DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-18 are pending in this office action.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted November 15, 2023, and November 28, 2023, have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cawlfield et al. (US 5,158,658).
With regard to Claim 1, Cawlfield et al. disclose in Figures 1-3, an electrochemical system, called an electrochemical cell (10), comprising: a first electrode, called an anode (14); and a second electrode, called a cathode (19), wherein the electrochemical system (10) stores energy and/or discharges energy by an electrode reaction of a halogenated oxyanion species, such as an alkali metal chloride feed solution (column 3, line 31 through column 6, line 15).
With regard to Claim 2, Cawlfield et al. disclose in Figures 1-3, wherein the storing of energy and/or the discharging of energy by the electrode reaction of the halogenated oxyanion species (alkali metal chloride feed solution) comprises storing energy and discharging energy by a reversable electrode reaction between a chlorine containing ion and chlorine dioxide (column 5, line 28 through column 6, line 15).
With regard to Claims 3-4, Cawlfield et al. disclose in Figures 1-3, wherein the chlorine containing ion comprises a salt of sodium chloride and alkali metal salt additives in the sodium chloride, such as alkali metal phosphates, sulfates, chlorides, etc. (column 6, line 6-column 7, line 11).
With regard to Claims 6-7, Cawlfield et al. further disclose in Figures 1-3, a current collector, called a current distributor (13), comprising a metal or metal compound, including carbon as graphite (column 5, lines 16-27).
With regard to Claim 9, Cawlfield et al. disclose a method of operating an electrochemical system, called an electrochemical cell (10), the method comprising: storing and/or discharging energy by an electrode reaction of a halogenated oxyanion species, such as an alkali metal chloride feed solution (column 3, line 31 through column 6, line 15).
With regard to Claim 10, Cawlfield et al. disclose wherein storing and/or discharging energy by an electrode reaction of a halogenated oxyanion species (alkali metal chloride feed solution) comprises storing and/or discharging energy by a reversable electrode reaction between a chlorine containing ion and chlorine dioxide (column 5, line 28 through column 6, line 15).
With regard to Claims 11-12, Cawlfield et al. disclose in Figures 1-3, wherein the chlorine containing ion comprises a salt of sodium chloride and alkali metal salt additives in the sodium chloride, such as alkali metal phosphates, sulfates, chlorides, etc. (column 6, line 6-column 7, line 11).
8. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tonggelage et al. (CN108376777A).
With regard to Claim 15, Tonggelage et al. disclose an energy storage device, called a surface-modified lithium ion battery, comprising: negative electrode materials (paragraph 0053); and positive electrode materials comprising chlorine dioxide and chlorite (paragraphs 0009-0012), wherein the energy storage device is configured to be rechargeable since (paragraphs 0009-0012, 0052-0053).
With regard to Claim 16, Tonggelage et al. further disclose an electrolyte, wherein the negative electrode materials comprise carbon, zinc, iron, or sulfur (paragraphs 0052-0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 5, 8, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cawlfield et al. (US 5,158,658), as applied to Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-12 above, and in further view of Wang et al. (US 2018/0269515 A1).
With regard to Claim 5, Cawlfield et al. disclose the electrochemical system in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein the electrochemical system comprises a storage battery.
Wang et al. disclose in Figure 1, a long-duration electrical energy storage/delivery system (100), such as a redox flow battery, utilizing an energy-bearing redox pair and comprising a first redox flow cell (102), a first electrolyte regeneration cell (103), and a second electrolyte regeneration cell (104), a positive electrode side (106), a negative electrode side (105) and a proton membrane (112) separating the positive and negative electrode sides (paragraph 0024). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrochemical system of Cawlfield et al. to include a storage battery, because Wang et al. teach that batteries can deliver electrical energy for long durations and/or produce hydrogen at much lower voltage and with improved efficiency resulting in a lower operating cost and stable, long-term energy delivery (paragraph 0023).
With regard to Claim 8, Cawlfield et al. disclose the electrochemical system in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein the system is a bulk energy storage system is a long duration energy storage (LODES) system.
Wang et al. disclose in Figure 1, a long-duration electrical energy storage/delivery system (100), such as a redox flow battery, utilizing an energy-bearing redox pair and comprising a first redox flow cell (102), a first electrolyte regeneration cell (103), and a second electrolyte regeneration cell (104), a positive electrode side (106), a negative electrode side (105) and a proton membrane (112) separating the positive and negative electrode sides (paragraph 0024). Wang et al. disclose wherein the electrochemical system a bulk energy storage system providing long duration energy storage for various applications such as micro or island grids (paragraph 0004). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrochemical system of Cawlfield et al. to include a bulk energy storage system as a long duration energy storage (LODES) system, because Wang et al. teach that these systems improve the electric grid resilience, alleviate the need for rapid ramping due to increasing renewable penetration, and provide transmission and delivery deferral (paragraph 0004).
With regard to Claims 13-14, Cawlfield et al. disclose the method in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein the storing and/or discharging are performed as part of operating a battery in a bulk energy storage system, and wherein the bulk energy storage system is a long duration energy storage (LODES) system.
Wang et al. disclose in Figure 1, a long-duration electrical energy storage/delivery system (100), such as a redox flow battery, utilizing an energy-bearing redox pair and comprising a first redox flow cell (102), a first electrolyte regeneration cell (103), and a second electrolyte regeneration cell (104), a positive electrode side (106), a negative electrode side (105) and a proton membrane (112) separating the positive and negative electrode sides (paragraph 0024). Wang et al. disclose wherein the electrochemical system a bulk energy storage system providing long duration energy storage for various applications such as micro or island grids (paragraph 0004). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Cawlfield et al. to include the storing and/or discharging being performed as part of operating a battery in a bulk energy storage system, and wherein the bulk energy storage system is a long duration energy storage (LODES) system, because Wang et al. teach that these systems can deliver electrical energy for long durations and/or produce hydrogen at much lower voltage and with improved efficiency resulting in a lower operating cost and stable, long-term energy delivery (paragraph 0023), as well as, improve the electric grid resilience, alleviate the need for rapid ramping due to increasing renewable penetration, and provide transmission and delivery deferral (paragraph 0004).
13. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonggelage et al. (CN108376777A), as applied to Claims 15-16 above, and in further view of Wang et al. (US 2018/0269515 A1).
With regard to Claims 17-18, Tonggelage et al. disclose the energy storage device in paragraph 8 above, but do not specifically disclose a bulk energy storage system, comprising the energy storage device noted above, wherein the bulk energy storage system is a long or ultra-long duration energy storage system.
Wang et al. disclose in Figure 1, a long-duration electrical energy storage/delivery system (100), such as a redox flow battery, utilizing an energy-bearing redox pair and comprising a first redox flow cell (102), a first electrolyte regeneration cell (103), and a second electrolyte regeneration cell (104), a positive electrode side (106), a negative electrode side (105) and a proton membrane (112) separating the positive and negative electrode sides (paragraph 0024). Wang et al. disclose wherein the electrochemical system a bulk energy storage system providing long duration energy storage for various applications such as micro or island grids (paragraph 0004). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Cawlfield et al. to include the storing and/or discharging being performed as part of operating a battery in a bulk energy storage system, and wherein the bulk energy storage system is a long duration energy storage (LODES) system, because Wang et al. teach that these systems can deliver electrical energy for long durations and/or produce hydrogen at much lower voltage and with improved efficiency resulting in a lower operating cost and stable, long-term energy delivery (paragraph 0023), as well as, improve the electric grid resilience, alleviate the need for rapid ramping due to increasing renewable penetration, and provide transmission and delivery deferral (paragraph 0004).
Conclusion
/KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725