DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
By the amendment claims 11, 13, 15, and 19 are pending with claims 11 and15 being amended and claim 19 being added.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the classification rotor must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The applicant is also advised that if added to the drawings the numeral also needs to be added to the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in L15-16, “wherein: the at least one dynamic classifier” should be “the at least one dynamic classifier”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant is advised that should claim 11 be found allowable, claim 13 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 13, 15 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 11 has the dynamic classifier making two classifications then dispersing the material then separating a further fraction. In the specification, the dispersion and further classification happens after a static classification (Pg 11, L8-13) in a separate dynamic classifier (10).
Claims 13, 15 and 19 are rejected by virtue of their dependencies.
Claims 11, 13, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is rendered indefinite for reciting “the at least one dynamic classifier being configured to disperse the fraction.” Claim 11 outlines two different fractions (coarse and fines), it is unclear which of these fractions are being dispersed.
Additionally, it is unclear whether this is being done in the same at least one dynamic classifier or a different dynamic classifier as outlined in the specification (see 112a rejection as outlined above).
Furthermore, claim 11, L22 is rendered indefinite for reciting “the starting material.” There is no antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim will be interpreted as if it read “a starting material.”
Claims 13, 15 and 19 are rejected by virtue of their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guenther et al. (US 20140306044), hereafter Guenther.
With regards to claim 11 Guenther discloses an installation for producing a powdered starting material provided for manufacturing rare earth magnets (Abstract; could be used for this purpose), comprising at least one dynamic classifier (3) having a feed inlet (upper housing 11a) configured to receive a powdered intermediate product which includes at least one rare earth metal obtained from pulverizing an alloy, separate a fraction from the powdered intermediate product by means of at least one dynamic classifier having a feed inlet configured to receive a powdered intermediate product which includes at least one rare earth metal obtained from pulverizing an alloy, the at least one dynamic classifier being configured to separate a fraction from-a the powdered intermediate product by means of at least two classifications that follow one another in time, each directed at particle size and/or particle density, wherein the at least one dynamic classifier separates coarse material (via medium material outlet 17) from the powdered intermediate product as part of a first classification of said at least two classifications and separates fine material from the powdered intermediate product (via fine material outlet 18) as part of a second classification of said at least two classifications, the at least one dynamic classifier having a classifying rotor (rod basket 12), the at least one dynamic classifier being configured to disperse the fraction to establish a homogenous distribution of particles in the fraction and perform a renewed classification to separate a further fraction from the dispersed fraction, said further fraction forming a starting material used to manufacture rare earth elements (P0052).
With regards to claim 13, Guenther discloses all the elements of claim 11 as outlined above. Guenther further discloses wherein the at least one dynamic classifier is formed for classifying and dispersing (via rod basket 12) the powdered intermediate product supplied (P0052)
With regards to claim 15, Guenther discloses all the elements of claim 11 as outlined above. Guenther further discloses wherein the at least one dynamic classifier may comprise the performs at least one of the at least two classifications directed at particle size and/or density under a protective gas atmosphere (P0052, L1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenther.
With regards to claim 19, Guenther discloses all the elements of claim 11 as outlined above. Guenther does not directly disclose wherein the at least one dynamic classifier comprising the at least on dynamic classifier provides for the starting material to include a fraction of particles >8 µm in an amount <2 volume percent and/or a fraction of particles <2 µm in an amount 2 volume percent. However, this is considered routine optimization and is therefore rendered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention based on what the end product is being used for (MPEP 2144.05).
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments are rendered moot. New grounds of rejection are outlined above.
Conclusion
/J.L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653