DETAILED ACTION
1. This is the initial office action of application 18/200,912 with a filling date of 04/14/2023 that claims a foreign priority to Korean Application number KR10-2022-0054387 with a filing date of 05/02/2022. Claims 1-20 are pending below.
Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 14-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/17/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, directed to claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 02/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show pressure providing member 170 in FIGS. 1-3 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pressure providing member 170 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“substrate floating unit for floating a substrate” in claim 1;
“measurement unit for measuring a floating amount of the substrate” in claim 1.
4. Claim 3 recites “substrate is in contact with substrate floating unit” The term is interpreted as coating operation of the substrate and the overall claim is understood as the measurement unit is able to measure a floating height during a coating process when a substrate is in contact with a coater/nozzle (substrate floating unit) through a coating material. Additionally, coater 112 is interpreted as the substrate floating unit as the specification mentions substrate floating unit is includes a stage 110 and stage 11-includes a coater 112. Therefore, coater 112 is part of floating unit [see specification para 0046 of PGPUB US20230350300A1 of the app 18300912].
5. Claim 7 recites, “substrate is in contact with substrate floating unit” The term is interpreted as coating operation of the substrate and the overall claim is understood as the measurement unit is able to measure a floating height during a coating process when a substrate is in contact with a coater/nozzle (substrate floating unit) through a coating material. Additionally, coater 112 is interpreted as the substrate floating unit as the specification mentions substrate floating unit is includes a stage 110 and stage 11-includes a coater 112. Therefore, coater 112 is part of floating unit [see specification para 0046 of PGPUB US20230350300A1 of the app 18300912].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yukio et al. (CN110676192 (A) in view of Takayama et al. (US 20210090927 A1) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20160349718 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Yukio teach a coating apparatus 1 that is comprised of a floating workable unit 3 (substrate floating unit) [para 85], coating mechanism 6 with nozzle unit 60 with nozzle 61 that applies a liquid [para 97]. Nozzle 61 extends along a Y axis and positioned above substrate W as shown in fig 1, 6, and 7 [para98-99]. Coating apparatus 1 also includes a measuring unit 70 that measures a vertical position of substrate W that is being lifted (floating amount) [para 128].
Yukio further teaches a controlling unit 9 that measures a vertical position of floating substrate (floating amount of substrate) with the assistance of measuring instruments 72 of measuring unit 70 by comparing a measured value of a vertical position with a threshold. Additionally, if the vertical position is determined to be abnormal, the control unit 9 can notify the outside of the situation through a designated output mechanism [para 144-147].
However, Yukio is silent on obtaining a serial number of substrates using a controller.
Takayama et al. teach a substrate treating apparatus that is comprised of carriers 3 with substrates W and barcode readers 31 attached to carrier 3. Each carrier has a barcode (serial number) for identifying substrates W. Substrates goes through a treatment (coating) and then distinguished depending on their characteristics such as diameter, thickness and named W1, W2, ..., Wn depending on the characteristics. Afterwards, substrates are transferred to different carriers 3 with bar codes. Each carrier holds plurality of substrates with similar characteristics and different carriers have different bar codes. Barcode readers 31 reads barcodes of carriers with the assistance of substrate detector 89 and feed information to controller 9 and controls operations depending on the carrier of substrate [par 82-113; 169; 235-238]
It would have been obvious to include the combination of substrate carrier, barcode reader into the invention of Yukio because Takayama teach that having barcodes associated with the substrates assists in determining shapes of substrates and also barcode is used as an identifier of substrates. The controller identifies whether substrates have a normal diameter. [para 237-238].
However, both Yukio and Takayama fails to teach "providing control to change, based on the serial number, reference signal data used by the measurement unit to measure the floating amount of the substrate."
Wang et al. teach a coating apparatus comprised of a detection device 50 is configured to detect a variation of an altitude(height) of a top surface of substrate 10 and to compute a variation curve of an interval between application nozzle 30 and the substrate 10. A controller controls the nozzle drive according to the variation curve of the interval between the nozzle and the substrate computed by detection device 50, so that the nozzle drive forces the nozzle 30 moving and adjusts the vertical distance between the nozzle 30 and the substrate 10 according to the variation curve of the interval (change, based on the serial number, reference signal data used) [para 27; claim 1 and claim 4].
It would have been obvious to include the detection device into the combination of Yukio and Takayama because Wang teaches that detection device helps adjusting a consistent vertical distance between nozzle and substrate so that thickness of the coated film is uniform [para 27].
Regarding Claim 2: Yukio teaches that measuring unit 70 measures a vertical position (height) of floating substrate W by emitting a light and the light being reflected from substrate W. A sensor measures the amount of reflected light which gives a vertical position [para 128-129].
Regarding Claim 3: Yukio teaches that measuring unit 70 measures a vertical position (height) of floating substrate W by emitting a light (beam) and the light being reflected from substrate W. A sensor measures the amount of reflected light which gives a vertical position [para 128-129]. The term “substrate is in contact with substrate floating unit” used in claim 3 is interpreted as coating operation of the substrate and the overall claim is understood as the measurement unit is able to measure a floating height during a coating process when substrate W is in contact with coater 112 (substrate floating unit) through a coating material (see para 4 above). Yukio’s measurement unit 70 can measure a vertical position (height) of substrate W over coating worktable 32, where coating of substrate W takes place [para 128]. The measurement unit 70 can measure a vertical position (floating amount) of substrate W while a coating (substrate is in contact with floating unit) of the substrate takes place through nozzle 61 [see para 147].
Regarding Claim 4: Yukio teaches that measuring unit 70 measures a vertical position of floating substrate W by emitting a light (laser beam) to substrate W [para 128-129].
Regarding Claim 5: Yukio teaches the measuring device 72 measures the vertical position of the upper surface Wf by measuring the distance from a reference position in a predetermined vertical direction (reference signal) to the vertical position of the upper surface Wf [para 128].
Alternatively, claim 5 recites a limitation that is directed to intended use of the product of claim 2. The limitation of claim 5 is also directed to a product by process claim and therefore carries no patentable weight. (see MPEP 2111.02.II and 2113)
Regarding Claim 6: Yukio teaches a controlling unit 9 that measures a vertical position of floating substrate (floating amount of substrate)
Takayama et al. (US 20210090927 A1) teach a substrate treating apparatus that is comprised of carriers 3 with substrates W and barcode readers 31 attached to carrier 3. Each carrier has a barcode (serial number) for identifying substrates W based on parameters such as diameter, and thickness. The barcode readers 31 reads barcodes and feed information to controller 9 [para 71, 78, 98, 101, 113, 235].
It would have been obvious to include the combination of substrate carrier, barcode reader into the invention of Yukio because Takayama teach that having barcodes associated with the substrates assists in determining shapes of substrates and also barcode is used as an identifier of substrates. The controller identifies whether substrates have a normal diameter. [para 237-238].
Regarding Claim 7: Yukio teaches that measuring unit 70 measures a vertical position (height) of floating substrate W by emitting a light (beam) and the light being reflected (displacement of beam) from substrate W. A sensor measures the amount of reflected light which gives a vertical position [para 128-129]. The term “substrate is in contact with substrate floating unit” used in claim 3 is interpreted as coating operation of the substrate and the overall claim is understood as the measurement unit is able to measure a floating height during a coating process. Yukio’s measurement unit 70, which is controlled by control unit 9[para 144-147], can measure a vertical position (height) of substrate W over coating worktable 32, where coating of substrate W takes place [para 128]. The measurement unit 70 can measure a vertical position (floating amount) of substrate W while a coating (substrate is in contact with floating unit) of the substrate takes place through nozzle 61 [see para 147].
Also, the limitation “when the reference signal data corresponding to a specific serial number of the substrate does not exist,” do not define a limitation of the structure and therefore, no patentable weight is given.
Regarding Claim 8: Yukio teaches that floating worktable 3 applies a buoyancy force to substrate W so that substrate W is floated at a consistent vertical position and maintaining the horizontal posture of substrate W.
Regarding Claim 9: Yukio teaches a measurement unit 70, controlled by control unit 9, measures a vertical position of floating substrate (floating amount of substrate) with the assistance of measuring instruments 72 of measuring unit 70 by comparing a measured value of a vertical position with a threshold (reference signal data) [para 144-147].
Yukio is silent on the limitation of “wherein the controller sets the reference signal data for the serial number of the substrate and, when the reference signal data corresponding to the specific serial number exists,”
Takayama et al. teach a substrate treating apparatus that is comprised of carriers 3 with substrates W and barcode readers 31 attached to carrier 3. Each carrier has a barcode (serial number) for identifying substrates W. Substrates goes through a treatment (coating) and then distinguished depending on their characteristics such as diameter, thickness and named W1, W2, ..., Wn depending on the characteristics. Afterwards, substrates are transferred to different carriers 3 with bar codes. Each carrier holds plurality of substrates with similar characteristics and different carriers have different bar codes. Barcode readers 31 reads barcodes of carriers with the assistance of substrate detector 89 and feed information to controller 9 and controls operations depending on the carrier of substrate [par 82-113; 169; 235-238]
It would have been obvious to include the combination of substrate carrier, barcode reader into the invention of Yukio because Takayama teach that having barcodes associated with the substrates assists in determining shapes of substrates and also barcode is used as an identifier of substrates. The controller identifies whether substrates have a normal diameter. [para 237-238].
Regarding Claim 10: Yukio teach a floating worktable station 3 (floating unit) comprised of a floating platform 31 (stage) with a surface with plurality of nozzles 31h (holes) for ejecting air supplied from floating control mechanism 35 (pressure providing member). Ejected air applies a buoyancy force to substrate W [para 85-87; fig 5].
Regarding Claim 11: Yukio floating worktable station 3 is comprised of inlet floating unit 31 (loader) coating unit 32 (coater) and outlet floating unit 33 (unloader) [fig5; para 85-87]. Nozzle 61 positioned above coating unit 32 to apply a processing liquid (liquid chemical) to substrate W [para 98-100].
Regarding Claim 12: Yukio teach measurement unit 70 is placed above coating region 32 (coater) because coating nozzle 61 is placed above coating region 32. Also, measurement unit 70 is placed on nozzle support 601 and moves along with the nozzle 61 [fig 6,7 and para 98-100; 132-133]
Regarding Claim 13: Yukio teach measurement unit 70 is placed above coating region 32 (coater) because coating nozzle 61 is placed above coating region 32. Also, measurement unit 70 is placed on nozzle support 601 and in an upstream side or a negative X direction of nozzle 61 (before a nozzle unit) [fig 6,7 and para 98-100; 132-133]
Conclusion
/WASIQUL HAQ/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717