28).
Gross fails to explicitly teach “a coil receptacle mounted to the support body outside of the enclosure cavity in electrical communication with the device controller, the coil receptacle comprising one or more female connectors mounted to the support body and configured to receive one or more male coil terminals of the electric heating coil; and configured to receive one or more male coil terminals of the electric heating coil”. However, Bach (US 20170325293 A1) teaches an appliance heating element with electrically heated coils as a heat source (Bach Paragraph 24). Said electrically heated coil comprises a plurality of male terminals for connecting to power and/or controller (Bach Paragraph 26). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Bach and have the heating coil comprise male terminals to allow the portions to be disconnected from the cooking appliance. This would have been done allow repositioning of the heating assembly as well as allowing for cleaning of the cooking surface (Bach Paragraph 26). Furthermore, VIROLI (US 20170105251 A1) teaches an induction coil assembly comprising an induction coil cable 3.1 and an adapter assembly 4 (VIROLI Paragraph 36), wherein the induction coil cable 3.1 as a male connector is received into recess 4.3 of the adaptor as a female connector (VIROLI Paragraph 36) such as to provide an electrical connection between the induction coil and the electronic power board (VIROLI Paragraph 5). Said adapter assembly is screwed at the electronic power board (Paragraph 16). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with VIROLI and have the male terminals of the coil be connected to the electronic circuit through use of an adapter assembly positioned outside of the housing of the electronic circuit. This would have been done to removably connect the coil with the electronics both mechanically and electrically through use of screws (VIROLI Paragraph 16).
Gross as modified fails to teach:
a temperature sensor in operable communication with the device controller;
wherein the device controller is configured to direct a responsive cooking operation comprising
receiving a detected temperature signal from the temperature sensor, and
directing power to the electric heating coil through the coil receptacle based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature.
Blum (US 20190364618 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance and control method, wherein:
a temperature sensor in operable communication with the device controller (Paragraph 24, temperature sensor 28; Paragraph 29, temperature sensor in communication with the wireless receiver 34; Paragraph 30, controller 52 in communication with the receiver);
wherein the device controller is configured to direct a responsive cooking operation (Figure 5 Paragraphs 34-39, monitoring a temperature with a temperature sensor) comprising
receiving a detected temperature signal from the temperature sensor (Figure 3 Paragraph 29, each receiver is configured as a wireless receiver 34 configured to receive one or more wireless signals from the cookware temperature sensor 28 or food temperature sensor 30 wherein both sensors are spaced apparent from the receiver 34; Paragraph 30, receivers 34 are wirelessly connected to the controller 52 similar to the wireless communication network 54), and
directing power to the electric heating coil through the coil receptacle based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature (Figure 5 Paragraphs 34-39, uses said monitored temperature to determine a maximum temperature and then compares the temperature with a temperature setting to activate or deactivate a heating element).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Blum and had the device controller direct power to the heating coil based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature. This would have been done to provide control over the temperature in an inexpensive way compared with typical control methods (Blum Paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 13, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 11.
Blum further teaches:
a switch module mounted to the support body in electrical communication with the device controller and the coil receptacle to selectively limit power to the electric heating coil (Paragraph 32, controller is used to control a supply of power to the heaters through relays; Paragraph 35, inexpensive power control devices such as a single-pole, single-throw relay are used).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Blum and had the electronics contain a switch module such as to limit the power to the electric heating coil. This would have been done to provide an inexpensive power control method for the electric heating coils (Blum Paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 15, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 11.
Gross as modified fails to teach:
a wireless module mounted to support body disposed in electrical communication with the device controller
Blum (US 20190364618 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance and control method, wherein:
a wireless module mounted to support body (wireless module of the controller) disposed in electrical communication with the device controller (Paragraph 31, user interface 62 is wirelessly connected to the controller 52 through one or more wireless communication networks)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Blum and controller comprise a wireless module. This would have been done to allow the user interface to wireless connect to the controller (Blum Paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 16, Gross teaches the separable control assembly of claim 15.
Blum further teaches:
the temperature sensor is spaced apart from the support body in wireless communication with the device controller through the wireless module to transmit one or more temperature signals to the device controller (Figure 3 Paragraph 29, each receiver is configured as a wireless receiver 34 configured to receive one or more wireless signals from the cookware temperature sensor 28 or food temperature sensor 30 wherein both sensors are spaced apparent from the receiver 34; Paragraph 30, receivers 34 are wirelessly connected to the controller 52 similar to the wireless communication network 54).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Blum and had the device controller direct power to the heating coil based on the received detected temperature signal and a predetermined target temperature. This would have been done to provide temperature signals such as to provide control of the electrical heating element (Blum Paragraphs 34-35).
Regarding claim 17, Gross teaches the separable control assembly of claim 15.
Gross further teaches:
the device controller is configured to receive instructional inputs from a remote device spaced apart from the support body and in wireless communication with the device controller through the wireless module (Paragraph 31, user interface 62 is operably connected to the controller through wireless communication network wherein the user interface allows the controller to operate the cooktop 12 in response to user input via the user input 62).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 11.
Blum further teaches:
the temperature sensor movable relative to the support body (Paragraph 25, food temperature sensor 30 is a probe positionable at any suitable location to sense a temperature of one or more food items 32) and in electrical communication with the device controller to transmit one or more temperature signals thereto (Figure 3 Paragraph 29, each receiver is configured as a wireless receiver 34 configured to receive one or more wireless signals from the cookware temperature sensor 28 or food temperature sensor 30).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Blum and used a temperature sensor which is movable relative to the support body. This would have been done to allow the temperature sensor to be positionable at any suitable location to sense a location of the food item (Blum Paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 19, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 18.
Blum further teaches:
the temperature sensor is coaxially mounted relative to the electric heating coil (Paragraph 25, food temperature sensor 30 is a probe positionable at any suitable location to sense a temperature of one or more food items 32; mounting the temperature sensor within the food coaxially with the electric heating coil is one of those suitable locations)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 8.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (US 20220061133 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1), Bach (US 20170325293 A1), VIROLI (US 20170105251 A1), and Blum (US 20190364618 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of SUGA (US 20200214091 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 11.
Gross fails to teach:
an AC/DC power supply mounted to support body disposed in electrical communication with the device controller.
SUGA (US 20200214091 A1) teaches an induction cooker, wherein:
an AC/DC power supply mounted to support body (Figure 10 Paragraph 49, body 100 of the induction cooker includes the driver circuit 50; Paragraph 70, driver circuit 50 includes a DC power circuit and an inverter circuit) disposed in electrical communication with the device controller (Paragraphs 71-74, DC power circuit 22 converts an AC voltage input from the AV power source such as to outlet DC voltage to the inverter circuit; Paragraph 101, controller controls the inverter circuit based on set electric power).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with SUGA and have an AC/DC power supply be mounted and disposed in electrical communication with the device controller. This would have been done to convert an AC voltage input from an AC power source to supply power to the heating coil (SUGA Paragraph 74).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (US 20220061133 A1) in view of JÄCKLE (DE 102017112059 A1), Bach (US 20170325293 A1), VIROLI (US 20170105251 A1), and Blum (US 20190364618 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Gomez (US 20180087777 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Gross as modified teaches the separable control assembly of claim 11.
Gross as modified fails to teach:
a drip bowl disposed below the electric heating coil, the drip bowl comprising a bowl body and a receptacle clip fixed beside the bowl body, wherein the coil receptacle is selectively received on the receptacle clip.
Gomez (US 20180087777 A1) teaches a method and apparatus for controlling operation of range top coils for cooking, comprising:
a drip bowl disposed below the electric heating coil (Paragraph 43, drip pan 64 is attached to panel 20 below electric heating element 21), the drip bowl comprising a bowl body and a receptacle clip fixed beside the bowl body (Figure 7 Paragraph 43, drip pan 64 includes a concave sidewall 70 as well as a channel 86 to receive temperature switch 36), wherein the coil receptacle is selectively received on the receptacle clip (Paragraph 44, channel 86 receives temperature switch 36; Paragraph 41, temperature switch 36 is placed in series with the voltage input of the heating element).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gross with Gomez and have a drip bowl be disposed below the electric heating coil with a coil receptacle received on the receptacle clip. This would have been done to provide additional safety by cutting off a voltage to one or more of the heating elements if the temperature in the drip pan is too high (Gomez Paragraph 21).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761