Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 6/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes of claim interpretation:
The preamble is considered limiting to the structure of the invention (MPEP 2111.02).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hammar et al. (US 10857677, on applicant’s IDS).
Regarding Claim 1,
A robotic welding tool tip (108/108-1/108-2, Figs. 1-11) for programming, the tool tip comprising a body having a first end (ex. “top” end as seen in Figs. 1-11, example annotation below) configured to be connected to a robotic welding torch in place of a nozzle and a second end having an angled surface (117 (117-1, 117-2) or 116).
Regarding Claim 2,
The robotic welding tool tip as defined in claim 1, wherein the first end of the body comprises a bore having an inner diameter configured to be coupled to a gas diffuser of the robotic welding torch (ex. Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 3,
The robotic welding tool tip as defined in claim 2, wherein a diameter and a length of the bore are sized to fit over the gas diffuser (ex. Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 4,
The robotic welding tool tip as defined in claim 1, wherein a length of the body corresponds to a predetermined wire stickout length during operation of the robotic welding torch (ex. Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 5,
The robotic welding tool tip as defined in claim 1, wherein the body comprises an electrically insulating material (Col. 4, lines 38-43)
Regarding Claim 7,
The robotic welding tool tip as defined in claim 1, wherein the angled surface forms an angle between 30-45 degrees with respect to a longitudinal axis of the body (ex. Col. 5, line 57-Col. 6, line 5, Col. 6, lines 45-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammar in view of Parker (US 20220184727).
Regarding Claim 6, Hammar teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for
wherein the electrically insulating material comprises a phenolic material.
Hammar generically discloses “In some implementations, tip attachment 108 can be formed from a plastic material (e.g., a 3D-printable plastic), a metallic material, a glass material, an organic material, and/or another type of material.” (Col. 4, lines 38-43) but does not specifically teach “a phenolic material”.
Parker teaches
For a welding torch,
Using a phenolic material ([0018, 0026 0049, 0054].
Since both pieces of prior art are related to welding devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a phenolic material as claimed in order to provide an appropriate material that would be suitable for the intended use.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammar in view of JP S61-22272, hereinafter JP272.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Hammar teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for
wherein the angled surface comprises a first portion at a tip of the second end and a second portion immediately adjacent the first portion toward the first end, the first portion forming a first angle with respect to a longitudinal axis of the body and the second portion forming a second angle with respect to the longitudinal axis of the body, the first angle being greater than the second angle,
wherein the first angle is between 40-45 degrees, and the second angle is between 30-40 degrees.
Hammar discusses using different angles for body 110 of the tip 108 (ex. Col. 3, line 59-Col. 4, line 7, Col. 5, line 57-Col. 6, lines 13) but does not use the specified claim language.
JP272 teaches
For a welding tip,
wherein the angled surface (ex. Fig. 3) comprises a first portion (3’) at a tip of the second end and a second portion (3) immediately adjacent the first portion toward the first end, the first portion forming a first angle with respect to a longitudinal axis of the body and the second portion forming a second angle with respect to the longitudinal axis of the body, the first angle being greater than the second angle (Fig. 3),
wherein the first angle is between 40-45 degrees (“It is more preferred from points, such as intensity of the wire adhesion prevention effect top and a torch tip part, and endurance, that especially a tip part (t2) sets up for Apex angle (theta) of a tip part cone to be in 30 degrees 90 degrees”), and the second angle is between 30-40 degrees (“And/or, among those, when [ that the angle which the external surface makes is in 20 degrees at the range of 60 degrees”).
Since both references are directed to welding tips, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tip of Hammar to use two angled surfaces as taught by JP272 in order to provide a programmable tip of duplicate geometry of a usable weld tip, thereby allowing accurate simulation of a tip in the form of the JP272 tip.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammar in view of design choice.
Regarding Claim 10, Hammar teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for
wherein a longitudinal length of the first portion is between 0.2 inches and 0.5 inches.
Since applicant has not disclosed that having the longitudinal length with the specific length solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that the first portion would be of some length and it appears that the first portion of Hammar would perform equally well with a length of dimensions as claimed by applicant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the first portion of Hammar by utilizing the specific dimensions as claimed for the purpose of an appropriately sized tool tip for an environment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Those items on the 892 each teach elements of the instant invention related to welding tool tips.
MICHAEL QUANDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/MICHAEL QUANDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745